Boom.Even though the saints know he’s not going there and have already moved on. There is only one club in Victoria he is considering and it’s the one this board desperately wants him not to go to.

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Boom.Even though the saints know he’s not going there and have already moved on. There is only one club in Victoria he is considering and it’s the one this board desperately wants him not to go to.
I could make an argument for 5 clubs;
Freo: Home sweet home
WCE: Home for success
Stk: upward trajectory, Most money
Carl: Young list with lots of talent, well paying
Haw: Big Victorian club
On the flip side I could argue against all 5 clubs
Freo: Not in the window or well paying
WCE: No money
Stk: Slowly rising and playing a slow less exciting brand of footy.
Carl: Less money then STK, still half way through a rebuild
Haw: Not rising, going down for a rebuild, no money.
I think Cogs will not go home, no draw from Freo, no money and have a list that minus, Fyfe, Mundy, Walters, (all coming to the end) is looking a little bland. How do the Eagles fit him in to the cap.
Hawthorn are going to need to bottom out and go again, missing pivotal talent in the 19-23 range Worpel, Hardwick, Sicily, (who is 24). But are missing keys and need to draft before going again. I would rule those three clubs out.
That leaves the Saints and the Blues. I would pick the Saints
A. More money
B. I would argue that they are more closer to a flag
C. Have talented youth that are proving they can be elite, Billings, Gresham, Clark, Coffield, and more.
With all that I reckon he stays at GWS and this all this discussion is for nothing.
But if he leaves, Welcome to St Kilda Steve. Make yourself at home.
What makes you think we have no money?I could make an argument for 5 clubs;
Freo: Home sweet home
WCE: Home for success
Stk: upward trajectory, Most money
Carl: Young list with lots of talent, well paying
Haw: Big Victorian club
On the flip side I could argue against all 5 clubs
Freo: Not in the window or well paying
WCE: No money
Stk: Slowly rising and playing a slow less exciting brand of footy.
Carl: Less money then STK, still half way through a rebuild
Haw: Not rising, going down for a rebuild, no money.
I think Cogs will not go home, no draw from Freo, no money and have a list that minus, Fyfe, Mundy, Walters, (all coming to the end) is looking a little bland. How do the Eagles fit him in to the cap.
Hawthorn are going to need to bottom out and go again, missing pivotal talent in the 19-23 range Worpel, Hardwick, Sicily, (who is 24). But are missing keys and need to draft before going again. I would rule those three clubs out.
That leaves the Saints and the Blues. I would pick the Saints
A. More money
B. I would argue that they are more closer to a flag
C. Have talented youth that are proving they can be elite, Billings, Gresham, Clark, Coffield, and more.
With all that I reckon he stays at GWS and this all this discussion is for nothing.
But if he leaves, Welcome to St Kilda Steve. Make yourself at home.
What makes you think we have no money?

The question is not "do the Hawks have money". The question is "can/will the Hawks outbid other clubs". I can see an argument for him taking a bit less to go to Hawthorn over Carlton/St Kilda, but I'm skeptical he'd take around $800-900k to go to Hawthorn, and I'm not sure the Hawks would bid Buddy money for him.22 out of contract Hawthorn players and the Hawks have no cap space apparently.
Bigfooty logic.![]()
Even though the saints know he’s not going there and have already moved on. There is only one club in Victoria he is considering and it’s the one this board desperately wants him not to go to.
That's a ridiculous comment and I think there's plenty of evidence to show that it isn't just money, more money.Dont worry he is not going to hawthorn as they have no money, team list is shot but most importantly no cap space. Players will say all kind of things like culture, success, playing in familiar VIC, at the end of the day, it's money, always will be money of course you can't say it. Recently, GWS GM had a few choiced words for Adam Trelor, he went not because he want to closer to family, it's more money, always more money.
You’re either quite young or a little slow. Many a player chooses a team based on success, location amongst other things. Money might rule your world but a happy work environment is up there for many people in all walks of life.Dont worry he is not going to hawthorn as they have no money, team list is shot but most importantly no cap space. Players will say all kind of things like culture, success, playing in familiar VIC, at the end of the day, it's money, always will be money of course you can't say it. Recently, GWS GM had a few choiced words for Adam Trelor, he went not because he want to closer to family, it's more money, always more money.
