Draft Expert PMBangers 2023 Draft Thread

PMBangers did u watch Curtin or Tholstrup? I see Curtin kicked 2G and Tholstrup 1G. I assume Curtin played as a fwd. Did Tholstrup run through the mid as well?
Haven't gotten around to watching yet, given what we were told pre season and the fact Tholstrup is in the seniors I'd assume both spent a significant chunk of time up forward

why is Curtin playing colts. He should be tearing that comp apart.
The focus for him this year seems to be more about developing his forward craft than playing at higher levels, easier to do that at Colts level than in one of the best competitions in the Country. For his draft stocks it's probably the right move, a lot more to like about a genuine Utility with his ability, even if I do believe they should keep him in the defensive half

Yeah fair point. Having said that I think if he is to be a top 3 pick he will need to play a few league games.
I just watched Tholstrup's league highlights and while they weren't mind blowing they were enough to suggest he is comfortable at league level.

hey PMBangers hows this years top 10 compared to last year? Obviously have interest again in this years draft being an eagles fan, probably net a top 3 pick again. Are there generational/superstar talent at the top 3/5 or is it just Reid?

Can you see eagles taking Curtin? I think we were considering Busslinger last year, but better outcome with hewett and ginbey happened as we needed young mids. Our defensive stocks are solid, Barrass, Bazzo, Edwards. Probably needed another KPF to pair with Allen, can Curtin be that, obviously the WA appeal will be there for our recruiters im sure? If not i think we go for another onballer to pair with Ginbey, Hewett, Hough, Chesser etc

hey PMBangers hows this years top 10 compared to last year? Obviously have interest again in this years draft being an eagles fan, probably net a top 3 pick again. Are there generational/superstar talent at the top 3/5 or is it just Reid?

Can you see eagles taking Curtin? I think we were considering Busslinger last year, but better outcome with hewett and ginbey happened as we needed young mids. Our defensive stocks are solid, Barrass, Bazzo, Edwards. Probably needed another KPF to pair with Allen, can Curtin be that, obviously the WA appeal will be there for our recruiters im sure? If not i think we go for another onballer to pair with Ginbey, Hewett, Hough, Chesser etc
Reid is just the obvious standout right now due to his longevity of performances, I think Moir, Watson and Duursma have that potential in them but here's various question marks that hopefully get addressed throughout the season, though I don't think this years top 3 will be seen to be as close as say Ashcroft/Sheezel/Wardlaw or Daicos/ JHF/ Callaghan

I could see Curtin appealing but if that aim is to draft a Key Forward I'd probably have Archer Reid as my choice instead, personally think Curtin is much better as a defender and should be kept there at the next level

Scouting notes for Round 3 are up 🙏

I've ended up watching most of the games on replay given I've had a dead week (after work hours at least), but attended Sandy v Chargers and Tassie v Pios live. Bendigo have a good group of bottom agers already making an impact, Archer Day-Wicks in particular was immense for a debutant. Tassie have a pretty big gap between their draftables and next tier imo, McKercher and Callinan stand head and shoulders above the pack with Beaumont and Nash also doing a bit of work, they'll be a lot better off once Schoenmaker comes back into the side.

The Chargers bottom agers just put on a show despite the loss, Smith, O'Sullivan's, Gross and Nancarrow were easily in their top 6/7 on the day, with Lorenz the most notable top ager. Philactides got a bit of it but tried to do a bit too much most of the time, I appreciate his speed and evasion are two strengths but think he's got some work to do in balancing that and a safer approach with ball in hand.

Sandy yet again have the list with arguably the most draftable talent this year and it showed, with 30 in the AFL Academy already I doubt they call people up for Saturdays game but Will Brown and Harvey Johnston would certainly be deserving. Also liked the look of Saints NGA Josh Docking on the wing, worked hard and used it well mostly, will be interesting to see how he goes this week with some of the bigger names out of the side

I've ended up watching most of the games on replay given I've had a dead week (after work hours at least), but attended Sandy v Chargers and Tassie v Pios live. Bendigo have a good group of bottom agers already making an impact, Archer Day-Wicks in particular was immense for a debutant. Tassie have a pretty big gap between their draftables and next tier imo, McKercher and Callinan stand head and shoulders above the pack with Beaumont and Nash also doing a bit of work, they'll be a lot better off once Schoenmaker comes back into the side.

The Chargers bottom agers just put on a show despite the loss, Smith, O'Sullivan's, Gross and Nancarrow were easily in their top 6/7 on the day, with Lorenz the most notable top ager. Philactides got a bit of it but tried to do a bit too much most of the time, I appreciate his speed and evasion are two strengths but think he's got some work to do in balancing that and a safer approach with ball in hand.

