PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Bandwagoning theatre-goers who think they are greater than the game. I think from now on, the less said about them the better. Ignoring them would be their worst nightmare.
Theatre-goers? Rubbish, the Army are thousands of hard-core Cricket fans
Bandwagoning? The Barmy Army was born out of defeat, the numbers have always been strong whatever the results.
Theatre-goers? Rubbish, the Army are thousands of hard-core Cricket fans who love to watch England & have a laugh doing so.
The "Barmy Army" chant is to let the players know that the fans are there and that they are with them, it's not bring attention to the group itself.
. That chant could be changed to "Look at me. Look at me" and nobody would notice the change. However to pretend that it is in support of a team is an even worse delusion. How could it be in support of a team when the chant is exactly the same whether it is winning or losing? Until you're an England fan & you're a part of it you'll never understand what it's all about.
But then again how can an Australian understand the mentality of people whose country has had its day and has been consigned to a mere onlooker on the world stage. We have always been a small country, but have always excelled in sport, England have lost everything they owned, Empire, dominance of sport, and now self worth.
All they have left is a bunch of drunken louts chanting Barmy Army, and thinking they have accomplished something.
Really really sad.

but as ray nolan said we'll never understand them because we're not english.

lighten up pal, sport is supposed to be fun, not a political debate. The barmies have a laugh and you winge.
get a life![]()

).
Solo: Everywhere we go!
Everyone: Everywhere we go!
Solo: People want us to shut up so they can watch the cricket
Everyone: But will we do that?
Solo: no we won't
Everyone: Why won't we?
Solo: becuase were drunk egotistical prats
Everyone: What sport are we at again?
Solo: cricket i think, one of the many we stink at
Everyone: we're not much good are we?
Solo: nope lets chant like drunk ****************s to ease the pain
Solo: We are the army!
Everyone: We are the army
Solo: The Barmy, Barmy army!
Everyone: The Barmy, Barmy army!
Everyone: What sport are we at again?
As for having a laugh, thank you, you prove my point. They aren't there to support their team ,but for their own entertainment. Why the pretence of anything else when it is patently obvious to anyone who has witnessed their infantile behaviour first hand.
And on whinging. Ha what a laugh. 4-0 and you reckon I am whinging.
How sad... your premise appears to be that just because the barmies don't quietly sook when we lose (like you lot did last year) they aren't there to support their team.
To me they were the only mitigating feature of the uncompetitive and tedious Melbourne test, especially the "English Wave". Thanks guys.
The suggestion to get a life still stands - stop wingeing and enjoy your success ! Cos it won't last, now that Warney and Glen are history.
4 - 0"It's four nil now, just having a laugh"I spent the whole of the yesterday afternoon amongst the barmy army aqnd I have to say these guys are a crack, offensive but heaps of fun. I don't understand why they had to whinge about the song that was played in the first test...all their songs are just insulting and rude. They call us cheats, heckle warnie non stop and just go on like pork chops and don't give a rats about the cricket. They know that it pisses the aussie crowds off when they show no real emotion in being thrashed and just laugh and sing so they do it more, but deep down as the wickets kept falling it bloody hurt them.
They keep singing "four nillll but we're having fun foooooooooooour nilllll but we're having fun" sung to the tune of "go west" by the village people. This was really annoying a lot of punters. Also calling warnie and aussies cheaters. One taunt i didn't really understand is the one where they gesture with their hand in a gay fashion and just scream in a camp voice "warnie"..can someone explain that?
What pisses me off is they act like they don't care yet if they had won the ashes again we would not have heard the end of it. Typical English smartarses!
Anyway i took a pic of these louts.
![]()
I thought this was the funniest tho
We all shagged Matilda
And so did out mates
And she moaned and she groaned as she took it up the billabong
We all shagged Matilda and so did our mates.
The "Barmy Army" chant is to let the players know that the fans are there and that they are with them, it's not bring attention to the group itself.