• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Tasmanian Football Thread

No Duff! No, No, No, No, No!

I saw the AFL Tasmania logo at the beginning of your video and it went downhill from there... What were you thinking?

We see those bufoons Creswell and Bartlett in those poorly choreographed, self-promoting skits that they at AFL Tasmania call "press conferences" too often already.

Your video unfortunately Duff is no different to the bi-weekly dribble that is regurgitated in the Mercury and WIN News on a slow news day.

Shame really - you could have really made a difference. And The worst part about this is you gave us hope. Hope that you would provide a further avenue beyond BigFooty, hearsay, gossip and the often innaccurate box-scores in the Mercury to find out about about local footy, which is what we are all screaming for. We can only be at one ground on a Saturday and would love to know what is going on at other clubs.

We have seen Armstrong and now Crewssell punch out the standard, "we've recruited well, we're fitter than last year.." lines every year. Actually listen to what he is saying; There is absolutely nothing intelligent or insightful coming out of his mouth that we haven't heard before.

I'm bored of the same dull people, saying the same dull stuff every year. I want to see more relevant people - the possibilities are endless. People more interesting than Daryn Cresswell are not exactly hard to find - say you can interview a beaming St. Virgils president talking about his Hobart recruits or conversely, you can interview the Hobart coach about how he is going to cope with losing the spine of his team to the Old Scholars. Or maybe do a feature on how Channel are coping with their player losses - I don't care, as long as it's not about the Devils. They have their WIN News and Mercury, we just want balance.

I can see you put a lot of work into your videos, it is rare these days you find a person that has such initiave (I assume you are volunteer and not on the AFL Tasmania payroll.....yet). That is why it is so disappointing that your work is like everything else that is out there. Just more Devils saturation rammed down our throats. Lucky most people on this forum have seen it all before and are immune to the crap.

I do hope you give your "SFL segment" a bit more airtime than other media outlets.. That way we might be able to distinguish your video from just another edition of WIN News.

Try Again Duff, Try Again. You know what we want.

Carl since writing the response below I have had to take the Pilot down due to Copyright issues with the ABC.

A new version using my own footage only will go up next week. Just another hurdle for me.

Fantastic response mate and I will forward this to the decisions makers at the SFL. I tried (very hard) to get a SFL segment up but no-one turned up.

I have written countless emails and had many conversations with people of influence and have only ever got "Great idea Duff - goodluck".

I guess its all new and I respect people have other agendas but I am just hoping now that the people who sign the cheques will see the potential and that footy needs an SFL segment as well as all leagues across the board.

I am pro Devils/AFL TAS at the minute because apart from the STJFL they are the only ones showing genuine interest. This is my profession, I make money as a video producer and whoever can support me gets 100% in return.

I agree footy is about looking after grass roots and believe me that when the SFL segment does happen it will get the same treatment from me, it will be Premier and Regional in content and you people will love it.

But good video takes $$$$$ and this bloke is nearly out of petrol tickets.

Soccer Tas has given my mate $20,000 to produce a Tassie Soccer show which airs in 2 weeks. At the minute I have 5% of that to work with.

How do you think I feel?

Thanks for the feedback, hopefully things will turn out as we all want them to.

Duff

Sorry to say but I'm with Hardnut. Latrobe did not finish higher than third and if they did, they were bundled out in straight sets. Ashleigh Brown is a thug and his team played following his lead, the year you talk of when they beat Burnie. Think that was round 4, they had 7 players out. The return match with Burnie at full strength defeated Your glowing latrobe by 180 points. Lot of huff but not much puff that day. Apparently fighting does not win you the ball. But then again you may be talking about the day they were playing in the Elimination Final against devoport, this saw Latrobe up by 30 points at 3 quarter time and they got rolled convincingly. For the record i don't think Latrobe have one a finals match since 2000.

your probably the same as hardnut,sleep with the light on??? to beat burnie that year with a few out,still a pretty good effort. what were they supposed to do,not play them with a few out.To be a thug and not get outed for ANY games,wake up to yourself,to make the finals every year that ashleigh coached from when he took over till he finished,quiet good if u ask me. Especially in that era when burnie were streets above most teams. Ball n chain & hardnut, click that switch ON before u go to bed?????

