Movie There will be Blood

• Thread starter Thread starter greg62

Are you the fellow that also hated No Country but reckoned Juno was the best thing since sliced bread?

Yeah, I reckon so... :o
No, I think No Country is overrated but still reasonable with some brilliant acting and a great villian. Juno I was a tad excited about when I first saw it but have since lowered my view of it, still one of the best comedies I've seen.

Incidently, you're a pompous ass.

No, I think No Country is overrated but still reasonable with some brilliant acting and a great villian. Juno I was a tad excited about when I first saw it but have since lowered my view of it, still one of the best comedies I've seen.

How many comedies have you seen?

Incidently, you're a pompous ass.

In case you're worried about hurting my feelings, you should know that I'm entirely secure with that.

I can only assume that most of them star Rob Schneider.
So you assume that because I liked Juno that I only watch terrible movies, or that because I rate Juno highly as a comedy that I haven't seen any good ones?
So come on, what comedies should I have seen? Tell me wise one which hilarious moments I've missed out on in my days.

Raman, there's nothing wrong with loving Juno, infact I loved Juno, fantastic movie.

As for TWBB, it's not for everyone, and you must realize that. My brother-in-law who is a writer was anticipating this film for a while, thought it was good, but no classic. I personally loved it, but like Magnolia, some people will like it, and some people wont.

So you assume that because I liked Juno that I only watch terrible movies, or that because I rate Juno highly as a comedy that I haven't seen any good ones?

The latter. Juno is this year's Little Miss Sunshine, a crowd-pleasing indy trifle so poorly shot it managed to make 35mm look like Super16.

So come on, what comedies should I have seen? Tell me wise one which hilarious moments I've missed out on in my days.

I couldn't say what hilarious things you've missed out on, but there have been three comedies directed and/or produced by Judd Apatow alone in the past 12 months that are better than Juno. Heck, Juno wasn't even the best "unwanted pregnancy" comedy of 2007!

I am just hoping that Mr Anderson misses out on Oscar glory again as the way he carried on last time he was beaten was a touch undignified.

Lets hope he is a little less embarrassing this time round :(

I am just hoping that Mr Anderson misses out on Oscar glory again as the way he carried on last time he was beaten was a touch undignified.

Lets hope he is a little less embarrassing this time round :(

I don't think that'll be necessary. ;)

So what did he do last time? I remember he and Fiona Apple looking disappointed, but that's about it.

Looking disappointed :confused:

They came across as arrogant twats - he made no effort to hide his extreme disappointment - sore loser personified!!!

Raman, there's nothing wrong with loving Juno, infact I loved Juno, fantastic movie.

It's a perfectly okay movie but hugely overhyped. Not something that's going to be remembered in six months let alone 20 years.

As for TWBB, it's not for everyone, and you must realize that. My brother-in-law who is a writer was anticipating this film for a while, thought it was good, but no classic. I personally loved it, but like Magnolia, some people will like it, and some people wont.

Oh I realise that it's not for everyone... and I've been relishing the idea of having the same old arguments I was having about Magnolia 8 years ago again. No amount of appeals to pluralism and tolerance are going to stop me from making fun of people with such a pathetically limited view of what movies should be.

Looking disappointed :confused:

They came across as arrogant twats - he made no effort to hide his extreme disappointment - sore loser personified!!!

He shouldn't have been disappointed?

Losing to best original screenplay to Alan Ball's American Beauty (Which, incidentally, was a piece of shit screenplay turned into a decent movie by a director and producers that, thankfully, screwed around with it big time. Credit to Mr. Ball for practically admitting this in his acceptance speech) would be pretty humiliating.

Would've thought a genuine show of disappointment at the very least made a refreshing change from the usual fake Ken and Barbie smiles of the losing nominees.

Hahaha -yeah right unfortunately no one likes a sore loser - lets hope he can show a little more respect this time round :thumbsu:

Yeah good one mate, nice abject non-response. There's a difference between being disappointed and being a sore loser. Don't be a prat.

Former film student, current professional film critic and writer, some time maker. But none of those things are what makes my opinion better than yours; the fact that I'm right makes my opinion better than yours.

Professional Film Critic hey? Is Big Footy paying for your critique? Who do you write for? Are you sure you aren't Leigh Paatch?
I expect you get a boner everytime Paul Thomas Anderson brings out a new film. BTW, Magnolia was also terrible.

I do look forward to one day seeing your work. Are you a PTA clone because he was flavour of the moment when you were studying? Just like the Tarantino wannabees but lamer. :)

Yeah good one mate, nice abject non-response. There's a difference between being disappointed and being a sore loser. Don't be a prat.

