Training Pre season training

i dont watch replays either,but 2010 draw,j.blake is front and center to the goals with scores level,he does nothing when he had the oppurtunity to just throw a boot at it,it could have gone anywhere,but it could have won us a flag

maybe its just me,but i saw it,sticks out way more than the milne bounce to me

OK, a very long read with the annual pre Christmas preseasons for each player. Hopefully this stops the grand final masochism.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1.Jack Higgins – Not much different to last year, playing forward, running improved very lively at training becoming one of the senior players of the group.,

2.Marcus Windhager – looks cut, running hard keeping up in the hard running drills just behind Wilson. Looks set for a big year, so far playing out of the midfield in whatever match sim they have been playing. Had a niggle early on but is back in the main group looking good.

3.Zak Jones – One of the standouts at training. Has been quick enthusiastic, hard at it every session. Accuracy (under no pressure like everyone else) has been excellent. Keep him fit and he is likely to be used as an outside mid. Needs to make every post a winner on a one year deal.

4.Lance Collard-. Seems to be pretty happy and settled. Hasn’t set the world on fire in sims but is enthusiastic and competing well. Club gave him a three year deal for a reason.

5.Tobie Travaglia – to me has been more impressive than Wilson last season. Dynamic of half back, clean disposal, has good game sense and can run all day. Out of the five draftees. This kid is the no.1 bet for a seniors call up sooner rather than later.

6.Jack Macrae – a big inside mid, just what we need. Well balanced, great disposal, footy IQ, just what you expect from a multiple AA player. A very good recruit.

7.Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera – taller, more filled out, working off a half back flank (think he may take Sinc’s position as he rolls through the midfield more.) A beautiful user of the ball, getting better all the time Need a signature sooner rather than later..

8.Brad Hill – Evergreen is Brad Hill. Very happy, hard running guy at training. Always having a laugh, getting around the younger indigenous guys, maintains his standards at training.

9.Jack Steele – looks cut and fit. Has been a bit unsighted not because his standards have dropped but the midfield around him has improved. Will relish the likes of a fit Macrae, Dow, Clark, Windhager etc giving him a chopout.

10.Mitch Owens no management of Chito this preseason, continues to develop in a meaningful way. Forget him as a mid, he will be a damaging medium forward.

11.Hunter Clark – Hard running, looking fit, playing inside last training session at semi contact match sim. Hopefully he stays injury free, contract up this season. Disposal has been a bit iffy in the drills. Saw how he can really contribute with an injury free run. Got 11 in a row at the end of the season and looked better every game.

12.Max King – managed. Coming along well. Running hard, seems to have filled out a bit more. If fit will be in the team round 1

13.Ryan Byrnes – another to impress. Works very hard at training, has looked very sharp, now has lots of competition. Like Jones can’t just dial it in with the likes of Wilson, Pou, Dow, Travalgia, Hall etc now at the club.

14.Liam Stocker –managing a groin.One year contract so needs to get fit and really push for that small back role. Some competition for his position.

15.Paddy Dow –. Excellent through the mids. Seems very balanced and his seniors experience really shows with his positioning. Will be challenged for his position by Carroll, Hall, Jones, Clark, Garcia, Windy etc. Needs to show why he was a pick 3 selection at the draft

16.Dan Butler – has been lively and fully fit this preseason. Being used as a HFF in the drills where RL wants width. He is positioning himself on the wing. Will be interesting where he lines up

17.Isaac Keeler. Nice size, bigger around the arse and shoulders, glides about the field, highly skilled, nice disposal. He is an out an out forward/ relief ruckman in my opinion. Has been one of the younger ones to have developed over the offseason.

18. Jack Carroll– good pickup, nice size, seems to read the play well, hard to get a guage on him as our mids are so even with the likes of Dow, Jones, Hall, Garcia and him all looking of a similar calibre. Lyon wanted players with good disposal that can run, well Carroll is an archetypal Lyon recruit. Outside my pay grade to rank all these mids and who will get the nod for the seniors.