If your talking about the 2002/03 match (which I think you might be), Latrobe won that by 7 points. Devonport were the ones in front all day and Latrobe staged a brilliant comeback. Can remember Mark Lowe gave away a 50m penalty in the latter stages of the game which turned the match.

your probably the same as hardnut,sleep with the light on??? to beat burnie that year with a few out,still a pretty good effort. what were they supposed to do,not play them with a few out.To be a thug and not get outed for ANY games,wake up to yourself,to make the finals every year that ashleigh coached from when he took over till he finished,quiet good if u ask me. Especially in that era when burnie were streets above most teams. Ball n chain & hardnut, click that switch ON before u go to bed?????

location mt gambier.... ladys and gentleman this isnt ash brown himself is it??????

PS i have solor panels in my house so the lights never turn off! it allows for good sleeping!

North Hobart Vs Glenorchy - this Friday Night
Any thoughts on this one? Player movements/recruits/predictions etc....

Not much of a response to this so I'll have a crack....

I reckon this will be an interesting game between the two logical top fancies heading into the season. It's a shame there hasn't been a bit more of a build-up to it in the local media to try and capture a bit of interest.

North Hobart's lineup might be a bit different as they have added a few players who aren't familiar to me. Creese from Hutchins, and Burgess from Uni are both in the Devils squad but I expect they will probably be lining up on Friday night rather than with the Devils. How does this pair go Old Scholars followers?? Will also be interesting to see whether Andrew Cox lines up after rumours that he was/wasn't playing for Nth Hob./retired etc. I reckon he'll play. I have heard a whisper that Ken Hall might be carrying an injury which prevents him from lining up this week which would be a bonus for Glenorchy. I reckon Nth. will also field some youngsters who haven't played much/any senior footy in Hardy, Allwright etc.

I watched some of their practice match against Sth. Laun. and it looks as though they will rely fairly heavily on De Gooyer, Devine and Rae for goals and that they might be lacking a couple of talls and a bit of ruck strength.

Haven't heard too much mail about Glenorchy other than that they have lost a few incl. Newett, James Armstrong, Spencer and Joseph from their G.F. side. Reckon they will also be missing Cornelius to the Devils. Don't think they have added many other than Jon Bowring's return. I caught some of their recent practice match against the Mariners and they looked fairly solid particularly their older senior players like Curran, Kamaric, Corbett etc. Hunt provided a good target and will cause Nth Hob. some headaches.

Will be a closely fought match I reckon.... hope the weather is o.k. My tip is Glenorchy narrowly in front of a poor crowd of 1000 people.

I reckon this will be an interesting game between the two logical top fancies heading into the season. It's a shame there hasn't been a bit more of a build-up to it in the local media to try and capture a bit of interest.

North Hobart's lineup might be a bit different as they have added a few players who aren't familiar to me. Creese from Hutchins, and Burgess from Uni are both in the Devils squad but I expect they will probably be lining up on Friday night rather than with the Devils. How does this pair go Old Scholars followers?? Will also be interesting to see whether Andrew Cox lines up after rumours that he was/wasn't playing for Nth Hob./retired etc. I reckon he'll play. I have heard a whisper that Ken Hall might be carrying an injury which prevents him from lining up this week which would be a bonus for Glenorchy. I reckon Nth. will also field some youngsters who haven't played much/any senior footy in Hardy, Allwright etc.

I watched some of their practice match against Sth. Laun. and it looks as though they will rely fairly heavily on De Gooyer, Devine and Rae for goals and that they might be lacking a couple of talls and a bit of ruck strength.

Haven't heard too much mail about Glenorchy other than that they have lost a few incl. Newett, James Armstrong, Spencer and Joseph from their G.F. side. Reckon they will also be missing Cornelius to the Devils. Don't think they have added many other than Jon Bowring's return. I caught some of their recent practice match against the Mariners and they looked fairly solid particularly their older senior players like Curran, Kamaric, Corbett etc. Hunt provided a good target and will cause Nth Hob. some headaches.

