Opinion Sack Hinkley 7 - "Turn it around or watch out"

Tom Jonas on 9 sport "Our poor preseason form could be a blessing in disguise" F*** me the whole club is in a delusional state.
Now, if we were a club with a coach who sees something doesn't work and goes 'Ok, I need to change things', then this would be a reasonable statement. We aren't though, Jonas has been there with Hinkley long enough to know that, so it's just more shit served up on a plate and sold as chocolate.

Not surprising there is no intensity, same players same coaches all way too comfortable. They couldn’t bounce back after the 2021 Preliminary final disaster so that tells you about the mental strength of this playing group.
So true, seen it all b4. One thing Jonas got right was his quote re no fire in the belly in 2022. Guess what, there still isn't any. Disgraceful for a group who have achieved nothing. We have now also lost a player that fought hard for years against the mediocrity around him.

I rate Finlayson as a forward but I would've been training him with the backs a fair bit since he's been here, he has some experience there with GWS he's a mature player & he can still have a chop out role from defense.

All they did was have a cry when Esava fell through & no other ideas.
Findlayson can play anywhere, so much talent. I think he would make a brilliant FB. Not sure we will see much of him this year though.

what's gonna be the excuse after we get flogged by brisbane, at home, despite being at pretty much full strength?

a - we've got a long way to go before we can be a good footy side like brisbane
b - footy's a tough game and sometimes it doesn't go your way
c - we're waiting for ken hinkley to take over and save us after we start 0-5

Jesus Christ, I just listened to the Ken interview....

Far out. The guy is totally cooked.

Lycetts couple weeks before playing Darcy were really good and he's had a great preseason. He was just beaten having a bad day apparently.....

*s sake.

Don't patronise us. Lycett is cooked. His games before that were against 3rd stringers, he isn't the answer, he is a battler. Call it out. Recognise Lycetts role. Don't try and sell his performance as something that's only going to improve. We saw him fail us last year and on the weekend it was clear as day it ain't getting better. The best rucks will destroy him.

Then he had so much talk, throughout the whole interview on how great our preseason has been. How our intensity has been high, as good as anyone, we were just off on this one day. He's selling this talk that our ball movement has been awesome all preseason.. Everything we've seen has been great. We're so confident about our training.

FFS WE'VE BEEN TRAINING! You don't know s**t Ken until the games start, and the games have shown we aren't training at the right levels, and all our preseason results aren't going to stack up.

Sell a message if you want, but the sort of ignorant crap that he's sprouting as if training is a gauge of how successful that strategy will be in games is just crazy. You have no ******* idea how your strategy is going to work when you aren't playing against opposition that are specifically creating plans to stop you. To then ignore the obvious outcomes staring him straight in the face based on both trial games, and then to sell a clearly bullshit message is just so infuriating.
He is completely delusional. I have been to numerous training sessions & the internal trial. Being able to attend open training sessions has been great & I really appreciate what the club does. But it gives me a good idea of where we are at. Unfortunately I wasn't overly impressed as nothing much has changed. Our 2 high profile recruits will help. However, our ruck situation is tragic, our lack of marking talls is tragic & our gameplan is horribly inefficient. The lack of intensity at the internal trial was very concerning & our performance in the 2 trial games reflected the lead up. For my own sanity I have put $150 on Port to miss the 8 at $2.40. Unsurprisingly the odds have since declined as people summarise our pre-season. If we don't fire up for the home Showdown & play 4 qrts of committed football we will lose it & I will be surprised if we beat the Lions as they are in much better form.

Jonas is a classic mediocre white dude from an upper middle class background that isn't particularly good at anything but cruises through life achieving things based on privilege alone. He sucks.
Jonas has made it way beyond his expectations. He is a captain that puts his football ability down in front of his teammates. He does not set an environment of striving for excellence & is way off captaincy material imo. I do however admire how physically brave he is on the field.

Jonas is a classic mediocre white dude from an upper middle class background that isn't particularly good at anything but cruises through life achieving things based on privilege alone. He sucks.
This thread is reaching the proverbial "jumping the shark time" time. Can't wait for footy to start so we can starting fighting over gameday performance, selection melts etc.

Findlayson can play anywhere, so much talent. I think he would make a brilliant FB. Not sure we will see much of him this year though.

I can see Finlayson in an intercept marking type role but I don’t think he has the physicality to win 1 on 1s as a fullback

Would luv to see him given the opportunity to see if that is the case though. We already have Aliir as an intercept tall defender who is far better in that role than an accountable defender. We desperately need to find a skilled, tall accountable defender from our current list. I would have trialled numerous players there during pre-season to find our best option as the current defenders (who mostly are short) have repeatedly demonstrated they can not contain bigger opposition forwards. Obviously Findlayson can't be trialled there atm but others could have been. I just don't think Ken realises how much this weakens our back 6 & we spend so much energy compensating for this inadequacy.

How Scott defied self-doubt to deliver 'really ambitious' flag dream

Gerard, with the rest of the AFL media in tow, will surely be putting that deluded Geelong Football Club back in it's place. It just doesn't work like that in the AFL.
Gerard has completely different standards for his team. Loves to support Ken coz he was Geelong but has no interest in setting the same standards for Port. Do your job Gerard coz you've become a flog, just can't listen to your show anymore.

Anyone who uses the 'you're not in the SANFL anymore' argument exposes them self as an absolute dumb f***. It's one of the easiest argument to shut down, especially when you list the clubs who haven't even made a GF in the Hinkley era. We're among a small and 'special' group of loser clubs. Makes me want to spew.
Not to mention clubs that we were far better than in 2014 have gone on to win at least one flag. Don't understand why the media has continually failed to highlight this fact. They are hopeless.

Tough call, but I had to give it a like as I strongly suspect there would be quite a few players from our golden era(s) who would have trouble believing any one with the skill level of TJ would have even been considered by Fos Williams or Jack Cahill as captaincy material.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't the playing group elect the captain, since they want him to be their representative on the field?

If so, the election of Jonas as captain tells you more about the mentality of the playing group than anything else. If Jonas doesn't give a shit like you believe, it means the playing group as a collective doesn't give a shit. Appointing a different captain won't suddenly make them all care.

Personally, I think Jonas is fine as a captain.

He may not be a great player now but this is waaaay over the top. You don't get to play AFL footy if you're a "mediocre white dude from an upper middle class background that isn't particularly good at anything". I wouldn't argue that he's not the player he used to be but sport might be the last true meritocracy. There's plenty of mediocre dudes out there not getting a game in the amateur league, let alone a game with an AFL club. I get it, he probably shouldn't be getting a game these days but sheesh... How many players get games because of "privilege alone"? Nobody gets games because they have a rich dad mate. Not in team sports. Not in the AFL. The fact that Eddie Maguire never played for Collingwood is evidence of this. If he could have he would have.