Public Transport stories

I don't catch public transport too much but I remember once being on a bus into the city for a checkup after knee surgery and a 30-something lady muttering loudly about me not giving up a seat and being stretched out into the aisle too much. All my bandages etc were still covered up so she couldn't see, but I think I saw her looking pretty sheepish when she saw my wife helping me up out of the seat as I hobbled off the bus at a stop outside the hospital...

Was all like, "Yeah... you better check yoself...." in my head.

Good time had by all.

Was on the train going to the footy (Mandurah line) earlier this year and some old bloke who obviously wasn't all there got on. Started talking all sorts of shit about Karl O'Callaghan (police comissioner) and how he once beat the shit out of him. Told me about how all cops are corrupt and how he knows how to get out of any charges he gets.

Also reckoned he knew who the Claremont killer was but didn't want to go to the cops...

Was on the train going to the footy (Mandurah line) earlier this year and some old bloke who obviously wasn't all there got on. Started talking all sorts of shit about Karl O'Callaghan (police comissioner) and how he once beat the shit out of him. Told me about how all cops are corrupt and how he knows how to get out of any charges he gets.

Also reckoned he knew who the Claremont killer was but didn't want to go to the cops...

And now he's the head writer for the Sunday Times.

Was at Essendon station a few weeks ago. Sat Arvo waiting to get the train into the footy (Hawthorn vs Essendon) and this bloke comes up to me and starts talking to me. Seemed like a bit of a nutter. Could smell the alcohol on him and asked him whether he'd been drinking. Said he was the son of some ex Buldogs player ("Loveless" or some shit idk). Was telling me all these stories of his life from saving his ex Mrs from committing suicide to running from the cops and getting a massive scar on his arm from jumping a fence to how his Dad ****ed him up good.

On the tram with my mate when a guy gets on after having been at the burvale. We were sitting in the second half of the tram which was completely empty and when he saw this man he quickly moved to the front of the tram, leaving me alone. This guy proceeds to walk up the tram, opening every window before closing them again and explain to me that he needed some air. He then walked to the front and abused the driver and everyone else on the tram before getting off. I get off at the stop after and my mate then gets the bus so we were waiting at the bus stop when what do you know, we see old mate walking up the hill about 100m away. He sees us at the bus stop, starts yelling at us and running towards us. Knowing that he's intoxicated and off his nut we decide that the best option is to run to my house, with this dude chasing us. Fortunately he didn't come up the drive way. Was certainly an interesting run in

If I am travelling solo, I always stand - I like to challenge myself by not moving (unasissted) when the train does.:)

Saw a blonde chick giving her African bf head at the Alamein Station - tried to take a sly pic and the guy yells at me "I shoot yoooou." I GTFO of there super quick.:$

Mate and I got a Frankston train after school one day and some random old fart comes up and says, "I'd like to buy your uniforms boys, name your price.":eek:

Got a tram with Mum after the Bowie exhibition last weekend, some random hot guy starts hitting on her right in front of me - tells her he knows how hard it is to be a young single parent and that she "has done a good job with this one" (pointing at me). Mum goes "oh yeah well I have three more where he came from and a husband who helped to make 'em" - dude says, "nothing on the side then?":eek::eek::eek:

A few years ago on the tram going home from school. There is a fairly large woman in her 50's I'd say who was sitting opposite me and my mate. Now I don't want to be rude about her appearance but let's just say she wasn't an oil painting. Anyway we are travelling along down the road and all of a sudden a car pulling out from a side street runs into the side of the tram. It was nothing too serious but we all got a bit of a shock. So driver of the car (who it appears is from India and doesn't have great English) hops aboard the tram and starts arguing with the tram driver. As this is happening, the woman opposite us gets up from her seat and loses her shit. She says that she was badly hurt in the incident and is intending on suing the car driver for medical expenses, with a few expletives thrown in. The driver doesn't really comprehend what she is saying, just standing there. After copping this spray he just looks at her and says 'why don't you shave your face'. She then loses it even more and they all argue for another good 10 minutes, with many of the passengers asking that the flipping tram gets going again. Eventually it ends with the driver if the car physically pulling hairs out of her chin before running out of the tram and driving off. Good times.

Copped some drunk private school tough boy after a Carlton Geelong game a two or three years. Was mouthing off and talking like an absolute feral all to get a laugh from his stupid mates and some dumb young girls who were on the train. My old man's mate and his wife told the girls to stop encouraging which then wound up the school boy hero who then started mouthing off to them. They hopped off at Jolimont with my dad's mate telling him to step off and see how tough he really wants to act. In hindsight not the brightest thing but this guy was a total pig. My old man then said something once the train took off again which led to this dickhead starting on my old man and myself for the rest of the trip. I was a lot younger at the time so wasn't in the position to do much while this guy ran around making stupid gestures and pretending to hump people from time to time including myself. My old man kept mouthing off as he's got quite the temper and the dick wanted to keep going. Of course every other idiot on the train didn't bother to press the help button or help end this saga. Like plenty of gutless people on public transport they sat there head glued to their phone. We would've been in strife if this tool decided to make things physical.

