Remember when.......................

• Thread starter Thread starter brad

St Kilda won about two games a year but you could swear your club NEVER won at Moorabbin.

And one from last year, and he's still there - the Classical Gas man at Telstra Dome. Next time we win there I'll actually give him some money

Norman Yemm from The Sullivans running in the Dandy Dollar Dash at half-time in the VFA Match of the Round

When players wore their club's time honoured guernsey- and it was woolen!

Kelvin Templeton kicked 15.9 (out of 33.15) Footscray vs St Kilda 1978
He kicked over 100 goals that season. The Doggies kicked the VFL record score that lasted one season.

Fitzroy broke the record score in 1979. Beat the Dees out at Waverley by 190 points.
They kicked 36.22 (WA full forward Bob Beecroft kicked 10)

Daicos kicked 13 goals vs Brisbane. He kicked 75 for the season in 1991, but some of games that year were even more unbelievable that year then in 1990 when he kicked 98. For one goal he was being tackled on the goal line, near the point post. He was almost flat on his back with zero angle to work with when he deliberately popped the ball on his boot. It was as if he'd sold his soul to the Devil.

Same year, 1991. Melbourne vs Collingwood. Battle of the Unlikely Full Forwards. They'd ripped the Southern Stand down and you could see the trains going past. 50,000 people shoe-horned into the remaining part of the ground. Allen Jakovich (in his first season for the Dees) kicked 11 goals and Daicos kicked 7. Daics kicked a succession of goals from 40-50 metres out, running towards the boundary line, kicking it end over end, along the ground in his patented style. Never looked like missing. Jakovich received a pass that anyone might have tried to chest mark. Instead he hooked it out of mid air with his right boot, from chest height, over his shoulder and through for a goal from 35m. He followed this up by running along the boundary, high-fiving all the Dees supporters.

Michael Mitchell's Mark Of The Year / Goal Of The Year double.
He ran 40 metres to get to a contest in front of the Northern Stand at the MCG, jumped over the pack from the side and caught the ball in his outstretched right hand.
His goal was at the SCG. He gathered or received the ball deep in defence and simply ran straight up the middle of the ground, bouncing the ball, never even looking to give the ball off to a teammate. He must have taken 20 bounces and ran the length of the ground around half the Swans side before potting it from 30m out.

Collingwood winning the wooden spoon in 1976. They played Melbourne at Vic Park in round 22. To make their first finals series in over a decade, the Dees needed to win and also needed top-placed Carlton to defeat the Doggies (a formality) Melbourne thumped the Pies, then the scores of the other game came through on the radio: A DRAW!!! Melbourne had missed out. The Pies supporters had all stayed at the ground and they all went beserk, cheering and rubbing it in...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotel 6
I have a feeling that [Bosustow] did it in the same game......am I right or wrong?

Chewy said:
Different games, but I think both were vs Geelong.

Mark over Gary Malarkey(?) at Princes park during Home and Away.
Goal from a smother of an Ian Nankervis kick in the pocket at VFL Park during finals.

Thanks Chewy, I was pretty certain it was against the same side......I just did not think they would be different games...:o

You stood on Dad's esky so you could see the game

You tried to throw those little blue stones into the Hyde St Band's tuba

Your team had three ruckmen - one in the ruck, one in the back pocket and one in the forward pocket - and none of them could run or kick but took 15 contested marks a game each

Alex Marcou was a squib because he ran past for a handball

When there was a point the difference at the 28 minute mark of the last quarter you didn't know how long was left and no-one chipped the ball backwards

You could get the Herald as you came out of the ground and it had the 3/4 time scores of all the games written in red on the back page (how did they do that?)

You threatened to beat up your little sister when she tried to turn off the replay to watch 'Young Talent Time'

Carl Ditterich played his last game vs the Pies, and went out punching. He cracked Kevin Morris (I think, anyway it was some bearded bloke) in the scone and the ump called play on.

Pitura changed clubs. That broke a young Peter Daicos' heart.

Carlton had a Rhodes Scholar for a captain (chortle chortle).

And he could play.

Collingwood could not be beaten in the wet, unless it was a GF. And we failed to win 5 GF's from 5 tries in 5 years.

The urinals at Vic Park would back up by half time, and it was a wading pool at the outer end. Bloody council refused to widen the outflow.

Jack Dyer hated Collingwood so much he wouldn't look at a Black and white TV. Ah Jack, you horrible old thug.

Adelaide perspective...

Camping out at the Adelaide oval before the GF., taking a rubbishcan full of those big cans into the GF, trying not to get kicked out while taking a leak on the mound by the big tree, not remembering anything much after half time.

AFL Squadron on Channel 7 with Garry Lyon and Gavin Brown.

