Our Starting 22 - Round 1 2022

Are we safe in assuming Lambert, Graham, Grimes and possibly Vlas are the only 4 genuine first 22 that are likely to miss

Vlastuin is almost a certainty to play

A month or so before Xmas last year we lost our faithful Tiger striped (brindle) old boy after 14 years. He gave loyal service, was the family Protector and my faithful companion since he was a little puppy, rarely leaving my side. We were broken hearted, particularly my English born wife as he was her first ever dog.

Any of you who have lost a close family pet will understand how hard it can be. After being with him in his last moments, listening to him take his last breath and letting out a big final sigh as he passed away, I don't mind admitting all my defences came down and I cried like a big 100kg baby. I swore then that I'd never own another dog, it was just too hard having to let go...

Now, on the eve of a new season, a lovely little fella has entered our lives...it's funny sometimes how the universe provides. In just a few days, my depression and sadness has lifted and all that energy is now positively directed towards this new recruit. Meet Dusty Norman Smith...the new member of our family, first round draft pick and my new bestest buddy !

View attachment 1341452
View attachment 1341453

What do you reckon, best 22 ?
Mate sooo happy for you.i know how important a dog who is your best mate is for your mental health,look at my avatar. My brindle staff is 12 and I'm dreading the day he leaves without him helping me through some dark times I would not be around to enjoy the birth of my first child two months ago.im positive your best mate would have wanted you to be happy and share your love and friendship with another dog,and its great to hear its put you in a good place!!!

Any news on whether Prestia and Soldo are good to go ?

Assuming Grimes won't get up.

Graham and Lambo definitely out.

Back six:

Short Tarrant Broad
Vlaustin Gibcus Rioli

7th defender - Ralphsmith

Gibcus gets the job on Charlie ?
(With Balta available to throw back if the SHTF)

B: Broad, Tarrant, Gibcus
HB: Short, Vlasutin, Rioli
C: Ross, Cotchin, McIntosh
HF: Bolton, Baker, Edwards
F: Balta, Lynch, Riewoldt
R: Nankervis, Prestia, Martin
I: Soldo, Castagna, Aarts, Ralphsmith

EMG: Caddy, Pickett, Miller, Cumberland

Running with the assumption that Captain Grimes is certain to miss and Graham won't be fit for round one. Pretty confident this will be the team. Emergencies could be anyone on our list really, but would be surprised if anyone other than Caddy, Pickett or Cumberland were to be the sub.

If you are hoping that whipping boys Aarts and Castagna will be left out of round one and the future you will be left very disappointed. Taking what we saw from the preseason, their roles have only been upgraded and they are both finding plenty more of the ball. Aarts in particular has spent time rotating into the midfield and attending some centre bounces with 4 clearances to his name against the Hawks (tied most for the team). Castagna had 20+ touches against Geelong and 18 against the Hawks with goals in both games. I have no idea what position Castagna is ever playing anymore because of how hard he runs around the ground. Both of their work rate are very important to the team.

B: Broad, Tarrant, Gibcus
HB: Short, Vlasutin, Rioli
C: Ross, Cotchin, McIntosh
HF: Bolton, Baker, Edwards
F: Balta, Lynch, Riewoldt
R: Nankervis, Prestia, Martin
I: Soldo, Castagna, Aarts, Ralphsmith

EMG: Caddy, Pickett, Miller, Cumberland

Running with the assumption that Captain Grimes is certain to miss and Graham won't be fit for round one. Pretty confident this will be the team. Emergencies could be anyone on our list really, but would be surprised if anyone other than Caddy, Pickett or Cumberland were to be the sub.

If you are hoping that whipping boys Aarts and Castagna will be left out of round one and the future you will be left very disappointed. Taking what we saw from the preseason, their roles have only been upgraded and they are both finding plenty more of the ball. Aarts in particular has spent time rotating into the midfield and attending some centre bounces with 4 clearances to his name against the Hawks (tied most for the team). Castagna had 20+ touches against Geelong and 18 against the Hawks with goals in both games. I have no idea what position Castagna is ever playing anymore because of how hard he runs around the ground. Both of their work rate are very important to the team.
What has Pickett done to be so out of favour, I wonder?

I don't super-rate him but surely ahead of Aarts in that up and down the field role? Farrkkkk

Perhaps preseason fitness?

Carlton board is mostly super confident of beating (smacking) us. Like, I get it, you've recruited fifteen hundred blokes from other teams, your list is prime age now, we are mostly on the wrong side of 30 after a dynasty period, SURELY you beat us finally.