19.Rowan Marshall – absolute class. Should have been AA ruckman. Really is a cut above all our other rucks. Rolled an ankle last session before Christmas. Didn’t look too bad. Having some good duels with Heath and Boyd

20.Dougal Howard – Doug being Doug. Hasn’t pulled any arms out of sockets so that’s a bonus. OCC at year end

21.Zaine Cordy – his tank is still terrible, still being played down back. OOC at year end

22.Darcy Wilson – elite runner, again last session, running at the front of the fastest group hardly blowing. We all saw his season. Biggest tank literally in the League. In a rookie year got 9 of the best 25 game distances in history. Could have kicked 5 against the Blues. Amazingling for a first year player got better as the season riolled on. Absolute rolled gold beauty.

23.Liam Henry – in rehab with the knee. Has only just started running, Extremely unlike for R1

24.Angus Hastie – seems taller and starting to fill out, but is very clean with the ball in hand, and positions nicely in match sim type drills. Another of the RL types, balanced, good disposal, runs all day.

25.Mattaes Phillipou –Has played near 40 senior games now. His core looks stronger and he is only just behind the truly elite runners. My BOG for preseason. Came back after working on his game in the VFL and had glimpses of Bont/Cripps about his game. Has a Roo like look about him re core strength. Elite trainer, very vocal. Set for a big season.

26.Alix Tauru – managed. We get our lollies later this year .

27.Arie Schoenmaker – playing of a Half back in drills and sims, go to for first disposal from kickouts. Being used to open the corridor As we know a supersonic boot, big arse and tree trunk legs, running much better this preseason.

28.James Barrat – looks 25, already has an AFL footballers body, seems to be the usual. Rinse, repeat here, nice mover, good disposal, can take a nice mark. Needs to read the play a little better. Not sure if he replaces Battle first up, a little bit of development, but can see hugh potential in James.

29.Jimmy Webster – nothing much to report. Doing his job and will probably start in the 22. Working a lot with the younger players, at 32 he needs to do all the work he can. We are still a bit skinny down back with a bit of development of the younger talls so will continue in his position.

30.Alex Dodson - great pickup, tall gangly kid who will take time to mature, but the kid can football, and shoots a mean hoop from outside the paint apparently.

32.Mason Wood – managed. Running strongly. Putting in his usual preseason. The wing is still his.

33.Patrick Said – smaller than the other mid recruits and needs a fair bit of development. Everyone, repeat after me, can run all day and has good game sense and disposal.

34.Hugo Garcia – last year thought he was a bit small. We were all impressed by his trips up to the seniors. Has grown taller and is starting to bulk up. Very intense at training. Been a bit crook coming up to Christmas but will be back hitting the track in the New Year.

35.Jack Sinclair – what do we expect from Sinc’s except the best. Look to see him running through the mids with Travaglia getting a gig.

38.Hugh Boxshall – good size, no Essendon type manlet draftees in our mids (well maybe Said and Hall) we gave up plenty for a kid in the 40’s but will be a strong inside mid who can get his own ball. Bright future for Hugh.

40. Max Hall – now fully fit, has impressed others at training, however I haven’t seen it as much. Not a knock, but my mug punter eye can't differentiate between his output and Dow, or Carroll, or Hastie or Boxshall. Either we have a high skilled team of recruits and draftees or they are all equally as poor. I don’t think they are poor.

41r.Angus McLennan – (can’t see it with this kid. Average size, average skills, average decision making, average runner). In brackets is what I wrote about him last year. Happy to say that he has improved in leaps and bounds. Looks like a footballer, running has improved, his game sense is very good and he competes well. Happy to be wrong on this bloke.

42. Max Heath – developing better, running better, more involved in match sim, taking some good marks and being link up. Rucking slowing improving. Still only 22, but now has Boyd, Keeler and eventually Dodson to compete with. Needs to step up this year.

43r.Cooper Sharman – very impressive this preseason with everything he does. Bigger tank, very nice positioning up forward outworking his opponent in match sim.

44.Callum Wilkie – Wilks does what Wilks does. Always a polished performer.

45b.Liam O'Connell – nice size, Works hard. In the same mould as Hastie, Garcia, Hall, etc.

46b. Eammonn Armstrong – is bald and 18, apart from that who knows.

47.rAnthony Caminiti – Managed, has a couple of issues. Seems to have a bit more definition. Don’t know where he plays but suggestion is back. Makes sense as the likes of Barret, McLennon, O’Connell etc develops.

