Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

23, Parker AND 45? You should read what Adelaide supporters were saying about Tippett during the year before he announced he would be leaving. If he is worth a first and second round pick and a Premiership player, then why isn't every club putting their hand up to try to sign him?
Because when this deal falls through, which in my opinion will allow a few of them to get him for free.

23, Parker AND 45? You should read what Adelaide supporters were saying about Tippett during the year before he announced he would be leaving. If he is worth a first and second round pick and a Premiership player, then why isn't every club putting their hand up to try to sign him?

No one cares about what you post so time to move on bud.

How do you know other clubs haven't phoned the Crows to register interest if Sydney pulls out of the race. Since Tippett said he wants to go to Sydney and he and his management won't entertain other clubs (at this stage) there is no point for them to express any interest. Why show a hand to other clubs when, if the Sydney-Adelaide negotiations stalemate and he ends up in the draft, they can pick him up there? If Sydney were to withdraw and say "Too hard", I would bet there would be 3 or 4 clubs interested. If Tippett can't get to Sydney he will want to play somewhere.

not sure if troll or stupid

Where's the evidence that the contract is heavily back ended? Most of the young players are signed to 2014 and beyond, isn't it possible that the second year is heavily stacked with the funds that will come from Bolton and Goodes' retirements?

Your CEO said that you would be paying him less next year than what we were offering. Notice the words "next year". This intimates absolutely that the contract while more than what we offered overall, is heavily backloaded and it would only need to be back loaded due to salary cap pressure. It's pure logic.

Your CEO said that you would be paying him less next year than what we were offering. Notice the words "next year".
Yeah, next year. One of four. Why couldn't the second be stacked and the other two at a lower rate? It doesn't really make a great deal of difference, it just seems a bit odd that a two second statement has been spooled out into pretty clear cut statements about the state of Sydney's cap. As I said, Goodes and Bolton both very likely to retire next season, the likes of Jetta and Reid signed on, isn't it just as possible that 2014 is the stacked year?[/quote]

Well, I guess everybody on BF has posted on this thread, so I better put my two cents in (not that its needed to keep the thread going - its just so that I can tell my grandkids on my deathbed that I posted in "that" thread!).

Sadly, I have nothing new or groundbreaking to add to the trade discussion, and i'm not going to repeat something that has already been repeated ten times over.

I will say that, like a lot of footy fans, Sydney have always been my 'second' team. I was born in Sydney (yes, really - not the gold coast!), all of my family are there (yes all of them, not just some distant cousin), and my partner is a Swans supporter.
On GF day I cheered as loudly for the Swans as I would have for the Crows!

But this whole drama of the last 3 weeks has changed that. Whether or not Tippet does eventually get to Sydney, I will find it very difficult to support them against any team (even Port), let alone the Crows. I will make it a priority to be at Aami/Adelaide Oval, for any game against the Swans over the next few years, to join in the chorus of boo's (especially at Tippet!).

Seriously 500 pages devoted to a player you're losing. The big question that should be dominating your board is how you're going to replace him. Lose a KPP and you still expect to finish top 4 without trying to bring in some additional talent. That should be taking up 500+ pages.
Already sorted mate! I suggest you think before posting in the future!
1_19AdEs12AFL981.jpg

Seriously 500 pages devoted to a player you're losing. The big question that should be dominating your board is how you're going to replace him. Lose a KPP and you still expect to finish top 4 without trying to bring in some additional talent. That should be taking up 500+ pages.
The average age of your team is about 34, maybe you should be worrying a bit more about that, specifically on your board where people care about your opinions.

How can a player who is bound to a club (albeit out of contract) nominate for the Draft?
He can't, according to that clause.
Tippett's contract with Adelaide expires 31 Oct, but his AFL registration (with Adelaide) does not expire until after the ND.
Therefore unless Adelaide delist Tippett prior to the ND (as St Kilda did with Ball) he would only be eligible for the PSD.
EDIT;

4.5 Player Eligibility for National Draft
4.5.1 Players Eligible to be Drafted
A Player who has nominated in accordance with these Rules is eligible
to be drafted if he also satisfies the following requirements:

(b) the Player must not be bound to an AFL Club;

Yeah, next year. One of four. Why couldn't the second be stacked and the other two at a lower rate? It doesn't really make a great deal of difference, it just seems a bit odd that a two second statement has been spooled out into pretty clear cut statements about the state of Sydney's cap. As I said, Goodes and Bolton both very likely to retire next season, the likes of Jetta and Reid signed on, isn't it just as possible that 2014 is the stacked year?
[/quote]

No but you miss the point. If Sydney can't afford to pay him more than $750,000 NEXT year, that's the highest figure he can put on his draft nomination.

I'm so bored I've started doing a text analysis of Rucci's article.