Sandy yet again have the list with arguably the most draftable talent this year and it showed, with 30 in the AFL Academy already I doubt they call people up for Saturdays game but Will Brown and Harvey Johnston would certainly be deserving. Also liked the look of Saints NGA Josh Docking on the wing, worked hard and used it well mostly, will be interesting to see how he goes this week with some of the bigger names out of the side
Sounds like Sanders is going great over at Sandringham. Hopefully we can get a few more drafted like last year and set up some decent trades for when/if we get our team going in 4-5 years or so. Sanders, McKercher, Callinan, seem like extremely strong chances to be all top 40. Beaumont is having a great start to the season too.

Did I hear that there was an Academy game this week?

Can't find anything on it.
Yep, immediately after Brisbane v North on Saturday, streamed on AFL website

I generally really enjoy reading scout notes as they help me look at players in a light that I may not see them in and after all it’s just an opinion and a bit of fun and/or professional exercise for some. And TBH other than JHF I would assume the kids don’t care where they are ranked by Twomey or on Big Footy experts, they just want to get drafted. But when I read scout notes like this every week I feel like I must have watched a completely different game. I get O’Sullivan, Smith and Gross get a lot of plaudits based on their stat count and 99% of the time I am someone that looks at the positives but if we're being honest boy oh boy do they turn the footy over. Rewatch the game. They remind me of Joel Trudgeon. He always won a heap of the footy but the knock on him was his decision making and ball use, yet most draft pundents had him ranked highly, go figure ;-) You may argue that O’Sullivan, Smith and Gross give off plenty of HB's, but the majority of these are because they are under pressure and about to be tackled or are being tackled and you reckon Philacides was trying to do to much. It’s nothing in comparison to the 3 bottom agers mentioned. I would be very surprised if these 3 run at 40% efficiency. Its very frustrating observing when the play could open up so much, if only they value a HB. I have observed a lot of TAC, NAB, Coates, Oakleigh games due to a past life and still do as a hobby and I’ve gotta say I have never seen so much selfishness, burning of teammates and lack of good decision making by the 3 bottom age boys that win so much of the footy. I don't like talking like this but enough of the follow the leader stuff. That maybe controversial but it’s a fact. No arguing about about their abilty or future prospects as potential draftees. They can clearly get their hands on the ball, but if you can't use it well or know that a HB is just as valuable as a kick then...

Oakleigh has always been a team that plays for one another, but unfortunately not at the moment, however, I reckon the new coach will change this. Sandy had 50 more HB's, 100 more kicks, yet Oakleigh had 1 less i50. Those team stats tell you a pretty clear story that there is a lack of team play and a lot of dump kicks, generally into the oppo's hands. Lorenz was just ok but not because his intent wasn’t there but because like others he gets burnt time after time. His game could have been a hell of a lot better as his running patterns are good but his mid teammates rarely gave him the ball. He is generally a good user and evasiveness, this is why clubs like him, so get the ball in his hands more. Kynan Brown is a bloody tough player but it looks like he is playing on the outside at the moment so this maybe why some may have him ranked lowly, you need to watch how much he gets burnt as the 3 mid bottom agers refuse to bring their midfield teammate into the game. Brown is always looking to dish off first, but doesn't get it back. His 2 kicks, 11 HB's prove this. I don't know how so called draft experts can't see this. When the privates go back I assume he will be the #1 inside mid. Nevertheless, the Dees will draft him. Philacides i50 delivery was superb against Sandy and was probably his teams best user for i50's. His run n gun game showed glimpses especially the 2 bounce run out of D50 into i50 that resulted in a goal. AFL clubs know what they will get with him. But again another one that has great running patterns but gets burnt time after time running out of the D50. Billy Hicks has showed glimpses of what might be possible, but he's very raw and tends to dump the footy and has not been taught how to drive his legs. When i50 he just sees the big sticks vs giving off to a better option. Again, this could be because when he has given a teammate a lick of the icecream, he doesn't get a lick back. Or maybe it's because he is so raw. I still need to see more of Hicks to have an opinion on him. Badr is another run n gun type player. His run out of D50 can be inconsistent especially with decision making which also lends him to turning the footy over a lot. But like with the others his run n gun game can be so much better but he is rarely rewarded. Badr often handballs off, he is another one that makes great running patterns puts himself in good position to get the HB back but his midfield teammates don’t give it. It is so blatantly obvious. So it’s no surprise that the top agers at times hold onto the ball longer than they need to because I assume its because they are trying to show their attributes when they have the ball as they know their teammates won’t share the ball. The 4 main top agers named all have AFL attributes like speed, power, technical skill, evasiveness, ability to think their way through congestion etc so I reckon when all the top agers play Academy, VFL games and/or VM they will appear much better to the eye as the higher the level is more about team than the individual. I also think when the private school boys go back to APS/AGS, Oakleigh maybe be a much more rounded and competitive team. When Davenport was coach they played a very team possession that moved to a fast oriented game, but we all know about the disruption the team has had since he got the GWS job, so no doubt this has had a negative effect on the team. Having said this, listening to the new coach at the huddle (and when he was Sandy assistant as well) I reckon he will nip this selfishness in the bud pretty quickly. He's very experienced, knowledgable, instructive and sounds like a no BS kind of guy. When I observe games I generally look beyond the individual stats board, (However I agree sometimes the stats are just too compelling to ignore) rather I look at how players actually use the ball and how they are a good teammate to make their teammates lives easier on field. Viewing the game this way, for me anyway shows players attributes and flaws. Just my opinion as you have yours :cool:

