WSYD Tom Scully has committed to GWS

Can't believe the Melbourne supporters are going on about other clubs tanking here. Grade 2 stuff at best. What difference does it make? Melbourne blatantly cheated (Bailey actually rubbed peoples noses in it) and now they are going to lose one of the players they tanked for. Two wrongs dont make a right. They deserve to lose Scully and I will be verry happy when he announces he is leaving. What a great day for football.

crying-baby.jpg

Is he worth a million a season? Seriously?

On the back of a dozen or so pretty good games?

Can't believe the Melbourne supporters are going on about other clubs tanking here. Grade 2 stuff at best. What difference does it make? Melbourne blatantly cheated (Bailey actually rubbed peoples noses in it) and now they are going to lose one of the players they tanked for. Two wrongs dont make a right. They deserve to lose Scully and I will be verry happy when he announces he is leaving. What a great day for football.
Might want to take some of your own advice there champ!

We tanked and I'm proud we did. It was the honourable thing to do for MFC supporters. Build a list to hopefully win a flag, or be the laughing stock of the competition by winning one too many (meaningless) games and miss out on picks 1 and 2 ? A fool would choose the latter, but I know there's many reading that fit the criteria.

But I've digressed. So apparently Tom hasn't already committed to the GWS according to tomorrow's HS. Scully said in his only press conference regarding the matter that he hadn't even been approached by GWS and, amongst other things, that his teammates should have full "trust" in him. I'll be somewhat unfashionable and take him at his word.

He will have a decision to make and I suspect he'll decide that staying with his mates and playing at the MCG more weeks than not is worth foregoing some coin when you're going to be well remunerated anyway.

Time will tell. And thanks for your continued interest. :thumbsu:

Well apparently Scully or his management have had contacts with GWS.......
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...r-for-tom-scully/story-e6frf9jf-1226092665707

So how could they be negotiating???? Stop the lies Scully..... how low could he get by telling Stynes that he or his management hasn't been approached by anyone.

Is this the biggst con job of an article or what?

Nobody from GWS is talking, yet this is Velocity, his management, confirming such an offer?

If it was all legit, and Scully had not made up his mind, why the heck would they let this out? This would be the best kept secret in town and is only creating a media frenzy.

There is absolutely nothing to gain, unless of course Tom already has joined agreed to go.

They leaked it to the media to soften everything - Tom hasnt agreed, GWS didnt speak to him out of school blah blah, softening for the eventual Scully signs with GWS at the end of the season.

Everyone is getting stuck into Melbourne here about 'tanking'... but I can guarantee that it happens at ALL clubs. How many sides over the years have been unable to make the eight, so they 'tank' under the guise of list management, and happen to lose a few games at the end of the season.

'We are booking John into surgery now (Round 16) so he is right for the pre-season'

'We are deciding to give a few of our kids a run to prepare them for next season'

'We thought we would try John on the wing today to try develop his game and add a few strings to his bow'

Yeah, we benefited from a priority pick... but we deserved it the season before Scully and Trengove anyway, but we were 'out-tanked' by Carlton in Round 22, 2007. Anyone who says we didn't deserve a priority pick during the 2007-2009 seasons is kidding themselves. We were a terrible team during that time-frame.

$1,000,000 per season is crazy money and Scully would be crazy not to accept to it.

That is of course, unless, there is a future Collective Bargaining Agreement that would have a positive impact on player wages. But it would be impossible to confidently speculate on something like that.

I don't know if he is worth this much money though. He certainly isn't Gazza.

On a side note, (and I hope it doesn't happen), but wouldn't it be interesting if Scully, like Allan Houston in the NBA, suffered a series of career-ending injuries early into his contract and the AFL was forced to introduce an Allan Houstone-esque rule to alleviate the financial pressure on GWS: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allan_Houston#.22Allan_Houston_Rule.22

So we've heard nothing but Scully has signed for the past couple of months - the first article with actual sources named suggesting that he has only just recently been offered contracts, nothing signed - how is this bad news for us?

btw - loving the high horse certain opposition supporters are taking. Some have very short memories

If this is the first offer GWS have made then it's Illegal and if I was Melbourne I would sue... you cant approach contracted players. Unless of course hehas already been approached in the off season when it was legal.... then of coures SCully is Full of Sh.... and has lied his ass off to Melbourne.

Its comments and attitudes like above that makes most opposition supporters hope that Scully does move to GWS. Not that you, any of the other MFC supporters or the club itself could (or should) give a shit, but its why the opposition will love it and sink the boot in even more if the defection does happen.

I'm glad that you're personally invested in our footy club, Chuckles. :thumbsu:

I never post here, but these tanking accusations are ridiculous. Going to the footy in 2008 was like extracting teeth, we were just terrible. Not from lack of effort, but from an ageing list that had been poorly managed, coupled with injuries, a new coach that simply had to play some kids as well as complete lack of confidence in any sort of football ability.

The club owed it to the supporters to get some decent footballers or quite simply, we were going under. Riddled with debt off field, a poor culture, and a very poor group of players. If there has been any club worthy of a priority pick - which I might add is a system that is flawed and is carrot for poor clubs - then it was Melbourne 2008.

