Review Scrappy win v North 113-97

Our midfield trains all preseason with Tim English as a dominant, effective ruckman and then the real season starts, he’s ineffective and everything we’ve done during the preseason has to be adjusted on the run. Inexperienced mids will struggle making the adjustments I guess. I believe Sanders will be okay but it’ll take time.
I have been a defender of Tim over the years. But honestly, his second efforts last night were horrible! He was liability in the centre and when went in there it was no coincidence north cleared the ball effortlessly. I want Darce up forward, but if Tim doesn't lift and at least break even in the middle Darce will have to play more ruck. Watching Tim closely, he doesn't have eyes for the ball, always watching the opponent! With his athletic ability, he should be jumping over opponents but he continually try to out body and unfortunately does not have the strength required. Even when he gets his hands to it first it usually is an insipid tap not to our advantage. He looked tired last night, maybe it was the heat but he does not even seem to be even getting his hands to the ball in marking contests and is constantly getting caught under the ball. Im' not giving up on him but his lack of aggression and urgency around the contest is a dilemma.

I have been a defender of Tim over the years. But honestly, his second efforts last night were horrible! He was liability in the centre and when went in there it was no coincidence north cleared the ball effortlessly. I want Darce up forward, but if Tim doesn't lift and at least break even in the middle Darce will have to play more ruck. Watching Tim closely, he doesn't have eyes for the ball, always watching the opponent! With his athletic ability, he should be jumping over opponents but he continually try to out body and unfortunately does not have the strength required. Even when he gets his hands to it first it usually is an insipid tap not to our advantage. He looked tired last night, maybe it was the heat but he dies not seem to be even getting his hands to the ball in marking contests and is constantly getting caught under the ball. Im' not giving up on him but his lack of aggression and urgency around the contest is a dilemma.
Yeah I'm a fan of Tim, but the lack of effort/intensity at so many contests was disturbing last night. Hopefully he turns that around

Number 6 pick for sanders, at this stage not sure how good this kid will be. Got some rewards late last night up forward, however we need him to develop as a mid urgently especially with our aging midfield list. His hands are good but continually puts team mates under pressure with little hand passes that at times are pointless. He is actually a decent kick, so hoping he develops that aspect of his game more.

I'm torn on the Archer suspension. I think in the current environment the suspension is right,but to me there is also a huge difference between what Archer did contesting the ball at speed and being reckless as opposed to a player raising an elbow and deliberately knocking someone out. I'm certainly not hating on him even if the 3 weeks is right. In saying that, first thoughts are of course with Luke in his recovery.

Perhaps expectations of Sanders need to be adjusted.
People are probably of the thinking that he'd step into the midfield now and rack up nearly 30 touches a game.
He might not be ready for that as yet but on the plus side he must've covered the ground reasonably well given his GPS numbers and played a bit better in the 2nd half to kick 2 goals.

If you look at him this year as a part of a bigger midfield rotation to help out the main group in there he can still be a handy contributor throughout the year and hopefully continue to grow his game over time.

If you expect him to be able to replicate Libba or replace Macrae right now you might be disappointed.

Idiot also posted a bunch of stills to try and blame Cleary. All I see here, is Cleary already on the ground, with the ball, and Archer is a good 3 metres away. Clearly must have a crazy long neck to throw it into Archers knees as they are trying to claim. Also conveniently ignoring the fact that the North player behind him, pushed into his pack and drove him further down into the ground. Yet somehow its still all Clearys fault. I'd have some respect for the Norf flogs, if they were not trying to blame Clearly as 100% at fault for the whole thing. And admit Archer, and the other North player had some responsibility too.

