Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Worked for Dennis Banks in the early 2000's - a very approachable, down to earth bloke, who took the time to get to know everyone who worked for him. Came across as very genuine.

Did some building work for Fitzroy/Richmond player Peter Burke, a couple of years ago - you will not find a nicer person.

We did some work at his place when he was renovating in the late 2000's early 2010's. He was an absolute gentleman.

About 8-10 years ago I was walking past the Channel 9 building near the Docklands (unsure if it's still there) and Garry Lyon was out having a dart. Never met a ruder person in my life. I was a huge fan of his work at the time (I was 22, loved listening to Triple M and watching The Footy Show) and just wanted to say hi and shake his hand. He pretended I didn't exist hahaha.

I think it's fair to assume that most of the time you're meeting a player you can get them on a good or bad day - they're only human.

I've met Richo a few times whilst caring for his parents in hospital. Him and his parents were always beautiful people. I was terrified speaking to Richo as he was my childhood hero. Could hardly speak and lost all my words, made a goose of myself. His dad Alan was also really nice to chat to.

Bumped into Pendles at the hot springs on Peninsula. Friendly but I didn't push him for a chat. He looked sore AF and was just trying to recover/relax. I felt bad for him later when he was being hassled for photos by less respectful people.

Bumped into Ivan Soldo and Oleg Markov at a restaurant in Doncaster. They were nice but again I didn't try to chat much.

Bumped into Minson briefly when he was visiting someone at hospital. Just said hi, he said hi back.

Met Anthony Miles several times looking after one of his family members. He was very nice and chatty. Lovely family, all very athletically gifted.

Always need to be mindful that these blokes have their own personal things going on and sometimes just wish they could switch off and be invisible so they can do their family things etc.

Had dinner with Chris Johnson about 10 years ago. He was a lovely bloke, super chilled and had some good stories about the Brisbane boys and what they got up to after they won all their flags. 😂

Tony Liberatore was probably the most hated player of his time, especially from 1997-2002.

Off field, he's possibly the most pleasant and humble bloke you'd ever meet.

White line fever...

Rodney Maynard, ex original Crow player.

Had a bit to do with him in the late 80's when he was still playing for Norwood. He was working on the family farm at Lameroo, 200 kms east of Adelaide. Would train with the 2 local clubs (Lameroo North on Monday & Wednesday nights; Lameroo South on Tuesday night) and would then drive to Adelaide Thursday night to train with Norwood (his brother was playing for Norwood then as well and would do the same thing).

He'd play for Norwood on Saturday and come back to the farm after the game.

He moved to Adelaide when the Crows came into the comp in 1991. Went back to the farm once he finished his AFL career and dominated the local comp for the next decade.

Typical down to earth country guy. Loved a beer and a chat, especially anything about farming and the land.

If you didn't know who he was & you met him for the first time, you would never know that he was a AFL player.

You wouldn't meet a better bloke

Never met Garry Lyon but I would fully believe your impression. Probably a reason why he ended up with his best mates misses.
Don't think its an impression but more fact. Have met several people over time that have had interaction with him and evidence is overwhelming. Would p1ss on you as he stepped over you lying in a gutter.

I did a book signing with Jimmy Greaves and he was nice to the point of driving his rep mad. Rather than only signing his own book, he signed everything put in front of him, gagged about how England would have won 6-0 if he'd played in 1966 and stayed over an hour longer than scheduled so nobody missed out. Even as a West Ham fan it was hard not to love him.
They say after each game, Eric Cantona would go out to the car park to meet supporters and sign autographs to anyone who asked. He wouldn't leave until everyone had their autograph.

I met Des Tuddenham in the Whale's pub one night and had a really good footy discussion with him. About a year later, I returned to the pub and saw Des again. To my surprise, not only did he remember me, but he remembered our discussion.

