Travel Increase for Vic Clubs

I dislike how the AFL 'help' those who sell games interstate. Richmond had just 4 away interstate matches, Hawthorn the same (if not 3?), i can't be bothered looking it up but i doubt WB had more than 4 interstate away games. Geelong had 6 interstate matches, so Victorian supporters only got to see them play 16 times, the same amount as Richmond supporters got to see Richmond in Victoria, even after they whored themselves out.

If they want to sell games interstate, good for them, but they shouldn't be given any less interstate away games because of it.

Its a two way street, that AFL wants a few games played up in Darwin or wherever, so the clubs that need some bucks sell a couple of games, but if they are smart they also insist that the sold games are included in the total of interstate games, so Richmond last year sold 2 but probably only had one extra game interstate, but as we found out it can sometimes be costly :eek:

This travelling thing is BS. We play "home" games against teams at the MCG who play at the MCG like Collingwood, Richmond, Melbourne and Hawthorn. We play home games against Interstaters and other Etihad tenants with no distinct advantage. We had 9 games at our home ground with 5 games to our advantage (including Geelong as SS is their home ground) and 4 against other tenants.

In the end, you will win all games if your good enough. What about the 00's when the interstaters dominated? It didn't seem to affect them. Didn't seem to have an effect on WC. Fremantle got smashed by 80 points at home! Port by 138!

This travelling thing is BS. We play "home" games against teams at the MCG who play at the MCG like Collingwood, Richmond, Melbourne and Hawthorn. We play home games against Interstaters and other Etihad tenants with no distinct advantage. We had 9 games at our home ground with 5 games to our advantage (including Geelong as SS is their home ground) and 4 against other tenants.

In the end, you will win all games if your good enough. What about the 00's when the interstaters dominated? It didn't seem to affect them. Didn't seem to have an effect on WC. Fremantle got smashed by 80 points at home! Port by 138!
Actually, if you look at how few WC players have reached certain milestones i would suggest the travel schedule does effect our players of the course of their careers.

'Bout time they stopped the rort keeping us away from the winning interstate trips. Now we might be able to finish higher on the ladder.

even the pies couldn't win the week after a Perth encounter

Put your money on Pies playing interstate against GWS, SYD, BL, ADEL and WCE.

IMO, the teams that played GC twice last year shouldn't play GC or GWS twice this year (except BL for obvious reasons).

That rules out Melbourne, Geelong, Hawthorn, Adelaide and Western Bulldogs.

In 2012, every team plays 5 teams twice, so 10 teams play GC and GWS twice. BL and SYD are two of those teams.

I think GC and GWS will play each other twice, so that means only 6 other teams will get to play one of GC and GWS twice next year.

There are 9 teams that are in the mix for those 6 opportunites, so 3 out of CARL, COLL, ESS, FREM, NM, PA, RICH, STK, WCE will miss out on playing GC or GWS twice in 2011/2012.

Victorian teams have it worse than the 2 Perth teams:eek:

YOU JUST GOT TO LAUGH !

Hopefully the fact 95% of finals are played in Victoria will rectify this gross injustice:rolleyes:

It's a debate that wll never get a satisfactory concusion.

There are home games, neutral games and away games.

Vic teams get lots of neutral games.
Non-Vic teams get lots of home/away games.

Supporters of (almost) all descriptions claim their situation is worse, but there is no way of saying with any certainty, so the 'debate' goes on...and on...and on.

It makes it easier for middle of the road interstate teams to make the finals, but harder for very good interstate teams to finish top.

Interstate have a gauranteed 8-10 wins a year if they are any good due to having a true home ground advantage.

Melbourne clubs have a home ground advantage 2-3 times a year max.

The draw already heavily favours interstate teams.

193-ignorance-sometimes-its-best-not-to-know.jpg

Now that this (5 away games interstate for Victorian clubs) non-negotiable has been locked in, perhaps the AFL should ensure that every team plays in every state where teams are.

It shouldn't be the case that of your 5 interstate games that you play 2 in Queensland and New South Wales, but none in W.A.

Every team playing in every state should be the next non-negotiable to be ticked off.
Fair point, every team should play in every state at least once.

Collingwood train at the ground and play the majority of their games at the ground. North, not so much.
Again, another partial advantage to the pies

Collingwood train at Gosch's Paddock, which is a stupid field essentialy right next to busy roads. There is no privacy, no shelter, its all open for the public to see.

I reckon he is onto something

West Coast at Pattersons (ie home ground) - 12 from 13 in 2011 or 92% winning
West Coast away 6 from 12 or a 50% winning record

Compare that to Carlton
In Melbourne 11 from 18 - 61% winning rate
Outside of Melbourne 4 from 5 - 80% winning rate

The fact that West Coast have such a massive home ground advantage was a huge leg up in finishing top 4....as they can bank on 8-9 wins out of their 12 at home.....win 3-4 away against the battlers and hey presto finals footy.