I'm not being a prat and I'm not saying he isn't somewhat talented - but as BBH pointed out your obssession with PTA is palpable - and yes there is a difference between being disappointed and being a sore loser and PTA came across as the latter - time to take off those magnolia coloured glasses me thinks :(

Professional Film Critic hey? Is Big Footy paying for your critique?

Not at the moment, but I'll be sure to bring it up with Chief.

Who do you write for?

Many.

Are you sure you aren't Leigh Paatch?

Sure and thankful.

I expect you get a boner everytime Paul Thomas Anderson brings out a new film.

So you know me. You know my reputation. Thirteen inches of tough load, and I don't treat you gently.

BTW, Magnolia was also terrible.

Mate, I already know you're a philistine, there's really no need to keep trying to convince me.

I do look forward to one day seeing your work. Are you a PTA clone because he was flavour of the moment when you were studying? Just like the Tarantino wannabees but lamer. :)

Now there's the Big Blow Hard jackassery I was looking for... not so hard was it?

Oh, and a PTA "clone"? Do you actually know what a clone is, or are words as much a problem for you as movies?

I'm not being a prat and I'm not saying he isn't somewhat talented - but as BBH pointed out your obssession with PTA is palpable

Wow, you sure do know me well after such a short acquaintance.

and yes there is a difference between being disappointed and being a sore loser and PTA came across as the latter

Specifically how/why? I've seen the same Oscars footage you've referred to - a disappointed bloke and his even more disappointed (and chronic depressive anyway) girlfriend - but there must be something else I'm not aware of that betrays the whole "sore loser" thing. I'm trying to get you to convince me... so come on, out with it.

The funny thing is I know what an arrogant bastard PTA can be and it wouldn't surprise me in the least if he's said or done something sore losery - you just haven't given me anything yet.

Wow, you sure do know me well after such a short acquaintance.

Just giving a critical assessment - you know what they are don't you??

Specifically how/why? I've seen the same Oscars footage you've referred to - a disappointed bloke and his even more disappointed (and chronic depressive anyway) girlfriend - but there must be something else I'm not aware of that betrays the whole "sore loser" thing. I'm trying to get you to convince me... so come on, out with it.

I saw it during the ceremony and it stuck in my head as him coming across as a complete jealous twat - I'm sorry if you are disappointed that i don't have any youtube footage of it - but you are just gunna have to live with the fact that in my opinion his reaction was that of an obnoxious acutely disgruntled vainglorious loser - hey just an opinion!!! :)

The funny thing is I know what an arrogant bastard PTA can be and it wouldn't surprise me in the least if he's said or done something sore losery

Hey waddya you know - there you said it yourself :thumbsu:

Just giving a critical assessment - you know what they are don't you??

Do you? A critical assessment has to be something more than making stuff up out of thin air.

I saw it during the ceremony and it stuck in my head as him coming across as a complete jealous twat - I'm sorry if you are disappointed that i don't have any youtube footage of it - but you are just gunna have to live with the fact that in my opinion his reaction was that of an obnoxious acutely disgruntled vainglorious loser - hey just an opinion!!! :)

OK, so you're admitting it's an opinion based on a completely random and arbitrary interpretation, rather than - you know - anything to do with actual reality. :thumbsu:

Yeah mate, I can live with the fact that you like to pull things out of your arse just to try and make a point. But if you're interested in actually arguing your case effectively, you're probably going to have to learn to do better than that.

Hey waddya you know - there you said it yourself :thumbsu:

Mate I said he was capable of such a thing, not that there's proof of it having happened. Similarly, I'm sure you're capable constructing a cogent argument, despite the fact that I haven't seen any proof of that either.

Do you? A critical assessment has to be something more than making stuff up out of thin air.

No a critical assessment is merely someone expressing an opinion

OK, so you're admitting it's an opinion based on a completely random and arbitrary interpretation, rather than - you know - anything to do with actual reality.

Yeah that's right knuckles have I said anything otherwise - in my opinion he acted like an absolute twat sore loser in a real sense on national television :(

Yeah mate, I can live with the fact that you like to pull things out of your arse just to try and make a point. But if you're interested in actually arguing your case effectively, you're probably going to have to learn to do better than that.

