Autopsy The Red V defeat Bulldogs - Rd 17

We might look back at the role changes for Dawson, Blakey and McInerney as what unlocked a very special season. It's been exactly what we needed to quicken up our bounce out of half back which had been a little stilted with just Lloyd and Dawson (who are both great but not quick by any means). McInerney and Blakey beat tacklers and outpace the defence every time (plus Blakey's leap is working nicely in aerial contests). And Dawson adds another layer of attacking flair moving forward. His marking is great and his left boot is just deadly.

Very exciting.
McInerney was drafted as a HBF. Still like him as a winger because of the ground he covers but 🐴 knows best.

I did not see that win coming as it did!

I pencilled the game in as a Dogs win, but Sydney outclassed them across the ground.

Looked like all the Sydney boys are loving their footy at the moment

One without rose coloured glasses

We smashed them through the middle of the ground. We struggled with clearances during the second due to a couple of very iffy frees, but in general went toe to toe with them perfectly fine, and certainly weren't smashed.

They play very different roles though..

I would happily back Rowbottom in to do what Bell has been doing, if not rotating through the midfield where I think we could do with his burst of pace.

Warner has Rowbottom beat based off this years form. Can't see who else could make space for him

Not sure I agree with that. A fit Rowbottom should be playing every time. Depends if he is fit though. I have absolutely no idea what is going on with him as it's all been a little mysterious.

They play very different roles though..
Fitting Rowbum and Warner into the team is going to be very tricky, unless there are injuries, given two really strong performances without them.
Bell is playing a high forward role that Warner might be able to play but with Hewett settled back into the midfield who would make way for Rowbottom?
Good problem to have but tricky.

What game were you watching?

Instead of laughing at my reply have another look at the game and see how the stats back up that we were pantsed in the middle. We won it from the back with our ability to go the length of the ground and soak up pressure. It was elite.

We need to win more in the middle as our defence won’t always cover the opposition in the clinical way we did today.

Even the person I was quoting to say we need Warner in the middle put up the stats to show we probably need to do better in there.

That may take the gloss off an awesome performance and we were bloody good enough in the middle to win a great game but there were times I couldn’t handle the ease in which they walked it out of there. Big credit to Hickey as he has been the difference this year IMO

Instead of laughing at my reply have another look at the game and see how the stats back up that we were pantsed in the middle. We won it from the back with our ability to go the length of the ground and soak up pressure. It was elite.

We need to win more in the middle as our defence won’t always cover the opposition in the clinical way we did today.

Even the person I was quoting to say we need Warner in the middle put up the stats to show we probably need to do better in there.

That may take the gloss off an awesome performance and we were bloody good enough in the middle to win a great game but there were times I couldn’t handle the ease in which they walked it out of there. Big credit to Hickey as he has been the difference this year IMO

I laughed at your haughty, sneery reply that offered no analysis, and then provided my own. Sorry if that upset you dear.

That’s the rose coloured glasses talking

I reckon in your desperation to be edgy and nuanced you might have missed me saying we need to get Warner back in the side. That doesn't mean we got smashed through the centre like you seem desperate to claim.

Maybe after arguably our best win of the season we don't need to find reasons to put each other down mate?

Is that all you’ve got to double down on your NFI post

Hey look at me I'm edgy and picking fights with people to champ them with my superior footy knowledge because I have nothing better to post following a big win.

Autopsy The Red V defeat Bulldogs - Rd 17