• 2AM AEDT - There will be a short outage on the site for about 20 minutes. Post in this thread with any issues.

Preview Round 13 2024 AFL Season: St.Kilda Saints v Gold Coast Suns, Saturday 8th of June 7:30pm, Marvel Stadium

Not sure about this. Isn’t it dependent on where the ball is? If the ball is on the side of the ground that Wood is lined up on, he automatically becomes the skinny side wingman and Hill becomes the fat side wingman. They then do the job they’ve been given for that situation e.g. Wood sits off the back when skinny side but goes forward when fat side.
You are right but I am talking in a general sense. Our structure directly from a centre bounce is seeing Wood squeezing in behind and Hill running up to the wing. The other winger stays in position, which in this case is Ross. The same applies when there is a stoppage in the middle of the ground

The mysteries of life.

1.Why do I keep finding crumbs in the cutlery draw, even though everything I put in there is clean

2. Why do I keep putting money on the Saints when they are heavy favourites, even though I know they will probably shit the bed.
3. Why do I keep reading Cairnsman's posts, even though I know they will somehow pot Sharman.

On another topic, I'm keen to start a new group called "meet thy maker"
Schoenmaker that is. RTB get him into the team somehow. Last week one of his kickouts reached the wing, and he can pass the ball 50m without issue. He has to get a run before the end of the season. Surely!
Just kick it straight over the opposition, no need to worry about get out marks on the wing.
Me likey 🤣

God forbid Wilkie ever getting an injury, but possibly the only way Schoey gets a game this season unfortunately.
And until he developes contested craft, he won't be replacing Battle, Cordy or Howard.
Most likely next season, but I reckon Arie is going to be hitting up Max with ease we haven't seen since Winmar to Plugger.

Lol! Isn’t that what this place is for?!

I’d have a different narrative though. We manage to just overcome a bottom of the table side missing two key players and are desperate to improve on that effort this week, and are wondering why proven performers have not been included in the side.

All positive chat I think.

Yeah for sure mate. Interesting game this one and I'm torn myself to be honest, as I'd really like a crack at the top 4-ish of the Draft. But I'd like to beat this mob as I think we'll drop games against better teams on the run home.

I’m looking forward to seeing how Ben King has progressed this year because last year I commented that you couldn’t play the two King’s in the same team because neither was a power forwards. It appears Ben has worked on is game and is now producing the contesting forward role needed.

Unfortunately Max hasn’t progressed and it will be interesting if he can transition to the power forward that we need.

I wonder whether under age football was too easy given his height and he’s having difficulty coming to terms with strong and tall defenders week in and out.

For me his on field demeanour is too lackadaisical and his kicking setup with twirling the ball before contact appears to be too carefree that leading goal kickers would not include in their routine.

Hopefully he can turn his game around and if he can’t, then maybe a brave decision needs to be made about his future with the saints because the one thing we need is a power forward who can contest, bring the ball to the ground and consistently kick goals week in and out.

Most likely next season, but I reckon Arie is going to be hitting up Max with ease we haven't seen since Winmar to Plugger.

Ari looks like one of those lucky breaks that we don't seem to get many of.

Great article on the AFL site about the unheralded role of the wingman. They cover klms weekly without touching the ball and yet they are integral to a team’s structure, balance and defence.

Winmar to Plugger was a thing of beauty.

As were Banga's 30m passes.

The rest of the players were a lottery.

Harsh on Mick Dwyer, he could nail a pass to Plugger too and could nail the odd goal himself all while rocking a balding mullet.

Ari looks like one of those lucky breaks that we don't seem to get many of.

I wouldn't speak too soon, knowing our luck he will get his booming left foot bitten off in a shark attack during the off season.

I’m looking forward to seeing how Ben King has progressed this year because last year I commented that you couldn’t play the two King’s in the same team because neither was a power forwards. It appears Ben has worked on is game and is now producing the contesting forward role needed.

Unfortunately Max hasn’t progressed and it will be interesting if he can transition to the power forward that we need.

I wonder whether under age football was too easy given his height and he’s having difficulty coming to terms with strong and tall defenders week in and out.

For me his on field demeanour is too lackadaisical and his kicking setup with twirling the ball before contact appears to be too carefree that leading goal kickers would not include in their routine.

Hopefully he can turn his game around and if he can’t, then maybe a brave decision needs to be made about his future with the saints because the one thing we need is a power forward who can contest, bring the ball to the ground and consistently kick goals week in and out.

Ben doesn't play like an old fashion power forward either for mine. Rarely take contested marks, certainly takes way less than Max. Gets on the lead a bit more but not massively more. (0.1 per game more) Get a lot less of the footy than Max but when he does get the ball its usually a shot on goal.

He's an absolute master of finding ways to get easy goals and converting his chances.

Max is a year behind Ben.