The cost of forcing Tippett into the draft pool without compensation - as urged by inaugural Adelaide coach Graham Cornes and his captain Chris McDermott - is waiting 34 calls in the draft rather than just three.
Here he is making it sound like there is a massive advantage to have pick 23. If Adelaide have identified a player or players they want as project players or speculative picks because the fill an identified need, rather than trying to have a mad scramble at another inside mid-fielder. I agree that having 23 is some advantage but not as massive as Rucci makes out given the current Crows situation.

"If Adelaide persists with chasing White to increase forward options around Taylor Walker, the Crows would need to cut a contracted player.
Rucci's deliberate choice in using emotive language to make it look like the Crows want White in the team and are actively chasing him. This is pure speculation based on Noble's interview on 5AA.

The leading contender appears midfielder Richard Tambling."
While it appears a logical conclusion, the only place this has been mentioned (AFAICT) is Bigfooty. I am not sure that the Crows want to pay out a contract. And I haven't heard Noble mention de-listing.
Begs the question why would we take on White for $300K per year, when we have adequate players of his ilk ... when we may as well keep Tambling as we have more of a need for a line-breaking player - particularly given we would have to pay him within the cap if delisted/not traded elsewhere.

Rucci has his own agenda, which is hopefully way different to the Crows!

Whether or not Tippet does eventually get to Sydney, I will find it very difficult to support them against any team (even Port), let alone the Crows.
EGADS!!! Another fence sitting crow supporter.:p

I will make it a priority to be at Aami/Adelaide Oval, for any game against the Swans over the next few years, to join in the chorus of boo's (especially at Tippet!).
I'll be there too. The first game will be a record crowd, Ill be betting.

If that were the case why didn't he go to GC, GWS? And somehow those in the know at the Swans reckon he'll be on less next year than what AFC were paying him this year. It's Adelaide he wants to leave. Best get rid of him and use the picks and money to reward players that want to stay put in SA, or move over from WA/Vic/wherever.

FFS because Sydney have offered more $$$$$

Forget the throw away line from your CEO, yes Yippett may be on less next year however over the course of the 4 year term he will earn more money from the Sydney offer then he would of at Adelaide, GC or Brisbane

When is this point going to sink in

Or if you actually knew our list you would realise that we already have 2 direct replacements for Kurt Tippett on our list desperate to be given an opportunity.

We really don't need to find a Kurt Tippett replacement in the trade period and that replacement is most certainly not Jesse White. We planned for this departure 12 months ago hence the recruitment of Josh Jenkins, Lewis Johnston and Tom Lynch last year. :rolleyes:

This thread is about maximising the return for a departing player and using that to address our other needs. replacing Kurt Tippett with a similar type of player is certainly not our need.

That is the big question, White is definitely not going to replace him. What if Sydney were to offer up Alex Johnson? Is that an area of need for Adelaide. I reckon it could be. ....... But things are stalled because Sydney won't talk turkey. We have also talked about what draft pick it would take to get a player (non speculative)that would fill a need. Consensus is a minimum of 11-13. Again Sydney has stalled this.

In lieu of being able to get something of need in a trade about 2/3 of the other posts are debating if sending him to the draft is a good idead or if pick 23 is of very much value to use.

And you seriously don't have a grip of our list and the natural improvement that will occur and the structural changes we are capable of making. While we would like to replace Tippett, your team is the one stopping progress in this hence the thread.

Anyway it is Rucci pushing his barrow. He has seen his 1st explanation about why not to send Tippett to the draft was starting to show weakness so he comes up with this little gem..... :rolleyes: to maintain his position.

Why is he offering so much editorial? Why not actually break some news? That's what reporters do right?

Because he's a thorough Port man. Look at his past agendas including the reunification of the PAFC (Power) with the PAMFC (Magpies) knowing this would help drive the reserves debate, the Power to Adelaide Oval and associated SANFL dealings, anti Primus barrow and general negativity regarding Adelaide's trading.
Many people at the Advertiser don't have a lot of respect for him as a journalist - which is not saying a lot I know.

FFS because Sydney have offered more $$$$$

Forget the throw away line from your CEO, yes Yippett may be on less next year however over the course of the 4 year term he will earn more money from the Sydney offer then he would of at Adelaide, GC or Brisbane

When is this point going to sink in
I love the fact that Sydney fans keep falling back on the "but but but he's getting paid less next year than he would have at the Crows" ... little knowing that this is the exact reason why Kurt will get picked up by another club prior to Sydney in the PSD

He can't.
Tippett's contract with Adelaide expires 31 Oct, but his AFL registration (with Adelaide) does not expire until after the ND.
Therefore unless Adelaide delist Tippett prior to the ND (as St Kilda did with Ball) he would only be eligible for the PSD.
I knew there was something like that in the play. it had something to do with 2 list lodgement dates and players ability to nominate for the ND if the club does not delete them from the list by the first list lodgement deadline.