I generally really enjoy reading scout notes as they help me look at players in a light that I may not see them in and after all it’s just an opinion and a bit of fun and/or professional exercise for some. And TBH other than JHF I would assume the kids don’t care where they are ranked by Twomey or on Big Footy experts, they just want to get drafted. But when I read scout notes like this every week I feel like I must have watched a completely different game. I get O’Sullivan, Smith and Gross get a lot of plaudits based on their stat count and 99% of the time I am someone that looks at the positives but if we're being honest boy oh boy do they turn the footy over. Rewatch the game. They remind me of Joel Trudgeon. He always won a heap of the footy but the knock on him was his decision making and ball use, yet most draft pundents had him ranked highly, go figure ;-) You may argue that O’Sullivan, Smith and Gross give off plenty of HB's, but the majority of these are because they are under pressure and about to be tackled or are being tackled and you reckon Philacides was trying to do to much. It’s nothing in comparison to the 3 bottom agers mentioned. I would be very surprised if these 3 run at 40% efficiency. Its very frustrating observing when the play could open up so much, if only they value a HB. I have observed a lot of TAC, NAB, Coates, Oakleigh games due to a past life and still do as a hobby and I’ve gotta say I have never seen so much selfishness, burning of teammates and lack of good decision making by the 3 bottom age boys that win so much of the footy. I don't like talking like this but enough of the follow the leader stuff. That maybe controversial but it’s a fact. No arguing about about their abilty or future prospects as potential draftees. They can clearly get their hands on the ball, but if you can't use it well or know that a HB is just as valuable as a kick then...

Oakleigh has always been a team that plays for one another, but unfortunately not at the moment, however, I reckon the new coach will change this. Sandy had 50 more HB's, 100 more kicks, yet Oakleigh had 1 less i50. Those team stats tell you a pretty clear story that there is a lack of team play and a lot of dump kicks, generally into the oppo's hands. Lorenz was just ok but not because his intent wasn’t there but because like others he gets burnt time after time. His game could have been a hell of a lot better as his running patterns are good but his mid teammates rarely gave him the ball. He is generally a good user and evasiveness, this is why clubs like him, so get the ball in his hands more. Kynan Brown is a bloody tough player but it looks like he is playing on the outside at the moment so this maybe why some may have him ranked lowly, you need to watch how much he gets burnt as the 3 mid bottom agers refuse to bring their midfield teammate into the game. Brown is always looking to dish off first, but doesn't get it back. His 2 kicks, 11 HB's prove this. I don't know how so called draft experts can't see this. When the privates go back I assume he will be the #1 inside mid. Nevertheless, the Dees will draft him. Philacides i50 delivery was superb against Sandy and was probably his teams best user for i50's. His run n gun game showed glimpses especially the 2 bounce run out of D50 into i50 that resulted in a goal. AFL clubs know what they will get with him. But again another one that has great running patterns but gets burnt time after time running out of the D50. Billy Hicks has showed glimpses of what might be possible, but he's very raw and tends to dump the footy and has not been taught how to drive his legs. When i50 he just sees the big sticks vs giving off to a better option. Again, this could be because when he has given a teammate a lick of the icecream, he doesn't get a lick back. Or maybe it's because he is so raw. I still need to see more of Hicks to have an opinion on him. Badr is another run n gun type player. His run out of D50 can be inconsistent especially with decision making which also lends him to turning the footy over a lot. But like with the others his run n gun game can be so much better but he is rarely rewarded. Badr often handballs off, he is another one that makes great running patterns puts himself in good position to get the HB back but his midfield teammates don’t give it. It is so blatantly obvious. So it’s no surprise that the top agers at times hold onto the ball longer than they need to because I assume its because they are trying to show their attributes when they have the ball as they know their teammates won’t share the ball. The 4 main top agers named all have AFL attributes like speed, power, technical skill, evasiveness, ability to think their way through congestion etc so I reckon when all the top agers play Academy, VFL games and/or VM they will appear much better to the eye as the higher the level is more about team than the individual. I also think when the private school boys go back to APS/AGS, Oakleigh maybe be a much more rounded and competitive team. When Davenport was coach they played a very team possession that moved to a fast oriented game, but we all know about the disruption the team has had since he got the GWS job, so no doubt this has had a negative effect on the team. Having said this, listening to the new coach at the huddle (and when he was Sandy assistant as well) I reckon he will nip this selfishness in the bud pretty quickly. He's very experienced, knowledgable, instructive and sounds like a no BS kind of guy. When I observe games I generally look beyond the individual stats board, (However I agree sometimes the stats are just too compelling to ignore) rather I look at how players actually use the ball and how they are a good teammate to make their teammates lives easier on field. Viewing the game this way, for me anyway shows players attributes and flaws. Just my opinion as you have yours :cool:
Sorry Nathan, didn't mean to offend