50. Harry Boyd – built like a brick outhouse. Took a huge contested mark in front of me, rucks well, knows his game and limitations. Has impressed while at pre Christmas training. I think it is a very good safety measure.
What a difference some decent recruiting can make. My God, how we ever survived the Trout era, I don’t know.

We actually won 97 but the board and Alves still fell out and we hit rock bottom.

We then loaded up and won 04, 05, 09 & 2010.

The players still bitched about the coffee in Seaford though...
Are Petracca and Bontempelli still the main bulls in the Saints midfield over there?

Nah.

The club fell apart after the Seaford Coffee Scandal (there was a class action suit) and ended up relocating to Tassie.

The AFL then got done for corruption after their links with gambling sponsors were investigated and the whole comp was disbanded and rebuilt with "franchises" ala the Big Bash

Rugby League has taken over as the #1 winter sport in Melbourne.

Ugh...

Not to pick on you but I can't stand the talk that we aren't capable of scoring.

We ave 2.7 less I50s than Carlton BUT they kicked 2.6 goals more per game.

The difference in scoring isn't our ability to move the ball, it's what happens when/if our forwards get their hands on it.

If the 09/10 Saints execute, or the Freo team kick straight, Lyon would be talked up as one of he GOATs.

He is giving this team every possible chance to win games of footy, with far less talent than most of the teams in the comp.

If our forwards can execute then there's no reason we can't compete with teams for a spot in that 5-8 region.
The fact is we (and Freo) didn't win those finals with Lyon as coach. Like saying I would be a millionaire if I had all the right numbers in Tattslotto on the day.

The fact is he did enough that we could have won it.
Other than strap the boots on, there wasn't much more he could have done.
The team was good enough, but the players let us down.

Tattslotto is a poor analogy, its totally random.

Most Grand Finals won't be a sure thing for anybody.

Definitely looking forward to what Windy may provide this season. Had a bit of a breakout game on the big stage against the Pies early and from memory got injured the next week and then had a bit of an interrupted run. Continuity will bring confidence, hopefully a breakout year for Marcus!

I think Wilson was looking good at the end of last season as well.
He started off pretty much being generally competent and covering a lot of ground, but i thought he was taking the game on a lot more towards the end of the season.

We shall all be at peace when late in the 2026 GF, trailing by five points with Nick Daicos running towards the fifty, there's a masterful rundown tackle from Hugo f#cking Garcia. Advantage called as the ball spills free to the running man Wilson who motors into the clear and spots up the Pou who swings around on to the left from sixty and puts it to the top of the square where the big pack flies and in from the side and over the top soars Mason Wood who somehow manages to get the handball to Snags on the line who rams it home low into the Collingwood cheer squad. 😎

View attachment 2189230
Free kick Daicos.

2004 - 2012 was the most fun I’ve had during footy season/s ever. Premierships are the ultimate marker of success in our sport, and that era just shows how f****** hard they are to win, but winning the number of games we did, and the highlights/careers we saw unfold throughout were pretty amazing.

The near misses hurt, but bloody hell I’d love to march into Marvel with the confidence that I had back then sometime soon. I hope 2025 can be a step in that direction!

Thought I'd have a crack at my estimated round one team pre-Christmas. Sounds like Henry and Tauru won't be ready but everyone else would be available outside of any injuries that happen between now and then (of which I'm sure there will be plenty, but hopefully fewer than previous years)

B: Webster, Howard, Schoenmaker
HB: Sinclair, Wilkie, Nas
C: Hill, Steele, Wood
HF: Higgins, Sharman, Owens
F: Butler, King, Caminiti

Foll: Marshall, Murkay, Phillipou
Int: Clark, Windhager, Stocker, Wilson
Sub: Travaglia

What stands out is elite kicking amongst the back six and incredible running power on the wings (with Wilson and Travaglia rotating through). Midfield is okay if everyone stays fit without being particularly good. Concerning that Sharman is the only forward I'd trust to convert a set shot from 35m out

Thought I'd have a crack at my estimated round one team pre-Christmas. Sounds like Henry and Tauru won't be ready but everyone else would be available outside of any injuries that happen between now and then (of which I'm sure there will be plenty, but hopefully fewer than previous years)

