RememberRoyce
- Dec 15, 2014
- AFL Club
- Richmond
Do you reckon he'll have another BOG game against the team that finishes top?
Well hopefully it is in a GF this time.
AFLW 2024 - the Grand Final - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Do you reckon he'll have another BOG game against the team that finishes top?
http://giphy.com/gifs/sGQOTQ6AvCi4No 50. Wasn't on my list.
In other news, saw Ralph Carr in the crowd. He was wearing Kel Day Knight shorts.
Haere Ra
Nice report mate! You certainly outdid me with some of the descriptions. We had some differing views on a few but I think we'd both agree it was a good hitout, the ball movement was much better, and overall our best 22 looks like being a good side.Went along to training/intraclub today and have always appreciated people posting training reports so I'll post my opinions on what I saw today for others who couldn't make it.
Lennon- I am a massive fan of Lennon as a player as I have seen first hand in junior football what this bloke is truly capable of when fit and confident with my team being on the wrong end of his 12 goal haul in u/15's. What I saw today excited me. He tackled hard, ran hard defensively, took 2 strong marks and kicked 2 goals. He competed hard/well at ground level and at one stage during the game drew the praise of Riewoldt when he committed hard running backwards to an aerial ball that he was no chance to mark but forced a spoil to get it over the Boundary line. Riewoldt made a point of calling out to him 'well done Ben Lennon he called out'. You can just see acts like this lift lennons confidence, big confidence player o feel as he then went on to have a brilliant next 10 minutes but then faded late, so still patchy. He also was very competitive for example was calling out for holding the ball decisions when he or other teammates tacked and got around teammates when they kicked goals far more than usual. Seems happy at the club, but also a bloke who knows his career is on the line this year. Delivered a sizzling pass to jack in the second qrt.
Menadue- Faded in and out of the game as he so often does, with flashes of brilliance but overall just not enough out of him. Still looks so skinny, his pace is blistering though. I don't think he'll play round 1 like last year.
Prestia- Great first half performance. Racked up a Mountain of the footy, and always used it well. He has that special ability to hold onto the footy half a second longer than most ensuring he assesses all the options properly and chooses the right one most occasions, without Ever looking rushed. This exact scenario happened on one occasion, waited an extra second took a hit and fed off to Drummond who then broke the next line because Dion had taken the hit and drawn the man. It was just one of those moments in which the difference between say a A.Moore and him is clearly illustrated. I, unlike many here (perhaps not wrongly for the record it was a lot to give) was happy to part with 6 for Prestia if we had to as I rate him so highly. Today only strengthened my feelings on that. Will be an awesome pickup, faded in the second half but that's understandable given he'd be slightly behind fitness wise, seems the consummate professional.
C.Moore- was pleased with his game, have high hopes for Moore to breakout this year. Works hard, is a competitive beast, crashes packs and is enthusiastic. Had a brilliant passage of play at the end of the second qrt when he made a desperate lunge for a ball destined to go over the Boundary, kept it in when everyone else had given up on it paddled it along the line in the fwd pocket, picked it up cleanly then instead of blazing a snap away looked inboard and hit up Townsend. As I said I have high hopes for Moore, and wouldn't be suprised to see him selected ahead of griff at some stage this year. Kicking needs improving and needs to develop a left foot but the signs are there. Miles ahead of Chol at this stage for mine.
Chol- I apologise to those offended by this, I am not a fan of bashing youngsters however in the interests of delivering a proper report this has to be said. Chol was inspid. Yes he competed hard and flew for marks, but he simply had no impact on the game. By the last qrt he was manning the mark in the back pocket and hunt just waltzed around him, with him not breaking out of a walk to chase, it was pathetic and hunt gained an extra 15 metres. If it had happened in an AFL game the media would be all over him. Out bodied Maric at one stage, grabbed it out of the ruck and had a snap at goal and missed but that was just about the only highlight apart from a intercept mark in qrt 3 down back. Just don't know what to think, was the player I was most dissapointted in on the way home after building excitement for him this preseason due to increased muscle etc.
Vlaustuin- heap of midfeild time, won heap of the footy, kicked 2 goals I think. As good as we all knew he would be when eventually released into the midfeild. Gun.
Miles- solid as always about 15-20 touches, winning plenty of frees for being first to the footy. Kicked a nice dribble goal and really hope he's in the plans for best 22 last year, that was a disgrace he got dropped last year IMO.
Caddy- so pleased with his performance, seems a really poplar member of the group already which I think is important. Played about 20% fwd which I liked. 80/20% mid/fwd split is what I hope to see. Tough and strong at the coal face had about 20 touches and a goal.
Batchelor- I like Batch as a player and think we always look better with him in the team as he straightens us up and gives us more aerial coverage down back. Tough, gritty and competitive. He doesn't even give teammates an inch on feild literally crushing the air out of castagna today after a tackle, just lay on him for an extra 10 seconds before being pulled off and a small skirmish with Rioli about it. Wasn't his best game and didn't do much offensively but defensively was sound.