Will be a closely fought match I reckon.... hope the weather is o.k. My tip is Glenorchy narrowly in front of a poor crowd of 1000 people.

My tip is North! Creese will be a gun....very fast and will play alot of footy for the Devils.

Burgess was in the top 3 players in the Old Scholars comp....he wins plenty of the ball, and has excellent skills. Burgess can play in any position, but is a dangerous on baller, running forward.

Demons by 28pts!!

I will actually be in attendance (Barge??).

I am tipping a larger crowd...seeing as though I got 2 free tickets and could have taken more! :D

Is Bowring back with the Pies? Must be fresh meat there then....

Creese is a good player, but to say he will be a prominent Devils player is a stretch, but good luck to him if he is. Burgess was a very good Old Scholars player, but no way was he top 3.... top 20 yes. having said that he was too good for Old Scholars though at his relatively young age. Will go well I think. Was wasting his time playing "amateurs".

By the way, since when has Burgess been an onballer???

This is another one of those Barge Cup clashes, North Hobart, who were the first team I ever went for, and Glenorchy, the team I burnt the Demons for after just one game!

When you're 5 years old and your team loses by over 100 points you don't put up with lacklustre performances!

Sadly, I won't be there tomorrow night Wilbur35, surprisingly I have a prior social engagement to attend.

Actually wouldn't have minded going.

For what it's worth I reckon there will be literally f... all there! I didn't even know it was on until ol Binky Bink mentioned it Tuesday night.

As for Burgess - good player agreed - would he not be FAR too raw for VFL footy?

Would hate to see how he would have come off one of those vintage early 90's Bubba Carr shirtfronts!

God Bless him!

This is another one of those Barge Cup clashes, North Hobart, who were the first team I ever went for, and Glenorchy, the team I burnt the Demons for after just one game!

When you're 5 years old and your team loses by over 100 points you don't put up with lacklustre performances!

Sadly, I won't be there tomorrow night Wilbur35, surprisingly I have a prior social engagement to attend.

Actually wouldn't have minded going.

For what it's worth I reckon there will be literally f... all there! I didn't even know it was on until ol Binky Bink mentioned it Tuesday night.

As for Burgess - good player agreed - would he not be FAR too raw for VFL footy?

Would hate to see how he would have come off one of those vintage early 90's Bubba Carr shirtfronts!

God Bless him!
Prior social engagement?? I hope you are referring to birth of another Barge junior FFS??

Where is your loyalty to the Pies? I'm starting to doubt you my boy....

I certainly hope you are not too busy to watch the real stuff at the 'Gabba??

Not in a final they didn't my friend. Devonport played off in the Pre-lim in 03 and just got beat my the Northern Bombers in terrible conditions. Burnie beat Launy in the other Pre-lim. Dev beat Latrobe in 04 in the Elimination final and went through to the grand final where they were thumped by burnie. I know my footy, get your shit together.

Dont think so! i no one of his mates in melb.

I sleep with the light on so i can watch all my Premiership medals shine in the night light, i wonder if you have the opportunity to do the same sa5290. Maybe one of your mates has?????

If you want good local content for footy in the south get the examiner and the advocate, they acually respect local footy and don't really care abou the devils. Its usually a good read. Good crowds in the NTFL as well on the weekend three crowds of over 2,000 another over 1,500. thats great figures! Is everyone sure the SFL starts this weekend my cousin plays for glenorchy and he's going to orford with his mates this weekend.

Not in a final they didn't my friend. Devonport played off in the Pre-lim in 03 and just got beat my the Northern Bombers in terrible conditions. Burnie beat Launy in the other Pre-lim. Dev beat Latrobe in 04 in the Elimination final and went through to the grand final where they were thumped by burnie. I know my footy, get your shit together.