My biggest surprise was meeting Dermott Brereton and Jason Dunstall at the Hawthorn club after a premiership. Thinking I knew what they were like from the way they played footy, I was so surprised to find Dunstall was larrikin-like and Brereton was a mild-mannered gentleman. You just cannot judge people from their on-field persona :)

Nigel Smart - met through work, never met a bigger flog, at one point he said "Do you know who I am?"
John Blakey - met at North training while he was playing, one of the nicest humans I have ever met, asked me questions about my footy (I was a teenager at the time)
Leigh Colbert - Just a nice bloke
Drew Petrie - Almost too nice, its almost sickening how friendly he is
Corey McKernan - During his playing days was very all about me, prick
Shaun McKernan - Complete opposite, very friendly but was post career
JUH - met him at the races, what a great kid, very friendly and loved a chat
Eddie Betts - at the start of his career but my goodness, Eddie loved Eddie at that stage

Im telling someone elses story here...

Former workmate of mine won a "Spend a day with Hirdy at Windy Hill" comp run for members back in the 90's. He was rapt, as Hirdy was his favorite ever Bomber.

When he arrived, the media lady took him to meet Hird, who was visibly annoyed he was being bothered. Did a single photo with a faux smile, and told the lady "I dont have ****ing time for this", without even talking to the comp winner.. He walked off, and left the club for the day. My mate was gutted.

The club lady was super embarrased, and grabbed Lloyd to do it instead, who was apparently a very nice fella, showed him around, gave him some swag, and made the experience at least salvagable for the bloke.

After hearing that story back in the day, I wasnt that surprised with how he acted, putting himself first in 2013. Bloke sounds like a real $#%wit

Im telling someone elses story here...

Former workmate of mine won a "Spend a day with Hirdy at Windy Hill" comp run for members back in the 90's. He was rapt, as Hirdy was his favorite ever Bomber.

When he arrived, the media lady took him to meet Hird, who was visibly annoyed he was being bothered. Did a single photo with a faux smile, and told the lady "I dont have ****ing time for this", without even talking to the comp winner.. He walked off, and left the club for the day. My mate was gutted.

The club lady was super embarrased, and grabbed Lloyd to do it instead, who was apparently a very nice fella, showed him around, gave him some swag, and made the experience at least salvagable for the bloke.

After hearing that story back in the day, I wasnt that surprised with how he acted, putting himself first in 2013. Bloke sounds like a real $#%wit
I met Hird in Slovenia in like 2018 and he was a great guy, wasn’t bothered at all by me recognising him and was happy for a quick chat.

Probably just a time and place type thing

Pretty much spot on .
Most of the Vic guys in that era to be honest were like that , a few exceptions of course.

People wouldn't believe it but Broad/Anderson run rings around him as far as being good to be around off field
I played golf a couple of months ago with a guy who was born and raised in Manchester and played cricket for Lancashire 2nd XI at around same time that Flintoff and Anderson were breaking into the 1st XI and England.

He said that Anderson is one of the nicest and most helpful guys you could ever meet - would always stay behind in nets to throw a few down at the Under-18s and 2nd XI players; even after getting into the England squad.

He also said that Flintoff is the biggest wa*ker on this planet - wasn't just your typical FIGJAM, but a nasty piece of work who belittled most of the players around him and everyone hated him. The team were pretty pleased he ended up in the England set up for most of the year and dreaded him coming back for the occasional county game.

Pretty much spot on .
Most of the Vic guys in that era to be honest were like that , a few exceptions of course.

People wouldn't believe it but Broad/Anderson run rings around him as far as being good to be around off field
Yep, I've heard Stuart Broad is a genuinely ripper bloke. He did take the villainy stuff on Ashes tours abroad pretty well mind you.

Nice: Steven Baker, Eddie Betts, Fevola, Garry O'Donnell

Rude: Swanny, Reece Conca, Aaron Hammil

Scraping the bottom of the barrel. I met each and every single person who has ever been a guest on Open Mike down in Hobart in 2015 at the Salamanca markets at a local cafe. They all collectively tried to cut the line in front of me. Total flogs.

