• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Ovens & Murray Season 2013

Not sure if you're permitted to play for 2 different clubs on the same weekend... or is this another case of 'its ok he's an ex AFL player'

There has only ever been one rule book mate, just depends how close you read the small print. Be great if you could give us an O&M example of 'its ok he's an ex AFL player' situation...

Also Corowa 2nds have had players from surrounding leagues play against Yarra (Sunday games) on permit for years, backing up after thier Saturday game. Corowa 2nd's... basically the opposite of an ex AFL players!

Hey listen Referee if you have no idea what you are talking about then say nothing.
You reckon you know all about what Yarra and the fev are doing you blokes are so way off the mark it is laughable some of the stuff i read here about Yarrawonga and what they are paying players and how much debt their in is stuff made for the comedy club.
You guys keep questioning the young blokes i can tell you they love it they play in front of big crowds the reserves are flogging everyone and they only have 4 doing the road trip and two of them are locals
And by the way learn how to spell.

Loved reading what you said and the passion you wrote with mate but had to giggle at the line about spelling. You just wrote "how much debt their in". Try "how much debt they're in".

There has only ever been one rule book mate, just depends how close you read the small print. Be great if you could give us an O&M example of 'its ok he's an ex AFL player' situation...

Also Corowa 2nds have had players from surrounding leagues play against Yarra (Sunday games) on permit for years, backing up after thier Saturday game. Corowa 2nd's... basically the opposite of an ex AFL players!

the only way this can happen is if he gets cleared by yarra, and then cleared back, so obviously there would have to be some kind of agreement between clubs... and leagues... So yes once again it's a case of an 'AFL player can do as they please'
.. good luck to you but again what about the poor buggers that get dropped for them to play

the only way this can happen is if he gets cleared by yarra, and then cleared back, so obviously there would have to be some kind of agreement between clubs... and leagues... So yes once again it's a case of an 'AFL player can do as they please'
.. good luck to you but again what about the poor buggers that get dropped for them to play

Clearance in for Fev to Griffith. Hope the relationship between Griffith and Yarra is sweet or they might not get him back!

Liquid if you come from a lower league so to speak you can get a permit to play in a higher league ******* anyway why isn't Fev playing every week tell the truth

he played 16 games last year, not a handful like you are suggesting. will play a simlar amount this year

Agree on this. Last year he was only meant to play home games. He ended up playing most of the season.

Good on him I say.

Went to the Albury/North game today and was impressed with the Tigers although North gave a good account of themselves but just lacked a bit of class. The return of Joel Mackie gave the Tiges extra grunt in the middle and with his ability to go forward and kick goals makes him such an important cog. Aker tried hard all day and gave the Hoppers the spark that saw them kick five in a row late in the 3rd quarter. Jason Gram was again quiet but he didn't look 100% fit. Chris Hyde is all class and never wastes a disposal. Norths' key forwards Prior and Godde just couldn't get enough supply to be effective and when the ball was loose in the Hoppers forward line Alburys' backs cleaned up way to easily. Two who really impressed me all day were both Tigers, Bryce Carroll had the ball out wide so much he would have had blisters, all his 20 odd pocessions were uncountested and didn't seem to have an opponent at any stage of the game. The other that stood out was Lonnie Hampton, this kid is brilliant. His ability to run into space and break the lines makes him probably the Tigers most dangerous player, and he kicks goals as well. Surely this young fella can play interleague!! Anyway great day had at the footy!!

So Corowa want a easier draw?? Not sure if that will help them. So they want to play bottom teams early in the year and maybe win a couple and build confidence up then when they play top teams get smashed and players leave. Not sure how the O&M can fix it but I don't see Myrtleford saying much. And in the end Fev didn't kill them it was Pettiffer . Lavi could be the sleeping dogs . Just need a full forward to stay.

I read in the border raiders coach Stevenson still having a go at Davies!!!
I could be wrong but that is the way I took it about playing younger players and not spending $45,000 on a player.

Time for them to move on I would have thought!

I would say spot on G.I.F i didnt seem to worry Ken when he was out at Jindera and spending a sold bit of coin.
The playing of juniors is always the party line when you are unable to lure anyone to your club.