This is a great thread for reminiscing - pity about all the pre-pubescent w@nkers with their "Last time Carlton won a wooden spoon - haha" crap :rolleyes:

Rosella said:
And one from last year, and he's still there - the Classical Gas man at Telstra Dome. Next time we win there I'll actually give him some money
I look for him everytime i'm walking on the concourse

The lights went on at Cararra, then went out on Peter Knights as coach of the Bears.....

Libba was put on the scrapheap in 1996, but was eventually retained......

billybrownless16 said:
The old sponsors badges on the jumpers
Collingwood - Spicers Paper
Essendon - Don Smallgoods
Fitzroy - Quit
Hawthorn - HFC
All I can remember at the moment

ADEL: Russell Athletic Jumpers before returning to Adidas this year, SAFM on the shorts one year
BRIS: Mitre 10, Fosters, CUB, Coke, Puma Supplied the jumpers, Southside Toyota and SPAM amongst others on the shorts
CARL: Hyundai, CUB, Mayne
COLL: Viatel!, Primus, Eddie
ESS: Speed Kills (TAC), Reebok were the suppliers, then Fila, Musashi on the shorts
FITZ: James Hardie, Biztel, Rositas, Clipsal
FOOTS: Eastcoat Jeans, TAC, ICI/Orica, the 63 sponsors we had in 2002 (Bob Jane T-Marts, Mazda, BarterCard, BenQ, LeasePlan, Yellow Pages, Lawson Lodge, Burbank Homes-only one of those remain), Canterbury (CCC), Azuma and Fila Jumpers, Skilled Engineering and The Money Shop (how ironic) on the shorts
FREO: Hard Yakka, Alinta Gas, Adidas were suppliers, Green Jumpers, then Purple jumpers with big white anchor
GEEL: Adidas/Fila jumpers
HAW: Wynvale, BFC, HFC, Household Finance, OzChild, MBF, Samsung
MELB: Mayne Nickless, Drake, Hertz, Snowy Mountain, Tooheys, LG, Canterbury (CCC) Jumpers
NM: Nike Jumpers, Budget, Courage, Qantas, NZI, Hypertec PC's, Hewlett Packard, Russell Athletic Jumpers
RICH: Nike Jumpers, Lotto Jumpers, TAC backing (Drink Drive, .05), Esso, Tetley
ST.K: Puma, then Sekem jumpers, Snowdeli, Philip Morris, Tooheys, Pura Milk and that yellow jumper, Tim Watson as coach
SYD: Hoover, Tooheys, White backs, Menage Swanettes, that song between swans goals at the SCG
WC: The Dogs Breakfast, Yellow Jumpers, Burswood resorts, the original song

stmookeyj said:
ADEL: Russell Athletic Jumpers before returning to Adidas this year, SAFM on the shorts one year
BRIS: Mitre 10, Fosters, CUB, Coke, Puma Supplied the jumpers, Southside Toyota and SPAM amongst others on the shorts
CARL: Hyundai, CUB, Mayne
COLL: Viatel!, Primus, Eddie
ESS: Speed Kills (TAC), Reebok were the suppliers, then Fila, Musashi on the shorts
FITZ: James Hardie, Biztel, Rositas, Clipsal
FOOTS: Eastcoat Jeans, TAC, ICI/Orica, the 63 sponsors we had in 2002 (Bob Jane T-Marts, Mazda, BarterCard, BenQ, LeasePlan, Yellow Pages, Lawson Lodge, Burbank Homes-only one of those remain), Canterbury (CCC), Azuma and Fila Jumpers, Skilled Engineering and The Money Shop (how ironic) on the shorts
FREO: Hard Yakka, Alinta Gas, Adidas were suppliers, Green Jumpers, then Purple jumpers with big white anchor
GEEL: Adidas/Fila jumpers
HAW: Wynvale, BFC, HFC, Household Finance, OzChild, MBF, Samsung
MELB: Mayne Nickless, Drake, Hertz, Snowy Mountain, Tooheys, LG, Canterbury (CCC) Jumpers
NM: Nike Jumpers, Budget, Courage, Qantas, NZI, Hypertec PC's, Hewlett Packard, Russell Athletic Jumpers
RICH: Nike Jumpers, Lotto Jumpers, TAC backing (Drink Drive, .05), Esso, Tetley
ST.K: Puma, then Sekem jumpers, Snowdeli, Philip Morris, Tooheys, Pura Milk and that yellow jumper, Tim Watson as coach
SYD: Hoover, Tooheys, White backs, Menage Swanettes, that song between swans goals at the SCG
WC: The Dogs Breakfast, Yellow Jumpers, Burswood resorts, the original song

Collingwood: Yakka
Essendon: Don Smallgoods (they had these on their shorts, no lie, haha)
Richmond: Tetley, then C.U.B.
Carlton: Avco finance

They played the first interstate game in years in 1979. Hawthorn vs North at the SCG in front of about 35,000. Grand Final replay. Hawks came from behind and won easily. Matthews goal of the year.
We played another later in the year against the Bombers at the Gabba, I don't remember this one so well. :o

Melbourne beat Hawthorn for the first time in about 12 years in 1984. We had won something like 25 in a row. We were 1st or 2nd on the ladder, playing at home, yet lost by 5 goals. Matthews KO'd Steven smith.

