SFNL Div 1 2025

if you are talking VAFA, from the top couple of teams in Prem C up through Prem B and Prem A then sure players get paid, or they get them jobs.

But some of the clubs at the bottom of Prem C and lower, literally work off the smell of an oily rag. If they don't get player subs and have a couple of functions, they go into debt and operate from a dysfunctional loan from the bank, so no way can they pay players, hence they can't keep them either when clubs come calling from leagues like the SNFL who can offer $900 a game.

Thats why clubs like Old Paradians have moved out of the VAFA to the NFNL so they can splash some cash on players and don't have their juniors walk out the door for money.
Exactly what my old club Ivanhoe did and they are a completely different club now. Best thing they’ve done is join the NFNL.

I think you are being extremely OSTENTATIOUS.

It is a small area that is trying to facilitate a lot of teams and there just isn't enough under 19s to go around.

Bentleigh, Caulfield Bears, St Pauls, Ormond and Glen Eira and even AJAX are basically all in ovals next to each other.

It seems Ormond has won this round and will have two u19 teams this year but that doesn't mean St Pauls and Caulfield Bears and Glen Eira and AJAX don't deserve teams.

Bentleigh are always strong in the u19s but that doesn't translate to success in the firsts.

When players go to firsts, they often move again to another team in the area anyway.

Where a boy plays junior football does not equate to where he plays senior football also.

It's nothing for a player in the Bentleigh/Ormond area to at some stage have played for 3 different clubs by the time he makes seniors.

You should be happy if all teams are successful in producing under 19s on the field because that means footy is growing rather than shrinking which it is currently doing in the marketplace.

For 19-year-olds there is so much more to do these days plus the dreaded concussion which is stopping a lot of mums from letting their boy's play in under 19s these days.

Calling other teams' parasites is silly given the boys move from team to team anyway depending on where the best deal is or who their mates are playing for.

You should be happy that Ormond are the club of choice at the moment and not wish ill on other teams.
You actually raise a valid point. The time and effort clubs put into Juniors is incredible. Bentleigh is a case in point. Huge Junior numbers which then translates into Under 19's etc...unfortunately most of them move on in search of the mighty $$$ or a job associated with footy....these are the times we live in. Yet clubs with no Juniors keep on surviving year after year until their benefactor or key people step away with no ready replacements, at which point the club dies a quick death. There must be something in the water at Packer Park, as they used to be masters at poaching and stealing junior players from other cricket clubs.....but that was quite a few years back.

As an outsider looking in, I have to say well done to the SFNL for their hard work over the past 5 years or so. This season is shaping up to be one of the most competitive seasons in all grades. The addition of new clubs has revitalized the competition and now there appears to be a strong Div 2 and a very strong and competitive Div 3 with a number of clubs vying for promotion and eventual entry into Div 1 or Premier League. You have been kicked from pillar to post in the past, but credit where credit is due. Let's hope locals support the clubs and get to the games. Keep up the good work.

You actually raise a valid point. The time and effort clubs put into Juniors is incredible. Bentleigh is a case in point. Huge Junior numbers which then translates into Under 19's etc...unfortunately most of them move on in search of the mighty $$$ or a job associated with footy....these are the times we live in. Yet clubs with no Juniors keep on surviving year after year until their benefactor or key people step away with no ready replacements, at which point the club dies a quick death. There must be something in the water at Packer Park, as they used to be masters at poaching and stealing junior players from other cricket clubs.....but that was quite a few years back.
Glen Eira fc will slowly die as I believe their major benefactor has moved back to Perth. Packer Park is being renovated by the council so they may not even get on their home ground for the first half of the season. As we all know, local councils take a long time to do anything.

I am looking forward to seeing Wade King unleashed for St Pauls this weekend. He missed the first round, after almost leading McKinnon cc to premiership glory but he is truly a just and was very handsomely paid up in Benalla, so he won't have come cheaply. If he is half as good footy player as he is cricketer, he will kick 50 gaols this season no problem.

Glen Eira fc will slowly die as I believe their major benefactor has moved back to Perth. Packer Park is being renovated by the council so they may not even get on their home ground for the first half of the season. As we all know, local councils take a long time to do anything.

I am looking forward to seeing Wade King unleashed for St Pauls this weekend. He missed the first round, after almost leading McKinnon cc to premiership glory but he is truly a just and was very handsomely paid up in Benalla, so he won't have come cheaply. If he is half as good footy player as he is cricketer, he will kick 50 gaols this season no problem.
McKinnon CC pooed themselves on the home deck on Grand Final day and yes King can play both sports it’s just going to be a wait and see

Made a duck today!

Ventured out to East Brighton today. Alex Keath stunk, no Narre player near him most of the day, luckily for Narre didn't hurt them as much as he should have. Ben Reid still can't kick straight, althgough Narre's backline looks undersized and that will be an ongoing issue. Vampires dominated the midfield after quarter time, it was a smashing actually.
East Brighton put pressure on and Narre were fumblely & couldn't hit targets under pressure AND even with no pressure too!
East Brighton were very disclipined defensively, numerous times Narre forward competing 2 or 3 vs 1.
Game was effectively over 12 minutes in the 3rd quarter, with several Narre players already out on their feet.
If Vampires kick straight, it could have got messy.

A saying says "You learn more from a loss than a win", Narre have a lot of learning to do! If Reid stands up and the Vampires midfield can get enough footy to him, they may surprise a couple of top teams on their deck.

Ventured out to East Brighton today. Alex Keath stunk, no Narre player near him most of the day, luckily for Narre didn't hurt them as much as he should have. Ben Reid still can't kick straight, althgough Narre's backline looks undersized and that will be an ongoing issue. Vampires dominated the midfield after quarter time, it was a smashing actually.
East Brighton put pressure on and Narre were fumblely & couldn't hit targets under pressure AND even with no pressure too!
East Brighton were very disclipined defensively, numerous times Narre forward competing 2 or 3 vs 1.
Game was effectively over 12 minutes in the 3rd quarter, with several Narre players already out on their feet.
If Vampires kick straight, it could have got messy.

A saying says "You learn more from a loss than a win", Narre have a lot of learning to do! If Reid stands up and the Vampires midfield can get enough footy to him, they may surprise a couple of top teams on their deck.
Went down for the first quarter and a half of the EB game and they were dominant!!!
Tab in the ruck and the mids of east brighton just took the piss, their kicking was shocking . Should have been 6 goals up when I left but looks like the second half was much the same.

Went down and made Bentleigh Beena just after quarter time as that game was a bit later and beena had 1 on the bench when I got there but had 2 on the bench for the second half.
The beena looked very very young and kicked a few shots on the full but probably were the better team overall but just ran out of gas in the second half and Bentleigh’s experienced midfield probably got them over the line.

Few of the Beena fans said they have a handful to come back in & bentleigh did have Brady Grey from freo playing today who was very very classy. Overall was a critical win by Bentleigh for the standings but I think that the bottom teams are all actually extremely good and there is no easy wins this season at all.
This standard is great to watch this year.

Made a duck today!
Wade still played a very good game especially in the last quarter when the game was to be won. Fantastic performance by St Pauls to claw their way back from 6 goals down. The big crowd was raucous as the final siren had St Pauls in front by 2 points. Will McCartney is a special talent, but we knew that from his Ormond days. Matty Obrien showed the grunt work to get them over the line. Captain James Sziller somehow played after a knee injury to show great heart.

Bentleigh just had enough to eclipse a strong Murrumbeena team in the local derby Infront of a big crowd. Scollo was outstanding for Beena. Tom Buckley and "Shirley you can't be serous" also played well for Beena. Young Lachlan Laurance, a former Caulfield Grammar boy who played juniors at Bentleigh and came up from the reserves had an impressive day also. Great game to watch. Andrew Walker was by far best on ground for Bentleigh.

Wade still played a very good game especially in the last quarter when the game was to be won. Fantastic performance by St Pauls to claw their way back from 6 goals down. The big crowd was raucous as the final siren had St Pauls in front by 2 points. Will McCartney is a special talent, but we knew that from his Ormond days. Matty Obrien showed the grunt work to get them over the line. Captain James Sziller somehow played after a knee injury to show great heart.

Bentleigh just had enough to eclipse a strong Murrumbeena team in the local derby Infront of a big crowd. Scollo was outstanding for Beena. Tom Buckley and "Shirley you can't be serous" also played well for Beena. Young Lachlan Laurance, a former Caulfield Grammar boy who played juniors at Bentleigh and came up from the reserves had an impressive day also. Great game to watch. Andrew Walker was by far best on ground for Bentleigh.
Love a good story without truth. Sziller may have shown alot of heart. But it certainly was as a spectator.

St Pauls McKinnon are the real deal and a lot of people on this site who predicted their downfall now have egg on thier faces including dear old Bedders.

I told you before the start of the season that they would remain premiership contenders.

There are a lot of people on this site with macho aspirations, but they never truly will know anything about the local footy in our region.

St Pauls McKinnon are the real deal and a lot of people on this site who predicted their downfall now have egg on thier faces including dear old Bedders.

I told you before the start of the season that they would remain premiership contenders.

There are a lot of people on this site with macho aspirations, but they never truly will know anything about the local footy in our region.
When the f did i predict a downfall of the McKinnon based club

Great day of footy yesterday!
Started at Cheltenham Springvale. Good first quarter but Cheltenham ramped it up and really it was all over at half time so nicked off. VFL bye week so Austin Johnson was playing for the Rosella's and he took the ****.
Where was Martin? Springvale I fear have got their recruiting wrong. Lost their best 2 players in Arms and Walker (at the prime of their careers) and brought in Martin and Sketcher who are in their mid-thirties and 1 is off an ACL. Not doubting their quality but their durability and reliability will determine if they play finals. But not off to a great start. Wetering also needs to try get back to his form that saw him playing great VFL footy for the Pies.

Then headed down to Murrumbeena Bentleigh, caught a lot of what was a really good contest. Haven't been to Murrumbeena's ground for a long time and you forget just how small it is. 35m arcs? Murrumbeena will be kicking themselves about the result. Beena were flying at halftime but Bentleigh seem to have some real top end talent this year and that really shone through in the 2nd half. Hopefully Beena get a win soon or they could already be playing catch up. A lot of young guys for Beena yesterday who have the potential but are definitely experiencing growing pains. And the 19s were on straight after! Don't think it happens often but the league should really have the women and 19s play twilight games more often. Great atmosphere.

After watching Cheltenham and Bentleigh today, the ruck battle looms to be a huge match-up ANZAC Day. Best 2 ruck men in the league you'd argue with Edwards V Smart. Should be a ripper game!

And Cranbourne could be in some real trouble. They've had plenty of exits over the last couple years and coupled with a new coach I struggle to see them playing finals. Hopefully can string together some wins soon.

I'd hold a pause on 'real deal' just yet. 2 wins with a combined winning margin of 4 points...

Banking the 2 wins early will be a huge boost for finals and until Kreymborg is back but they barely beat 2 teams many predicted to be in the bottom 3. St Pauls have Murrumbeena next as well. Give it until Round 5 to assess where they are.

When the f did i predict a downfall of the McKinnon club as they should be named

Excuse me Bedders, they are the St Pauls McKinnon football and netball association. They actually started when the St Pauls men's association wanted to set up a football club.

As they say on their own website: -

What basically started as a church group has become not just a football team but a football community, which hopefully in these days of eco rationalism, mega dollar sponsors, computer wizardry, ground rationalization, impersonalisation etc has and hopefully always will show that a group of people working together can survive, will survive and will prosper.

And Bedders, you have said that you expect St Pauls to not be as strong as last year. They have strong heart at that Club.

Something we should love about our local footy and St Pauls is a team that everyone should want to be successful.

Before you get too excited, it is not like STP has beaten two powerhouses in the their first two games. Premiership contenders is a big call and it is a long season.

Agree. Letting teams that may finish outside the top 5 get out to handy leads throughout the game, isn't going to put them into being contenders just yet

Beena lost Minchin and Ogden in the 2nd so that probably cooked them a bit losing a young bloke and their best ruck for half the game.

Good day though with the twilight footy, keeps the crowd which is great.

Renovating again? What are they doing, installing an indoor pool or golf course? They obviously have a few local councilors living in the area. That seems to be the only way things get done in Glen Eira. Call them about a tree that is one big storm from collapsing on a house or that has lifted the pavement and destroying driveways, or put a roundabout in a street where hoons are flying around and they politely tell you to f*ck off.

Very true, but It's the irrigation at Packer Park that they are trying to fix. They tried to fix it two years ago, so it is debatable that the council actually know what they ar doing.

As soon as it rains in winter the oval turns to shit which actually helps Glen Eira fc.

Exactly what my old club Ivanhoe did and they are a completely different club now. Best thing they’ve done is join the NFNL.
If anyone believes Ammo clubs do not pay players then they are kidding themselves. A lot of Ammo Clubs at the lower echelons are struggling atm trying to recruit and pay the significant council fees, Ammo fees and Insurance. But I also see and hear about the money players are getting paid and cannot accept that this is sustainable. Either way, the Ammos are going to have to make a tough decision in the next few years with regards to player payments or run the risk of losing half of their teams or having a very weak competition. The economic times and pressure on young people to pay their weekly rental or get into the housing market. If decent players can make 50-100K playing footy for 5-10 years, it becomes a very attractive 2nd job. There are sadly a lot of people who are one illness or job loss from living in a car or couch surfing.

SFNL Div 1 2025

Write your reply...