Castagna- awesome game. Used permanently up fwd in the same team as Rioli, Butler which makes me think the coaches wanted to see who works better with Rioli out of him and butler. He tackled well but mainly he hit the scoreboard kicking 2.2 I think. Really impressed and hope he gets some minutes in NAB in our best team.
Rioli- quiet. I have like others bought wholeheartedly into the hype about Rioli this pre season so today was a reality check. The kid is still so young and playing a very difficult position to get a lot of the ball so can be hard to have an impact at times. Have tempered my expectations going into the season about him after today. With that being said his fwd pressure was unbelievable and he had 2 run down tackles so it'll come eventually if he maintains the effort.
KMAC- was solid, used his running to great effect to drift fwd and kick goals. Always get nervous when he takes the Kickouts and today worried me even more with an absolute howler turnover from a lockout to vlaustuin. Looks in great nick, used off half back.
Markov- was really solid and broke lines, kicked long and ran hard to create off half back. Round 1 lock for mine. He's too good to be playing VFL.
Drummond- Hard to assess his game, came in and out. Used off a wing and half back, his kicking was long and penetrating, think he'll be 22-32 depth player for us this year.
Conca- outstanding, he was awesome today racked up heaps of possessions across half back and wing and was with Prestia split for BOG honours in first half. He's lateral movement is so good. I'd give my left nut for him to have an injury free season this year, just so we can fully see what he can do.
Nankervis- solid without being spectacular, didn't spend much time up fwd. competed hard around the ground against Maric. One of those players you sort of don't notice, so would need to watch him closer.
Griffiths- very concerning, had almost no impact. We are relying on him this year to produce so this performance today worried me. Was up fwd, wasn't used much in ruck. I just hope he is underdone etc etc so will come good in time.
Elton- Jesus he was poor. Had Absolutley no impact and at one stage Dimma was screaming at him to come to the bench and he wasn't coming. Eventually came and Dimma gave him a spray about not coming quick enough.
Bolton- looks a long way off, barely had any impact. Blistering speed though and great fwd pressure just like Rioli struggled to find the footy.
Butler- was happy with his game. Had about 10 touches a few tackles and a couple of chances for shots on goal which were smothered, tough bounce etc etc, looks in unbelievable nick. Will play games this year I'm sure of it.
Cotchin, Martin, Riewoldt- usual stuff from our stars. Can't say any of them exerted themselves to maximum effort unlike a caddy for example but a class above and all played well.
Hunt- solid as he usually is and think he will still be thereabouts for best 22 this year. Still doesn't have a left foot, which stuns me. Was vocal on the ground instructing teammates etc etc which suprised me. Didn't think he was an outgoing type.
Townsend- was fantastic I thought, and has really swung my opinion on him. Cracked in hard, used the ball well and from what I saw today wouldn't be too far off a round 1 spot. Might be an emergency or something. At one stage Grimes gave him a bake about not following a team rule about where to be when a ball went in high to his defence which I found interesting,grimes upholding standards doesn't surprise me though.
Grimes- spent time on Lennon, Jack, castagna which shows his versatility. Solid as usual and used the ball well. Expect another solid year out of Dyl.
C. Ellis- was super, his left shoe is so nice. Delivered a great pass to Lennon and one more inside 50 which I can't quite remember who to but yeah was great off a wing and half back. I expect a solid year out of him and the doomsayers on here might be in for a pleasant suprise about Corey.
B. Ellis- was used almost entirely off a hbf and played really well, one of the best on ground for mine. Would've been top 3 for touches, and always found space to receive through hard running. Mcintosh our bodied him so easily for a mark in the square at one stage though for a goal though which was concerning. He might hurt us defensively in that position.
Lloyd- flashed in and out, but was solid. Played midfeild minutes, so creative every time he gets the ball something happens. You can just tell he's a smart footballer. Pulled a kick to Stengle that no one not even Stengle knew was coming which was so classy, resulting in a goal further down the play. Didn't hit the scoreboard.
Stengle- looks raw, very similar to Bolton just need to invest time into him.
Gartgwaite- so excited by this kid, is tall, spoils hard and kicking technique is already much improved. Had about 10 touches and just didn't look out of place at all. Was our marked by lambert at one stage but really was the only time I recall him getting beaten and lambert had the advantage anyway.
Astbury- thought he played okay and looks confident in his body. Was directing the backline boys with grimes so you know he knows he's a very important peice of the puzzle down there. A leader of the backline and will be better when rance returns.
Lambert- extremely courageous player. Took several marks running back with the flight and used it well. Didn't get a lot of it and with the extra small fwds with have now might not see much game time this year. Didn't hit the scoreboard at all.
Soldo- miles off in every department. I've just about given up on him after today's showing to be honest. An effort to mark, on the wing was particularly bad he was too slow to get to it so it was intercepted meaning he had to try and spoil and it was just so clumsy he ended up collecting vlaustuin high well after the mark and it should've been 50. The players clearly don't trust him to kick and always looked for a handball recieve.
