Dylan Ford appointed New Norfolk Coach
Callen Daly appointed Huonville Lions Coach
Very interesting choices.
Callen Daly appointed Huonville Lions Coach
Very interesting choices.
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Spreyton just announced they are gone, can't find a coach and lost too many players.I think many clubs just can’t find people to coach. It’s not worth the 20k.
Fully agree. Would raise the standard also.I honestly believe that if clubs want to continue in some way they really need to look at amalgamation.
we are going to have more and more clubs struggle in the next few seasons.
I don’t believe many of the others that had been there for a while are going back either. Wonder what is happening up there.Can't force someone to stay at a Club if they don't want to be there especially after what's transpired in the 2023 SFL offseason/preseason.
Who is it? Any news?Hobart announcing their new coach on Wednesday night, wonder who it could be.
Daniel Gray.Who is it? Any news?
Sounds great. Hopefully they get two solid sides now.Daniel Gray.
Played 190 games for the Tigers from 1995-2007.
Life Member. Was the Senior captain from 2003-2005 and played in the club's last senior premiership in 1999.
Later went on to coach St Virgils in 2008-09.
That’s a bit strange isn’t it? I wonder how the numbers are looking for them. Hopefully can get two sidesHeard a rumour that there were upto 10 ex Hobart players who had played a fair chunk of senior footy up there that were keen to go back, the president was told of this to try and secure them and didn't contact any of them and now they're all signed up at other clubs. Only just found this out from a mate who's son was one of them going to go back.
I heard that they had to field a senior side in 2024, seen on Facebook that one of their better players Lachy Plummer signed with a Myrtleford over in Melbourne.Hobart will really struggle to get two sides. If they only get one side again will they play in the ones or twos?
I have a good mate that's tied up with them that told me during the season that they were being heavily targeted and had shown interest at board level to join the new Premier League, so it's not a surprise.Thoughts gents?
I reckon it'll be a failure just like last time.
Haven't won a flag in decades and when they stepped up last time they didn't win a game for about 3 or 4 years.
Nice new changerooms seems to be the criteria to get in obviously.
Couldn’t disagree more. Works in VIC.Promo-Relegation - never ever! It's the best way to completely fxxx a professional sporting league and entrench a privileged few into positions of extended dominance.
I'd go so far as to have four teams up top, protected from demotion and with privileges - the entire point being that if you're going to design a league intended for elite pathways going higher, you have to protect that structure. A team sport takes time to develop team players, so there could be nothing more destructive for a pathway than constant demotion of teams...
Additionally, Tasmanians and travel...bloody hell, I had no idea what a road trip was until I was commuting between Brisbane and the GC three times a week when I moved up 28 years ago, and I've just accepted a job with a 60km distance every day thinking nothing of it...we used to think our uni lecturer was (even more) mad when we discovered he travelled to Newnham from Deloraine every day. In the north, a Scottsdale player might be discouraged from playing if his team was suddenly the only one in the old NEFU area, and he was playing old Esk teams every week...I could imagine a Dodges player thinking the journey to old Huon teams would be not so far short of that. If you've never lived outside of Tassie, you have no idea what a long distance is, but this issue is not solved through education, it's about accommodating. The lower divisions should be geographically aligned...throw in a few extra sides down below, and make it a Premier League structure (full S/R/U, just a few sides) supported by two equal lower divisions (just seniors, as many teams as you can get), NS or EW or whatever works...separate kids league or an U19's, whatever is most cost effective and gets tons of them onto the field...
The biggest issue facing all clubs is player retention, and in essence, you want the best players hanging out in a concentrated high performance environment, and the lower teams overloaded with players and not as many money worries. You will not get that if a concentrated environment team gets no chances to build a side because they got demoted, and the team that replaced them suddenly is getting slaughtered every week...a player exodus would happen for both teams...
No point posting if that's the go...Couldn’t disagree more. Works in VIC.
So Huonville stuck in Div two smacking teams is ok?
Or Brighton stuck in Div 1 getting smacked is ok?
what happens if Nrighton never get good? Or Glenorchy? Or Huonville and Cygnet play for the next 10 flags?
Anyways can agree to disagree?