AFL Autopsy R2: Crows eviscerate us

It wasn't the young players that we're melting about.

McGrath, Shiel, McKay, Prior. They're not young.
Not saying that any of those you mentioned where any good but the issue you get when young blokes play is they can compound the problems and you get what we have today. Not putting blame on these guys but Edwards did okay to get 3 goals but he lost his way defensively a lot. Kako made some defensive errors but his second efforts show a willingness to get on and try and make up fo them. Caddy the same. Often when you look for the player who does not have a man while the opposition where transitioning it was Tsatas. So again you get that with young guys and it is not an excuse for the older guys to be poor but it just adds more fuel on the fire. It is a combination of having both situations.

That's when I stopped watching today. Start of Q2, on the boundary both our guys went to tackle the Crows player who waited for them to come in and then handballed over the top of both to his spare team mate. Devastatingly simple and not even requiring any skill other than timing and the opposing team's lack of awareness
Those incidents are the canary in the coalmine. It's how I know we aren't progressing year in year out despite seeing exciting stuff from time to time. You see games we win but it is not so much through primarily having a modern system, strangling the opposition and then executing. Occasionally we seem to do something close like when we beat GWS and Adelaide last year but they are the outlier and we don't go on with it.

The foot skills and fumbling in the first half was really difficult to watch.
I'd like to see us take a few of our poor ball users out of the team. Hobbs and Shiel. Both are fringe players anyway and they compound our skills issues. Its tiresome to see opposition kicking ludicrous scores from turnovers. In Shiel's case he's not even a part of our future given his age so its even more aggregious.

Most things were bad but on the positive end of the spectrum:
Draper up forward working better than expected. I was skeptical about the 2 ruck thing but so far its about the only thing that has worked in the first 2 games.
Kako really has some moves in traffic. Another thing I've liked about him is for an 18 year old he really makes his tackles stick - which normally is a weakness for 1st year players.
Edwards was pretty handy. Reckon he might be the one who ends up as the 'Stringer replacement'. Think he'll be good at regularly kicking a few goals a game.

Waste of time supporting this club. Same shit every year. Other clubs have success, tumble down the ladder, rebuild, and then go again. Meanwhile, we do nothing but talk.
I don't mind if we lose but the lack of effort is infuriating. In the 70s we were nowhere near the top but we had heart.

We just don't football anymore.

Nothing encapsulates this plodding club than king of plodders, McGrath. Can we drop him? I can’t stand watching him run 5 metres behind his opponent and butcher the ball at every opportunity.
Everytime he gets the ball he has that 1 bounce then runs himself into trouble, that is when he doesn't fumble.

That he is in the leadership group is an indictment on the club.

Hope the players are up in a few hours getting ready for the swim in the bay.

Every single player seems to be going backwards in development (bar Merrett)

I remember the heart shown by the Bombers in our 77 point loss to South Melbourne in round 2 of 1977 like it was yesterday. inspiring stuff
Mate, I lived it but there was grit and effort you could see.

This team now is as weak willed as I have seen. Players jogging and refusing to man up. The culture has not changed one bit despite all the talk.

I have defended Scott but starting to think he is a very poor match day coach. Slow to react and not brave enough to try something different. I would have liked him to try McKay forward and Jones back when it is clear the current plan is not working.

Some heat needs to go on Nick Martin. Great offensive player but his efforts to defend where bloody horrible. Just ran in front of the footy all day and put limited effort into working back the other way.

ditto Durham

Sam got some footy but looks like he is drinking his own bathwater and is getting ahead of himself. Looked to argue with umpires more than going out and winning the footy

ditto Durham

Sam got some footy but looks like he is drinking his own bathwater and is getting ahead of himself. Looked to argue with umpires more than going out and winning the footy
Gets a mention for a different reason. He has a red hot go but he is down on form. I would not say he has got in front of himself. I would say he is frustrated in his form and the little protection he is getting in the contest. Sides are deliberately going after him. He was average and lost focus a few times but unlike Martin his effort could not be questioned.

fair assessment

AFL Autopsy R2: Crows eviscerate us

Write your reply...