Edwards, Morris, Rance, Hammer, Graham, Houli didn't play. Although none of them could be too far away given the volume and intensity of the running they did. Morris in particular was flying and was quicker than rance when they were running together. Edwards was not involved in the session at all never saw him once. A debut for Graham early on is out of the question now. Maybe rd8-10
Overall we moved the ball faster, no chipping it round and the direction was Clearly to move forward on most occasions. Was a scrappy game but in sure we'll be better for the hitout, can't wait for NAB. Apologies if I missed anyone, just let me know and tag me and I'll do them as well
He never was Mate, so so happy we got him for the cost we did. Josh Caddy is a bloody good footballer, it's just the naysayers that won't accept we did a good dealSo you have seen enough visual data to not describe him as a C grade plodder ?
Nice report mate! You certainly outdid me with some of the descriptions. We had some differing views on a few but I think we'd both agree it was a good hitout, the ball movement was much better, and overall our best 22 looks like being a good side.
Not true!
Merely pointing out that if you use the 'it's only an intra-club practice match' defence to support a player who had a shite game, it's still only a practice match and good form is inconsequential as a result.
But someone like you who sees positives in terrorism attacks and serial killings wouldn't understand that.
Mighty tough job our selectos have for round one picking 38 players in-form, like every other year!
Great report.Sat by myself on the far side after a couple of free Egg and Bacon sangers - cheers RFC !
A few reports already, cheers guys
I'll chuck in my two cents anyway~
Vlastuin: Borderline best on ground, should have been always played as a midfielder/forward, natural footballer and very reliable. He will transform our side being there, as midfield competitiveness was a huge weakness last season. Won some nice clearances and almost kicked a goal from the centre on the run.
Grimes: Hard to comment, didn't really do much that I saw but certainly not a knock on him, obviously a lock in the 22. Made a few nice spoils.
Prestia: For the time he was on the ground, I personally thought he was fantastic. Super quality player that we paid the necessary price for. Was involved in a lot of run through the centre early and was great around stoppages.
Martin: Without wanting to get too far ahead of myself, he looks absolutely amazing. It looks like he has dropped a few kgs, he looks sleek, fit, and ready to have an awesome season. Did some great things but didn't really bother too much to dominate, you could see he had plenty of gears he wasn't trying to activate. Won the first clearance of the game bursting through Cotchin, and also did a don't argue on Jack haha...
B. Ellis: Took a few nice and marks and didn't mind his game down back. Still would prefer him on the wing to run around all day, but he was looking pretty decent. Still well and truly best 22.
Grigg: Solid enough, did a few nice things and got a bit of the ball, nothing particularly standout.
Lennon: Intensity was better than I expected and he did some nice things. Unfortunately I still can't see him in the best 22 yet, he just lacks some speed and doesn't make up for it with other things like Stevie J, for example. Being dropped for that final may well have ruined him at Richmond, but we'll see, still showed enough to give hope.
Riewoldt: Moved well and kicked a few goals, was nice to see him play closer to goal. Bumped Grimes to the ground and took a mark at one stage which was nice. Will be raring to go round 1.
Cotchin: Wasn't massively involved but looked really good, moving the best I can remember in recent years and looked a little freer, like he felt less burdened. Sprinted ahead a few times and nailed some great kicks. I really think the addition of Prestia, Caddy and Vlastuin will help Cotchin be super damaging again, and yeah he looked very good today, quick and strong.
Edwards: Didn't see him today, anyone know if he is injured?
Batchelor: Did some good things and was involved in some poorer plays too, he got run down. But overall I reckon he is one of the more solid options down back. Looked to have reattained the body shape of his best years, so I honestly very much want him there round 1. Batch or Hunt? I know who I'd pick.
Astbury: Few people knocking him in posts today but he was actually pretty decent, and I reckon he appeared to be moving quicker than he has before, which I reckon he can owe to finally having some continuity. His only really poor moment was being run down, but we should be applauding (Rioli?) the player who ran him down.
Houli: Was doing some running and stuff before the game, not sure what else, but yeah didn't play.
Short: Was actually quite solid, his kicking is pretty good from defensive 50. Just not sure about him still, don't think he makes best 22.
Hampson: Running laps before the game, didn't play. He carrying an ankle again or?
Rioli: Not really involved and not that much bigger than we thought, but he did some very nice things. Still expecting a great year from him, will cause teams some headaches.
Rance: The specimen just ran laps but looks great. Anyone know why he isn't getting more involved? Secret injury?
Maric: Moved reasonably well, took a nice mark running toward goal and slotted the set shot. If we need him to step in, I wouldn't be too worried, but he is definitely slower than he was, not quite as intense either as a result. That said he was clearly the best in the ruck contests.
Townsend: Just an average footballer really, did some okay things but yeah, as people have said, VFL is gonna have to be his domain.
Caddy: More and more impressed as the game wore on, did some very good things. Reckon we snared a bargain here. Not a superstar but will be very important.
Lambert: Did some nice things here and there but really went mostly unnoticed, not best 22 unfortunately.
