Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

A genuinely horrible campaigner is Tim Gossage.

There's a WAFL facebook page mostly concerned with ground redevelopments and transfers with the average contributor being someone who still says 'the Cardies' and 'Old Easts.'

Gossage would get on, mostly after about 8pm which leads to me believe he'd had a few reds, and put antagonistic comments and play the 'I know the gossip' card.

Would routinely get on there and basically call South Fremantle people poverty stricken and bring in some pretty ****ing frankly offensive comments about the area and the club's zone and our issues with poverty in the past. posting from his Claremont quasi-castle, no doubt.

He was a straight out racist as well.

Mate of mine used to work in a couple of venues. one was a café, the other a pub. both within the same couple of hundred metres.

His words were 'rude, entitled, antsy, fidgety prick for his complicated coffee and then boisterous, loudmouth dickhead for his evening wine.'

I cannot stand the bloke and the fact he's just as clueless as all footy media making stupid hipshots with no accountability is just the start of it.

Utter ****ing arseh*le.

There's a WAFL facebook page mostly concerned with ground redevelopments and transfers with the average contributor being someone who still says 'the Cardies' and 'Old Easts.'

Gossage would get on, mostly after about 8pm which leads to me believe he'd had a few reds, and put antagonistic comments and play the 'I know the gossip' card.

Would routinely get on there and basically call South Fremantle people poverty stricken and bring in some pretty ****ing frankly offensive comments about the area and the club's zone and our issues with poverty in the past. posting from his Claremont quasi-castle, no doubt.

Mate of mine used to work in a couple of venues. one was a café, the other a pub. both within the same couple of hundred metres.

His words were 'rude, entitled, antsy, fidgety prick for his complicated coffee and then boisterous, loudmouth dickhead for his evening wine.'

I cannot stand the bloke and the fact he's just as clueless as all footy media making stupid hipshots with no accountability is just the start of it.

Utter ****ing arseh*le.
Agreed absolute tool.

Utter ****ing arseh*le.
He is an absolute shocking commentator.

Does come across as a knob on the TV.

The year Vossy retired, the whole team were at the chalk hotel after the game having drinks. Blacky and Brown come and sit at our table, super polite and basically spent the next hour with us, talking shit and shouting drinks. Vossy rocks up, we are basically in awe of whats happening. I reach out to shake his hand and congratulate him on an incredible career and he doesnt put his hand out and just tells me to **** off. I replied something along the lines of, you dont have to be a rude campaigner and he just looked straight past me.

Browny had a crack at him, Blacky apologised and we moved on. Was such a bizarre encounter.

The 2 other guys though, absolute legends.

The year Vossy retired, the whole team were at the chalk hotel after the game having drinks. Blacky and Brown come and sit at our table, super polite and basically spent the next hour with us, talking shit and shouting drinks. Vossy rocks up, we are basically in awe of whats happening. I reach out to shake his hand and congratulate him on an incredible career and he doesnt put his hand out and just tells me to **** off. I replied something along the lines of, you dont have to be a rude campaigner and he just looked straight past me.

Browny had a crack at him, Blacky apologised and we moved on. Was such a bizarre encounter.

Saw Blacky a few weeks ago walking in the city.

Beaming smile just going about his day. Looks like a good fella

Bumped into Ian Healy in the early hours on the day of the 2002 gf at crown.
Probably won't believe me but he had a blonde on each arm, myself and a mate were pissed and laughing we couldn't believe we were talking to Ian Healy.
He left the ladies and we shouted him a bundy and coke. Called us nerds, maybe because of the gushing and my braces.
Ribbed me about being a pies fan, was honest about his thoughts on Gilly replacing him. Showed me his crooked hands by request then left..
A great experience I think he loved the attention and free shout.
Was at a collingwood function, Trav cloke the only one to greet us. As the night wore on had a good chat with pebbles, and then wound up hanging out with Darren Jolly who seemed abit disconnected with the group but was nice and wanted to kick on after 2am.
One fringe player I won't name was so pissed he started eating flowers and proposing to some random girl.

Seems like an obvious one, but the best interaction I've had with a player was Joel Selwood.
During an open training session I quickly introduced him to my 6y/o daughter (who was petrified!). Joel knelt down and had a good 5 minute chat with her, completely putting her at ease, and by the end they were chatting away like old friends. She walked away absolutely beaming.
We were in a long line of people he did that to on that day, but nonetheless that interaction felt sincere and utterly genuine. In that moment it was about him making sure my daughter had a great experience.
It's a cliche now, but he really is a great guy.
Hard to say as a Hawk, but Selwood is a top fella.

One of the nicest guys I met was Tony Modra.
You would have thought he was up himself and arrogant, but he was just a really down to earth country guy.
Man, to have been Modra in the 90s. He had the city to himself.
People outside of Adelaide, or who wernt around at that time just do not know how big he was. No other footballer in Australia has been that big in the state he played in.