Screenshot_20250316-194512~2.jpg

From the cheapest of cowardly king hits on Ian Aiken in London, never apologised either. To swearing and abusing junior umpires and female journalists, to abusing opposition players to punching holes in walls and rearranging tables and chairs in Hobart to homophobic abuse. Always whinging about umpiring even in our semi final win over this sook in 2016. Not to mention telling indigenous players to abort their children for their careers. Clarkson is the worst citizen in football, no one holds a candle to his pathetic personality traits. Spare us your opinions, which are wrong, again! Learn some grace you pissant of a human.
Agree Clarkson has zero grace

Number 6 pick for sanders, at this stage not sure how good this kid will be. Got some rewards late last night up forward, however we need him to develop as a mid urgently especially with our aging midfield list. His hands are good but continually puts team mates under pressure with little hand passes that at times are pointless. He is actually a decent kick, so hoping he develops that aspect of his game more.
Maybe wait till 40 plus games to judge

On SM-S926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I'm torn on the Archer suspension. I think in the current environment the suspension is right,but to me there is also a huge difference between what Archer did contesting the ball at speed and being reckless as opposed to a player raising an elbow and deliberately knocking someone out. I'm certainly not hating on him even if the 3 weeks is right. In saying that, first thoughts are of course with Luke in his recovery.
One thing was clear, Archer was never contesting the ball. Once this is the case you have a duty of care to players contesting the ball

Perhaps expectations of Sanders need to be adjusted.
People are probably of the thinking that he'd step into the midfield now and rack up nearly 30 touches a game.
He might not be ready for that as yet but on the plus side he must've covered the ground reasonably well given his GPS numbers and played a bit better in the 2nd half to kick 2 goals.

If you look at him this year as a part of a bigger midfield rotation to help out the main group in there he can still be a handy contributor throughout the year and hopefully continue to grow his game over time.

If you expect him to be able to replicate Libba or replace Macrae right now you might be disappointed.
After 15 games Bont was barely a certainty yet has become arguably the greatest Bulldog

Norfie supporters keep saying he dived into it and it should have been Archer's freekick for taking his legs out
Reading that rubbish test's one's faith in humanity. I haven't seen that much victim blaming since Collingwood fans laid blame on Brayshaw for not getting out of Maynard's way.

Archer came in at high speed and caused a brain injury to an opponent who was simply innocently gathering the ball and should have felt reasonably protected by the laws of the game, and the general duty of care that all players owe each other.

Can't' believe the amount of people questioning it. Harry Sheezel was initially far closer to Cleary than Archer, and yet he somehow miraculously avoided kicking him in the head.

I think Archer clearly didn't show Cleary appropriate duty of care.

The only potential mitigating factor in his defence, is the confusion created by the world's dumbest rule ('the forceful contact below the knees' rule), which has effectively encouraged players to get themselves into positions where opponents are likely to collide into their lower legs in order to milk a free kick.

However, even if that was a consideration in Archer's actions, he certainly wasn't caring too much about what happened to Cleary in the process.

remember reading a few comments and they were blaming young Luke

They reckon he was looking for a free kick… dumbarses.

He certainly went to ground himself but maybe that’s because he was trying to gather a ground ball at pace and fell?

It was an unfortunate collision and I don’t necessarily think archer should be suspended, but north fans typically aren’t the most balanced and reasonable types.

The push from the North guy behind Cleary has certainly influenced where the impact eventually was.

While I’m surprised that more hasn’t been of that, what was Archer trying to do? Couldn’t tackle so just ran in for that sake of it? He’s only got himself to blame.

More just a dumb decision than a thug act and there’s no duty of care as a result.

It also looked worse at the ground/live than it did on the replays. It’s a bigger distance between Archer and Cleary than TV suggests plus Cleary had established more ball control than what replays show.

The push from the North guy behind Cleary has certainly influenced where the impact eventually was.

While I’m surprised that more hasn’t been of that, what was Archer trying to do? Couldn’t tackle so just ran in for that sake of it? He’s only got himself to blame.

More just a dumb decision than a thug act and there’s no duty of care as a result.

It also looked worse at the ground/live than it did on the replays. It’s a bigger distance between Archer and Cleary than TV suggests plus Cleary had established more ball control than what replays show.
Clearly is already on the ground with ball in hand, somehow threw himself into Archers legs who was still at least 3m away at the time. I'm just wondering how Cleary managed to "throw", himself at Archers legs from so far away when already down?

Review Scrappy win v North 113-97

Write your reply...