Society & Culture Things that Shit me part X- The Tenth edition!

Watched Moneyball with my girlfriend last night. We get to the end and she turns to me and complains
that they didn't win. I say "but they DIDN'T win. It's a true story, they can't change that!" She says "I still think it would have been better if they'd won."

:mad:

lol.

watched that the either week, was pretty good. at least they didn't change the story to make them win.

what shits me is thinking that was good, i might as well read the book. buy it on ebay... comes yesterday. in my haste i ordered an audio book!!! ffs.

(and 5 cd's?? seriously... why not in thie day just go with a USB)

bought the book again. this time it was a book. murphy's law is the company will now accidentally pack an audio book.

Some quality contributions from Caesar.. :D

Will put my hand up in rocking up to a tute in uni only to find out we dont have one that week, hate it coz they only put it on the unit outline, and seriously who looks at that let alone checks that every week?

Has happened on more than 1 occasion.. also the opposite, thinking there isnt a tute/lecture that week and dont show up only to miss super important exam-worthy stuff.

Also, I always decide the music as a passenger, my argument is your busy focusing on the road, let me handle the music..
Yes, I do piss off plenty of mates. :p

Also, I always decide the music as a passenger, my argument is your busy focusing on the road, let me handle the music..
Yes, I do piss off plenty of mates. :p

i've got this covered. my car ipod is only 8gb, fits about 1200 songs. every song on there is "hand" picked and there is not one song on there i don't enjoy.... so i'm always happy to let the passenger choose.

Good system.

I don't have an iPod or anything. Whenever I drive somewhere I carefully select an album(s) from my CD collection (based on length of the album relative to the length of the journey, and how pissed off I am likely to be on the way home, etc). Anyone who would be in my car knows how OCD I am with music and if someone turns it down to speak to me, I lose it. Either shout over the top of it or STFU.

People who give vague directions.

Me: "Where is <insert place here>?"
Them: "It's across the road from <insert some other place here>."

If I ask where something is, I want an address!

women does this all the time. sent my mate a text a couple of months ago asking for her new address for a party... she sent me the most redicolous elebarote text in response with not even a hint of the actual address in there...

although my favourite was from an irish guy many years ago me and a mate where driving to his place in dublin.... "turn left onto x street, then after a few hundred metres there's a white minivan, take the next right".... thanks niall. the owner of the minivan didn't share you're vision of using his car as a direction marker cause he had driven off between when you got home and we arrived.

Ebay:mad:

Just went to sell a couple of things there for the first time in ages.

1. Forcing me to supply Paypal as a buying option, so if I sell something for $1000, I have to pay the $30 if a buyer buys it through paypal. but I save $30 if they choose to buy it with cash or direct deposit.

2. Dictating the postage costs, Now I won't have aproblem with it if its spot on, but FFS I'm seriously considering this the end of EBAY for me after these two items sell.

I never ask for directions from anyone, just give me an address and i'll put it into my iphone gps or search for it on whereis. It annoys me when I ask for an address and people start giving me long-winded directions like I'm even going to attempt to process remembering every turn, roundabout, off-ramp and lane change they tell me.

i havent used ebay in a long, long time. it's very hard to trust with all the scams, shill bidding and the whole connection with paypal and lack of integrity.

over the last 5-6 years me and my old man have bought about a combined 30k worth of product off ebay. 80% him, but i've bought 2 lap tops, about 1k each, and am buying another one this week that is nearly 2k, two tv's and plenty of other random shite.... we've probably felt ripped off on about 1-2k worth of stock.

for me both laptops and tv's i bought were rippers. all came in about double in a retail store upon comparison... the only thing he reckons he really copped it on was a 1k tv purchase about 2 years ago.

that's a far higher strike rate than retail shopping over the years. my purchases from dick smith in the early part of last decade would've been lucky to have hit 25% success rate i reckon.... it's been years since i've been now.

of course there was ending up with an audiobook of moneyball instead of the actual book :mad::mad::mad:

admittedly a lot of retaillers (online and physical) have somewhat fallen into line and you don't get the massive savings on ebay you did 5 years ago, though it is still generally cheaper.

I rarely use public transport so got by with metcards. Now they don't sell them so I have no choice to buy a myki. I buy a couple, register them, then try and top them up online. Error, error, error. **** off.

On the topic of vague directions I have a mate who I was meeting up with at the footy (had just finished work and was going to sit with him and a few other mates) and the response to my text of where are you sitting was 'up the Tigers end'. I then asked for a specific aisle and seat and all I got was bay x and as it turned out that wasn't even the right bay.