Bumped into Ian Healy in the early hours on the day of the 2002 gf at crown.
Probably won't believe me but he had a blonde on each arm, myself and a mate were pissed and laughing we couldn't believe we were talking to Ian Healy.
He left the ladies and we shouted him a bundy and coke. Called us nerds, maybe because of the gushing and my braces.
Ribbed me about being a pies fan, was honest about his thoughts on Gilly replacing him. Showed me his crooked hands by request then left..
A great experience I think he loved the attention and free shout.
Was at a collingwood function, Trav cloke the only one to greet us. As the night wore on had a good chat with pebbles, and then wound up hanging out with Darren Jolly who seemed abit disconnected with the group but was nice and wanted to kick on after 2am.
One fringe player I won't name was so pissed he started eating flowers and proposing to some random girl.
Bumped into Gilly at the Caves House in Yallingup when Gilly was in his prime. He was pretty well poleaxed but happy to have a chat to anyone and everyone.

One of the nicest guys I met was Tony Modra.
You would have thought he was up himself and arrogant, but he was just a really down to earth country guy.
Man, to have been Modra in the 90s. He had the city to himself.
People outside of Adelaide, or who wernt around at that time just do not know how big he was. No other footballer in Australia has been that big in the state he played in.
Yep. Genuine superstar.

The biggest hollywood star of the day could have been walking down the street and people would ignore them for Godra.

Have met heaps of Dogs players and the only one I didn’t particularly like was Scott West.

Non Dogs Players:

- Leigh Brown (Ex north and Collingwood) Started buying people drinks at a 30th I was at when the tab ran out. Great bloke.

- Corey McKernan. Been to his pub a few times and chatted to him. Very nice guy.

- Dustin Fletcher. Saw him at a restaurant, had a chat and was great.

- Dyson Heppell. Met at a function. One of the best blokes you’ll ever meet.

- Luke Hodge. Was on the way to Hawks vs Dogs in Launceston and saw him at the airport, asked him if I could have a photo despite wearing a Bulldogs top, he said no problem and was great.

- Chris Johnson. Was in the line to get a coffee. Good guy

- Richo. Said hi and had a photo when was he was boundary riding and I was near the fence. Universally loved with good reason. Ripper bloke

- Razor Ray Chamberlain. He works in finance outside of footy and met him once through friends of friends of friends etc. Actually a great bloke

- Sam Newman. Knobend as expected

- Jordan Lewis. Didnt seem
Particularly friendly

- Jonathon Brown. I can’t stand his jock-ish, meathead personality on TV, but was reasonable enough when I met him

Non AFL

Mark Viduka - Saw him at supermarket after his playing days , I was giddy - loved him, loved him at the Socceroos, at Celtic, still pains me he didn’t score more for the Aussies. Was very nice and equally bemused by my admiration

Steph Catley, Kyra Cooney-Cross and Caitlin Foord - Took my daughter to meet them at a soccer shop when Arsenal women’s team were in town a few months ago. All were great. Steph Catley is underratedly cute too.

Also met Dukes at the Dan Murphys in QV. He was perusing the six pack aisle for ages and I got a shock and jolt to my body I reckon I've only felt a dozen times in my life. I actually can't remember if I said anything to him but I know I shadowed him to the check out at least.

Complete hero. insane footballer and people forget he wasn't that much worse than Thierry Henry all things considered. he was also a bee's dick away from being the most expensive player of all time but he liked living in West Yorkshire too much.

Utter ****ing arseh*le.
Being a shit bloke aside, is Tim Gossage a few cans short of a six-pack? (like is there something actually wrong with him? Just comes across as a moron.

Same with Jon Ralph. Another who is just a very stupid man.

Vossy was transitioning to the Carlton mentality early I see

Not my story, but a guy I know lost his son on a tour of the MCG. Found him on the ground having a kick with Matthew Richardson.
Poor kid would’ve got a workout.

Met a few
Adam treloar lived near me for a bit, great guy, super polite and very friendly.

Pendles was very figjam.

Ross Lyon is what I was expecting, bit odd but friendly enough.

Scott West worked on a site I was on for a while, very humble guy, one of the boys on site. Everyone loved him.

Luke hodge was the best encounter I had, was in his bar on chapel Street and he was giving free drinks to everyone. Campbell Brown and Brent guerra not that friendly

From recent memory, I've not had any real direct encounters, but I'll list some off.

Saw Harry McKay at northland like a year ago, walked by but gave a nod, he smiled.
Pretty much the same with Sam Docherty near the cinema at crown about 3 months ago with his wife, I have him a smile and nod and got one back.
On the way to the the Collingwood Sydney game this year I was in traffic on Olympic Boulevard and a group of about 10 pies players walked past and my mate waved and gave them a cheer, they all cheered back which we all appreciated. The group included the Daicos brothers, Maynard, Hill and Cameron. There were others in the group but I can't remember who else haha.

All very minor interactions but they gave more than they needed.

Met a few
Adam treloar lived near me for a bit, great guy, super polite and very friendly.

Pendles was very figjam.

Ross Lyon is what I was expecting, bit odd but friendly enough.

Scott West worked on a site I was on for a while, very humble guy, one of the boys on site. Everyone loved him.

Luke hodge was the best encounter I had, was in his bar on chapel Street and he was giving free drinks to everyone. Campbell Brown and Brent guerra not that friendly

I've heard this from a mate that had an interaction with him, reckons he's rude as ****.

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?