Banter TRTT Part 14: 2022 Goodbye (To 2023)

Penrith doing a Hawthorn.

The Hawks lost to an "interstate team' in 2012, Sydney, in a close one, then won 3 in a row.

Penrith lost to an interstate team in 2020, Melbourne, in a close one, then have won 3 in a row.

Both comps have a salary cap and a couple of Penrith players have signed for other clubs and it was their last game for the club tonight, but no draft in the NRL means the Penrith academy will keep churning out quality players, other clubs dont have access to.

Chewy316 Broncos supporter was at the game with his mate from Brisbane, who came with us to the Qualifying final at the Gabba 3 weeks ago.

We were texting throughout the game but when the Broncos went 24-8 up, at 55 minite mark I text him that its over. He said no its not. Its not over till its over

I replied with - you have been Hinkleyfied, and he replied with Farken Oath.

I told him after the game thats what Queensland usually do to NSW in the last 10 minutes of a state of origin game, or the All Blacks do to the Wallabies in a Bledisloe Cup game

He's hurting.

I knew Penrith would come back but I thought the boys would be able to hold em off. Once it got to 24-20 I felt the momentum wave come and thought it was going to take a superhuman effort to stop them. Wasn't to be. It happens.

This one hurts big time but I was more pissed off after the Port 2021 prelim final. At least I know my Bronx spent everything in the tank, had nothing left to give and are run by management who won't settle for anything less than a premiership in the years to come. I have hope.

With Port, hope is on hold until they rid themselves of Koch, the Board, Richo, Hinkley and the footy committee (which largely consists of the aforementioned though Cassisi and CD are also involved on that front).

Haha Port used to have a partnership / relationship with Penrith about 2015 or 2016 because OAK sponsored both clubs. Been a divergent path since then.
Yes, I remember. That was back in the days of the big Panthers club.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

I'm a bit late to this party, but wow that NRL grand final was sensational.

Incredible comeback by Penrith, at one hour into the game they were gone for all money. Incredible team who just don't know how to quit.

But kudos to Brisbane too. I think they were bottom in 2020, getting thrashed regularly. They rebuilt their squad and profile adding heaps of pace under a new coach and came within a whisker of beating the best team of the modern era. And it's a young squad that could challenge for years to come.

There is something to be learned from the way they went about reclimbing the mountain.

Brisbane not only lost AFL and NRL GFs but GC Titans lost NRLW GF and State Championship Grand Final, Brisbane Tigers lost to South Sydney Rabbitohs

384516491_349054004135843_8362798054283331631_n.jpg

I'm a bit late to this party, but wow that NRL grand final was sensational.

Incredible comeback by Penrith, at one hour into the game they were gone for all money. Incredible team who just don't know how to quit.

But kudos to Brisbane too. I think they were bottom in 2020, getting thrashed regularly. They rebuilt their squad and profile adding heaps of pace under a new coach and came within a whisker of beating the best team of the modern era. And it's a young squad that could challenge for years to come.

There is something to be learned from the way they went about reclimbing the mountain.

The difference between Port and the Broncos is that management at Brisbane is all about winning premierships. They've got the financial clout and they invest in the best people. CEO Dave Donaghy is regarded as one of if not the brightest executive at Club level having been a big part of the Storm dynasty in Melbourne, whilst Kevin Walters is a winner. 6 time premiership winner as a player, been assistant coach of teams that have won the NRL and also led QLD to state of origin series wins against all odds. Watching the Broncos is somewhat cathartic for me because I know they're going to put in the effort and bust their guts every game, and that's usually enough to win. Contrast that to Port, and you are never sure if they're going to downhill ski their way to victory or if they're more focused on a beer next Friday night at Angle Park.

That's not to say the Broncos don't know how to have a good time though. Donaghy was skulling beers with the fans one section over from me at the game yesterday. But they also know that the hard work comes first - otherwise they just look like entitled fückwits.

If the Broncos miss the finals two years in a row there is a royal commission equivalent held at Red Hill to get to the bottom of it. Port's response to such a travesty is to reward those responsible for such results with contract extensions.

It seriously shouldn't be hard to get Port to the next level. Leave the ego at the door, make a few tweaks and things really could take off quite quickly.

Bloody that old 'Big Girl You Are Beautiful' song was on the radio today, remember that? I used to remember whenever that would play at the pub or club and it was like, a scene of sorts. From the depths of the venue there would be a gathering and women of all shapes and sizes would appear. Emerging from the shadows, descending from the skies, and rising from the ground, a caravan of more generously proportioned ladies making tracks to the dancefloor. If you weren't able to gtfo of there quick enough you would soon find yourself inundated by big girls for the next few minutes.

What terrible times.

Bloody that old 'Big Girl You Are Beautiful' song was on the radio today, remember that? I used to remember whenever that would play at the pub or club and it was like, a scene of sorts. From the depths of the venue there would be a gathering and women of all shapes and sizes would appear. Emerging from the shadows, descending from the skies, and rising from the ground, a caravan of more generously proportioned ladies making tracks to the dancefloor. If you weren't able to gtfo of there quick enough you would soon find yourself inundated by big girls for the next few minutes.

What terrible times.
I'd take it over the gym junkie twigs with no ( . Y . )'s