Griffiths: Didn't do much but no tall did really, and he's only just been eased back in so I'm not worried. He's definitely the next best we have and he will be decent. Took a nice mark out-bodying Garthwaite on the wing.
Nankervis: Quite a big unit and played pretty well, definitely has some presence and can play. I reckon he'll be there Round 1. Dropped a couple of marks but overall was pleased.
Miles: I actually thought Miles played pretty well. It's gonna be hard to choose the Round one 22 but I do think Miles plays. Was important in close many times.
Lloyd: Definitely looks super fit and moving very nicely, did some good things in the midfield and took a nice hanger too. He's definitely there Round 1.
Hunt: There's just something about him I don't like, besides being a spud. He gives me the impression he thinks he is best 22 and struts as if so. He's crap, plain and simple. Small, and average skills, missed a few targets by hand. Unfortunately redeemed himself with a nice goal from 50m late, but the pressure was less intense by then so who cares.
Bolton: Super impressive early then appeared to fade. I rated him in an earlier post but it was actually Stengle who had done the things late that impressed me. Bolton appears to read the play well and can shark it from a stoppage and really burst away. Going to be dangerous.
Conca: Spent a mix of time on the ball and in the backline. A spot in the 22 is his to lose for mine, and he was reasonably impressive. Looks in the best shape I've seen. Something has clearly happened in our gyms this preseason.
Markov: He has put on some size, possibly even grown a cm or two, and is super impressive. Lovely skills and runs like a greyhound, cannot wait to see him Round 1 because he belongs there.
C. Ellis: Did some nice things down back and some even better things later on through the midfield. His kicking is sublime and, at one point, he gathered a ball with a down low one-handed pluck on the run which was awesome. Still seems a tad skinny and as if he kinda just glides a tad slowly, but he is a player of our future.
McIntosh: Unfortunately he was always on the opposite side of the ground to me, but he did some nice things too and looks primed, he is amazing shape right now.
Graham: My first look at him, was running laps with Hampson and moving well I thought. Absolute man-child. Has that look about him, like one of those gun big body mids that Adelaide always seem to end up with. Have a good feeling he'll be a 200-gamer even without seeing him play footy.
Broad: Just meh, really. Barely noticed him. Probably gone end of 2017 unfortunately.
Menadue: Frustrated me early by missing some easy handball targets, but got much better later on and combined well for some run. Still fringe in my opinion, but should become a regular in the coming seasons.
Morris: Still in rehab but was running well.
Drummond: Looked to be moving as smooth as I've seen and did some nice things, but not a whole lot really.
Butler: Got himself in the thick of it later on and was reasonably impressive. Might get a couple of games this year as mid/forward.
Garthwaite: Has an odd body shape, not the most athletic looking bloke, but appears to read the play very well and did some really nice spoils. The kicking is a worry to be honest. Not because it stops him kicking well, because he kicks very well, it's because it seems to take him longer to complete his whole kicking action and really has to drop it properly with that two handed drop. Under pressure in defence it might be a liability, but overall he did some nice things and, once he bulks up a bit, we should have a good player.
Elton: Such a shame, just not an AFL footballer. Did one decent thing but overall just doesn't look up to it.
Moore: Shows promise, took some nice marks and was actually the most prominent tall forward besides Jack. Definitely something to work with.
Chol: Still raw and not sure why he was used more in defence but yeah, crashed some packs and definitely bigger. Excited to see how he develops, could be anything still.
Stengle: Really liked this guy, did some great things and took a couple of nice marks. One to watch.
Castagna: Was the most impressive rookie, mostly playing forward. Was more dangerous than Lennon, kicked a couple of goals and works hard. Definitely a chance for Round 1 to be honest.
Soldo: Honestly didn't even notice this guy.
Also enjoyed seeing Rioli, Bolton and Stengle hanging out after the game on their way to doing autographs. Clearly get along very well. Looking forward to seeing them play together.
Can't stress enough how good it was seeing Vlastuin the midfield and resting forward, it will transform us.
If I had to pick a 22 based on today, and still including players who didn't play, I'd go like this:
Grimes, Astbury, Batchelor
Houli, Rance, Markov
Cotchin, Vlastuin, McIntosh
Caddy, Griffiths, Martin
Edwards, Riewoldt, Rioli
Nankervis, Prestia, Conca
B. Ellis, C. Ellis, Miles, Lloyd
Here is a side I would love to see though:
Menadue, Rance, Markov
Caddy, Griffiths, Bolton
Rioli, Riewoldt, Stengle
Nankervis, Martin, Prestia
C. Ellis, Conca, Graham, Edwards OR Castagna
Cheers all
Thank for the review. Glad you had a more positive impression of Lennon. He's a bloke that cops it a lot from this board, and I really want him to stand up because of it.Went along to training/intraclub today and have always appreciated people posting training reports so I'll post my opinions on what I saw today for others who couldn't make it.
