10571z

Anyone who plays Supercoach draft knows how important it is to select the right players in the draft. In a league of 16 you will need to uncover gems others might miss.

How do people here like to draft? 2 of each position? all mids first?

Who are players who might slip under the radar?

Who would you give a miss to?

Anyone who plays Supercoach draft knows how important it is to select the right players in the draft. In a league of 16 you will need to uncover gems others might miss.

How do people here like to draft? 2 of each position? all mids first?

Who are players who might slip under the radar?

Who would you give a miss to?
I always like to go a mid first but this year rucks are very important I reckon! Unless you have a top 5 pick godly will go in top 5 but pick a mid first then go a ruck coz I only see goldy mummy sandi Jacobs and Nic Nat and maybe Gawn as best rucks if you have a 8 league draft be easy but we have a ten league so need a ruck early

In a 16 man cash draft league this year. Hoping to go for a mid first, DPP fwd/mid in the 2nd then depending on what rucks are left either take one or take a defender and punt on a ruck bein available

We are in a 16 man league so you need to have a good tactic. I'm thinking either 2 mids then best back best forward then ruck like Grundy?

Don't just pick mids in the early rounds. There will always be some high scorers in the later rounds, relative to what will be available.
Don't fall for the trends too much. So if a pile of rucks fall in quick succession, don't just pick one because you feel you need to.
The game is usually won in rounds 7-18, so get acquainted with your midpriced players. I've won leagues because of players like Lynden Dunn.
Just because a player is a bad pick in the real SC team, doesn't make them a bad pick in draft. And vice/versa. So don't let your biases from that comp get in the way. Don't reach on your Daniel Wells/Sam Kerridge types, just because they are great value in SC. Their price is irrelevant in draft.
Keep track of what positions you already have and what is still available. Sometimes it pays to reach a bit if there's a player that isn't the best available overall, but is for a specific position you need.
Double position players are gold in draft.
Work the waiver wire. Sometimes it actually pays to be bottom position, because people are scared to use their waiver position on middle of the road players. So you can bid on players that you wouldn't necessarily do. And pick up players that might be out for a month or so, if they will help your team in the long run and you can cover being a player short.
But don't chase single game high scores. Just because a player scored 110 this week, doesn't mean they will do that again.
There's a few things.

Don't just pick mids in the early rounds. There will always be some high scorers in the later rounds, relative to what will be available.
Don't fall for the trends too much. So if a pile of rucks fall in quick succession, don't just pick one because you feel you need to.
The game is usually won in rounds 7-18, so get acquainted with your midpriced players. I've won leagues because of players like Lynden Dunn.
Just because a player is a bad pick in the real SC team, doesn't make them a bad pick in draft. And vice/versa. So don't let your biases from that comp get in the way. Don't reach on your Daniel Wells/Sam Kerridge types, just because they are great value in SC. Their price is irrelevant in draft.
Keep track of what positions you already have and what is still available. Sometimes it pays to reach a bit if there's a player that isn't the best available overall, but is for a specific position you need.
Double position players are gold in draft.
Work the waiver wire. Sometimes it actually pays to be bottom position, because people are scared to use their waiver position on middle of the road players. So you can bid on players that you wouldn't necessarily do. And pick up players that might be out for a month or so, if they will help your team in the long run and you can cover being a player short.
But don't chase single game high scores. Just because a player scored 110 this week, doesn't mean they will do that again.
There's a few things.
Can you explain the waiver system to me? Never got my head around it last year

When a player is released by a team, they go on the waiver list for (2 days I think?).
During that time, teams can bid on that player. There is a waiver order, which begins as the reverse of the order of the first round of the draft.
1st position on Waivers gets priority, so if they bid, they get the player. Then it goes in order of preference from there.
If you win a player off waivers, you then get relegated to last position on the waiver order.

When a player is released by a team, they go on the waiver list for (2 days I think?).
During that time, teams can bid on that player. There is a waiver order, which begins as the reverse of the order of the first round of the draft.
1st position on Waivers gets priority, so if they bid, they get the player. Then it goes in order of preference from there.
If you win a player off waivers, you then get relegated to last position on the waiver order.
Ah so it's for released players, makes sense. Cheers

Well ive been doing a bit of homework of players who averaged around 60 last year who i think can boost up. whos everyones favs?

Being in a 16 player league these gems really boost your side. Im liking Daisy who i think finally could be a solid 80-90 player if he gets through the NAB

Well ive been doing a bit of homework of players who averaged around 60 last year who i think can boost up. whos everyones favs?

Being in a 16 player league these gems really boost your side. Im liking Daisy who i think finally could be a solid 80-90 player if he gets through the NAB
Who are you thinking of mate?

Having been involved with a money league the last 3 years, I usually lean towards picking gun mids and forwards. There are plenty of 75-85 defenders so I usually pick them towards the end.

I'm in a league of 10 players and pulled pick #2 today. The order reverses after each round, so pick 10 has pick 11 and pick 1 will also have 20 and 21, etc.

Thinking of Ablett with my first pick as I think either Goldy of Fyfe will go number 1. My next pick would be 19, then 22 which I'll probably try to get the best forward and best available with those two.

How do others plan their picks?

I'm in a league of 10 players and pulled pick #2 today. The order reverses after each round, so pick 10 has pick 11 and pick 1 will also have 20 and 21, etc.

Thinking of Ablett with my first pick as I think either Goldy of Fyfe will go number 1. My next pick would be 19, then 22 which I'll probably try to get the best forward and best available with those two.

Gee I wouldn't touch Ablett that high. His already had an injury setback hasn't he? I would take Fyfe or goldy

If I had those picks I would be taking Fyfe or goldy.. Then try and grab another possible captain mid then another mid (if you got goldy) otherwise maybe a stef Martin if he is still around

I've got puck 6 in my 10 team money league! Thinking Rockliff with my pick thoughts suggestions ?

Just did a round of ultimate footy and Rockliff went pick 1.
Got Goldy at pick 7 though.:thumbsu:

SC draft will be interesting when it comes around.

If I had those picks I would be taking Fyfe or goldy.. Then try and grab another possible captain mid then another mid (if you got goldy) otherwise maybe a stef Martin if he is still around

I'm 99% sure Goldy will go number one.

I was leaning towards Ablett, then taking Dustin Martin and Shaw with my next picks. I expect they'll end up as the top defenders and forwards.

I'm 99% sure Goldy will go number one.

I was leaning towards Ablett, then taking Dustin Martin and Shaw with my next picks. I expect they'll end up as the top defenders and forwards.
I'm super keen on dusty this year as a dual position and I think he can break out also

I agree mate. Dusty is hot property for me and I expect he'll end up as the number one forward. Being dual position makes it that much better in case of an injury crisis.

Last year I had pick #7 (out of 10) and picked up Robbie Gray because of the same reasons. I picked most of my side with dual position players, though to be honest I never needed to use them in their second position. Though if I can get a dual I will always put them in my back or forward line, never in the midfield.

Has anyone had their draft yet? Interested to see the orders and how it played out

Never done a draft before, looking forward to it!

Taking Jasper Pittard at pick 1 :cool: