Season 2013 Bendigo FL

IF BFL is to be believed as a better league they need to be better at attracting decent crowds as three guys on the fence at most QEO games seem to lack atmosphere

Rdfl time. They will win games which will help with bigger crowds, keeping players, attracting players and more revenue. A Woodend V Kyneton game would attract more people than any Kyneton Bfl game. 50k will complete in the rdfl - double that to compete in the Bfl.
Sorry mate but i think if you beieive that any side in country victoria can survive on spending 50k your not even close,50k may buy you a coach and enough elastoplast to strap the ankles of the 1s n 2s but not much else, i think its about time we stop kidding ourselves and admit most clubs have a minimum spend of 100k to survive, let alone prosper, everyone keeps fudging around the numbers but ,shit , get real. PS Sick of hearing blokes with ****all knowledge spruiking numbers from Disneyland about everyones spend, fact of life if you aint got it you cant spend it.

IF BFL is to be believed as a better league they need to be better at attracting decent crowds as three guys on the fence at most QEO games seem to lack atmosphere
Standard of football had nothing to do with crowd size. Grant Weeks is still the best footballer in country Vic if 5,000 are watching or 10.

Sorry mate but i think if you beieive that any side in country victoria can survive on spending 50k your not even close,50k may buy you a coach and enough elastoplast to strap the ankles of the 1s n 2s but not much else, i think its about time we stop kidding ourselves and admit most clubs have a minimum spend of 100k to survive, let alone prosper, everyone keeps fudging around the numbers but ,shit , get real. PS Sick of hearing blokes with ****all knowledge spruiking numbers from Disneyland about everyones spend, fact of life if you aint got it you cant spend it.
50k is the player payments. Some people who post know numbers at a club.

Sorry mate coach min 15k 2 good players(who arent greedy 10k each) doest leave much for things such as incentives(if you arent paying these yet your still in the previous century) fuel payments for others(esp locals returning) sorry i cant go any further run out of dollars.(if you think in your neck of the woods 50k is good spending engrave the cup with RUPERTSWOOD now)

Any reasonable club should be looking at a total coach (25k) and player budget (125k) of $150,000 - seniors and reserves. Including fuel, incentives etc What do you think?

Sorry mate coach min 15k 2 good players(who arent greedy 10k each) doest leave much for things such as incentives(if you arent paying these yet your still in the previous century) fuel payments for others(esp locals returning) sorry i cant go any further run out of dollars.(if you think in your neck of the woods 50k is good spending engrave the cup with RUPERTSWOOD now)
Central Murray run with 25k-40k+ for coaches alone, BFL would have to be close to that ex AFL guys look for 2k a game.
BFL would need to compete for better players that are offered large amounts at Lesser leagues

Reality is that the major players in country and suburban footy such as Albury, Yarrawonga, Gisborne, Sunbury, Maffra, Traralgon, Shep United, Golden Square, Vermont, Balwyn, Noble Park, Heidelberg, Northcote Park just for example are all probably up around $300,000 and more. Look at Vermont's latest signing - B&F from Box Hill and just delisted from Hawthorn - Tom Schneider. Would probably demand $40,000 - or does employment then become a factor like in the ammos?

Any reasonable club should be looking at a total coach (25k) and player budget (125k) of $150,000 - seniors and reserves. Including fuel, incentives etc What do you think?
Your on the money johnny min. figures quoted and anyone prepared to put their name to any numbers less than this DOES NOT KNOW anything about the inner sanctums of football clubs(your doing a good job to still have your fingers working after one of the most prolific weeks on the regional footy forum lately)

Yeah love my footy - actually love the VCFL and Metro more than the AFL - probably like a few punters out there. Hard to like the money side of things though! It has ballooned out of control in the last 7 years in particular. I remember when $400 was tops.

Major leagues yes. Rdfl are no where near this. That is why Kyneton should look at it.

What will happen to country footy when clubs run out of money? Towns can't continue to come up with ways of raising funds to pay for footballers, when the trends in towns especially in the northern parts of the state, are struggling. Most towns you drive thru now have empty shops throughout their main streets, how can they afford to splurge 150 k a season on football
If kyneton go to rdfl and castlemaine leave, why would gissy stay to drive an hour every second week?

Your on the money johnny min. figures quoted and anyone prepared to put their name to any numbers less than this DOES NOT KNOW anything about the inner sanctums of football clubs(your doing a good job to still have your fingers working after one of the most prolific weeks on the regional footy forum lately)
Roots has a long lost brother in Johnnymossop

Exactly. Not sustainable and morally bankrupt. Imagine $150,000 pumped into the local hospital or school every year - wow! And people pay to play cricket and golf!!

What will happen to country footy when clubs run out of money? Towns can't continue to come up with ways of raising funds to pay for footballers, when the trends in towns especially in the northern parts of the state, are struggling. Most towns you drive thru now have empty shops throughout their main streets, how can they afford to splurge 150 k a season on football
If kyneton go to rdfl and castlemaine leave, why would gissy stay to drive an hour every second week?
While agreeing with you that while it is a struggle to raise the funds to continue for 90% of clubs, to most towns espescially smaller country towns it is not just about the football,wives,girlfriends and daughters are involved in making winter saturdays a family affair, most clubs have a hard core group of 6,8,10 former players,officials who have sons, daughters involved at some level driving their passion to keep their clubs surviving its because of this group at most clubs they keep going.I think you will find that football/netball/hockey is more alive and well at the grassroots, taking into account the hard work to survive,than at some bigger towns/cities(seen larger crowds by hundreds at a Wedderburn home game than at Lavington V Yarrawonga 2011 pre Fev, Golden Square V Sandhurst Wade st. last year, Sunbury V Redan 2011 plus numerous other home and away games at various leagues) so while smaller clubs have to work harder to survive while the locals are behind them they will survive.

Netball Coaching positions for the 2013 Season
Applications for all netball coaching positions are now being taken:
Senior Grades A,B,C
17 & Under
15 & Under
13 & Under (A & B)
In particular the club is again this year actively seeking a Senior Netball coach. After the success of our A & B grade netballers in 2012 the club is looking for a coach who shares our commitment towards taking our senior netballers to the next level. Remuneration is available and negotiable for the suitable applicant.
For further information or to send your application please contact BFNC Netball Administrator Kara Jones kara@wdfinance.com.au. Applications close Monday 28th January 2013.

Yes this is a key point. If Kyneton left the BFNL I think this would have a domino effect. Castlemaine would go soon after and in these circumstances the Ballarat League would become very attractive to Gisborne & Maryborough. History tells us that when Rochester left the Bendigo League for the GVFL in the 1970's Echuca were pretty quick to follow them.

There are some good discussions on this and related issues with various points of view. What really bothers me is you never hear these same discussions within the BFNL Board itself. For example, they never even come out and say 'we want to retain Kyneton'. We certainly never hear of any plan/proposal/submission or even idea at Board level to help Kyneton. If grass roots BFNL supporters see a problem and the Bendigo Advertiser also raises concerns from time to time as to whether Kyneton will even field a full quota of teams, then surely those at 'BFNL Headquarters' need to express the Boards views on this issue.

Yes this is a key point. If Kyneton left the BFNL I think this would have a domino effect. Castlemaine would go soon after and in these circumstances the Ballarat League would become very attractive to Gisborne & Maryborough. History tells us that when Rochester left the Bendigo League for the GVFL in the 1970's Echuca were pretty quick to follow them.

There are some good discussions on this and related issues with various points of view. What really bothers me is you never hear these same discussions within the BFNL Board itself. For example, they never even come out and say 'we want to retain Kyneton'. We certainly never hear of any plan/proposal/submission or even idea at Board level to help Kyneton. If grass roots BFNL supporters see a problem and the Bendigo Advertiser also raises concerns from time to time as to whether Kyneton will even field a full quota of teams, then surely those at 'BFNL Headquarters' need to express the Boards views on this issue.

Good point - a few years ago Melton South was in trouble and looking to join the RDFL - the BFL CEO backed them to stay and they presented to the club and offered help and support. Ballarat already had a massive crack at Gisborne and the members voted to stay - but lose Kyneton and Castlemaine the next vote maybe different next time.

I have no idea how much trouble Kyneton are in but I thought Filo was going to be the great saviour and it looks like even he could not turn the club around. If the numbers leaving are correct 2013 could be the worse year Kyneton have had - there won't be many clubs worse in country victoria.

Exactly. Not sustainable and morally bankrupt. Imagine $150,000 pumped into the local hospital or school every year - wow! And people pay to play cricket and golf!!

People pay their memberships for football also.. This generates income. Cricket and golf don't have supporters paying $10 a hit at the gate to get in, then they may on average spend their $10 on the canteen and and $10 at the bar during the game.

Add in the Saturday night then money adds up and allows for money to be spent.

Communities don't use golf or cricket as a meeting point compared to football. football clubs are everything to country communities, if it wasn't then you wouldnt justify spending the $$. For me it's an investment on keeping the local families, ex players, the old guys on the fence coming back and enjoying being at their home ground.

There are many different ways to look at it.