(if you know, you know)

Tony Liberatore was probably the most hated player of his time, especially from 1997-2002.

Off field, he's possibly the most pleasant and humble bloke you'd ever meet.

White line fever...
Unless you're an election worker.

About 8-10 years ago I was walking past the Channel 9 building near the Docklands (unsure if it's still there) and Garry Lyon was out having a dart. Never met a ruder person in my life. I was a huge fan of his work at the time (I was 22, loved listening to Triple M and watching The Footy Show) and just wanted to say hi and shake his hand. He pretended I didn't exist hahaha.

He ignored me too when I tried to say hi to him at a Perth nightclub back in the 90s when he was there with the Melbourne team.

I was chatting to Todd Viney who was much nicer and friendlier, when I told him that Garry snubbed me he said "Don't worry about him mate he's a w*nker" so even his own teammates didn't like him and he spent more time hanging out with Dipper.

He ignored me too when I tried to say hi to him at a Perth nightclub back in the 90s when he was there with the Melbourne team.

I was chatting to Todd Viney who was much nicer and friendlier, when I told him that Garry snubbed me he said "Don't worry about him mate he's a w*nker" so even his own teammates didn't like him and he spent more time hanging out with Dipper.
Don't think I've ever heard nice things about Gaz from anyone outside his close circle of mates. If your not famous he doesn't want a bar of anyone. Best to not even bother acknowledge his presence unless he asks for it I reckon.

Nicest

Nick Holland - I met him at a family day at Glenferrie oval one day with my Mrs. Incredibly down to earth bloke.

Will Hoskin-Elliott - Met him at training when he was first traded from GWS. Genuine bloke and generous with his time.

Lewis Roberts-Thomson - Chatted to me when we were both getting money out of an ATM at the Casino in Alice Springs. A little too chatty but good bloke.

Alistair Clarkson - This one may surprise considering all the negative media. My son was doing work experience at Clarko's place over summer. Clarko gave him a lot of his time and chatted about footy and life (my son is playing at a decent level). Clarko even rang the boss to say how much of a good kid my son is.

Rudest

David Neitz
- Absolute FIGJAM and biggest sleazebag I have ever seen in a nightclub. Most players tend to keep to their groups. Not "Neeta". Spent the whole night trying to pick up young girls. He was probably in his last couple of years of his career so was nearly bald. Wasn't a good look.

Not football but the most arrogant pr**ck of a sportsman I have ever met was Jason Gillespie. Walked around like he owned the joint and was trying to start fights. Was absolutely maggotted but still no excuse.

Nigel Smart - met through work, never met a bigger flog, at one point he said "Do you know who I am?"
John Blakey - met at North training while he was playing, one of the nicest humans I have ever met, asked me questions about my footy (I was a teenager at the time)
Leigh Colbert - Just a nice bloke
Drew Petrie - Almost too nice, its almost sickening how friendly he is
Corey McKernan - During his playing days was very all about me, prick
Shaun McKernan - Complete opposite, very friendly but was post career
JUH - met him at the races, what a great kid, very friendly and loved a chat
Eddie Betts - at the start of his career but my goodness, Eddie loved Eddie at that stage

I've heard that about Marra too. Nicest kid you will ever meet.

Leaving last years grand final, minding own buisness, walking to Richmond station, recognised two richmond footballers Liam Baker and Camden mcintosh approaching was just going to nod to them and carry on to the train.
Was wearing an Arsenal polo top. Mcintosh then proceeded to unleash on me
“ why the **** are you wearing a sydney swans top to the grand final, Sydney are ****ed, **** off back to Sydney “
I thought I’d let it go but on he went, so I turned on my heel “ it’s ****ing Arsenal dickhead, have a proper look”
Baker was clearly embarrassed as he got in between us, pretty happy they both were heading to The Royal, was looking for a fight mcintosh.