VFL 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter bedford

The trouble is in the South clubs like Dingley are paying massive amounts and only train twice a week , whereas the VFL is so much more intense for a 3rd of the match payments and Dingley is only an example
The money stuff is so overblown. There are so many great players playing VFL because they want to play at the best standard.

The trouble is in the South clubs like Dingley are paying massive amounts and only train twice a week , whereas the VFL is so much more intense for a 3rd of the match payments and Dingley is only an example
Can someone please explain to me, why are local football club payments much higher than those of VFL clubs? Is it from pokies?

Yeah so looks like the last coach, less talented group and less big name support werent so bad compared to whats on show atm for the Borough. Grass aint always greener on the other side. Last year Port were 0-5 after blowing last qtr leads 3 games straight. Beat 4th, 6th and 8th, choked v 7th, challenged 1st and 2nd while injury hit for the back end of last year. The hate was crazy when you reflect this team likely going to be 0-4 after not looking likely to win any game so far. Bullants would give this current team a solid run for their money.. guess we will see next week

Wouldn't call last years group less talented when you had the likes of Mccomb, Gowers, Rourke Smith, Flockart, Anastasio but yes we get your point we were no good last year and no good this year and Preston may beat us next week. Thank you for your pointless post pointing out that we are no good, as I us football nuff nuffs couldn't realise that ourselves :) 😀

Yeah so looks like the last coach, less talented group and less big name support werent so bad compared to whats on show atm for the Borough. Grass aint always greener on the other side. Last year Port were 0-5 after blowing last qtr leads 3 games straight. Beat 4th, 6th and 8th, choked v 7th, challenged 1st and 2nd while injury hit for the back end of last year. The hate was crazy when you reflect this team likely going to be 0-4 after not looking likely to win any game so far. Bullants would give this current team a solid run for their money.. guess we will see next week
Wouldn't call last years group less talented when you had the likes of Mccomb, Gowers, Rourke Smith, Flockart, Anastasio but yes we get your point we were no good last year and no good this year and Preston may beat us next week. Thank you for your pointless post pointing out that we are no good, as I us football nuff nuffs couldn't realise that ourselves :) 😀
the borough were very lucky to get out of jail against the bullants in the corresponding game last year and while both sides are different but not better I reckon with the Bullants at home for the first time all season they will be primed to win against the odds

Can someone please explain to me, why are local football club payments much higher than those of VFL clubs? Is it from pokies?

Johny it's not due to having more money it's more so due to the way money is distributed. In VFL every player gets paid whereas in local you have some players who will play for minimal or no money as they play for love of the jumper. Although they may have a smaller pool of money to pay they may chose to pay a few outsiders handsomely whilst the rest are paid minimally.

Clubs like Werribee, willy or Port can't match those payments as it will further decrease payments of the playing group which could lead to an exodus due to less attractive players packages.

the borough were very lucky to get out of jail against the bullants in the corresponding game last year and while both sides are different but not better I reckon with the Bullants at home for the first time all season they will be primed to win against the odds
Indeed they were copping a 9-33 free kick count in that game.

Because the VFL have a salary cap and its properly policed.
Local footy clubs can get around it easily
Well that part is relatively simple to address, just eliminate the cap.

Johny it's not due to having more money it's more so due to the way money is distributed. In VFL every player gets paid whereas in local you have some players who will play for minimal or no money as they play for love of the jumper. Although they may have a smaller pool of money to pay they may chose to pay a few outsiders handsomely whilst the rest are paid minimally.

Clubs like Werribee, willy or Port can't match those payments as I will further decrease payments of the playing group which could lead to a exodus due to less attractive players packages.
This sounds harder to address. I'd rather everyone get paid even if it means the best outside the AFL aren't in the VFL. As long as it's clear the VFL is the best shop window in the eastern states for mature age recruits to the AFL, this is worth the downsides.

Port Nelbourne is the epitome of of plastics aka the Man City VFL version.

No heart, no soul, a sad attempt at trying to buy wins and flags.

A core of Chris Cain, Sam Dwyer, Nathan Batsanis or the current one with Charlie Lazaro, Don bedendo etc.

Something different about the VFL listers at Port. hooper, Gree, Mun etc compared to those of yesteryear

Did you watch the livestream yesterday ? If so what do you think of the commentators opinion of Port which he mentioned around half way through the 3rd quarter - something about its people and 2nd to none ?

family commitments, sorry

Commentators opinion means nothing anyway, hahahaha