Liverpool
Lukas Markovic

Date of Birth: 5/01/1987
Height (cm): 193
Weight (kg): 94

Previous Clubs:
Hawthorn/Eastern Ranges

Box Hill Hawks

Lukas Markovic was Rookied from the Eastern Ranges in the TAC Cup back in December 2005.

He was subsequently picked up from Hawthorn and was put on their rookie list in 2006. However, serious ankle problems saw him delisted and return to Box Hill this year.

At the beginning of season 2007, Markovic’s goals for the year included overcoming his ankle injury and having a successful return to playing the consistent footy which enabled him to be picked up by Hawthorn.

Markovic is a classy key position player with an excellent mark and superb defensive skills. Lukas’ goals in the near future are to continue playing to a high standard, hopefully resulting in a chance with Hawthorn, or at another AFL club.

http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/news-read.aspx?NewsId=289

from hawks board:

ex Hawthorn rookie who had injury problems.

Stayed close to Hawthorn playing with Box Hill rising to co captain this year.

Key position back player.

Played season 2009 finals for Box Hill with 3 broken bones in one of feet, still able to play with injections.

Tough player. Committed.

Pace is probably the biggest concern.

Western Bulldogs sounded him out earlier and told him they would draft and have delivered.

Box Hill will certainly miss his talent and leadership.

Gun.

Was hoping we'd draft him.

Ever since he overcame that ankle/leg trouble he had when he first got drafted, he's gone from strength to strength for Box Hill.

Can play either end of the ground and is a good, solid type.

Only question mark over him was his turning circle and/or speed off the mark.

But I reckon you've got a good one.

Gun.

Was hoping we'd draft him.

Ever since he overcame that ankle/leg trouble he had when he first got drafted, he's gone from strength to strength for Box Hill.

Can play either end of the ground and is a good, solid type.

But I reckon you've got a good one.

Thanks. Is he a better defender or Forward?

Any thoughts why the Hawks didn't re-draft him as a tall defender? You went to a lot of trouble re Gibson, but weren't interested in Markovic.

Cheers Buddy. Speed off the mark concerns remind me of Eade's comments about Skip - hopefully this kid isn't tried as a ruckman.

Thanks. Is he a better defender or Forward?

Any thoughts why the Hawks didn't re-draft him as a tall defender? You went to a lot of trouble re Gibson, but weren't interested in Markovic.

He'd be a better defender.

Honestly, i'm surprised we didn't. There was talk this year that we were keen, but I reckon we didn't expect you guys to take him. It's just his pace that has held him back a little - hopefully that's something he can work on with you guys.

He'd be a better defender.

Honestly, i'm surprised we didn't. There was talk this year that we were keen, but I reckon we didn't expect you guys to take him. It's just his pace that has held him back a little - hopefully that's something he can work on with you guys.

Thanks. Is is his speed off the mark an issue? Pretty important for a KP defender.

BTW (and off topic) how is Hodge looking for this pre-season? Has he got over his injuries? (one of my favs - I like hard nuts)

Thanks. Is is his speed off the mark an issue? Pretty important for a KP defender.

Look honestly, I don't think it will be. He's one of those players who reads the play very well, so for a defender, that makes up for it a little ...

I know i'm making him out to sound like freakin' Darren Glass, but he is a solid young backman who honestly if it were not for injuries early in his career, would probably be playing AFL now.

He's had some horrid injuries - but if he can have a proper off-season with an AFL club, work hard on his fitness and speed (supposedly you can improve that these days), he'll become a good young tall for you guys.

BTW (and off topic) how is Hodge looking for this pre-season? Has he got over his injuries? (one of my favs - I like hard nuts)

Looking good, mate. Over all his injuries and is spending alot of time on his fitness. Should be back to his best next year - hopefully with a bigger tank (so more time in the midfield).

Look honestly, I don't think it will be. He's one of those players who reads the play very well, so for a defender, that makes up for it a little ...

I know i'm making him out to sound like freakin' Darren Glass, but he is a solid young backman who honestly if it were not for injuries early in his career, would probably be playing AFL now.

He's had some horrid injuries - but if he can have a proper off-season with an AFL club, work hard on his fitness and speed (supposedly you can improve that these days), he'll become a good young tall for you guys.