Lol. No and a bit unfair for the kid for you to say that. But in all fairness I think I have a reasonable view of the world. So just my opinion on how I have viewed games.
In general I'm not really going to highlight areas of improvement for bottom agers anywhere, let alone in the scouting notes, but I disagree that they turned it over a lot, how O'Sullivan in particular manages to find options through congestion, or turn on a dime mid disposal to find a better one, stood out for me in the game, particularly from D50. Smith as well was classy by foot when he got it on the outside, but probably favoured blind bombs over handball options when he got wrapped up, and Gross admittedly has some room for improvement in disposal overall, but it's not a glaring weakness atm.

I do agree that there were times when they burned their teammates, but it's easy to say that from the sidelines where 1) we can't really hear what the voice is like, 2) we don't know what the team instruction is and 3) we don't get a full view of what's available to them ahead, maybe it's just my philosophy on football but I hate disposal for the sake of it, if you can get from Point A to Point B effectively in one kick, you don't need to add in a handball or two, and at this level, particularly with players that have represented state sides, a lot of them are going to be looking for that kick or back themselves to make it rather than give off a little 3 meter pass. This counts double when players are in space, I don't think recruiters are going to be too concerned about players burning options close to them if they're moving it effectively long, or there's no immediate pressure on them, regardless of how hard their teammates have worked to get into a spot to handball to

If Mitch Edwards doesn't pass his fitness test, as he appeared to cop an injury for Peel last week, I wonder if the Academy would consider including Coen Livingstone as a straight swap for the exhibition match?

Ok, Edwards is 205 and Livingstone is 200 but close enough. Just swap the plane ticket...no problem.

Us one eyed West Australians can't have just 3 reps on display you know.

If Mitch Edwards doesn't pass his fitness test, as he appeared to cop an injury for Peel last week, I wonder if the Academy would consider including Coen Livingstone as a straight swap for the exhibition match?

Ok, Edwards is 205 and Livingstone is 200 but close enough. Just swap the plane ticket...no problem.

Us one eyed West Australians can't have just 3 reps on display you know.
The head honchos believe they're going to have 28 to choose from minus any sudden injuries and won't be calling anyone up AFAIK

10 on the bench is a lot to manage. I don't recall there being this many in the past.
It's always been around 20 and then some inclusions from memory so it's certainly odd that we could realistically have 28, disappointing that it's gonna be hard for everyone to get a fair crack at it given how much people enjoy this game, and for the VIC/TAS kids it's likely the only exposure to mature bodies they'll have this year. Doubt they drop anyone, maybe they'll do a first half team and second half team with some cross over

Tell me more about josh docking? I heard some people were impressed with him last year. Wonder if they will adjust the nga rules. 40 is to high

Worked hard to get involved in chains of play and held his space well around the contest. This week will be interesting for him with a slightly weakened on ball brigade given Sanders will be out, so he might get some more opportunity on the inside

He is next years draft anyway so could change by then

Draft Expert PMBangers 2023 Draft Thread