Prediction St.Kilda Best 22

If we sell this dream of having our young core come up together - led by Nas Pou Owens Windy etc - to bring success to such a success-starved club, I can't see why we wouldn't be able to retain ALL of our youngsters as long as they are good enough
I believe there’s a good chance they’ll all stay if they see a bright future & all are getting senior opportunities!
In the case of Arie, with the departure of Battle & Bonner, he’ll get his opportunity early.

NAS is the only one i'm really worried about, there's plenty of talk about him going back to SA sooner rather than later.

Being part of our 2nd ever flag is a really unique opportunity and something that would leave a true lasting impact on the game. Pou has the kind of drive that would relish the chance to be part of history like this, I don't think he wants to be just another premiership player at Collingwood or Hawthorn. Only speculating though.
I wouldn't worry about NWM. He will be the Saints first $1M a year player.

I would like to respond to the comment above, that very generally speaking, Ross the Boss ‘ain’t a big Doog’s fan.

Well I agree, based on the placement of Cordy in the team, to such an extent, there were serious conversations early last season, among us esteemed posters, as to whether Corey or Doogs was a better key back.

Although, I think Corey played his best game for us this year, I can’t even begin to think that he is close to what Howard is (or was). So based on the relatively favorable selections of Cordy, I began to ask why and what? But I found no evidence to suggest Cordy is even close. Now, the caveat to that is that Doogs may have deteriorated, like a wine gone sour.

I still think Doogs is our premier tall defender, and with everyone rubbishing the suggestion that King could play defence, I begin to look at all this talk of Caminiti as a key defender. What has he shown? Was Cioper Sharman not a better defender? Could Cooper Sherman do that Shane Wakelin role?
I’m certainly not a Howard fan however I do acknowledge he’s a necessary evil in our side..at the moment!
I believe Arie will get early opportunities to be the third tall, with Travaglia offering an extra run & carry player in the back 50
That leaves Jimmy out, as much as that’s difficult to swallow!!
Shoenmaker. Will he stay or go to Tassie in 2/3 years? I reckon this kid will be elite. #worried.

I think it makes sense to give him a pre-season and then a window of 8-10 games in defence and see how he goes.

It's no secret that Ross doesn't really rate Howard. Doogs was basically offered a deal last because we didn't have another ready made option.

There's been speculation that Tauru could play CHF. Barrat also ave 2+ goals a game as a forward before swinging into defence.

Then there's the Keeler/Heath/Dodson/Boyd conundrum.

If the coaches want to play Marshall forward more then someone needs to make way.

King's a lock and we've seen Sharman down back vs up forward...

Hammer to FB for a season of development at worst, or to lock in a permanent role, is a logical step to take.
Not really a ruck conundrum…Keeler is the only forward ruck we have so should be first in line!
Heath or Boyd (if he gets picked up), would only come in as Marshall replacement through injury or suspension with young Dodson developing in the seconds!!

We do worry because other clubs would snap at the chance to poach him.

I would love for the club to not be stingy and get down something like a 5 year/6 million deal.
I don't think the club will be stingy- that's why I think he'll be our first $1M player.

He's our best, most consistent performing young player and in the elite bracket for players of his age.

Not a free agent so if someone makes a crazy offer then its a minimum of 2 Top 10's picks for the privilege of getting him.

After wandering through the Pre-Season thread I'm thinking I need to find a spot for Hugo "The Terminator" Garcia...

Webster - Wilkie - Shoenmaker
Sinclair - Howard - Wanganeen-Milera
Wood - Steele - Wilson
Hill - Sharman - Henry
Higgins - King - Owens
Marshall - Windhager - Macrae
Phillipou - Byrnes - Travaglia - Garcia

Clark/Dow/Stocker/Carroll/Butler/Hall/Boxshall

This is getting tough!!

I don't think the club will be stingy- that's why I think he'll be our first $1M player.

He's our best, most consistent performing young player and in the elite bracket for players of his age.

Not a free agent so if someone makes a crazy offer then its a minimum of 2 Top 10's picks for the privilege of getting him.
Yep, No way Ross is letting him go without a fight. Last year everyone on the list handed off the Nasiah if he was in the area. He would be a massive cog in Ross' long term strategy

I’m certainly not a Howard fan however I do acknowledge he’s a necessary evil in our side..at the moment!
I believe Arie will get early opportunities to be the third tall, with Travaglia offering an extra run & carry player in the back 50
A necessary evil- yep, that’s exactly what I think Ross might think too.

Me neither. I get that we're pretty desperate for another key defenders, but i want to see King, Sharman and Caminiti given time to see if they can work as a tall trio.

Also need a third tall back, not another KP. Unless they plan on turning Wilkie or Dougal into an interceptor. I'd almost be tempted to play Wood there. We gave Battle licence to roam and move. The only issue is that Wood has been good at scoring against the tide of play.

If we sell this dream of having our young core come up together - led by Nas Pou Owens Windy etc - to bring success to such a success-starved club, I can't see why we wouldn't be able to retain ALL of our youngsters as long as they are good enough

We just have to start winning games. No-one wants to go back and play footy in a bottom 4 side for 10 years unless they are coming from a shit side and think that $1.2 million a year might fill the hole that success doesn't.

If we can make ourselves look on a path forward we can get players to stay.

Based on my observations today, I wouldn’t be surprised if Boyd gets a gig.
Further, I wouldn’t be surprised to see him selected for Round One as first ruck.
With Ro’s role being focused around his mobility and marking.
Possibly, Ro and King rotating through FF and CHF.
Or Ro as a classic, old time, ruck rover.
Boyd has a current fitness base of a SANFL ruckman, that will improve over the preseason.
Only Ro, Boyd and Max Heath were involved with ruck specific training.
Each could beat the others, which says something about the three of them.
Ro is not a classic ruck.
Max has improved immensely because this time last year he was being rag dolled.
And Boyd has competitive AFL ruck craft.

What’s more important, Keeler did no ruck specific training.
Make of that what you will.

Further, I wouldn’t be surprised to see him selected for Round One as first ruck.
Boyd has a current fitness base of a SANFL ruckman, that will improve over the preseason.

Was Ro grinning as he was beaten.
( he's a guy who seems to love his footy ).

After wandering through the Pre-Season thread I'm thinking I need to find a spot for Hugo "The Terminator" Garcia...

Webster - Wilkie - Shoenmaker
Sinclair - Howard - Wanganeen-Milera
Wood - Steele - Wilson
Hill - Sharman - Henry
Higgins - King - Owens
Marshall - Windhager - Macrae
Phillipou - Byrnes - Travaglia - Garcia

Clark/Dow/Stocker/Carroll/Butler/Hall/Boxshall

This is getting tough!!
That is one quick side.
Garcia is going to force his way into the 22, so kudos for forcing him in there.
A fit Clark will squeeze out the unlucky Byrnes.
Tauru could find his way onto the bench when he recovers, and start his career as the ultimate swingman, before settling into the forward line with Max and Sharman.

You didn't corn hole a bloke with manky feet and a grey beard by any chance? We didn't get a thorough report because of it.

I'd bet money that Jimmy won't be out if fit.

That is one quick side.
Garcia is going to force his way into the 22, so kudos for forcing him in there.
A fit Clark will squeeze out the unlucky Byrnes.
Tauru could find his way onto the bench when he recovers, and start his career as the ultimate swingman, before settling into the forward line with Max and Sharman.

I like Clark but I think he's the one I have to squeeze for Terminator.

That said; So many of those bench guys will get games.

Rekon it'll be closer to a best 30 by the end of the year.

Prediction St.Kilda Best 22