Also, we did lose the priority pick for a moment when we were winning after the siren against Richmond late in season. However, of course we tanked when Jordan McMahon kicked truly, the ball willed between the sticks by the MFC.

With nothing to be gained late in the season, it would be more poor management from a success starved club, to win another game. Yes Warnock was tried up forward, and others were played further out of position, but you can't instruct a lack of effort.

Zero apologies. The gulf between the top and bottom clubs is already big and you need quality players. It now seems the only way to get approval from other supporters is to fluke a Selwood pick in the top 10. There is no way Melbourne 2008 could risk that.

As for Tom, he is wearing the 31, playing under Jimmy and for the oldest club. And now, he is being offered far more than he is worth. All the signs point to him leaving, and it there is no precedent for this (not even Buckley). We don't see a blatant cash grab very often (event GAJ had the Bomber tiff). His loss if he leaves, he will be run ragged for three years in front of eight people, seven of which went to the wrong ground looking for the West Tigers, and until his dodgy knee falls off.

How many times do we have to go over this boring topic with uneducated idiots.

We took Scully with pick one. We would've picked him up whether or not we had the priority pick. Get over it.

Karma would be Trengove leaving.

if you rob a bank, you dont just give back the money and get off scott free, you get jail time as well
if you rort the tax or welfare system, you dont pay back the exact amount, you pay it back, with a loading, and a conviction. the punishment should be greater than the reward gained by cheating all the other clubs out of picking up either trengrove or scully.

Average rotations in 2008 for the tankers 56. Next season suddenly almost double- running dead. If he goes it is karma.

Again, derelick in their duties to win a game. Blame the system, with three games to go and nothing to gain, almost every club would do it. Top picks are becoming more and more valuable as recruiters get better. We simply had to get better or die.

Karma is just a feable argument which can be blanketed over just about everything without going into any detail about the situation. Your club wasn't far off the race in 2008 for the number one pick - you wanted naitanui and we certainly for a while, until after the champs and draft camp. I am leaving this place once again, just pointless arguing against calls of karma

I'm glad that you're personally invested in our footy club, Chuckles. :thumbsu:

:rolleyes:

At the end of the day sure I'll laugh at a few Melbourne flogs remembering a few years back how they were banging on about 'Sculgove' being their new saviours and celebrating their tanking efforts but at the end of the day I couldn't really give a shit about your club unless its MFC that stops my club from winning their next flag.

You just don't pass up that kind of money. You never know what can happen in football. He could get a career ending injury and it's all gone. Take what you can get whilst you can get it.

Just my opinion, but I hate that attitude. "Take what you can get", it's an ugly way to go about this sort of thing, especially in an industry that evokes so much passion. His legacy is also in question, and by "taking all he can get", he'll throw a lot away - playing at the G, bigger crowds, family etc...He'll be forever the villian if he leaves.

And besides, "he's getting" more than any 20 year old in the competition if Melbourne's offer is to be believed.

The hell are Melbourne supporters going on about? Does the fact other teams tanked changed the fact they did? No.

If he goes he goes, if he stays he stays. The sheep like mentality of some supporters are funny:

<subtle abuse, negative points, bad comments>
<but I hope he stays>

Got a definitive opinion yet?

Its a sadder day for football when any team tanks, gets a pick, then turns against them by passing up an offer when they themselves most probably can't even turn down.

It was a sad day for the AFL when a team won a premiership after they were allowed more money in the salary cap. Or an even sadder day when they allowed a guy to play in the grandfinal and let his suspension start the week after.
See what I did there?

Glass houses my friend, glass houses

Again, derelick in their duties to win a game. Blame the system, with three games to go and nothing to gain, almost every club would do it. Top picks are becoming more and more valuable as recruiters get better. We simply had to get better or die.

Karma is just a feable argument which can be blanketed over just about everything without going into any detail about the situation. Your club wasn't far off the race in 2008 for the number one pick - you wanted naitanui and we certainly for a while, until after the champs and draft camp. I am leaving this place once again, just pointless arguing against calls of karma

Yeah, you're wasting your time mate... you'll notice with time on here that if you have a Jack Watts thread it will inevitably get hijacked into a 'Naitanui/Hurley/Watts' argument and everyone will get stuck into Melbourne. Also with a Tom Scully thread it will get hijacked into a 'Melbourne tanked' argument. You will go round and round in circles and end up with 10+ pages of absolute dribble from mainly West Coast, North Melbourne and Essendon supporters.

Yes, I am learning the hard way. There is no room for reason here.

Just my opinion, but I hate that attitude. "Take what you can get", it's an ugly way to go about this sort of thing, especially in an industry that evokes so much passion. His legacy is also in question, and by "taking all he can get", he'll throw a lot away - playing at the G, bigger crowds, family etc...He'll be forever the villian if he leaves.

And besides, "he's getting" more than any 20 year old in the competition if Melbourne's offer is to be believed.

Meh, if an employer in a similar field offers around double what you can get where you are you'd be nuts not to take it...especially when your employment could effectively be over 5 minutes into you next game.

Clubs show little loyalty the other way either