But still... I can't help but be annoyed by their almost smugness, like, we beat those blokes for 8 years straight and every single one of those seasons Carlton was hyped up as being the next big thing. Where do you get off being smug? You've been failures for over a decade. Well here we go yet a-friggin-gain.

Whether or not they actually beat us, whether or not they are actually now a good, finals-bound side, to me they've had their chance. Now they've just bought a good side and I won't take them seriously, much like the Bombers who had to steal all of coaches/gameplan/culture from us to be any good.

Anyway, still, just excited to have footy back. If we lose, don't worry, don't get sucked in by all of their smug comments, we've danced all over them for a long time now and they will only beat us (if they even do) because we're old. Take 2 years off the age of our core group and we'd smack them there and back again without question.

A month or so before Xmas last year we lost our faithful Tiger striped (brindle) old boy after 14 years. He gave loyal service, was the family Protector and my faithful companion since he was a little puppy, rarely leaving my side. We were broken hearted, particularly my English born wife as he was her first ever dog.

Any of you who have lost a close family pet will understand how hard it can be. After being with him in his last moments, listening to him take his last breath and letting out a big final sigh as he passed away, I don't mind admitting all my defences came down and I cried like a big 100kg baby. I swore then that I'd never own another dog, it was just too hard having to let go...

Now, on the eve of a new season, a lovely little fella has entered our lives...it's funny sometimes how the universe provides. In just a few days, my depression and sadness has lifted and all that energy is now positively directed towards this new recruit. Meet Dusty Norman Smith...the new member of our family, first round draft pick and my new bestest buddy !

View attachment 1341452
View attachment 1341453

What do you reckon, best 22 ?

Great story mate.

Yep, it's amazing how a new recruit can really turn things around. :)

Carlton board is mostly super confident of beating (smacking) us. Like, I get it, you've recruited fifteen hundred blokes from other teams, your list is prime age now, we are mostly on the wrong side of 30 after a dynasty period, SURELY you beat us finally.

But still... I can't help but be annoyed by their almost smugness, like, we beat those blokes for 8 years straight and every single one of those seasons Carlton was hyped up as being the next big thing. Where do you get off being smug? You've been failures for over a decade. Well here we go yet a-friggin-gain.

Whether or not they actually beat us, whether or not they are actually now a good, finals-bound side, to me they've had their chance. Now they've just bought a good side and I won't take them seriously, much like the Bombers who had to steal all of coaches/gameplan/culture from us to be any good.

Anyway, still, just excited to have footy back. If we lose, don't worry, don't get sucked in by all of their smug comments, we've danced all over them for a long time now and they will only beat us (if they even do) because we're old. Take 2 years off the age of our core group and we'd smack them there and back again without question.
Their culture is still gonna be fkd.
Made even worse by chopping another Coach mid contract and taking a failed coach famous for his absolutely dumbfounding gameday coaching. A guy who is going to disenchant the players by trying to artificially give them a hard edge and force them to be next Voss, Black, Scott etc. The new coach effect always has a "honeymoon" period where players will play out of their skin for the first 5 or 6 weeks, which we may see Thursday night. But I don't expect it will last.

5 coaches in 9 years. A Frankenstein of a playing squad comprised mostly of the weakest parts rejected from other teams. Nothing for us to fear.

They played well in the first half against the Dees.
Two ways to carry the ball, run and spread or channel.
If they spread too much, get hurt on the rebound offensive.
They channelled out to Kennedy as the offensive mid, the link to the forward line.
Goodwin left Kennedy unattended at times, and paid the price, 7 inside 50s.
Got the jump on the Dees with 10 goals in the first half.

What has Pickett done to be so out of favour, I wonder?

I don't super-rate him but surely ahead of Aarts in that up and down the field role? Farrkkkk

Perhaps preseason fitness?
He’s done nothing he has not had opportunities! Aarts meh- pickett is a huge upgrade

Hi Folks,
Is Mate Colina showing any decent signs?
I'm thinking about him in the 2nd round of the PSD in our keeper league with a view to the long term.
Cheers.

Hi Folks,
Is Mate Colina showing any decent signs?
I'm thinking about him in the 2nd round of the PSD in our keeper league with a view to the long term.
Cheers.

Has still been overseas playing basketball most of the time, not sure on his skills.in that

Well, we've probably lost at the selection table then.