Thanks. Perhaps like you, then I can't really understand why your mob didn't re-draft him?

Looking good, mate. Over all his injuries and is spending alot of time on his fitness. Should be back to his best next year - hopefully with a bigger tank (so more time in the midfield).

After Archer retired, Hodge is probably my favourite non-Dogs player. I don't really like show pony forwards or flashy midfielders - I like defenders, hard nuts and gutsy guys (eg Hargrave, Lake, Harbrow, Picken, Boyd and Cross from us).

I wish Hodge all the best for 2010 - terrific player. He'd look very good in red, white and blue IMO. ;)

At the end of season 2009 the Hawks showed interest in Lucas but with players returning to training, young Hawk Ryan Schoenmakers has come back pumped, clearly put on some muscle and upper body strength and is one of the fastest now on the track.

When they secured ex Roo Gibson and looked at Riley Milne the rookie I think they decided they didnt quite need him.

Was close last year. Trained with us before the draft only to be let down again.

Shame.

I wish him all the best except against us.

When they secured ex Roo Gibson and looked at Riley Milne the rookie I think they decided they didnt quite need him.

Was close last year. Trained with us before the draft only to be let down again.

Shame.

I wish him all the best except against us.

Thanks. Interesting that two Hawks Mods here really rate our new Dog. Sounds promising. :)

At the end of season 2009 the Hawks showed interest in Lucas but with players returning to training, young Hawk Ryan Schoenmakers has come back pumped, clearly put on some muscle and upper body strength and is one of the fastest now on the track.

How do you see young Schoenmakers going in 2010? This info is interesting to me, because IMO the Hawks will be back up there next season.

Has filled out very well. Hold very high hopes for him in 2010.

Good to see Lukas get another shot at the big leagues; the pace issue is legitimate but he will do a good job in body on body work. Good character from all accounts also.

Has filled out very well. Hold very high hopes for him in 2010.

Good to see Lukas get another shot at the big leagues; the pace issue is legitimate but he will do a good job in body on body work. Good character from all accounts also.

Thanks.

Is the pace issue one that makes Markovic a very good VFL player but a dubious AFL player?

Nothing against this selection (though a bit worried about his pace) but why did we recruit a backup KPD? Don't the dogs have faith in Tiller anymore?

Good pick-up, have watched him about a dozen times with Box Hill over the past couple of years.

Previously mentioned that he can play at either end, but seems more comfortable down back, where he has played as Box Hill's key defender. Prefer him deep, but can come out to CHB if necessary.

Good cover for if Tom Williams doesn't come on as expected/remains perenially injured.

Also, makes a quite convincing Batman...but that's another story for another day!!!

Good pick-up, have watched him about a dozen times with Box Hill over the past couple of years.

Previously mentioned that he can play at either end, but seems more comfortable down back, where he has played as Box Hill's key defender. Prefer him deep, but can come out to CHB if necessary.

Good cover for if Tom Williams doesn't come on as expected/remains perenially injured.

Also, makes a quite convincing Batman...but that's another story for another day!!!

I can see the logic behind drafting him, seems like we're really hedging our options in defence with Mulligan and now Markovic, while hoping Boumann continues his strong improvement from the second of this year, but did we really need to pick him up in the ND? Would another club (Hawthorn most obviously) have been likely to take him?

I would've thought he was a perfect mature age rookie candidate. Given he's a bit of a smokie, he would've most likely been around for our first pick. We could've used that ND draft to take a punt on a project player such as Panos, Daw, or Temel, who seem unlikely to be around when our first rookie pick comes around given many clubs have shown some interest.

He might be seen as more of a flanker.

Markovic sounds like a good pick-up at pick 63:thumbsu:

Agree and that we dont seem to have a ready made replacement for Lake at FB.

I'm starting to feel abit better with that fact if Lake dose go down we now have more cover for him now, then over the past few years.

By all accounts, he's a top guy too. Good work Doggies, would have happily seen him in Hawthorn colours. I think he's over his ankle/leg issues. A tad more pace off the mark would be good. But at worst, he should be a solid player.

I think Gibson coming in and Schoenmakers improving probably prevented us drafting him.

Pick 63 Lukas Markovic