Preview Round 5, 2024: GWS v St.Kilda - Manuka Oval, Saturday 13 April, 1:45pm AEST *GARCIA DEBUT*

They aren't being selected because we want more youth or to give them expereince. We have no one else to pick.

Whilst in hindsight it's obvious, I actually didn't realise this. Of available players, only Hayes (coming back from injury), Campbell (break glass ruckman) and Jones (just omitted) have actually played an AFL game. That's dire!

Don’t mind the idea of having the first years as sub. It brings them slowly into the routine of game day and slowly bringing them up to pace of afl footy for when they are ready to come in and play a game they are not as overwhelmed

Two schools of thought here, I will use Gus as an example. Hastie has only played one full game for Sandy, hopefully he plays VFL this week, then next week is a bye. If he doesn't play in the VFL this week, that's 1 full game played by round 7. Hard for a first year player to get a proper feel for it based on such little footy against men.

There must have been a training run this morning. Found this on SS re goal kicking and c/- of BobMurray -

Wheadon was working on goal kicking with 4 players today, at the start of training.

They were Pou, Caminiti, Max and ?.

The other name might come to me after my afternoon nap.
:D

Whilst in hindsight it's obvious, I actually didn't realise this. Of available players, only Hayes (coming back from injury), Campbell (break glass ruckman) and Jones (just omitted) have actually played an AFL game. That's dire!

We started the season with 12 out of 44 listed players having never played an AFL game. That's 27% of the list.

20 of the 44 haven't got to 50 games.

There must have been a training run this morning. Found this on SS re goal kicking and c/- of BobMurray -

Wheadon was working on goal kicking with 4 players today, at the start of training.

They were Pou, Caminiti, Max and ?.

The other name might come to me after my afternoon nap.
I reported on that from yesterday's training

Pou, Ming, Hammer, Lanceyboy.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

With that in mind it's pretty amazing we're 2-2 (and both losses were by under 10 points).

Happy to see Garcia get a game but I think it’s hard on Hastie who hardly had any game time to show what he can do . He should at least been given a start on the ground to give him a chance . Starting as a sub and only coming on very late in the game and then being dropped isn’t good for his development. Is the same thing going to happen to Garcia ?
Also I know we have a lot of injuries at the moment but it looks like Zac Jones time has come to retire , he looks a shadow of the player he once was , perhaps injuries have taken their toll on his body . Of course they might have played him when he was unfit so I will give him the benefit of the doubt for the moment.

Happy to see Garcia get a game but I think it’s hard on Hastie who hardly had any game time to show what he can do . He should at least been given a start on the ground to give him a chance . Starting as a sub and only coming on very late in the game and then being dropped isn’t good for his development. Is the same thing going to happen to Garcia ?
Also I know we have a lot of injuries at the moment but it looks like Zac Jones time has come to retire , he looks a shadow of the player he once was , perhaps injuries have taken their toll on his body . Of course they might have played him when he was unfit so I will give him the benefit of the doubt for the moment.
I think it's just to give them a taste of game days and the pace. So they don't think VFL is the norm.

I think the traditional view of how a bloke can debut is changing. A lot of teams are debuting players as the sub, they get a taste but there isn't too much expectation on them. Hastie has an idea of the level now and can go back to the VFL and hone his craft.

I remember Nasiah debuted as sub.. didn't do him any harm.

Gather Round in Adelaide, 6 day break travel to Canberra, 5 day break Bulldogs, then travel to Adelaide against Port.

Some players will have to be managed. Maybe Jones v Bulldogs, Campbell the same.
The AFL draw for many teams is a shambles.

I agree , starting the season off with a bye for half the teams was just stupid. And then having a couple of teams taking another round off week after week is ridiculous. Makes doing SuperCoach a total mess . The ladder is stupid with games teams have played being all over the place . There was no need for teams to have a bye in the first week anyway.
Also what’s the point of having the gather round in Adelaide? I thought they were going to do it in another state each year .

I agree , starting the season off with a bye for half the teams was just stupid. And then having a couple of teams taking another round off week after week is ridiculous. Makes doing SuperCoach a total mess . The ladder is stupid with games teams have played being all over the place . There was no need for teams to have a bye in the first week anyway.
Also what’s the point of having the gather round in Adelaide? I thought they were going to do it in another state each year .
Adelaide have got Gather round for another 2 years. We should demand a home game at Moorabbin. If games can be played in Adelaide with a crowd capacity of 9,000 then we are within our rights to play home games at Moorabbin which can hold around 12,000.

We can call it 'Moorab-A-Round'.
I hear the SA government is keen to get the regional areas involved and is looking to play the 2025 carnival in Murray River towns.

Expect an announcement for the Swan Reacharound in the near future.

I hear the SA government is keen to get the regional areas involved and is looking to play the 2025 carnival in Murray River towns.

Expect an announcement for the Swan Reacharound in the near future.

Given my visits to the central area of the Murray NSW border side, I guess future me should look out for stray floating balls then. We can stick a flag on it all "fresh water for the Barossa region only, piss off flogs" and send it back same way.

Zak has had some really awesome highlight plays which I myself was lured in by, but if you dig deeper it's not that surprising he was dropped.

We have always done pretty well against GWS, but I can't see a way we win this one. They are even better then last year :|

Hey all I come in peace all the best for the weekend, except obviously a win.

Umm can we have Steele back? We will owe you one. In the future. Ish.

Thanks in advance, all the best. Tah.
You don't really need him anymore, surely? How is Callahan going for you guys?

Good luck in general, hope this weekend is your only hiccup in an otherwise exciting season.

You don't really need him anymore, surely? How is Callahan going for you guys?

Good luck in general, hope this weekend is your only hiccup in an otherwise exciting season.
Mate GWS did a number on us in the finals. We were completely outclassed and you should have made the Granny.
Hope your players are 10% off tomorrow then we may have a shot.