Your the one who should get there shit together, before you go sprouting your mouth off - thought you said you knew your footy???? FACT - Latrobe did finish third in 2003 and played Devonport and BEAT DEVONPORT (Latrobe 8.16 (70) Devonport 8.9 (63)) at Latrobe in the Qualifying FINAL. You sound like a tosser, hope those medals don't melt under the light.

Yeah thought as much, why is everyone talking about this friday night game. The boys seemed pretty relaxed during the week.

Because Glenorchy v Nth Hobart are playing their round 2 match tonight, a week before the season starts for everyone else. Only seniors are playing.

Your the one who should get there shit together, before you go sprouting your mouth off - thought you said you knew your footy???? FACT - Latrobe did finish third in 2003 and played Devonport and BEAT DEVONPORT (Latrobe 8.16 (70) Devonport 8.9 (63)) at Latrobe in the Qualifying FINAL. You sound like a tosser, hope those medals don't melt under the light.

Snouter you are right Latrobe beat Devonport in 03 but did not finish third. The next week Latrobe played Launceston and got beat. Devonport played South Launceston and won. So the next week there were only 4 teams left. Burnie, Ltn, Bombers and Devonport. That means the ladder position at the end of the final series looked like this

1 Burnie Dockers
2 Nth Bombers
3 Devonport
4 Launceston
5 Latrobe
6 South Launceston

Crazy set up i know. The next year they returned to the final 5 and gave the final 6 the flick. How is Ash going over there. We never saw the best of him because of injury. He was to honest for Latrobe and a lot of them could not take it.

"Egg Head" Explain yourself hardnut. Ever coached yourself Hardnut? Do you know the bloke or is it just easy to take uneducated potshots at blokes. Weak as piss that is and is the worst thing about this site.
I know the year you are talking about and they finished third, beat every side in the comp including Burnie and lost a final to launie at Girdlestone Park after beating Devonport in first final. They were genuine contenders that year and were'nt before that and havnt been since. Im pretty sure Ashleigh Brown took latrobe to finals three years running and i know all players had respect as they do over here in South Australia where he is coaching now. Would you be happy to call Browny an Egghead to his face or do you sleep with the light on Hardnut???? :D:D

Yea Ash had the respect but really should have done better with the list they had. At Burnie we always thought that we should have played them off at least twice in the big one but as stated they couldn't take the next step. Instead we ended playing a Dport side with no hope of ever beating us. It was like a senior side playing an u/12 side. Perry should have been sacked straight after the 04 final for the hiding they received.

I will actually be in attendance (Barge??).

Is Bowring back with the Pies? Must be fresh meat there then....

. Burgess was a very good Old Scholars player, but no way was he top 3.... top 20 yes. having said that he was too good for Old Scholars though at his relatively young age. Will go well I think. Was wasting his time playing "amateurs".

By the way, since when has Burgess been an onballer???

Have to disagree with you Wilbur i'd have Burgess in my top 3, a genuine match winner, will be interesting to see how he goes at the top level, definetly has the ability.

Bowring up to his old tricks, heard from a few of my Pie mates that he wasn,t really welcomed backed with open arms by the boys.

Snouter you are right Latrobe beat Devonport in 03 but did not finish third. The next week Latrobe played Launceston and got beat. Devonport played South Launceston and won. So the next week there were only 4 teams left. Burnie, Ltn, Bombers and Devonport. That means the ladder position at the end of the final series looked like this

1 Burnie Dockers
2 Nth Bombers
3 Devonport
4 Launceston
5 Latrobe
6 South Launceston

Crazy set up i know. The next year they returned to the final 5 and gave the final 6 the flick. How is Ash going over there. We never saw the best of him because of injury. He was to honest for Latrobe and a lot of them could not take it.

Your right Docker5, it must have been 04 or 05 they finished 3rd. Ash is going well, took on a big job with West Gambier but stuck with kids and got rid of a few ********s and they look like they could be a big threat this year. His asst coach is an ex docker (Rick Slatter) and he said the same about latrobe not being able to handle his honesty and no nonsense approach. How are the Dockers looking this season?

Just got beat??? They were thrashed by 6 goals in appalling conditions!