Why:confused: It's an opinion I formulated from what I observed - just like your assessment on TWBB - I clearly mentioned that I don't have video evidence - I haven't tried to hide the fact that I don't have video eveidence yet even though you yourself can't provide video evidence what makes your opinion better than mine - its an opinion get over it - if I could back it up I would doesn't mean that I am wrong and you are probably lucky that I can't

Mate I said he was capable of such a thing, not that there's proof of it having happened. Similarly, I'm sure you're capable constructing a cogent argument, despite the fact that I haven't seen any proof of that either.

You yourself said he reacted in a disappointed manner - but the way you are carrying on and the lengths you are going to protect your darling PTA seems to me that you are so far stuck up his creative arse that you are looking through magnolia tinted glasses. I on the other hand am a neutral observer - I don't claim to be anything else - I have nothing to gain from it - and I don't necessarily hate PTA - who would you believe???

No a critical assessment is merely someone expressing an opinion

Woah... no... it really isn't at all. A critical assessment by definition has to include such trivial things as analysis and reasoning. It's not just "expressing an opinion".

Yeah that's right knuckles have I said anything otherwise - in my opinion he acted like an absolute twat sore loser in a real sense on national television :(

Yeah - he looked disappointed. You're yet to prove anything more than that. Or even try, for that matter.

Why:confused: It's an opinion I formulated from what I observed - just like your assessment on TWBB - I clearly mentioned that I don't have video evidence - I haven't tried to hide the fact that I don't have video eveidence yet even though you yourself can't provide video evidence what makes your opinion better than mine - its an opinion get over it - if I could back it up I would doesn't mean that I am wrong and you are probably lucky that I can't

By the way, where did you get the idea that I wanted video evidence? I don't. I know the footage you're referring to - I remember it well.

What I've been asking you to do, again and again, is to explain exactly how what's in that footage amounts to "sore loser" and not just plain old "disappointed guy". Because saying that's just your opinion is no more credible than saying "I bet he was thinking about eating babies... that's just my opinion!!!"

You yourself said he reacted in a disappointed manner - but the way you are carrying on and the lengths you are going to protect your darling PTA seems to me that you are so far stuck up his creative arse that you are looking through magnolia tinted glasses. I on the other hand am a neutral observer - I don't claim to be anything else - I have nothing to gain from it - and I don't necessarily hate PTA - who would you believe???

Mate it's not about PTA, it's simply about you talking out of your arse, getting called on it, and repeatedly failing to admit it. It demeans us both.

Woah... no... it really isn't at all. A critical assessment by definition has to include such trivial things as analysis and reasoning. It's not just "expressing an opinion".

I analysed your comments and I used reasoning to come to the conclusion that in my opinion you are obsessed with PTA :)

A critical assessment is an opinion!!

Yeah - he looked disappointed. You're yet to prove anything more than that. Or even try, for that matter.

Why do I have to prove anything :confused:

Why are you so obssessed with defending his character??

Oh that's right - I forgot!! :rolleyes:

By the way, where did you get the idea that I wanted video evidence?

Oh I don't know maybe you asking me to prove my opinion when we both know the only way I can is by producing footage - stop making a fool of yourself and stop asking stupid questions!!!

By the way, where did you get the idea that I wanted video evidence? I don't.

Exactly because my opinion would be proven correct and you would be proven to be tongue kissing PTA's cry baby anus

I know the footage you're referring to - I remember it well.

Apparently you dont!! But hey that's just my analytical reasoning :thumbsu:

What I've been asking you to do, again and again, is to explain exactly how what's in that footage amounts to "sore loser" and not just plain old "disappointed guy".

Plain old "disappointed guy" is smiling thru gritted teeth.

Sore loser is publicly embarrassing yourself by not hiding your utter disappointment and pulling faces of utter p1ssed off amazement on national tv because you did not win

Guess which category PTA fell into

Because saying that's just your opinion is no more credible than saying "I bet he was thinking about eating babies... that's just my opinion!!!"

So you are no more credible than I am :eek:

Mate it's not about PTA, it's simply about you talking out of your arse, getting called on it, and repeatedly failing to admit it. It demeans us both.

No its about you not wanting to come to terms with someone having an opinion that different from yours :(

This whole thread reeks of it!!!! :thumbsd:

Getting back to the movie, it still was pretty ordinary. I still fail to see how it justifies spending the admission ticket. Weak plot and over acting and only the scenery and period interpretation to give it any credence at all.

Not quite the masterpiece P.T. Anderson desperately wants to make.

But there are moments of pure genius.

Main gripes...

1. Arguably the most obtrusive score in film history.
2. Meandering second act.
3. The final scene.

Daniel Day-Lewis proves, once again, he's the actor of his generation.