Lennon- I am a massive fan of Lennon as a player as I have seen first hand in junior football what this bloke is truly capable of when fit and confident with my team being on the wrong end of his 12 goal haul in u/15's. What I saw today excited me. He tackled hard, ran hard defensively, took 2 strong marks and kicked 2 goals. He competed hard/well at ground level and at one stage during the game drew the praise of Riewoldt when he committed hard running backwards to an aerial ball that he was no chance to mark but forced a spoil to get it over the Boundary line. Riewoldt made a point of calling out to him 'well done Ben Lennon he called out'. You can just see acts like this lift lennons confidence, big confidence player o feel as he then went on to have a brilliant next 10 minutes but then faded late, so still patchy. He also was very competitive for example was calling out for holding the ball decisions when he or other teammates tacked and got around teammates when they kicked goals far more than usual. Seems happy at the club, but also a bloke who knows his career is on the line this year. Delivered a sizzling pass to jack in the second qrt.
Menadue- Faded in and out of the game as he so often does, with flashes of brilliance but overall just not enough out of him. Still looks so skinny, his pace is blistering though. I don't think he'll play round 1 like last year.
Prestia- Great first half performance. Racked up a Mountain of the footy, and always used it well. He has that special ability to hold onto the footy half a second longer than most ensuring he assesses all the options properly and chooses the right one most occasions, without Ever looking rushed. This exact scenario happened on one occasion, waited an extra second took a hit and fed off to Drummond who then broke the next line because Dion had taken the hit and drawn the man. It was just one of those moments in which the difference between say a A.Moore and him is clearly illustrated. I, unlike many here (perhaps not wrongly for the record it was a lot to give) was happy to part with 6 for Prestia if we had to as I rate him so highly. Today only strengthened my feelings on that. Will be an awesome pickup, faded in the second half but that's understandable given he'd be slightly behind fitness wise, seems the consummate professional.
C.Moore- was pleased with his game, have high hopes for Moore to breakout this year. Works hard, is a competitive beast, crashes packs and is enthusiastic. Had a brilliant passage of play at the end of the second qrt when he made a desperate lunge for a ball destined to go over the Boundary, kept it in when everyone else had given up on it paddled it along the line in the fwd pocket, picked it up cleanly then instead of blazing a snap away looked inboard and hit up Townsend. As I said I have high hopes for Moore, and wouldn't be suprised to see him selected ahead of griff at some stage this year. Kicking needs improving and needs to develop a left foot but the signs are there. Miles ahead of Chol at this stage for mine.
Chol- I apologise to those offended by this, I am not a fan of bashing youngsters however in the interests of delivering a proper report this has to be said. Chol was inspid. Yes he competed hard and flew for marks, but he simply had no impact on the game. By the last qrt he was manning the mark in the back pocket and hunt just waltzed around him, with him not breaking out of a walk to chase, it was pathetic and hunt gained an extra 15 metres. If it had happened in an AFL game the media would be all over him. Out bodied Maric at one stage, grabbed it out of the ruck and had a snap at goal and missed but that was just about the only highlight apart from a intercept mark in qrt 3 down back. Just don't know what to think, was the player I was most dissapointted in on the way home after building excitement for him this preseason due to increased muscle etc.
Vlaustuin- heap of midfeild time, won heap of the footy, kicked 2 goals I think. As good as we all knew he would be when eventually released into the midfeild. Gun.
Miles- solid as always about 15-20 touches, winning plenty of frees for being first to the footy. Kicked a nice dribble goal and really hope he's in the plans for best 22 last year, that was a disgrace he got dropped last year IMO.
Caddy- so pleased with his performance, seems a really poplar member of the group already which I think is important. Played about 20% fwd which I liked. 80/20% mid/fwd split is what I hope to see. Tough and strong at the coal face had about 20 touches and a goal.
Batchelor- I like Batch as a player and think we always look better with him in the team as he straightens us up and gives us more aerial coverage down back. Tough, gritty and competitive. He doesn't even give teammates an inch on feild literally crushing the air out of castagna today after a tackle, just lay on him for an extra 10 seconds before being pulled off and a small skirmish with Rioli about it. Wasn't his best game and didn't do much offensively but defensively was sound.
Castagna- awesome game. Used permanently up fwd in the same team as Rioli, Butler which makes me think the coaches wanted to see who works better with Rioli out of him and butler. He tackled well but mainly he hit the scoreboard kicking 2.2 I think. Really impressed and hope he gets some minutes in NAB in our best team.
Rioli- quiet. I have like others bought wholeheartedly into the hype about Rioli this pre season so today was a reality check. The kid is still so young and playing a very difficult position to get a lot of the ball so can be hard to have an impact at times. Have tempered my expectations going into the season about him after today. With that being said his fwd pressure was unbelievable and he had 2 run down tackles so it'll come eventually if he maintains the effort.
KMAC- was solid, used his running to great effect to drift fwd and kick goals. Always get nervous when he takes the Kickouts and today worried me even more with an absolute howler turnover from a lockout to vlaustuin. Looks in great nick, used off half back.