I would say spot on G.I.F i didnt seem to worry Ken when he was out at Jindera and spending a sold bit of coin.
The playing of juniors is always the party line when you are unable to lure anyone to your club.

And I think it's great they are playing young blokes but time to get over it.

He was there for a year, and may only play a year at wang too! Who knows!

And I think it's great they are playing young blokes but time to get over it.

He was there for a year, and may only play a year at wang too! Who knows!

In the Raiders are the only one to blame. Change of coach and not getting a big name hurt them. They aren't rebuilding ( playing juniors ) because these guys have been there for a few years now. Big Spence was off to Chiltern but changed his mind when Rose left. Then they go and get the Melbourne guys pushing him back to the 2's. Stevenson had it fairly easy at Jindera but this is O&M . You must get quality players or you will struggle. And if a players jumps ship who cares like you said it was only one season.

Went to the north v rovers game on sunday.......very average game of football, thought north slaughtered the ball with there use and decision making and pretty much handed rovers the 4 points. both with a lot of work to do to catch the top 3. well done to john hunt amazing effort 300 games.

My news is that there is a massive recruit going to corowa...

Matthew Lloyd playing one off game!! Probably round 13...

Have heard u mention his name on other threads. U are a big wrap for him obviously. Can u tell us a bit about him

Well, the above was my obvious lame attempt at humour, but in actual fact, I do reckon he can play a bit. I think he's originally from somewhere near Albury, but I watched him play 6-8 times for Nightcliff in the NTFL this year & was pretty impressed. Runs hard, is evasive and skillful. I haven't met him but he doesn't have a great rep, if Aker can get the best out of him I think he could have an impact at O&M level.

A couple of points to to above threads.
Mathew LLoyd round 13 how dumb are Corowa why would you get a marquee player and then play him against Yarrawonga at the grove the Yarra boys will be licking their lips and i can assure you they wont be paying any money for Lloyd to play that day

I watched that Jurrah play round 1 for magpies rest assured the two big clubs wont be losing any sleep over him after half time when it got tough he didnt want a bar of getting the ball.

Regarding Jurrah signing with Nth Albury that would be his 4th club he has signed with this season.Been told he can play footy but only thinks of himself and likes clubs chasing him has a big ego.Maybe he should stay where he is and honor his contract and prove to everyone he knows what commitment is instead wanting to read about himself in the paper .Bad move Nth Alb aren't you getting the crowds through the gate like you thought you would.

Firstly, his name is JARRAH. Secondly, he hasn't signed with North. If the border mail had bothered to contact anyone from North they would have confirmed that. North did not approach him. He left Magpies and is training at North, that is all at this stage.
Maybe he just wants to see whether he can improve his footy and his life in general under the guidance of one of the biggest names in the game?

Well, the above was my obvious lame attempt at humour, but in actual fact, I do reckon he can play a bit. I think he's originally from somewhere near Albury, but I watched him play 6-8 times for Nightcliff in the NTFL this year & was pretty impressed. Runs hard, is evasive and skillful. I haven't met him but he doesn't have a great rep, if Aker can get the best out of him I think he could have an impact at O&M level.

Can vouch for that. Not a bad player and has good athleticism but any club looking at signing him should probably be cautious.

Absolute simple way of fixing the interleague issue of player 'unavailability'.

Of the final 22 selected to play - the club they represent receives 0.25 premiership points for their player making the final team & representing the league. i.e - if 4 Myrtelford players make the final team then they receive 1 premiership point. If they win 5 games for the year their total premiership points at years end = 21.
Let the clubs pay the bonuses to the guys who make the final team.
And before someone jumps up and down saying well Penda could pick 10 lavy guys are reap the premiership points - simply cap a clubs maximum player participation at 4.
This would give great exposure to a large contingent of players from all clubs, would show the real strength of the league from the top club to the bottom club, and most importantly it puts the onus back on the players employer (the club !) to ensure that their best talent is available, providing they are not legitimately injured of course. At the end of the day the clubs benefit from their players making the final team !

Fix another problem of guys wanting a week off instead of playing rep footy - why dont we just have a 2 week break ! A week off for the interleague game, then the following week off as a general bye ? Start the season a week earlier if we have to. Dont think many would begrudge a mini mid-season break :thumbsu:

Ovens & Murray Season 2013