Trolling? wtf.

One can't have an opinion anymore?

Melbourne teams play mostly neutral games with no advantage.

Interstate clubs play 8-11 games with a pronounced hom ground advantage.

This is before getting into the ridiculous amount of bias interstae teams get from the umpires.

If they are any good they should win most of those games.

Sounds like you are upset because you follow Brisbane and don't like anyone having this opinion about them.

So many wrong things in here it is not funny.

I guess, since there is so much home team bias, it is worse that this affects non-Vic sides 10 times a year, but you just 5?? Or does hometown bias only work outside of Victoria? Even though the field umps travel the country...

Compare that to Carlton

The fact that West Coast have such a massive home ground advantage was a huge leg up in finishing top 4....as they can bank on 8-9 wins out of their 12 at home.....win 3-4 away against the battlers and hey presto finals footy.

Well there you have it. :rolleyes: 2 teams compared and you've done it. Now, throw in that we went to Melbourne and beat Carlton and beat them here too. What does that do to your two samples?? Blues beat Suns, Swans, Port and Freo away, and lost to us. We lost to Hawks, Bombers, Pies, St Kilda, Pies, Geelong. All hardly surprising results.

There is no doubt it is easier to win at home against an interstate side. You don't have to travel, you play a familiar ground and you have a home ground. This is obvious.

However, that counts against us as much as it does for. Just as it does with most of the Victorian teams. This means it is easier for us to make the 8, but harder for us to get up the top. Your statistics even show this. In all the years awe are good, it is hard for us to win most of our away games, as the travel takes it out on you. Whereas the Victorian teams often have better travel records, because you don't travel as much.

We're not complaining about it, but there isn't any real advantage to being a non-Victorian side.

Why can't the AFL just **** off and stop guaranteeing ANYTHING in the fixture.

18 teams, 22/24 games. Just do the thing by chance and if you get 19 games in Melbourne and 3 elsewhere good-o, if you get 16 and 6 then suck it up.

If we had a real fixture (ie playing everyone twice, or only once alternating H&A year by year) I'd be all for a random chance draw. Can't wait for the day we switch to the latter system - 18 teams, 17 rounds, simple.

But while they insist on this ****ed up 'season and a quarter' system it's probably better that they try to minimize the inequality of travel as much as they can.

Well there you have it. :rolleyes: 2 teams compared and you've done it. Now, throw in that we went to Melbourne and beat Carlton and beat them here too. What does that do to your two samples?? Blues beat Suns, Swans, Port and Freo away, and lost to us. We lost to Hawks, Bombers, Pies, St Kilda, Pies, Geelong. All hardly surprising results.

There is no doubt it is easier to win at home against an interstate side. You don't have to travel, you play a familiar ground and you have a home ground. This is obvious.

However, that counts against us as much as it does for. Just as it does with most of the Victorian teams. This means it is easier for us to make the 8, but harder for us to get up the top. Your statistics even show this. In all the years awe are good, it is hard for us to win most of our away games, as the travel takes it out on you. Whereas the Victorian teams often have better travel records, because you don't travel as much.

We're not complaining about it, but there isn't any real advantage to being a non-Victorian side.

Yep, agree with this, we have just as big an advantage as a disadvantage. The travel factor is being heavily discounted in this thread.

Interstate have a gauranteed 8-10 wins a year if they are any good due to having a true home ground advantage.

Melbourne clubs have a home ground advantage 2-3 times a year max.

The draw already heavily favours interstate teams.

Hillarious!

Who would have thought playing interstate so much is actually an advantage.

Having to travel and play a Grand Final in a state not your own, in a stadium with a crowd heavily weighted towards Victorian Home teams must be the ultimate advantage.

I dislike how the AFL 'help' those who sell games interstate. Richmond had just 4 away interstate matches, Hawthorn the same (if not 3?)

Actually, in 2011, Hawks had 5 interstate games - Adelaide, Sydney, Freo, Port & GCS. The 4 games played in Launceston are never considered as 'interstate' matches for Hawthorn (and nor should they be) but are considered as 'interstate' for the team they are playing against.

Actually, if you look at how few WC players have reached certain milestones i would suggest the travel schedule does effect our players of the course of their careers.

Since 1987, WC have had 15 players play 200 games, with 4 going on to 250 games with a high of 276.

Since 1987 Collingwood, the team that apparently never ever travels, have had 15 players play 200 games, with 4 going on to 250 with a high of 265.

Compare that to Carlton

Sorry Dop but i don't agree with this at all, WCE have 5-8, 5 hour flights per year (Melb and Qld), the most a melb club will be 2 at the most and more than likely 1. their away schedule is by far the hardest in the league and the results show that.

The Melb teams have is easy in comparison and this will only become equitable when 3-4 Melb clubs die or relocate.

Travel Increase for Vic Clubs