Preview Round 12 - Freomantle anna Footascray. Dove? A-Optus Stadium. Comprate da AFL!

I may be a born and bred son of Fremantle, but for half of my life I have successfully infiltrated lived in Victoria. On the day that I moved over, I landed at a friend's apartment and turned on the TV when a commercial started playing. A man was shouting at me in three different languages - English, Greek and Italian - as he was trying to sell the gaudiest furniture you are ever going to find. It truly was an assault on my senses!

That man is Franco Cozzo. For those of you who aren't across his work Franco is like the Victorian version of WA Salvage's Luigi Savadamoney, who sells furniture instead of hardware & bric-a-brac and quite possibly has a drug-smuggling son (according to rumour). Here is one iteration of the offending commercial:

I know, right? *chef's kiss*

Fast forward a number of years to me thinking about the similarities between Fremantle and Footscray, both the places and the football teams. They both share a multicultural heritage, they both have had their fair share of prisoners and they have given each other several football players. The pre-AFL days had the likes of Brownlow medallist Brad Hardie move from South Freo to Footscray (and back again) while Souths teammates Nicky Winmar & Allan Jakovich also went to Footscray via other clubs, and East Freo's Andrew Purser, Tony Buhargiar and Jim Sewell also made the trip east. I'm sure there's others, but that's not why we're here.

There's ten players who have played for both Fremantle and the Western Bulldogs/Footscray in both men's & women's AFL comps which, given the time that Freo have been in the AFL, is a pretty steady trade to be honest. And many of those were before the days of the mega-agents like Adrian Dodoro, Col'n Young and Arcassius' mate Tim. It would've been a pretty good salesman to get those deals happening...

[fade to a TV commercial that's playing in my head]

1622614104340.png

Grand Sale! Grand Sale! Grand Sale! Where? In Freomantle anna Footascray!

1622614363228.png

Franco Cozzo ave-a da pleasure to presenta to you "Il Modernissimo"

1622614752518.png

Kings-a-ley Hunter, Andrea Wills,

1622615033795.png

Daniele Bandy, Bradaley Wira,

1622615507762.png

anna wonderful Stefano Koops.

1622614496409.png

Why don't you come for yourself and 'ave a looka this magnifico Il Modernissimo! Only can found from Franco Cozzo!

1622617344356.png

Buy from Franco Cozzo!

1622615712072.png

Megalo! Megalo! Megalo! Xepoulima ston Franco Cozzo!

1622617560964.png

Νίκος Lower, Ντάνιελ Hargraves,

1622618060211.png

Χάιντεν Crozier, κουράζω Hamling, apo ton Franco Cozzo.

1622618303655.png

Elate na Μπελίντα Smith apo ton Franco Cozzo. In Freomantle anna Footascray!

1622618597526.png

Nagorasita Franco Cozzo. Franco Cozzo per la prima volte in Australia dichiara guerra, guerra ai prezzi, Grande Svendita! Dove? a Freomantle anna Footascray.

1622618900917.png

Se i migliori mobili volete comprare, oggi, domani, sempre, da Franco Cozzo dovete andare. Dove?

1622619428199.png

A Freomantle anna Footascray!

1622619509706.png

Comprate da Franco Cozzo!!!!!

The Preview

Anyhoo, to this weekend's game.

The Western Bulldogs escape both the Melbourne winter and lockdown fresh off a loss to Melbourne, who are travelling pretty much as well as the Dogs are. With a 9-2 record in second spot on the ladder, Bevo's boys are looking set to see finals action once again.

Fremantle escape Adelaide fresh off a belting to Port, who are also travelling alright despite the distinct lack of bars. With a 5-6 record in 11th spot on the ladder, Longy's lads are back at home looking to string four quarters together in the one game and to not resemble Mike Tindall's nose in front of goal. I mean seriously, check that hooter out!!!!

1622620225469.png

The Cattle

Both Matt Taberner and Griffin Logue may return for the Dockers after missing last week's trip to Radelaide ("It's Heaps Good"), while Sam Switkowski did a hammy last week so will miss. There's a heap of blokes still out though, as I'm sure you all know.

While for the Bulldogs, ruckman Stef Martin and forward Mitch Hannan are available for selection after returning from injury. However hometown lad Riley Garcia who debuted in the red white and blue last week will miss after being concussed. The main guys out injured though include Adam Treloar, Lin Jong & Josh Dunkley.

Bob's Three Questions:
  1. How will the Bulldogs cope with the Sunday arvo graveyard shift?
  2. Will Freo turn up in the first quarter?
  3. How will Optus Stadium cope with two games of footy in two days, after hosting the Dreamtime fixture between Richmond & Essendon the night before?
The Weather

Max of 20 with some rain around.

The Washup

First the good news: Fremantle will kick more points than the Western Bulldogs.
Now the bad news: The Western Bulldogs will kick more goals than Fremantle.

Won't be a bloodbath, but it will be a "valuable learning experience" for the home side.

Dogs by 23 points.

"Fremantle will kick more points than the Western Bulldogs."
WOO!!!!
"The Western Bulldogs will kick more goals than Fremantle"
God-F*****g-Dammit!!!

Amazing preview TB!! Just try not to make me laugh/cry as hard next time!

That... that was incredible <3
*extreme Elvis voice*
ahh thankyouverymuch!

"Fremantle will kick more points than the Western Bulldogs."
WOO!!!!
"The Western Bulldogs will kick more goals than Fremantle"
God-F*****g-Dammit!!!

Amazing preview TB!! Just try not to make me laugh/cry as hard next time!
As long as you didn't wet yourself you'll be fine.

Awesome preview Bob! I can’t believe I’ve existed this long without ever knowing of Franco Cozzo
Happy to have opened your eyes to the existence of the Great Man.

Awesome work Jo. As another fan who infiltrated Melbourne for over 12 years, those references were on point.
Cheers mate! It sure was a trip down memory lane!!!

Fair effort this. I’ve been in Victoria almost 20 years, spent half that time in the inner west and loved it. Doggies would have been my team if I’d grown up here, I reckon.
Fair bit to like about them, and who doesn't love a Bulldog? [stares in Richmond at mid season draft so f*cken hard right now]

We infiltrated perth from Melbourne...long time ago..I just got quite nostalgic ..can't wait for the game.I hold out hope for a win.
I now need a souvlaki from Bell St Preston.. damn you bob!!!
That was a truly great preview.

On SM-T510 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Bell St was too far to go for a souva. Used to work a block away from Stalactites, and now I wanna go there!

Why did Footscray change their name to Western Bulldogs?
Because Franco said so. You don't mess with Franco.

I feel as though, just by replying to this legendary thread, that I’m participating in greatness.
paul rudd.gif

I’ve never seen the guy or his ads, I’ve never lived in Melbourne. I just know it’s mandatory to call that particular little corner of the world ‘Footascrrray’ (gotta roll them rrrrrs). It is what it is.

I used to live in Footscray during my Uni days in a street across from Whitten Oval. Highlights were driving past Franco Cozzo most days as well as nearly getting hit by a very angry looking Barry Hall in his car as he entered Whitten Oval one day.

Excellent thread.

Preview Round 12 - Freomantle anna Footascray. Dove? A-Optus Stadium. Comprate da AFL!