B: Webster, Howard, Schoenmaker
HB: Sinclair, Wilkie, Nas
C: Hill, Steele, Wood
HF: Higgins, Sharman, Owens
F: Butler, King, Caminiti

Foll: Marshall, Murkay, Phillipou
Int: Clark, Windhager, Stocker, Wilson
Sub: Travaglia

What stands out is elite kicking amongst the back six and incredible running power on the wings (with Wilson and Travaglia rotating through). Midfield is okay if everyone stays fit without being particularly good. Concerning that Sharman is the only forward I'd trust to convert a set shot from 35m out
Well 5 of the back 6 anyway

i dont watch replays either,but 2010 draw,j.blake is front and center to the goals with scores level,he does nothing when he had the oppurtunity to just throw a boot at it,it could have gone anywhere,but it could have won us a flag

maybe its just me,but i saw it,sticks out way more than the milne bounce to me
Thought similar. There was another number 27 in the 66 GF in exactly the same position, same end, same time of the game, that kicked a pretty important point.

OK, a very long read with the annual pre Christmas preseasons for each player. Hopefully this stops the grand final masochism.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1.Jack Higgins – Not much different to last year, playing forward, running improved very lively at training becoming one of the senior players of the group.,

2.Marcus Windhager – looks cut, running hard keeping up in the hard running drills just behind Wilson. Looks set for a big year, so far playing out of the midfield in whatever match sim they have been playing. Had a niggle early on but is back in the main group looking good.

3.Zak Jones – One of the standouts at training. Has been quick enthusiastic, hard at it every session. Accuracy (under no pressure like everyone else) has been excellent. Keep him fit and he is likely to be used as an outside mid. Needs to make every post a winner on a one year deal.

4.Lance Collard-. Seems to be pretty happy and settled. Hasn’t set the world on fire in sims but is enthusiastic and competing well. Club gave him a three year deal for a reason.

5.Tobie Travaglia – to me has been more impressive than Wilson last season. Dynamic of half back, clean disposal, has good game sense and can run all day. Out of the five draftees. This kid is the no.1 bet for a seniors call up sooner rather than later.

6.Jack Macrae – a big inside mid, just what we need. Well balanced, great disposal, footy IQ, just what you expect from a multiple AA player. A very good recruit.

7.Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera – taller, more filled out, working off a half back flank (think he may take Sinc’s position as he rolls through the midfield more.) A beautiful user of the ball, getting better all the time Need a signature sooner rather than later..

8.Brad Hill – Evergreen is Brad Hill. Very happy, hard running guy at training. Always having a laugh, getting around the younger indigenous guys, maintains his standards at training.

9.Jack Steele – looks cut and fit. Has been a bit unsighted not because his standards have dropped but the midfield around him has improved. Will relish the likes of a fit Macrae, Dow, Clark, Windhager etc giving him a chopout.

10.Mitch Owens no management of Chito this preseason, continues to develop in a meaningful way. Forget him as a mid, he will be a damaging medium forward.

11.Hunter Clark – Hard running, looking fit, playing inside last training session at semi contact match sim. Hopefully he stays injury free, contract up this season. Disposal has been a bit iffy in the drills. Saw how he can really contribute with an injury free run. Got 11 in a row at the end of the season and looked better every game.

12.Max King – managed. Coming along well. Running hard, seems to have filled out a bit more. If fit will be in the team round 1

13.Ryan Byrnes – another to impress. Works very hard at training, has looked very sharp, now has lots of competition. Like Jones can’t just dial it in with the likes of Wilson, Pou, Dow, Travalgia, Hall etc now at the club.

14.Liam Stocker –managing a groin.One year contract so needs to get fit and really push for that small back role. Some competition for his position.

15.Paddy Dow –. Excellent through the mids. Seems very balanced and his seniors experience really shows with his positioning. Will be challenged for his position by Carroll, Hall, Jones, Clark, Garcia, Windy etc. Needs to show why he was a pick 3 selection at the draft

16.Dan Butler – has been lively and fully fit this preseason. Being used as a HFF in the drills where RL wants width. He is positioning himself on the wing. Will be interesting where he lines up

17.Isaac Keeler. Nice size, bigger around the arse and shoulders, glides about the field, highly skilled, nice disposal. He is an out an out forward/ relief ruckman in my opinion. Has been one of the younger ones to have developed over the offseason.

