Opinion Vent & Offtopic

Clayton, Ashcroft and the club have done some pretty strange things over the last 7 years to get the supporters offside however today just confirmed my doubts in renewing my Gold A membership to no membership.... I’m ropable at the moment

There you go people
A BF Board Member gone.

My wife wants us to go.

Down at the Currumbin Surf Club then the boys were talking about how the Titans have an exciting new coach and the Suns threw away GAJ and the number 2 draft pick for a Neville.

You guys might have educated opinions but the normal Gold Coaster just sees the Suns as a joke after today.

Evans the Melbourne Campaigner has done his dash today.

This is the arrogance of the AFL-that they do things so much better than everyone and that their people will just succeed because they are the genius’ from AFL house.

Well after today the biggest winners was the NRL in the SEQLD Footy Wars.

The NRL has nothing to worry about for at least 2 years in SEQLD after today.

Evans has to go and we need a local who actually cares to run the club.

And I hope Clayton who lives in Melbourne sleeps well in his Melbourne home tonight.

Clayton has never fronted the Suns fans in my experience at a forum, he has zero connection with the GC community.

Strap yourselves in, next year will be about the plastics, the plastic Franchise, bring in Tasmania, GC sporting graveyard and it will be relentless.

Dew needs to be a Clarkson/Bellamy
LWeller needs to be a Fyfe/Martin

Nothing from Evans after today’s train wreck on the website and in the media.

He’d be in a Melbourne Restaurant right now having a glass of red wine surrounded by AFL Melbourne types having his ego stroked.

What a joke. What a mistake. 4 home games given away, epic bad draft, club seen as a laughing stock and he has given away Pick 2 for a Freo HBF not in their top 10 players that we developed because he fell in love with him and let everyone know he had a crush on him.

We have an exciting new coach too Bods

If Evans is willing to take members to coffee I'm sure he will respond to the uproar in time

He has said (in the AFLW press conference) that seeing the men's and women's team both up and about would be the proudest moment of his career so I think you might be giving him too little credit regarding his stake in how the club fares, time will tell

Evans is fine.

Weller is hardly a bad get, the bloke has genuine talent.

The only thing that shits me is that we gave up Pick 2. And effectively went from big players in this year's draft to being bottom feeders. We've downgraded all those picks to one extra first round selection and a couple second round selections for 2018. We've rid ourselves of Pick 2 for one player who has yet to prove himself beyond being an emerging, young talent (which can be said for any Top 10 draftee). We've downgraded our current playing list and this year's draft for a (very) marginal improvement to next year's draft. Because 2018 is supposedly a super draft!? Just terrible.

How do you go from this:

Pick 2, 21, 24, 26, 37, 39

To:

Pick 19, 41, 50, 54

???

Player Loss: Matera, Ablett, Saad
Player Gain: Wigg, Young, Weller

The only notable gain for 2018 is West Coast's first round selection.

Disgraceful.

We have an exciting new coach too Bods

If Evans is willing to take members to coffee I'm sure he will respond to the uproar in time

He has said (in the AFLW press conference) that seeing the men's and women's team both up and about would be the proudest moment of his career so I think you might be giving him too little credit regarding his stake in how the club fares, time will tell

Time will tell for sure.

He won’t be taking this member out for Coffee after the email I shot off this arvo to him I guarantee that.

I stand by the fact that today was an ugly day for the AFL in the footy wars.

I constantly mix with NRL people and the general sports fan on the GC.

Today was horrible

Time will tell for sure.

He won’t be taking this member out for Coffee after the email I shot off this arvo to him I guarantee that.

I stand by the fact that today was an ugly day for the AFL in the footy wars.

I constantly mix with NRL people and the general sports fan on the GC.

Today was horrible
I'd love to be cc'd in on that email. I'm interested to know how harsh you were

There you go people
A BF Board Member gone.

My wife wants us to go.

Down at the Currumbin Surf Club then the boys were talking about how the Titans have an exciting new coach and the Suns threw away GAJ and the number 2 draft pick for a Neville.

You guys might have educated opinions but the normal Gold Coaster just sees the Suns as a joke after today.

Evans the Melbourne Campaigner has done his dash today.

This is the arrogance of the AFL-that they do things so much better than everyone and that their people will just succeed because they are the genius’ from AFL house.