I can't see us offering the most, but we can still afford to make him a decent offer, ie circa 1 mill (Rad Roo is living in a different universe with his No Money claim). I don't think Cogs is driven by money, so I don't think we need to offer him the most either. One massive draw card we have over St Kilda and Carlton is our coach. His choices are either a coach who he doesn't yet know, a coach who he does know who may or may not be there next year or the best coach in the league who has reaffirmed time and time again he'll stay on. I think that would factor heavily on his decision.The question is not "do the Hawks have money". The question is "can/will the Hawks outbid other clubs". I can see an argument for him taking a bit less to go to Hawthorn over Carlton/St Kilda, but I'm skeptical he'd take around $800-900k to go to Hawthorn, and I'm not sure the Hawks would bid Buddy money for him.
That's a ridiculous comment and I think there's plenty of evidence to show that it isn't just money, more money.
You’re either quite young or a little slow. Many a player chooses a team based on success, location amongst other things. Money might rule your world but a happy work environment is up there for many people in all walks of life.
Near enough but not good enough? Sounds like an All Australian superstar mid could be a good target for them![]()
The question is not "do the Hawks have money". The question is "can/will the Hawks outbid other clubs". I can see an argument for him taking a bit less to go to Hawthorn over Carlton/St Kilda, but I'm skeptical he'd take around $800-900k to go to Hawthorn, and I'm not sure the Hawks would bid Buddy money for him.
im pretty sure he is not going to a non vic team...
What about all the aging stars that will be hanging the boots up in the next couple of years?
Burgoyne
Pupolo
Frawley
Stratton
Smith
McEnvoy
Roughead
Fair list.
well they are also after patton, so i am not sure where congnilio comes from. You need at least 900k for patton and to add that to 1 mil for congnilio, that's almost 2 million. How many players need to be gutted to get these 2 without killing the entire list.
How are you so sure?
Do you know him or a someone who does?
Even though the saints know he’s not going there and have already moved on. There is only one club in Victoria he is considering and it’s the one this board desperately wants him not to go to.
look up big name GWS players, they all went to Vic teams, most of the 2nd tier players also went to vic teams.
I can't see us offering the most, but we can still afford to make him a decent offer, ie circa 1 mill (Rad Roo is living in a different universe with his No Money claim). I don't think Cogs is driven by money, so I don't think we need to offer him the most either. One massive draw card we have over St Kilda and Carlton is our coach. His choices are either a coach who he doesn't yet know, a coach who he does know who may or may not be there next year or the best coach in the league who has reaffirmed time and time again he'll stay on. I think that would factor heavily on his decision.
I know people like to dismiss his connection with Jaegar and while it wouldn't be a huge factor, it'd still be a factor. If you had a choice of 3 job offers and all had their pros and cons, why wouldn't you consider the one where your best mate works?
Thats it?
Williams and Lobbe went back home.
How many Non Victorians moved to Melbourne from GWS?
'More money' was your comment. Feel free to discuss the definition of it with yourself if you need to.Free agents move for money, full stop, if the money isn't significantly greater, there won't be free agency. Before you bring out exception, the only one that stood out was dangerfield, he needed to be closer to family but every other free agent moved for money (and job security) that they couldn't have gotten at their club. Of course the next layer of consideration is club suitability as the need of the club and how does the agent fit in, other players around him, fortunes of the club, perhaps post career pathways. Priority is always money as people die for money, bird dies for food (chinese proverb), it's natural human instinct.
Now to address your actual statement, '...money, more money', if you were on 800k, 950k isn't a big deal but if someone else is willing to 1.2 - 1.4 million then its 500k more and if you times that by 6, that's 3 extra millions. Fortunes of club can change very very quickly, those in premiership contention can suddenly find themselves in the bottom 4 and those at 10th can be in contention for top 4 if not the flag.
williams and lobbes, never heard of them before, esp williams. Also i did say the big names from GWS i.e. Kelly, Whitfield, Hopper, Tarrantino, Shiel, Congnilio, Cameron and Patton etc, Lobbe is a 2nd ruck for GWS and william, don't care.