Autopsy Round 5, 2023: Collingwood v St.Kilda

Pies would have known he was likely to win the ruck contest and reading it off him.

We still won the clearances by 6

He is never going to be a great tap ruckman like Ryder but he does have other strengths

Definitely. He's always going to be that player. Having Steele in would have been nice to counter that. I thought we looked better with Sincs inside but then losing him off HBF loses another weapon. Mitchell has made them a better side.

If Nathan Murphy is that susceptible to concussion, like Paddy McCartin, he shouldn’t be playing AFL. That’s on the pies. He’d get harder hits than that contesting a pack mark or being tackled.

This thing is just the usual back and forth that happens with players jostling off the ball.

Murphy hitting and then slipping / ducking when Caminiti went back. If he hasn’t ducked they were trading chest blows.

The Pies fans are just salty and obviously out to protect their own. Comments comparing this to Barry Hall or the likes are the ramblings of pies fans in need of a brain cell or 2.

AFL seems to judge based on the outcome though and not the events so I reckon he gets 3 weeks due to the concussion protocol.

Agree but you can’t play (or expect to play) any serious mid field time and only have 7 Disposals for the game and turn over half. 7 is a poor but understandable game when you are a small forward starved of opportunity.

Anyway let’s see how he responds next week - that is the test.

He's not playing midfield and struggling as a small forward. In other games he's getting it through defences and I think they'd be reasonably happy with his work until this week. Just got to hope he can turn it around.

Exactly. Gresh has had a solid month, was very good last week and had a bad game yesterday. A bit of an over reaction calling him a bad player or that he's uninterested because he had a bad game.
It happens to everyone, Gresham just happened to pick a particularly bad week to have one of those games. Watching the game I felt that we never really got going, Collingwood definitely had the rub of the green. What was it 18 smothers ? Ball pinging around which could go anywhere but on several occasions it caught us out and put them into the clear.

They ran hard, tackled hard, got an extra man to plenty of contests and won by a kick. I’d have liked to win but really it would have been theft if we’d got up last night. I’m not worried about Gresham, we all know what he brings to the team and I’m not worried about what I saw last night.

In February if I had said we will lose to Pies by 6 points with no King Membrey and Steele and we would spend half our time debating about the number of weeks a player who was not on our list would get and Gresh would only have 7 touches

I WOULD HAVE BEEN PUT ON A PERMANENT BAN FOR BEING AN OPP SUPPORTER TROLLING.

To the game.
Gees Stocker reminds me of a smaller version of Jack Steele 4 years ago. Plays hard and that hit on Elliot was soo excellent. Can play....

Hunter can play to think some here were comfortable with a trade to the Roos.....yeah nah. His hands are elite a pod as a mid.

Marshall is never going to be the Max Gawn type ruck. He is an ordinary key position player playing as a ruck and doing a damn good job at it. He tackles gets his own ball is mobile and is in the true definition of a follower. He will never dominate as a tap ruckman that's not his one wood.....Mason Wood steps up as DMac gets injured. Both resurrected their careers and Wiid is in AA form also can't wait to see DMac back as well. He would have been good today.

RTB in his presser said it 4 times about Daicos....think a plan is being hatched or will be hatched to negate him.

Both backlines were great today.... Battle and Wilkie.....Fisher and Dempsteresque by comparison.

Poor inside 50 options in first qtr stopped us from putting scoreboard pressure on them...think a Membrey or King would have straightened us up and maybe ended with a better outcome.

Our forwards get pushed under the ball less likely to happen with King. Wilkie and Battle do the same so be it.

Gresham is a pod leave him alone...none of the small forwards shone.

Paton looks a bit deer in headlights and prefer Webster and then eventually Coffield has to fit somewhere as well.

Collingwood deserved to win but they should be worried about us next time. Umpires I thought were okay they missed a few which advantaged the Pies who also got the run of the ball through their pressure and smothers....but it did not effect the outcome of the game.

Bring on Carlton (never seen a side top 4 with percentage below 100 ffs), and with Steele and Membrey back should give us the winning edge.

Go Saints you magnificent bunch.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

My take, from the vision Hammer is provoked, he responds and unfortunately Murphy crouches just as Hammer retaliates which means he hits him in the head, otherwise would have been a chest hit as intended.

Act made worse unfortunately due to Murphy being susceptible to concussion.

Having said all that the MRO / Tribunal is a joke - no consistency so who knows?. Probably get 2+ weeks as they will want to send a message to local footy & juniors that it’s not acceptable.