Some whack job started mouthing off at the guy finally drawing attention away from us and he mainly stuck to talking shit to that guy for the rest of the trip. Hopped off the train and the dickhead just happened to get off at the same stop but we had a start on him and his mates so we got to the car quickly and headed for home.

I've never really been a big fan of the PSOs but with situations like that I'm glad they're now at stations at night.

Gave up my seat for a family once, not a word of thanks. It annoyed me, but thinking a parent could demonstrate that kind of rudeness to their children really pissed me off.

Also my bus today is five minutes late, quite likely I'll miss my connecting train.

Got a tram with Mum after the Bowie exhibition last weekend, some random hot guy starts hitting on her right in front of me - tells her he knows how hard it is to be a young single parent and that she "has done a good job with this one" (pointing at me). Mum goes "oh yeah well I have three more where he came from and a husband who helped to make 'em" - dude says, "nothing on the side then?":eek::eek::eek:

If you don't ask, you'll never know

If I am travelling solo, I always stand - I like to challenge myself by not moving (unasissted) when the train does.:)

Saw a blonde chick giving her African bf head at the Alamein Station - tried to take a sly pic and the guy yells at me "I shoot yoooou." I GTFO of there super quick.:$

Mate and I got a Frankston train after school one day and some random old fart comes up and says, "I'd like to buy your uniforms boys, name your price.":eek:

What was the Bowie Exhibition like?

I was coming home from a Hawthorn Richmond game a few years ago when we were nearing Blackburn station. There was this Hawthorn supporter who was extremely drunk. He was very tall and had red hair with a open bottle of vodka. He was also without his Hawthorn shirt all of a sudden and was shouting at randoms on the train while making threats against people with his dodgy mates. After a while he got very angry at somebody and I think he meant to throw this bottle at a patron, but instead he accidentally threw it and hit a kid with his mother holding him in her arms instead. The train got very silent and I think he suddenly knew the whole carriage had turned against him. That train ride between Blackburn and Nunawading was extremely long and awkward because as soon as we stopped he sprinted off the train with him his mates into the night with the cops siren blaring not far away.

I hope they managed to get that scumbag and gave him a bit of rough up. I don't know what happened with the women and child but I hope they were okay.

Overly enthusiastic Bus drivers

* Some sing along to the radio station they are playing (love it, especially if it's a certain station that sticks with OLDER music, not today's crap hehehe). They are also the type that greet everyone with an overly cheerful tone

* There are some ledfoot drivers that push the bus to it's limits, hooning down the road, breaking at the last second (nearly toppling everyone out of their seats in the process). Some drivers do control the bus really well in this instance and make it a smooth drive.... other's not so much and they don't even apologise for driving aggressively.

Public Transport Officers

* Can be super intimidating if you let them :-/. I do the right thing all of the time yet they still consider you to be public enemy number 1. Even when you're given the all clear, they act all disappointed that they didn't catch someone out lol.
* They can appear out of nowhere like ninja's sometimes! And when they do it's like a SWAT operation. one time a while back they all piled on and then formed a rugby scrum it was truly bizarre. Had an experience last week, they hopped on the bus (once again apeparing out of nowhere, they were not around the station at all the previous few minutes), hopped on to check people's myki's. They wound up only doing 1/4 of the bus full of people. They nabbed one person and after they "got their guy" they left the bus, it's like they were satisfied with catching ONE person, when they still had at least 12-15 people left to check.

Passengers

I know there are some rotten train passengers, I have seen plenty of feral people catching the bus some classic examples I have mentioned in another public transport thread on here previously AND some recent examples.

* Guy gets on the bus carrying his shopping (coming out of the bottle shop), he literally cracks a bottle open and starts sinking it down while on the bus #respect haha. I was also kind of worried sitting right behind him, I was expecting him to belt me for watching him not care and drink and drink and drink lol. I've also seen other's not care and drink their Jim Beam or Jack Daniels cans.

* The front Myki was not working, random feral girl gets annoyed/angry at people causing the bus driver to wait for them to move and sit down so that the bus can take off once again. Tells them it's not working and to sit the efff down. They look startled, and move to sit down... as they sit down she then changes tact and calls them rotten fare evaders and (if non white) proceeded to racially abuse them. Did this so many times over 30 minutes.

* Got on the bus once, sat down and had to endure quite the conversation (sex related) between the girl on the phone and one of her friends. Detailing what she and another guy were getting up to. The most hilarious thing occurred next, another guy that was trying to get in her pants hopped on the bus soon after. She knew it was him, and thought he didn't see her...... when he got off the bus later on he approached her said a few words then hopped off. Her reaction to him knowing that he was there and still talked about him (but he was listening in and knew what she was talking about) was funny!

* Have had some serious bogans threatening to punch people for no reason at all

Public Transport stories