Universal Love Steve Silvagni - List Manager Extraordinaire

We'll struggle to break 60 points mate. It's gonna be bad. Real bad.
People said the same about us before the season.

Yet we managed to flog Essendon by 110pts in Watson's 200th.

:rainbow:

Can someone confirm if there's anything SOS isn't good at?
Making daughters... thank dog...

I was thinking before... just imagine if the 3 SOSOS's all got married and went out and had 3 sons each... SOSOSOS's

And then those boys all went out and had 3 sons... 27 boys...

And all of them were good at football...

We could basically have an entire team of Silvagni's within 2 generations

Can someone confirm if there's anything SOS isn't good at?

I was on a flight to LA with him once.

Can confirm he isn't great at being woken up by drunk autograph hunters...

:drunk:

I was thinking before... just imagine if the 3 SOSOS's all got married and went out and had 3 sons each... SOSOSOS's

Yeah, the AFL would end the father son rule all together!

59 and 60 give us 304 points. We get a 197 points discount on anything beyond the first round so effectively we have 501 points to play with. Anything between #20 and #36 we move down the draft order in the second round next year.

I'm not sure that is entirely correct :)

Depends how you interpret the statement 'pick X moves to the back of the draft and draft order is updated' ( with regards to whenever a bid occurs)

For myself, it implies that the subsequent picks effectively move up to fill the gap (and consequently gain 'points value'

Very rough run through of academy selections would suggest that approx 13 picks will be removed from 33-> 58 due to these picks being used up for academy points.

IF my reading of the rules is correct that would mean that picks 59 & 60 end up being approx picks 46 & 47 once the draft order is updated i.e. the points value of these picks goes from 158 + 146 -> 331 + 316 -

Impact being that we should have enough pick coverage for SOSOS through til the mid 20s or alternatively, coverage for a bid at pick 35 (whilst retaining pick '47')

I'm not sure that is entirely correct :)

Depends how you interpret the statement 'pick X moves to the back of the draft and draft order is updated' ( with regards to whenever a bid occurs)

For myself, it implies that the subsequent picks effectively move up to fill the gap (and consequently gain 'points value'

Very rough run through of academy selections would suggest that approx 13 picks will be removed from 33-> 58 due to these picks being used up for academy points.

IF my reading of the rules is correct that would mean that picks 59 & 60 end up being approx picks 46 & 47 once the draft order is updated i.e. the points value of these picks goes from 158 + 146 -> 331 + 316 -

Impact being that we should have enough pick coverage for SOSOS through til the mid 20s or alternatively, coverage for a bid at pick 35 (whilst retaining pick '47')

While that would be nice, it kind of makes a mockery of second guessing how many points will be used up to know if you have enough left or not. They do go to the back of the draft but I wonder if they will just skip them on the night. Sort of like in the draft proper they will call a pick and the team will say 'pass' and they go to the next number. I wonder if the numbers are just declared blank.

Will be interesting viewing for sure.

While that would be nice, it kind of makes a mockery of second guessing how many points will be used up to know if you have enough left or not. They do go to the back of the draft but I wonder if they will just skip them on the night. Sort of like in the draft proper they will call a pick and the team will say 'pass' and they go to the next number. I wonder if the numbers are just declared blank.

Will be interesting viewing for sure.
Definitely be interesting viewing.

One reason why I think my interpretation is correct is b/c if the points values were not updated/inflated, a few teams will probably end up short on points (saints/swans/GWS) - if the points ARE updated, then all 3 teams should be ok for academy & f/s bidding.

Definitely be interesting viewing.

One reason why I think my interpretation is correct is b/c if the points values were not updated/inflated, a few teams will probably end up short on points (saints/swans/GWS) - if the points ARE updated, then all 3 teams should be ok for academy & f/s bidding.

I heard on trade radio late in the draft that GWS still didn't have enough points.

A pity a club can only bank a future draft pick one year in advance. :(

Even with compound interest, we'd need a truckload of points for F/S bidding.

Not even with a stockpile of 8 picks between 43 and 70? :eek:

Don't know. Just what they said. They have about 6 academy players but are only expected to take the best 2.

I felt like saying the true test of SOS will be whether he selects the right players for us as opposed to adopting a list building GWS approach but I get the feeling after watching him talk about Kerridge and where the game is going that this guy has his finger on the pulse.

We will finish bottom in 2016 nothing is surer, we will then be in a very good position to request a priority pick from the AFL, will end up with picks 1 & 2 next year and then we will start to rise up the ladder in 2017.... and win the flag by 2021..

This will be SOS master plan, my only fear os that Cripps will get sick of losing and will no doubt have both WA teams in his ear and he may request to go home..

We need at least two of the 4 to come on. Three or more and its a win.

Just on this and i am not trolling. If a mod feels like it is, feel free to delete it.

I have actually read this thread and its scary similar to what we have also thought when we hit the same wall you guys have hit and gutted our list to start a new. One thing I wanted to say, even though it will get ugly next year, you could very well not win any games for a while, Hardwick when he moved on 12 players in his first year by round 10 was 0-9, stick fat with the club. It will turn, just when it started to get better don't expect anything, else it will kill you lol. Just enjoy the rare wins and go to games to just watch the kids.

A lot of games i went to in Hardwicks first two years was really to watch the development of the kids, not the scoreboard. One last thing, you wont be able to judge if this draft is a win or loss till year three. So even if it appears its a bust, hold strong. Even though I hate your clubs guts as i will never forgive you for 82 ( I bet you paid that chick :P ), you like us are a traditional club.

So even if I cant stand you, I want you guys to recover sooner rather then later. Oh one more thing, if you have any posters here who occasionally buy a membership some years, and some years you don't. The club will need your support now, more then ever, so if you can afford to, its times like this to buy a membership to let those in charge know you approve.

Anyway, Good luck.

it will get ugly next year, you could very well not win any games for a while, Hardwick when he moved on 12 players in his first year by round 10 was 0-9, stick fat with the club. It will turn, just when it started to get better don't expect anything, else it will kill you lol. Just enjoy the rare wins and go to games to just watch the kids.

Did you miss 2015? :)

We were 1-9 after 10 rounds. The coach got the sack and thereafter we played 'the kids' - Buckley, Whiley, Dick, Graham, Walsh, Holman etc.

Did you miss 2015? :)

We were 1-9 after 10 rounds. The coach got the sack and thereafter we played 'the kids' - Buckley, Whiley, Dick, Graham, Walsh, Holman etc.

No it was the fore front of my mind. After round 9, you had heaps of members not happy and pretty vocal, crowd numbers plummeted etc. I know the reasons why that happen and agree but Its the reason I have stated, during the first say 10 rounds its even more important you all turn up to show support.

Agreed. We have a lot of fickle and/or old fashioned type Blues fans who just expect quick success though. Interesting time for our club.

Nah, we had no options last year because we didn't know how to move the ball and our midfielders weren't allowed to get forward as most of them were taggers (cheers Mick).

Proper ball movement will see new avenues to goal created. Expect Walker, Everitt, Murphy and Gibbs to thrive under a better game plan.

Don't underestimate just how outdated and confidence-sapping Micks game plan was. 2015 was well and truly the year from hell.

Buttifant deserves some of the credit for that.

It was obvious by half time in round 1 that our players were physically exhausted. How a playing group can come back from a preseason so far off the competition in terms of fitness beggars belief. :$

Neil Craig and Tim Clarke should be good acquisitions in advising our fitness staff.