Get the feeling this is the start of a period of intense rivalry between these 2 teams - serious dislike emerging! RTB all calm at the press conference but I think he will put a few things in the memory bank.
Just saw better vision on Fox Footy - let’s be clear on this - Murphy initiated everything by taking a cheap shot to Caminiti‘s head from the blindside - weak! - Caminiti then retaliated immediately as anyone would. No cheap shot this never happens!

Murphy deserves a week but under the ridiculous MRO he will get a fine I think. For Murphy to then carry on as some innocent victim is just ridiculous!

He's not playing midfield and struggling as a small forward. In other games he's getting it through defences and I think they'd be reasonably happy with his work until this week. Just got to hope he can turn it around.
Sorry I probably wasn’t clear - he did attend 9 centre bounces (equal 3rd highest excluding Marshall) - for minimal impact yesterday. If he is going to stay in there he needs to do better than that. I acknowledge he has great evasive skills when he is on but regardless his kicking from clearance is ordinary & always has been.

Notwithstanding, I’m not into crucifying the guy based on 1-game - I hopeful of a big game from him this week!

He is playing close to half his time in the midfield so no excuse there

Spends more time than Clark in there and I think Clark has been much better in the midfield

He's been better forward of the ball (most touches inside 50 prior to this round) but yesterday he was no where near it anywhere.

Agree but you can’t play (or expect to play) any serious mid field time and only have 7 Disposals for the game and turn over half. 7 is a poor but understandable game when you are a small forward starved of opportunity.

Anyway let’s see how he responds next week - that is the test.
The trouble with Gresham in the midfield is his kicking. It’s all up and under and slow. That’s okay when kicking for goal as you have from the ground to infinity high. No so much elsewhere on the ground. And in the forward line he seems to have lost his instinct and is not taking ownership of having a shit. There are a few in the ownership bucket.

So the conundrum with Gresham is, if he isn’t kicking goals, where do you put him in a team that now values accurate kicking, possession and marking more than ever?

Sorry I probably wasn’t clear - he did attend 9 centre bounces (equal 3rd highest excluding Marshall) - for minimal impact yesterday. If he is going to stay in there he needs to do better than that. I acknowledge he has great evasive skills when he is on but regardless his kicking from clearance is ordinary & always has been.

Notwithstanding, I’m not into crucifying the guy based on 1-game - I hopeful of a big game from him this week!

Its not typical of him, he's normally among our best for clearances, so at the moment i put it down as a bad game.
They were so good at sharking off Marshall, they may have been studying our games, and Gresham may have been a victim of their tactics.
Some of the comments about him are just ludicrous.

The trouble with Gresham in the midfield is his kicking. It’s all up and under and slow. That’s okay when kicking for goal as you have from the ground to infinity high. No so much elsewhere on the ground. And in the forward line he seems to have lost his instinct and is not taking ownership of having a s**t. There are a few in the ownership bucket.

So the conundrum with Gresham is, if he isn’t kicking goals, where do you put him in a team that now values accurate kicking, possession and marking more than ever?

I wouldn't crap on about his bad kicking in that game, he hardly touched it.

Plenty to like, love how they ran it out despite the option to turn toes up wouldn't have been held against them. Think we really missed a couple of good key forwards as get out targets, and our kicking was suspect even more than the strategy can tolerate.

But we were 4-1 in 2019 AND 2022. Plenty to play out yet.

Pretty sure Ross and Harves will sort Gresh out. Even if that results in a couple of tune up games at Sandy. I wouldn’t worry about it too much. They’ll know what he’s capable of.

He is playing close to half his time in the midfield so no excuse there

Spends more time than Clark in there and I think Clark has been much better in the midfield

He's been better forward of the ball (most touches inside 50 prior to this round) but yesterday he was no where near it anywhere.

Clark has been playing more midfield than Gresham overall though in 2023. Didn't realise that he'd played so much yesterday, he had a mare if he did.

I don't think the coaches would be too upset with that, it was a good pressure test that needed to happen and the system held up but most of the side was a step behind from the get-go and it showed.
In an ideal world Gresh have a stint at Sandy but we're short on soldiers so l doubt it happens.

The Pies have a years jump on us and the difference was their ability to execute their style and skills.

I don't particularly care either. We just need to thrash the Scum.
So right.
We can tell this from the reaction and atmosphere in the box during those last few minutes, and RTB‘s demeanour at the presser.
I cannot recall him being that relaxed following a one goal loss (especially to Collingwood) during RTB 1.0.
If there’s one thing we know about RTB, he plays a different game than most coaches.
I would absolutely not be surprised if the plan yesterday was all about the big picture: test the game plan, test the players, and see what we have.
Given the opposition, the performance, the outcome, no wonder he was happy.

Who amongst us here do not believe that we will beat them next time?

Autopsy Round 5, 2023: Collingwood v St.Kilda