Markov- was really solid and broke lines, kicked long and ran hard to create off half back. Round 1 lock for mine. He's too good to be playing VFL.
Drummond- Hard to assess his game, came in and out. Used off a wing and half back, his kicking was long and penetrating, think he'll be 22-32 depth player for us this year.
Conca- outstanding, he was awesome today racked up heaps of possessions across half back and wing and was with Prestia split for BOG honours in first half. He's lateral movement is so good. I'd give my left nut for him to have an injury free season this year, just so we can fully see what he can do.
Nankervis- solid without being spectacular, didn't spend much time up fwd. competed hard around the ground against Maric. One of those players you sort of don't notice, so would need to watch him closer.
Griffiths- very concerning, had almost no impact. We are relying on him this year to produce so this performance today worried me. Was up fwd, wasn't used much in ruck. I just hope he is underdone etc etc so will come good in time.
Elton- Jesus he was poor. Had Absolutley no impact and at one stage Dimma was screaming at him to come to the bench and he wasn't coming. Eventually came and Dimma gave him a spray about not coming quick enough.
Bolton- looks a long way off, barely had any impact. Blistering speed though and great fwd pressure just like Rioli struggled to find the footy.
Butler- was happy with his game. Had about 10 touches a few tackles and a couple of chances for shots on goal which were smothered, tough bounce etc etc, looks in unbelievable nick. Will play games this year I'm sure of it.
Cotchin, Martin, Riewoldt- usual stuff from our stars. Can't say any of them exerted themselves to maximum effort unlike a caddy for example but a class above and all played well.
Hunt- solid as he usually is and think he will still be thereabouts for best 22 this year. Still doesn't have a left foot, which stuns me. Was vocal on the ground instructing teammates etc etc which suprised me. Didn't think he was an outgoing type.
Townsend- was fantastic I thought, and has really swung my opinion on him. Cracked in hard, used the ball well and from what I saw today wouldn't be too far off a round 1 spot. Might be an emergency or something. At one stage Grimes gave him a bake about not following a team rule about where to be when a ball went in high to his defence which I found interesting,grimes upholding standards doesn't surprise me though.
Grimes- spent time on Lennon, Jack, castagna which shows his versatility. Solid as usual and used the ball well. Expect another solid year out of Dyl.
C. Ellis- was super, his left shoe is so nice. Delivered a great pass to Lennon and one more inside 50 which I can't quite remember who to but yeah was great off a wing and half back. I expect a solid year out of him and the doomsayers on here might be in for a pleasant suprise about Corey.
B. Ellis- was used almost entirely off a hbf and played really well, one of the best on ground for mine. Would've been top 3 for touches, and always found space to receive through hard running. Mcintosh our bodied him so easily for a mark in the square at one stage though for a goal though which was concerning. He might hurt us defensively in that position.
Lloyd- flashed in and out, but was solid. Played midfeild minutes, so creative every time he gets the ball something happens. You can just tell he's a smart footballer. Pulled a kick to Stengle that no one not even Stengle knew was coming which was so classy, resulting in a goal further down the play. Didn't hit the scoreboard.
Stengle- looks raw, very similar to Bolton just need to invest time into him.
Gartgwaite- so excited by this kid, is tall, spoils hard and kicking technique is already much improved. Had about 10 touches and just didn't look out of place at all. Was our marked by lambert at one stage but really was the only time I recall him getting beaten and lambert had the advantage anyway.
Astbury- thought he played okay and looks confident in his body. Was directing the backline boys with grimes so you know he knows he's a very important peice of the puzzle down there. A leader of the backline and will be better when rance returns.
Lambert- extremely courageous player. Took several marks running back with the flight and used it well. Didn't get a lot of it and with the extra small fwds with have now might not see much game time this year. Didn't hit the scoreboard at all.
Soldo- miles off in every department. I've just about given up on him after today's showing to be honest. An effort to mark, on the wing was particularly bad he was too slow to get to it so it was intercepted meaning he had to try and spoil and it was just so clumsy he ended up collecting vlaustuin high well after the mark and it should've been 50. The players clearly don't trust him to kick and always looked for a handball recieve.
Edwards, Morris, Rance, Hammer, Graham, Houli didn't play. Although none of them could be too far away given the volume and intensity of the running they did. Morris in particular was flying and was quicker than rance when they were running together. Edwards was not involved in the session at all never saw him once. A debut for Graham early on is out of the question now. Maybe rd8-10
Overall we moved the ball faster, no chipping it round and the direction was Clearly to move forward on most occasions. Was a scrappy game but in sure we'll be better for the hitout, can't wait for NAB. Apologies if I missed anyone, just let me know and tag me and I'll do them as well
Thank you to everyone who posted reports. You're all champions.
Send from my ipad with righteous man power.
Thank you to everyone who posted reports. You're all champions.
Send from my ipad with righteous man power.
Really! Kel Day Knight shorts? They are so yesterday.No 50. Wasn't on my list.
In other news, saw Ralph Carr in the crowd. He was wearing Kel Day Knight shorts.
