Unofficial Preview Sam and Tom break WA's brain and other Trade discussions 2025

Because the compo they would get from him leaving is better than having to pay him $900k plus to stay and not be around for their next tilt.
He has only just turned 26 and there's no guarantee the compo pick will turn out to be a gun.

I can understand the compo strategy for a mid - or indeed any other position - but high-quality KPFs are so rare. Why not fight to keep a bona fide gun KPF, which Oscar at his best certainly is, who has 5-7 years of peak performance left in him?

He has only just turned 26 and there's no guarantee the compo pick will turn out to be a gun.

I can understand the compo strategy for a mid - or indeed any other position - but high-quality KPFs are so rare. Why not fight to keep a bona fide gun KPF, which Oscar at his best certainly is, who has 5-7 years of peak performance left in him?
Worst case say they finish 16th. Pick 3 and then 4(compo) is huge. Split that for 2 firsts and a second plus Harley compo. They could have 6-7 picks inside top 25. I’d take that in a rebuild over someone with a questionable knee who supposedly doesn’t really want to be there and almost certain of not being there when club is challenging

Cause I am assuming we offer Meek around 650-750K for 4 with trigger for 5& 6 but if Weagles or Swans offer him 900k-1mn for 5, then what do we do? Take the mid-1st rounder and be at peace.
For TDK, we would have to start at 1mn for 5yrs but others are likely at 1.2mn+ with Saints at 1.7mn for longer. We can't do those but he can have success at Hawks and is a freehit & bit different to Meek's profile.

I am not sure we should offer TDK money for Meek given the differing profile and market demand.

This is one of the stupidest things I’ve read on Bigfooty in 20 years.

Are you Damian Baret?

Worst case say they finish 16th. Pick 3 and then 4(compo) is huge. Split that for 2 firsts and a second plus Harley compo. They could have 6-7 picks inside top 25. I’d take that in a rebuild over someone with a questionable knee who supposedly doesn’t really want to be there and almost certain of not being there when club is challenging
I think with Harley weighing up his options, they need to consider it.
Harley stays and they’ve already got a lot of pieces to the rebuild. I think that would encourage them to keep Allen.
Harley goes, maybe they feel that sets them back and the need to supercharge the picks before Tassie comes in. Allen unlikely to move the dial in the short term, becomes the lever they pull to get more talent in.

Thanks for that and all your other posts - it's been great to get your perspective.

I have a question if you don't mind (apologies if you've already answered it earlier):
Why are the Eagles not prepared to offer Oscar a contract he would be happy with? He was an Eagles fan as a kid, he's the co-captain of your club and, at his best, is one of the best KPFs going around - and we know how difficult it can be to find high-quality key forwards. Yet, you don't seem to be doing all you can to keep him. Why?
I can’t speak for the club or fellow posters but whilst “we want the compo pick” would be the main consideration it’s not as straight forward as that.

If we extend Oscar for 6 years are we likely to win a flag in the period? Whilst in any given year you just want to see improvement, like Hawthorn success at West Coast is a flag. If he’s not going to be a part of a flag and has such high FA value should we encourage him to stay?

We still have Waterman and whilst a small sample size he is still an All-Australian KPF.

We have two very promising young KPFs developing in Archer Reid and Jobe Shanahan who we’d want to get games into for when we’re playing finals again. Maric can also play as a tall forward.

Oscar was paid very well in his last contract considering how many matches he played, so perhaps it wouldn’t be unreasonable to ask him to accept a little less than expected this time around.

Oscar has given everything to the club and has been particularly fastidious with his rehab. If he wanted to chase team success I wouldn’t begrudge him at all if he chose to leave.

My personal thoughts are the club need to be ruthless and wait until the draft becomes clearer and the compensation pick (our ladder position) becomes clearer toward the end of the year before considering to increase our offer, whether it be years or salary.

As it stands if we finish bottom two I’d hope Oscar leaves with our blessing which will leave us with two of Sharp, Rodriguez, Duursma and Warner (if he’s keen to come home).

If we finish 15th-16th then we start talking about the players I feel are slightly behind the above in Greeves, Cumming and Curtin. Personally I’d want a bit more of the year to play out before deciding which is more valuable to West Coast.

Why are we even talking about Meek? His name has only come up because he’s out of contract and some media talking heads are barracking for other clubs to go after him in an attempt to make it harder for us to acquire external talent.

I don’t believe for a moment that Meek would leave even for a more lucrative contract. The exception being a club paying ludicrous money that you couldn’t blame anyone saying no to.

That said, I reckon people should listen to that players night video with Meek and Croc someone posted in another thread today. The way Meek talks about Sam and the club, it’s clear he credits them with getting him out of the WAFL and helping him develop as a player and a person to be where he is now. Great character and I can’t see him turning his back on us for a bit or even a lot more money elsewhere.
Absolutely mate. I don't think Meek is that stupid to even contemplate leaving when he has a very good chance of being a premiership player with Hawks.

For context the source of that article, Peter Vlahos is best though of as WA’s Sam McClure. The only difference being he doesn’t look like a squirrel has eaten a bag of carrots and taken a shit on his head.

There’s some credible sources in WA but he’s not one of them.
Vlahos was the mofo that had us getting Cog

Yeah long form line of talking absolute shit, much like Sam McClure tries to make out as though he’s connected because his livelihood depends on it but in reality he has NFI.

On Coniglio I was within earshot of a conversation between him and Jaeger on Rottnest around the time of him weighing it up. Jaeger was laying it on thick to come to Hawthorn but nothing was said that even remotely suggested Cogs was going to sign with you. Maybe Vlahos was made aware they were chatting and went full McClure.

Vlahos was told directly by Cogs Swan district junior coach that Cogs had confided in him that he was going to Hawthorn.

That’s why Vlahos was adamant.

The interesting quote for me:

"The internal impression that to work at, or play for, the club is a one-way privilege continues to baffle some staff, and footballers and player managers."

Not just one source, but many.

Schofield is interesting to listen to on his podcast about trades with Eagles, as he was last year with Barrass, given how close he is to the West Coast players.

Some comments on Allen and some of the reasons he thinks Mitchell would be so interested:

"If I was in charge of any other football club other than West Coast, if I was a coach, or admin, or in list management.... given my experience with him personally, as a team mate, as a person... I'd have him at the very top of the list of someone I'd want at my football club."

"Character, leadership, all of those things... Oscar Allen is right at the top, and Sam Mitchell knows that because he has coached him"

Unofficial Preview Sam and Tom break WA's brain and other Trade discussions 2025

Write your reply...