18. Jack Carroll– good pickup, nice size, seems to read the play well, hard to get a guage on him as our mids are so even with the likes of Dow, Jones, Hall, Garcia and him all looking of a similar calibre. Lyon wanted players with good disposal that can run, well Carroll is an archetypal Lyon recruit. Outside my pay grade to rank all these mids and who will get the nod for the seniors.

19.Rowan Marshall – absolute class. Should have been AA ruckman. Really is a cut above all our other rucks. Rolled an ankle last session before Christmas. Didn’t look too bad. Having some good duels with Heath and Boyd

20.Dougal Howard – Doug being Doug. Hasn’t pulled any arms out of sockets so that’s a bonus. OCC at year end

21.Zaine Cordy – his tank is still terrible, still being played down back. OOC at year end

22.Darcy Wilson – elite runner, again last session, running at the front of the fastest group hardly blowing. We all saw his season. Biggest tank literally in the League. In a rookie year got 9 of the best 25 game distances in history. Could have kicked 5 against the Blues. Amazingling for a first year player got better as the season riolled on. Absolute rolled gold beauty.

23.Liam Henry – in rehab with the knee. Has only just started running, Extremely unlike for R1

24.Angus Hastie – seems taller and starting to fill out, but is very clean with the ball in hand, and positions nicely in match sim type drills. Another of the RL types, balanced, good disposal, runs all day.

25.Mattaes Phillipou –Has played near 40 senior games now. His core looks stronger and he is only just behind the truly elite runners. My BOG for preseason. Came back after working on his game in the VFL and had glimpses of Bont/Cripps about his game. Has a Roo like look about him re core strength. Elite trainer, very vocal. Set for a big season.

27.Arie Schoenmaker – playing of a Half back in drills and sims, go to for first disposal from kickouts. Being used to open the corridor As we know a supersonic boot, big arse and tree trunk legs, running much better this preseason.

28.James Barrat – looks 25, already has an AFL footballers body, seems to be the usual. Rinse, repeat here, nice mover, good disposal, can take a nice mark. Needs to read the play a little better. Not sure if he replaces Battle first up, a little bit of development, but can see hugh potential in James.

29.Jimmy Webster – nothing much to report. Doing his job and will probably start in the 22. Working a lot with the younger players, at 32 he needs to do all the work he can. We are still a bit skinny down back with a bit of development of the younger talls so will continue in his position.

30.Alex Dodson - great pickup, tall gangly kid who will take time to mature, but the kid can football, and shoots a mean hoop from outside the paint apparently.

32.Mason Wood – managed. Running strongly. Putting in his usual preseason. The wing is still his.

33.Patrick Said – smaller than the other mid recruits and needs a fair bit of development. Everyone, repeat after me, can run all day and has good game sense and disposal.

34.Hugo Garcia – last year thought he was a bit small. We were all impressed by his trips up to the seniors. Has grown taller and is starting to bulk up. Very intense at training. Been a bit crook coming up to Christmas but will be back hitting the track in the New Year.

35.Jack Sinclair – what do we expect from Sinc’s except the best. Look to see him running through the mids with Travaglia getting a gig.

38.Hugh Boxshall – good size, no Essendon type manlet draftees in our mids (well maybe Said and Hall) we gave up plenty for a kid in the 40’s but will be a strong inside mid who can get his own ball. Bright future for Hugh.

40. Max Hall – now fully fit, has impressed others at training, however I haven’t seen it as much. Not a knock, but my mug punter eye can't differentiate between his output and Dow, or Carroll, or Hastie or Boxshall. Either we have a high skilled team of recruits and draftees or they are all equally as poor. I don’t think they are poor.

41r.Angus McLennan – (can’t see it with this kid. Average size, average skills, average decision making, average runner). In brackets is what I wrote about him last year. Happy to say that he has improved in leaps and bounds. Looks like a footballer, running has improved, his game sense is very good and he competes well. Happy to be wrong on this bloke.

42. Max Heath – developing better, running better, more involved in match sim, taking some good marks and being link up. Rucking slowing improving. Still only 22, but now has Boyd, Keeler and eventually Dodson to compete with. Needs to step up this year.

43r.Cooper Sharman – very impressive this preseason with everything he does. Bigger tank, very nice positioning up forward outworking his opponent in match sim.