Haere Ra
Not sure about that
My theory re Hampson and Rance missing is they are probably the 2 most important players in our squad currently based on their positon and the lack of depth around them they want to be extra cautious. It's not like Rance has to practice to get up to speed anyway, the great man can do no wrong !Sat by myself on the far side after a couple of free Egg and Bacon sangers - cheers RFC !
A few reports already, cheers guys
I'll chuck in my two cents anyway~
Vlastuin: Borderline best on ground, should have been always played as a midfielder/forward, natural footballer and very reliable. He will transform our side being there, as midfield competitiveness was a huge weakness last season. Won some nice clearances and almost kicked a goal from the centre on the run.
Grimes: Hard to comment, didn't really do much that I saw but certainly not a knock on him, obviously a lock in the 22. Made a few nice spoils.
Prestia: For the time he was on the ground, I personally thought he was fantastic. Super quality player that we paid the necessary price for. Was involved in a lot of run through the centre early and was great around stoppages.
Martin: Without wanting to get too far ahead of myself, he looks absolutely amazing. It looks like he has dropped a few kgs, he looks sleek, fit, and ready to have an awesome season. Did some great things but didn't really bother too much to dominate, you could see he had plenty of gears he wasn't trying to activate. Won the first clearance of the game bursting through Cotchin, and also did a don't argue on Jack haha...
B. Ellis: Took a few nice and marks and didn't mind his game down back. Still would prefer him on the wing to run around all day, but he was looking pretty decent. Still well and truly best 22.
Grigg: Solid enough, did a few nice things and got a bit of the ball, nothing particularly standout.
Lennon: Intensity was better than I expected and he did some nice things. Unfortunately I still can't see him in the best 22 yet, he just lacks some speed and doesn't make up for it with other things like Stevie J, for example. Being dropped for that final may well have ruined him at Richmond, but we'll see, still showed enough to give hope.
Riewoldt: Moved well and kicked a few goals, was nice to see him play closer to goal. Bumped Grimes to the ground and took a mark at one stage which was nice. Will be raring to go round 1.
Cotchin: Wasn't massively involved but looked really good, moving the best I can remember in recent years and looked a little freer, like he felt less burdened. Sprinted ahead a few times and nailed some great kicks. I really think the addition of Prestia, Caddy and Vlastuin will help Cotchin be super damaging again, and yeah he looked very good today, quick and strong.
Edwards: Didn't see him today, anyone know if he is injured?
Batchelor: Did some good things and was involved in some poorer plays too, he got run down. But overall I reckon he is one of the more solid options down back. Looked to have reattained the body shape of his best years, so I honestly very much want him there round 1. Batch or Hunt? I know who I'd pick.
Astbury: Few people knocking him in posts today but he was actually pretty decent, and I reckon he appeared to be moving quicker than he has before, which I reckon he can owe to finally having some continuity. His only really poor moment was being run down, but we should be applauding (Rioli?) the player who ran him down.
Houli: Was doing some running and stuff before the game, not sure what else, but yeah didn't play.
Short: Was actually quite solid, his kicking is pretty good from defensive 50. Just not sure about him still, don't think he makes best 22.
Hampson: Running laps before the game, didn't play. He carrying an ankle again or?
Rioli: Not really involved and not that much bigger than we thought, but he did some very nice things. Still expecting a great year from him, will cause teams some headaches.
Rance: The specimen just ran laps but looks great. Anyone know why he isn't getting more involved? Secret injury?
Maric: Moved reasonably well, took a nice mark running toward goal and slotted the set shot. If we need him to step in, I wouldn't be too worried, but he is definitely slower than he was, not quite as intense either as a result. That said he was clearly the best in the ruck contests.
Townsend: Just an average footballer really, did some okay things but yeah, as people have said, VFL is gonna have to be his domain.
Caddy: More and more impressed as the game wore on, did some very good things. Reckon we snared a bargain here. Not a superstar but will be very important.
Lambert: Did some nice things here and there but really went mostly unnoticed, not best 22 unfortunately.
Griffiths: Didn't do much but no tall did really, and he's only just been eased back in so I'm not worried. He's definitely the next best we have and he will be decent. Took a nice mark out-bodying Garthwaite on the wing.
Nankervis: Quite a big unit and played pretty well, definitely has some presence and can play. I reckon he'll be there Round 1. Dropped a couple of marks but overall was pleased.
Miles: I actually thought Miles played pretty well. It's gonna be hard to choose the Round one 22 but I do think Miles plays. Was important in close many times.
Lloyd: Definitely looks super fit and moving very nicely, did some good things in the midfield and took a nice hanger too. He's definitely there Round 1.
Hunt: There's just something about him I don't like, besides being a spud. He gives me the impression he thinks he is best 22 and struts as if so. He's crap, plain and simple. Small, and average skills, missed a few targets by hand. Unfortunately redeemed himself with a nice goal from 50m late, but the pressure was less intense by then so who cares.
