Opinion Vent & Offtopic

But an mcg game is more than likely to be a loud away game crowd than the Darwin games are a home fortress/tricky conditions for opponents

What’s going to happen in a grand final then?

High quality social posting from GWS, as per usual.

I reckon there's an extremely high chance that we're going to play more than 1 game at the MCG next year. Commentators were raving about how attractive our style was to watch against the Dees and literally said on air that it was a shame we only play there once this year. Realistically, how many games can we really expect to play at the MCG each year? Maybe 3 max? I think I'd be happy with at least 2 if 1 is in the first half of the season and the other is towards the end of the season. Feels like a good outcome for us considering the low base we've come from. We have to remember there's only 4 permanent MCG tenants so there isn't as much opportunity for a non-Vic team to play there as some may think.

Interestingly the replies on that how many other clubs only get 1 or 2 games there including clubs like bulldogs

High quality social posting from GWS, as per usual.

I reckon there's an extremely high chance that we're going to play more than 1 game at the MCG next year. Commentators were raving about how attractive our style was to watch against the Dees and literally said on air that it was a shame we only play there once this year. Realistically, how many games can we really expect to play at the MCG each year? Maybe 3 max? I think I'd be happy with at least 2 if 1 is in the first half of the season and the other is towards the end of the season. Feels like a good outcome for us considering the low base we've come from. We have to remember there's only 4 permanent MCG tenants so there isn't as much opportunity for a non-Vic team to play there as some may think.
GWS have been competitive for half a decade and played “attractive” football for most of that time, and still only get one game this season. Can’t see it changing for us any time soon.

To be fair, GWS got two MCG games last season after their prelim performance the year before in 2023. So I think top 4 teams do tend to get rewarded with more MCG games the following year (not always the case). I reckon we're a fair chance to get at least one extra MCG game next year if we keep this up. We play an attractive brand of footy and are coached by one of the all-time greats who made a name for himself at the MCG with one of the stadium's tenants in Richmond. If we keep regularly winning games then I think the AFL will want us to play more at the MCG for the entertainment value.

Both GWS and Suns played Demons this year for their one game each, and recorded dismal crowds.

Last year it was Hawks (who were predicted bottom 5 at the time) and Demons too for GWS, while we had Richmond (predicted cellar dwellers).

So our games there will be against likely dead teams at dead time slots. But two under-hyped games at the G is better than one.

On one of the AFL podcasts Gabelich was saying ‘suns haven’t earned it’

What about GWS. Pretty sure their performances have earned more exposure.

Doesn’t give any hope that its performances based decision making.

The Melbourne GC fans showing up and staying loud will make an impression though!

Hey Suns fans

Carlton Fan in peace!

Did this video after your terrific start to 2025.

Refreshing football from your lot, great off season and dimma ball alive and well

Would love your thoughts on your year ahead your and crows play boxoffice footy to watch really enjoying the style

Best of luck in 2025!

Hey Suns fans

Carlton Fan in peace!

Did this video after your terrific start to 2025.

Refreshing football from your lot, great off season and dimma ball alive and well

Would love your thoughts on your year ahead your and crows play boxoffice footy to watch really enjoying the style

Best of luck in 2025!

Cheers for sharing that, mate. That was an interesting way to breakdown what we're seeing this year. I hadn't previously heard anyone refer to Touk as a POD (admittedly, I don't play Supercoach) but I do think his form/influence this year warrants that tag. Obviously Rowell and Anderson have both started the season really well, but I think one of Touk's biggest strengths has always been his workrate and the fact that he's probably willing to work harder (both ways) than just about any other footballer in the league over the course of four quarters.

I remember his workrate was an aspect that was often highlighted during ascent to being considered one of the best players in the game back in 2022 when he finished third in the Brownlow. Then he started to have some really bad luck with injuries and I think the pressure of captaining a team that was struggling started to weigh on him and we saw him making uncharacteristic mistakes on field in those 2023-24 seasons. Relinquishing the captaincy appears to have lift the proverbial weight off his shoulders and it looks like he's playing freely again like he did back in 2022.

However, I think the major difference for Touk this year when compared to that brilliant season he had in 2022, is that he's really embraced the idea of splitting his minutes between the midfield and the forward line and has clearly worked on his forward craft to become a genuine scoreboard threat, which wasn't a strength of his in the past. The selflessness that comes with him embracing that role has allowed our young mids like Bailey Humphrey, Will Graham and even Jake Rogers to spend more time on ball and they are also starting to flourish with the greater development opportunities afforded to them this year.

Humphrey in particular looks to have taken a huge step forward this season and I'm sure that has a lot to do with playing more minutes in the midfield. We've also lacked a genuine goal scoring small forward in the past (arguably still do) and Touk is certainly helping to plug that hole at the moment by regularly hitting the scoreboard when swung forward and his presence forward of centre also provides leadership to a young forward line as well. The ripple effect that comes from Touk's role change is massive for the collective group IMO. Very encouraging signs for the future.

I hope this isn't the last time you put out an analysis video focusing on us because I found that really insightful and would be interested to hear your thoughts on our future performances as the season progresses.

Opinion Vent & Offtopic

Write your reply...