45b.Liam O'Connell – nice size, Works hard. In the same mould as Hastie, Garcia, Hall, etc.

47.rAnthony Caminiti – Managed, has a couple of issues. Seems to have a bit more definition. Don’t know where he plays but suggestion is back. Makes sense as the likes of Barret, McLennon, O’Connell etc develops.

50. Harry Boyd – built like a brick outhouse. Took a huge contested mark in front of me, rucks well, knows his game and limitations. Has impressed while at pre Christmas training. I think it is a very good safety measure.
Great summary Joffa. You should forward this to a few media outlets. It would save them printing out last year's preview over again.

They are in my eyes, every player training the house down. 40 will be selected for R1

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Max Hall for round 1 would be a sign that things are either going amazingly well or our injury list has expanded...

A detailed and exceptionally well drafted summary Joffa. Your sharing of the training information is first class and much appreciated - thanks!

Training Report 18/12/24 New
Big crowd. Nicky and Bourkey in attendance, might be a function on.
Jones and Carroll run throughs, no Henry or Caminiti.
Stocker with the main group. King in main group.
Back half transition work.
More impressed with Barret the more I see.
Ball movement sharp.
Roh, Hastie, McLennon in flouro hats.
Bolton taking training.
Next drill 3 groups
South Road defensive contests.
Middle mid contested. Hugo throwing himself in.
Nepean Highway, forward contested.
Jones with main group.
4 rucks contested drill.
Swapping every 4 minutes.
No.'s21 and 36 out there. Don't know who they are.
Don't want to jinx it but very healthy list.
Keeler running laps
Macrae in full training no issues.
Sharman, Pou, prominent this drill.
King in contested marking drill, matched up with Arie, holding his own.
Next drill half field ball movement to a leading forward. Two midfield groups alternating to forwards and backs. Turnover and transition. Gut busting. Great attack in the ball by Said to Collard for goal. Players get around him.
Think Mathesion is no. 31. This is where the Sandy rookie will come into place. He gets a chance at Sandy and to impress at Saints training for a shot at the rookie spot.
Lyon taking this drill. Stopping them frequently. Working on transition movement to the forward line.
Lanceyboy doesn't do much but what he does is class.
King moving well.
Roh can be a great forward option. Steele more prominent today and Said showing a bit.
Carroll in full training.
Next drill, transition from defensive 50, stoppage work with Heath, Dodson and Boyd, ruck uncontested down to mids for the clearance, and whatever the **** they were doing on the far side.
Higgo, O'Connell, Hall running great angles to open up the corridor inside 50.
Henry out doing Harlem Globetrotters spins with the ball.
No.49, tall curly haired skinny kid, don't know who it is.
Walked to far side, in close contested work, Jones, Travalgia, Wilson, Garcia intense
Wilson and Travalgia make one hell of a combo with break away speed.
King destroying himself with high speed run throughs. Absolutely spent, just had a bit of a spew, asked if he could keep going and he says yes.
Full field match sim. Travalgia off a wing. Arie HBF. Heath v Boyd.
Ball movement iffy in windy conditions.
Defensive pressure from both teams very good causing plenty of turnovers. Wilson is like having an extra player. Higgins has impressed all preseason.
Arie too predictable with his kicking, getting cut off on numerous times.
Club must think Collard is a slow burn, he just doesn't do enough, long way to go, but not in the same ballpark as Butts and Higgo.
Tauru and Henry on the bikes placed near the boundary. Good hard match sim. If Boyd comes on Roh is a great option up forward and just relief ruck. Regardless of what some say, Boyd does not look out of place.
As this is the last session before the break will stay for the running.
Wilson FMD, laps the third group. Travaglia leads Wilsons group, Boyd running well, with Wilks.
I can't believe Wilson, could have been a class middle distance runner. Phenomenonal.
Hugo can throw hands.
Second run Wilson AGAIN catches the 3rd group, Irish about to collapse, Boxshall and Travalgia both at the front, Boyd best of the rucks.
Lanceyboy struggling first two, puts in a quick 500, going for a second runs out of gas but struggles on manfully. Gets to the end and collapses to his knees, boys are spent.
Really high quality session.
Ok Adios Amigo's

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Training Pre season training