Well after today the biggest winners was the NRL in the SEQLD Footy Wars.

The NRL has nothing to worry about for at least 2 years in SEQLD after today.

Evans has to go and we need a local who actually cares to run the club.

And I hope Clayton who lives in Melbourne sleeps well in his Melbourne home tonight.

Clayton has never fronted the Suns fans in my experience at a forum, he has zero connection with the GC community.

Strap yourselves in, next year will be about the plastics, the plastic Franchise, bring in Tasmania, GC sporting graveyard and it will be relentless.

Dew needs to be a Clarkson/Bellamy
LWeller needs to be a Fyfe/Martin
What the local guy at a pub thinks doesn't matter one shit. Winning games matter. We could play infront of 1 person it doesn't matter. Winning does. It also doesn't matter whether someone came from Gold Coast, Melbourne or where ever. Did Melbourne make a mistake getting Jim Stynes from Ireland? No he won a bloody brownlow. I couldn't give a shit if NRL won the holy grail, it's a terrible sport that will never get close to AFL.

Evans has made a number of great decisions so far and 1 questionable decision means he now needs to be sacked after less than a year and we should replace him with any bloke who's from the Gold Coast? Please. I couldn't give a toss if we played in Syria it's not about that. Should we get rid of Lynch and May because they aren't from the Gold Coast? Cochrane and Dew aren't from QLD should we get rid of them as well? Any time someone makes a mistake is it because they aren't from the Gold Coast? What others think won't change my support for the club and i've gone through my whole teenage years as a Suns supporter, I don't cope any less shit for it now than 8 years ago, but i couldn't care less you don't support a team for what others think so the blokes at the pub or the people in the media mean nothing. We start winning matches, making finals it all changes.

There isn't a footy war, we aren't going to Tassie the world isn't over it's just another chapter in the club's history. What's the next chapter? Who knows, but that's half the excitement it will be much better story than being gifted players and picks like Collingwood or Carlton.

What the local guy at a pub thinks doesn't matter one shit. Winning games matter. We could play infront of 1 person it doesn't matter. Winning does. It also doesn't matter whether someone came from Gold Coast, Melbourne or where ever. Did Melbourne make a mistake getting Jim Stynes from Ireland? No he won a bloody brownlow. I couldn't give a shit if NRL won the holy grail, it's a terrible sport that will never get close to AFL.

Evans has made a number of great decisions so far and 1 questionable decision means he now needs to be sacked after less than a year and we should replace him with any bloke who's from the Gold Coast? Please. I couldn't give a toss if we played in Syria it's not about that. Should we get rid of Lynch and May because they aren't from the Gold Coast? Cochrane and Dew aren't from QLD should we get rid of them as well? Any time someone makes a mistake is it because they aren't from the Gold Coast? What others think won't change my support for the club and i've gone through my whole teenage years as a Suns supporter, I don't cope any less shit for it now than 8 years ago, but i couldn't care less you don't support a team for what others think so the blokes at the pub or the people in the media mean nothing. We start winning matches, making finals it all changes.

There isn't a footy war, we aren't going to Tassie the world isn't over it's just another chapter in the club's history. What's the next chapter? Who knows, but that's half the excitement it will be much better story than being gifted players and picks like Collingwood or Carlton.

Love the post Coch, thanks for taking the time to write it.
Indeed winning games matter, there are so many people waiting to jump onboard the bandwagon if we win games and in my opinion just being in the 9th-12th range is all that it will take to get Carrara pumping.

Agree with Coch. NRL is armchair sport.... no one gets of their bum to go buy a membership and watch. Rates it's ^*&% off on TV cos no one wants to sit in the stands - unlike AFL fans who will rock up week in week out whatever the conditions.

I'm a member of Brisbane and Essendon cos i only get home to VIC twice a year and don't mind helping out the locals as i live in the city.

Metricon is a nice stadium and once the Suns start winning the fans will go. Have to hold on to Lynch.

Gazza leaving saves $$$ to solidify a team around Lynchy moving forward. Weller is a young gun. Aaron Young no slouch if he gets to his 2016 form. Wigg needs games. Wright needs a big 2018. Injury killed you thisyear. Healthy list - new coach - new approach = bright future.