Bolton: Super impressive early then appeared to fade. I rated him in an earlier post but it was actually Stengle who had done the things late that impressed me. Bolton appears to read the play well and can shark it from a stoppage and really burst away. Going to be dangerous.
Conca: Spent a mix of time on the ball and in the backline. A spot in the 22 is his to lose for mine, and he was reasonably impressive. Looks in the best shape I've seen. Something has clearly happened in our gyms this preseason.
Markov: He has put on some size, possibly even grown a cm or two, and is super impressive. Lovely skills and runs like a greyhound, cannot wait to see him Round 1 because he belongs there.
C. Ellis: Did some nice things down back and some even better things later on through the midfield. His kicking is sublime and, at one point, he gathered a ball with a down low one-handed pluck on the run which was awesome. Still seems a tad skinny and as if he kinda just glides a tad slowly, but he is a player of our future.
McIntosh: Unfortunately he was always on the opposite side of the ground to me, but he did some nice things too and looks primed, he is amazing shape right now.
Graham: My first look at him, was running laps with Hampson and moving well I thought. Absolute man-child. Has that look about him, like one of those gun big body mids that Adelaide always seem to end up with. Have a good feeling he'll be a 200-gamer even without seeing him play footy.
Broad: Just meh, really. Barely noticed him. Probably gone end of 2017 unfortunately.
Menadue: Frustrated me early by missing some easy handball targets, but got much better later on and combined well for some run. Still fringe in my opinion, but should become a regular in the coming seasons.
Morris: Still in rehab but was running well.
Drummond: Looked to be moving as smooth as I've seen and did some nice things, but not a whole lot really.
Butler: Got himself in the thick of it later on and was reasonably impressive. Might get a couple of games this year as mid/forward.
Garthwaite: Has an odd body shape, not the most athletic looking bloke, but appears to read the play very well and did some really nice spoils. The kicking is a worry to be honest. Not because it stops him kicking well, because he kicks very well, it's because it seems to take him longer to complete his whole kicking action and really has to drop it properly with that two handed drop. Under pressure in defence it might be a liability, but overall he did some nice things and, once he bulks up a bit, we should have a good player.
Elton: Such a shame, just not an AFL footballer. Did one decent thing but overall just doesn't look up to it.
Moore: Shows promise, took some nice marks and was actually the most prominent tall forward besides Jack. Definitely something to work with.
Chol: Still raw and not sure why he was used more in defence but yeah, crashed some packs and definitely bigger. Excited to see how he develops, could be anything still.
Stengle: Really liked this guy, did some great things and took a couple of nice marks. One to watch.
Castagna: Was the most impressive rookie, mostly playing forward. Was more dangerous than Lennon, kicked a couple of goals and works hard. Definitely a chance for Round 1 to be honest.
Soldo: Honestly didn't even notice this guy.
Also enjoyed seeing Rioli, Bolton and Stengle hanging out after the game on their way to doing autographs. Clearly get along very well. Looking forward to seeing them play together.
Can't stress enough how good it was seeing Vlastuin the midfield and resting forward, it will transform us.
If I had to pick a 22 based on today, and still including players who didn't play, I'd go like this:
Houli, Rance, Markov
Caddy, Griffiths, Martin
Edwards, Riewoldt, Rioli
Nankervis, Prestia, Conca
B. Ellis, C. Ellis, Miles, Lloyd
Here is a side I would love to see though:
Menadue, Rance, Markov
Caddy, Griffiths, Bolton
Rioli, Riewoldt, Stengle
Nankervis, Martin, Prestia
C. Ellis, Conca, Graham, Edwards OR Castagna
Cheers all
Hasn't stopped others annointing Short a 22-game player and someone who has flown past Markov (who ws the biggest thing since sliced bread at the end of last season) and Castagna; sand Vlastuin's move to the midfield being a God-send; not to mention all sorts of of predictions about Prestia.
It is as you say a practice game - intra-club no less - on a Saturday in February.
But he didn't kick five against a grand finalist, or take 15 marks in a game. He was never BOG, which Griff was twice last year.Even Madtiger's boy Cleve Hughes kicked 12 goals in a season - that's two off Griffith's best. And the Steamer did it in seven games.
Of course one could argue that to suggest Griff after all these years is suddenly going to have a 'breakout' season is 'ludicrous'.
If he can stay on the park for more than 15 games and kick a goal a game, that will constitute a breakout season for him.
Not asking much am I?
Even Nostradumbass ??
Great report Menadew , but in our new improved midfield Townsend isnt close to getting a game in round 1. Caddy, Martin, Prestia, Cotchin, Miles, Vlastuin all capable inside, who's he getting a game in front of there?
Houli?Was there. Caddy and Vlastuin were the highlights in the middle. I thought Lennon, Moore and Chol showed decent signs. Garthwaite looked comfortable and reliable down back. Only needs to add a few kilos but could play very early in the season and possibly Round 1. He looks like Dustin Fletcher but less skinny. Standing next to Jack and Moore he looked taller. Probably 195cm. Edwards was the only player I didn't see train.