Expansion QLD and NSW academies

Never said Geelong did anything wrong but they should be the last club to complain about these measures, I mean the gift of Hawkins for a packet of used Twisties is still there.

They are doing the right thing and have a system where they don’t need to rebuild

Huh? The F/S rule was immediately changed from 50 games to 100 games because of Hawkins due to Eddie and other flogs incessantly bitching, moaning and whinging about it after the fact.

The last to complain? You've the order of this issue backwards my dear Swannie boy. Geelong only resort to poaching as a last resort and out of desperation because of the stupidity and unfairness of gifting so many sides (mediocre ones that finish at the bottom of the ladder year in year out and interstate clubs who claim victimhood and disadvantage because they're not in Victoria) top elite young talent in the competition every season ahead of well run clubs like Geelong.

How about this, the Swannies and your ilk cease to leech of the league by secretly hogging elite young talent in NSW every season the via thinly disguised rort that are the academies, and I'm sure Geelong will no longer feel it necessary to strategically poach players from other clubs.

Have we got a deal?

Huh? The F/S rule was immediately changed from 100 games to 50 games because of Hawkins due to Eddie and other flogs incessantly bitching, moaning and whinging about it after the fact.

The last to complain? You've the order of this issue backwards my dear Swannie boy. Geelong only resort to poaching as a last resort and out of desperation because of the stupidity and unfairness of gifting so many sides (mediocre ones that finish at the bottom of the ladder year in year out and interstate clubs who claim victimhood and disadvantage because they're not in Victoria) top elite young talent in the competition every season ahead of well run clubs like Geelong.

How about this, the Swannies and your ilk cease to leech of the league by secretly hogging elite young talent in NSW every season the via thinly disguised rort that are the academies, and I'm sure Geelong will no longer feel it necessary to strategically poach players from other clubs.

Have we got a deal?

That depends are you giving up the F/S rule period? I have no issue with a completely uncompromised draft actually. However it should be uncompromised period not take away this and keep the other rort in. I’ve been saying for ages the curve was trash despite what my fellow fans have said. You want a player in the academy trade up or trade for them after their contract. No issue

GC and GWS were given huge leg ups in their first few years to offset the disadvantage of being recent start ups and not having access to F/S. Interstate teams in heathen territory like Brisbane and the Swans have no such complaints as they've been in the competition for 20+ years, enough to qualify for the last bit of romanticism left in the game.

Isn't there some sort of point system for other clubs to barter and make a club fork out more than a 2nd round pick in instances where it is very clear that a F/S player is a bona fide Top 10 draft pick? If there isn't, there should be.

GC and GWS were given huge leg ups in their first few years to offset the disadvantage of being recent start ups and not having access to F/S. Interstate teams in heathen territory like Brisbane and the Swans have no such complaints as they've been in the competition for 20+ years, enough to qualify for the last bit of romanticism left in the game.

Isn't there some sort of point system for other clubs to barter and make a club fork out more than a 2nd round pick in instances where it is very clear that a F/S player is a bona fide Top 10 draft pick? If there isn't, there should be.

See you either want it to be completely free out of rorts or not. I’ve said for years just be done with them, GC and GWS get (and got) enough startup picks they don’t need more. We don’t either. However the FS goes too and the NGA. Open pool it’s that simple. If you want to keep the F/S the academy is kept.

lul wot? You can't seriously be comparing F/S to the outrageous academy rort that the Swannies have going on. The Swannies haven't really bottomed out and rebuild their team in decades because they keep on pumping out quality young players they hide from the rest of the clubs in their academy every single year. It's why the Swans don't rely on the draft all that much, it’s just a nice little side bonus.

F/S on the other hand is luck of the draw as most F/S end up being bog average. Academies are on another whole level of rort as the Swans can stash away the best young players in NSW very early on, year in year out. F/S and academies are not even close to comparable, you've got to be taken the piss.

lul wot? You can't seriously be comparing F/S to the outrageous academy rort that the Swannies have going on.
Randy, I'm going ask you what I ask everyone who whines about this: would you accept 30 years of having almost zero access to home state talent (A chance every ten years in the first round and barely more frequently in later rounds.) in exchange for an academy in the equivalent area of Sydney's (The hunter, Shoalhaven, Tweed and the Beaches in Sydney).

You mean Vic or NSW? Whatever sweet deal Sydney has arranged with the AFL, I certainly wouldn't mind Geelong having something similar as well.

The Swans seems to always have an endless supply of quality youngsters coming through your academy each year and don't rely on the draft and poaching players from other clubs all that much.

So yeah, I'll have whatever Sydney is having.

You mean Vic or NSW? Whatever sweet deal Sydney has arranged with the AFL, I certainly wouldn't mind Geelong having something similar as well.

The Swans seems to always have an endless supply of quality youngsters coming through your academy each year and don't rely on the draft and poaching players from other clubs all that much.

So yeah, I'll have whatever Sydney is having.
Did you not read the post you responded to? The next 30 years you get nothing then after that you get an area where there are no football pathways, no rep teams, and league or union is the preferred sport.