Agree with Coch. NRL is armchair sport.... no one gets of their bum to go buy a membership and watch. Rates it's ^*&% off on TV cos no one wants to sit in the stands - unlike AFL fans who will rock up week in week out whatever the conditions.

I'm a member of Brisbane and Essendon cos i only get home to VIC twice a year and don't mind helping out the locals as i live in the city.

Metricon is a nice stadium and once the Suns start winning the fans will go. Have to hold on to Lynch.

Gazza leaving saves $$$ to solidify a team around Lynchy moving forward. Weller is a young gun. Aaron Young no slouch if he gets to his 2016 form. Wigg needs games. Wright needs a big 2018. Injury killed you thisyear. Healthy list - new coach - new approach = bright future.

I wouldn’t go underestimating The NRL following, its still very much in the blood of the people up here.
NRL people shouldn’t underestimate the AFL either. The AFL is a giant with its resources and yes it’s a superb live sport.
Nonetheless, there’s no reason why both clubs can’t go gangbusters which for me is the dream.

A bit off topic, but I was wondering what Mr Bods thought of the new Titans coach? I thought he spoke really well about making other teams fear playing the Titans, and having opposition teams finish games thinking 'god that was a hard team to play against'. He also spoke about putting a real effort into supporting young GC talent which will eventually play for the Titans (I'm guessing they have an academy system like ours?). Everything he said I thought really applies to the Suns as well.

Hi
Thanks for wanting my opinion. When the Titans started searching for a new Coach I of course wanted Bellamy just like I would have wanted Clarkson for the Suns.
However, Brennan was 100% the realistic option I wanted. The guy has the most amazing record and reputation and he’s likely to be able to bring players with him.

He also is from the Newcastle and Penrith Junior Systems so he knows about how to develop and most importantly keep and inspire local talent.

Finally I love it that he comes from a Police background, he’s got real world experience and his reputation as a man manager is as strong as it gets.

I’m totally excited about this appointment and am hoping in Dew/Brennan we are about to finally awaken the sporting giant that will be the Gold Coast.

Hi
Thanks for wanting my opinion. When the Titans started searching for a new Coach I of course wanted Bellamy just like I would have wanted Clarkson for the Suns.
However, Brennan was 100% the realistic option I wanted. The guy has the most amazing record and reputation and he’s likely to be able to bring players with him.

He also is from the Newcastle and Penrith Junior Systems so he knows about how to develop and most importantly keep and inspire local talent.

Finally I love it that he comes from a Police background, he’s got real world experience and his reputation as a man manager is as strong as it gets.

I’m totally excited about this appointment and am hoping in Dew/Brennan we are about to finally awaken the sporting giant that will be the Gold Coast.
Thanks Bodsy. Looking forward to seeing how he goes!

Sorry I missed answering another question of yours
There is an academy system but unfortunately the Titans let the Bloody Drongoes constantly get under our noses and they take the cream of what we produce with money and promises.

Brennan needs to address that issue. We have lost so many good kids to The Drongoes.

It seems a few of our Geelong sparring partners are having a tantrum on their own board blaming the AFL and us for not winning premierships during 2012-2017. Just makes a bit of sense as to the recent hostility.

Geelong were a basket case until Cook arrived. They were broke and a waste of space and have gorged on pokies to keep their head above level. They now have their hand out and receive gifts from the government and AFL to transform their ghetto into something remotely resembling an AFL ground.
Yet their flogs on their board (too many to mention) come waltzing in whinging about us receiving financial assistance.
Thank **** we have ridden our club of that petulant money hungry flog and the whinging WAG.
Vent over.

Geelong were a basket case until Cook arrived. They were broke and a waste of space and have gorged on pokies to keep their head above level. They now have their hand out and receive gifts from the government and AFL to transform their ghetto into something remotely resembling an AFL ground.
Yet their flogs on their board (too many to mention) come waltzing in whinging about us receiving financial assistance.
Thank **** we have ridden our club of that petulant money hungry flog and the whinging WAG.
Vent over.
Love it keep them coming. Gold.

Hey guys !
Was just wondering if everyone here is dirty on ablett leaving use guys a year before his contract ends, ive seen mostly negative comments towards him, is there anyone out there that still loves the little master?

Opinion Vent & Offtopic