Pick 1:Gary Buckenara vs Luke Breust

Oct 16, 2003
Murrumbeena
Hello all,

Thought it could be interesting at a time without footy to give you the opportunity to be a coach with a tough choice to make at the selection table. In each case, I have picked 2 players from different eras who I think would be difficult to choose between. Who do you pick? and why?

2 underrated small forwards who could find the ball and find the goals...

Gary Buckenara
154 games, 293 goals (205 games, 393 goals if you include Subi - just to show the similarity)
4 x premiership player
Simpson medallist

v

Luke Breust
208 games, 395 goals
3 x premiership player
2 x AA

Think Breust will have him covered by the time he's finished (although this 2020 season could hurt his overall output)

also averaged over 1 goal assist throughout the premiership years, showing he was worth more than just his own goals.

2014 kicked 57 goals(8th in AFL) and assisted 30(2nd in AFL)
(11th and 5th by average respectively)

Love 'Punky', but Buckenara was something else; the kind of unlikely type who could, for example, take 'speccies' on a whim ... supreme all-round talent, just as suited in the midfield. His numbers might not, ultimately, compare - particularly, after he was cruelled by injury - but one helluva player.

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Think Breust will have him covered by the time he's finished (although this 2020 season could hurt his overall output)

also averaged over 1 goal assist throughout the premiership years, showing he was worth more than just his own goals.

2014 kicked 57 goals(8th in AFL) and assisted 30(2nd in AFL)
(11th and 5th by average respectively)

Yes, elite at setting others up. In fact, he is 6th for average assists since the stat has been kept and 21st for total assists (will be top 10 after another season at his average). Makes sense too - is unselfish and is an elite user - thing of beauty seeing him direct players with ball in hand before perfect delivery (such as to Mitch Lewis last year). Another underrated part of his game is his defensive side - he has gone 80+ tackles every year of his career (beside debut), 90+ 5 times and 100+ twice. Compared to say Eddie Betts who has gone 80+ 3 out of 15 seasons and never gone 90 or 100+.

Forward defensive pressure and excessive tackling wasn't a thing in Bucky's day and we have no record of his number of assists. I would guess that Breust would be in front, especially if you take into account 'proportional scoreboard impact' given the reduced scoring in modern footy.

However, Breust is a true forward pocket who stays pretty close to goal. Bucky was a high half forward who had stints in the middle. Bucky averaged 20 touches a game (which is the equivalent of 25+ these days) whilst Breust averages 15. Bucky also had really prolific days in the middle, with 6 occasions of 35+ touches.

Breust has the extra longevity with the extra 50 games and still going.

Just a little extra food for thought.

Bucky was a superstar in a team littered with superstars in an era when the Hawks reign of supremacy was even more impressive than the 2011+ period. Big fan of Bucky, love the Brewster but IMO Bucky wins this contest comfortably. Bucky and Tony Hall in the same side was worth the entry fee on its own.

Buckenara easily. Good as Breust's game is, Bucky was far more expansive. Able to dominate in the centre, booming kick, elite passer. Could take screamers. I was astounded in the 87 prelim, he leapt clear OVER Jim Stynes for a mark attempt running full tilt.

I recall him dobbing eight goals playing on the ball for WA vs Victoria, bombing a couple from the centre square. Freak.

I am great admirer of breust but bucky was something else. If not for injury he would have become a superstar of the game. Could run jump mark and is one of the best kicks of the football i have seen especially kicking for goal

Breust is one of my favourites now and Bucky was back then.

As much as I love Breust, it is Buckenara here. The guy was amazing. I honestly thought 86 (Dippers year) was Bucky's Brownlow year.

Supreme big match player. Goal kicker. On baller. Ball user. And those hangers.

Punky seriously underrated, a truly unique small forward. Good and consistent at everything, plus some x-factor. If he wasnt so modest and low key he would be up there with the best.
I agree mate punky is underrated but bucky was just something else.

Just loved finals training at glenferrie could hear dermie yelling out bucccccckkkkkyyyy as he yelled for the ball and it hit him on the chest

Allan Jeans considered Bucky our best `big game' player. That is a huge compliment with the likes of Derm, Ayres, Mew, Dipper in the team.

Bruest is probably the best player on our list right now. Such a pure talent in his position.

Both players probably make our 100 year team. Impossible to chose between them, but i suspect Bucky would win in a photo finish.

Bucky for mine.

Just re-watched the 1986 WA v VIC state of origin game and Bucky was just on another level. Playing mostly in the midfield he kicked 5 snags and must have had a hand in at least 6 more. Well worth watching if you haven't seen the game.

Buckenara would comfortably be my choice. An absolute star of the great 80s team. A couple of the best games I saw him play live were actually playing for the reserves in the '85 finals series where he was just so far above that level it was ridiculous.

Breust's record as one of elite small forwards of his era is exceptional but given the choice I wouldn't hesitate to choose Bucky in my team ahead of him.

Punky seriously underrated, a truly unique small forward. Good and consistent at everything, plus some x-factor. If he wasnt so modest and low key he would be up there with the best.
He is up there with the best. In fact I rate him the best small forward of 2010-2020 (ahead of even Betts and Cyril). Has the goals, the goal assists, the tackles and the consistency to overall be rated above both of them IMO.

No shame to be regarded in the same sentence as Gary Buckenara.

Buckenara would comfortably be my choice. An absolute star of the great 80s team. A couple of the best games I saw him play live were actually playing for the reserves in the '85 finals series where he was just so far above that level it was ridiculous.

Breust's record as one of elite small forwards of his era is exceptional but given the choice I wouldn't hesitate to choose Bucky in my team ahead of him.
I think you're talking about the final series where he got dropped to the reserves.
I think he had been injured and didn't make selection because they were concerned about whether he'd stand up.
I remember him playing the final likehe was setting out to prove wrong.
he parked himself at full forward and took the screamer after screamer clearly best on ground.

I had a look at the 1986 Grand Final on DVD a couple of weeks ago. The memories of the game from my childhood were all about Dunstall kicking a bag on Doull, Brereton and Ayres kicking a long goal.

Watching again I couldn't believe how awesome Bucky was in that first half. Super player.

Love to watch Luke Breust. He will have quiet games, but don't think I've ever noticed him get flat-out beaten by his direct opponent where he loses contest after contest over the course of a game.

Bucky was elite playing as a ruck rover or in the centre. He was in the top 5 afl players in 1987.

Playing in a ridiculously talented team he was forced on to flank hence the stats favour Breust. Breust could never go into the centre and kick 8 goals at state of origin level.

It is an unfair comparison an elite mid who could rest forward and be elite as a forward v a specialist small forward.

A better comparison for Breust, role for role, might be Rioli even if they played in the same teams.

Pick 1:Gary Buckenara vs Luke Breust