Adelaide got nothing? Hahaha ok.

And then Port...

Did we get ongoing concessions? No
Did we get an academy? No
Did we get access to f/s in the first 20 years? Only 1

The argument against academies isn’t against initial concessions etc to set up your list. Ongoing concessions however when you’re an established and successful club is a joke.

lul wot? You can't seriously be comparing F/S to the outrageous academy rort that the Swannies have going on. The Swannies haven't really bottomed out and rebuild their team in decades because they keep on pumping out quality young players they hide from the rest of the clubs in their academy every single year. It's why the Swans don't rely on the draft all that much, it’s just a nice little side bonus.

F/S on the other hand is luck of the draw as most F/S end up being bog average. Academies are on another whole level of rort as the Swans can stash away the best young players in NSW very early on, year in year out. F/S and academies are not even close to comparable, you've got to be taken the piss.

Sshhh, don't let GWS know.

Can you tell me what came first though, the chicken or the egg?

People (whinging bloody Vics) see Heeney taking MOTY contenders and slotting running goals and bitch about concessions
What they don't see is the hundreds of kids who get academy training and stick with the sport, taking their high quality training back to the club leagues and populate the u16s/18s and seniors. Then they themselves have kids and coach them through juniors etc etc

It's about growing the game of Aussie Rules so that eventually there's enough kids wanting to play that training for rep comps and private school comps produce the same talent that your Xaviers and Scotch Colleges and "Calder Cannons footy factory"'s do and there's no need for an academy any more.

Or we can go back to having years between a NSW or QLD kid getting close to draft level and rely purely on Vic, SA and WA talent to populate 20 lists across 6 states and *0,000km²...

Do not forget that the AFL attempted to grow the game in Sydney themselves and chucked it in the too hard basket. But not trying to tap into the largest population centre in the country would be stupid so left it up to the clubs to operate.

It's also worth reiterating again for when the next person says ' WELL MAYBE EVERYONE SHOULD GET AN ACADEMY IN NSW!!!", that when the clubs DID have the chance to develop and recruit NSW players, a lot of them just tried to skim a few players and that was it. I know a few players who were in that program and once the paperwork was done, the input was minimal.

Brisbane have benefited from double dipping recently by getting highly rated father sons as well as academy players.
I've seen my own club have some amazing father sons play for us, but imagine if we got to double dip by having the Falcons as our academy?
It wouldn't be fair, would it?

Who are Brisbane's recent highly rated academy players that weren't father sons? Hipwood is the only Brisbane top 20 academy pick (pick 14). The other two academy players who played in the Grand Final last year were taken with picks 54 and 61, respectively (though Andrews bid on with a pick in the mid 30s).

If the AFL pay the cost of us running our academy, and leave us to run it, then I would be happy for all academy kids to go into an open draft.

The AFL basically abdicated responsibility for growing the game in NSW and QLD to the northern clubs and in return I want a benefit to that.

I'm sure Sydney could easily find another use for the $1 million plus a year we pay for our academy

If the AFL pay the cost of us running our academy, and leave us to run it, then I would be happy for all academy kids to go into an open draft.

The AFL basically abdicated responsibility for growing the game in NSW and QLD to the northern clubs and in return I want a benefit to that.

I'm sure Sydney could easily find another use for the $1 million plus a year we pay for our academy

If you read the 2023 (2024 unavailable I believe) AFL annual report financial distribution section, you will actually see that all GWS, GC and Brisbane received the highest distribution of funds from the AFL. While Sydney then came in at 6th behind Dogs and North (two clubs who have struggled financially).

So that actually shows, the AFL is proving additional funding to the northern clubs which is likely for their academies.

So in short, the AFL is funding those academies and therefore, clubs shouldn’t get automatic rights to those players.

If you read the 2023 (2024 unavailable I believe) AFL annual report financial distribution section, you will actually see that all GWS, GC and Brisbane received the highest distribution of funds from the AFL. While Sydney then came in at 6th behind Dogs and North (two clubs who have struggled financially).

So that actually shows, the AFL is proving additional funding to the northern clubs which is likely for their academies.

So in short, the AFL is funding those academies and therefore, clubs shouldn’t get automatic rights to those players.

I can't speak for how the other Northern clubs academies are funded, but the Sydney one funded through corporate sponsorship and donations through the Sydney swans foundation. The AFL fund none of it

The talent league should be all independent clubs. All supported and ran by the AFL.

No individual clubs should be running any of them.
So how does that look for high schoolers in qld, they play themselves in a poorer quality league, stunting their development meanwhile could be picked up by an NRL club's acadamy?

Stupid argument by anyone wanting to wipe out the northern academies.

Numerous players taken as academy players from the four clubs in NSW and QLD have openly said they wouldn't have taken up AFL if it wasn't for their respective clubs academy and chosen one of the rugby codes or other sports.

I bet the AFL will be all over that.

Expansion QLD and NSW academies

Write your reply...