Carlton nearly went a whole game without scoring a goal. They were playing Footscray at the Western Oval in the pouring rain and wind. The Dogs were leading 5 goals to nothing (I think) late in the last quarter, before Mark Arceri saved them from embarrassment.

Hawthorn kicked 25 goals 41 behinds in a game in 1977.

Val Perovic would kick the ball long and the whole Carlton crowd would yell, "WOOF!!!"

Rod "Tilt" Carter ran down the middle of the SCG and kicked his one and only goal in his 299 games (I think it was 299..)

Victoria spanked the Croweaters in a State of Origin game played at Football Park in the mid 80's. When the cameras flashed on Teddy Whitten late in the last quarter (with the Vics 50pts in front) he held up a copy of that morning's Advertiser and pointed to the headline which read, "SA Will Kill This Mob Of Fairies!"

Rosella said:
St Kilda won about two games a year but you could swear your club NEVER won at Moorabbin.

I used to love going to Moorabbin (visitor in social club).
The Saints would run out, crowd goes crazy, clapping & singing Oh when the Saints...... then Saints kick first, crowd is frantic, competitive for 2 & 1/2 quarters, then opposition pull away to win comfortably.
Beers in the social club after the game, supporters overheard saying "gees we were stiff" "bl__dy umpires" "the wind dropped in the 3rd qtr & picked up again in the last" "Daicos was lucky" "Mathews is a thug" "Bartlett is greedy" "we have too many injuries" "it's the VFL's fault"
It's round 14 & the Saints have won 2 & lost 12
"Who av we got next week" "Carlton at home" "I recken we'll beat them" "yer I think we will" "mad dog's back from suspension next week & Big Carl's due for a ripper"
Saints supporters all go home feeling optimistic about next week.
I used to love going there.....that's what Footy is about....great supporters....great atmosphere.....on a Saturday afternoon.

rooboy said:
Adelaide perspective...

Camping out at the Adelaide oval before the GF., taking a rubbishcan full of those big cans into the GF, trying not to get kicked out while taking a leak on the mound by the big tree, not remembering anything much after half time.

Yea i did that - then u slept thru the reserves gf and woke up - as a Port supporter late 60s wish you had stayed asleep as Sturt won again

:thumbsd:

Loved 'the winners' on abc.

First VFL game I went to - Princess Park ... Carlton at Easter 1969, i think.

I was at that game mentioned earlier with that elephant parting the crowd at Arden St, May 1979 Noth v Collingwood ... like everyone miss those old days standing on the terraces arguing with other supporters

Chewy said:
Hmmm.... as I remember back in 1993

Adelaide: Camry
Brisbane: CUB
Carlton: Hyundai
Coll'wood: Spicier's Paper
E'don: Nubrik
Footscray: ICI paints
F'roy (sigh): QUIT
Geelong: Ford
Hawthorn: HFC, though Ozchild got a go too
Melbourne: You've got me.
Nth: Finance, was it AGL or something?
Richmond: TAC
Sydney: QBE
StKilda: ????
WCE: Hungry Jack's

FrangaRoo said:
Yes, the memories are vivid....especially Western Oval & Vic Park.
yes the western oval was great for north fans 1 loss from 72 - 96 :( :(

Chewy said:
Back in the 1980s, Collingwood's sponsor was Mini Skips (about 1986, IIRC).

nivek482005 said:
Yea i did that - then u slept thru the reserves gf and woke up - as a Port supporter late 60s wish you had stayed asleep as Sturt won again

:thumbsd:

Loved 'the winners' on abc.

First VFL game I went to - Princess Park ... Carlton at Easter 1969, i think.

I was at that game mentioned earlier with that elephant parting the crowd at Arden St, May 1979 Noth v Collingwood ... like everyone miss those old days standing on the terraces arguing with other supporters

They were bloody brilliant days. Those GFs in the late 60's were great. I barracked for West but my mates followed Sturt, so I went to all the Sturt GF wins and had a ball. Especially as I hated Port and Glenelg.
We all used to get so blotto.
Still reckon the Adelaide Oval had the best footy atmosphere I've ever been to.