Our ruck situation

Griffin played a blinder yesterday for east Freo in the WAFL GF.
Had a Season high 43 HO's against Richmond. Compare his stats (as a backup to Sandi) with Goldy's.

GM K HB D M G B T HO FF FA DT SC
JG 13 6.6 4.5 11.2 2.8 0.3 0.2 3.5 24.7 1.2 0.7 77.1 91.8
TG 21 5.4 6.8 12.2 2.7 0.1 0.2 2.5 31.6 0.8 1.0 79.0 93.0

Would be a nice back up I reckon.

He's a tricky one. He moved there to go home, from memory. Wouldn't come to Vic to be a backup. Also a good chance to get the gig when Sandi is injured/retired.

Hindsight is a great thing.

If we had have shipped off H then, it would have been a ridiculous decision.

Mabon: miles off it.

Petrie; integral forward target.

Daw: No. Just no.

Pedersen: The big question. Maybe, but just maybe.

Goldie goes down with a season ender and we would have been screwed.

Many of us argued strongly for it to happen 12 months ago. The same process of bringing in a serviceable backup applied, H just had more value.

jonathan giles is out of contract i think

Again, he wouldn't want to come to North. He's a quality #1 ruckman.

We should be looking at a guy like Hickey. He's open to moving and GC are aware they could offload one of their 4 quality young rucks.

I would also be fine with bringing in a journeyman type like Wood.

I also believe it's a myth that without him we'd be badly exposed in the event that Goldy gets injured.

personally i think we need to develop a 2 ruckman strategy, look at the 2 teams playing off in the grand final, they both have 2 ruckman strategy,

collingwood you could argue relying solely on jolly are exposed as dawes isnt up to the standard.

we were exposed in games where goldy didnt fire and also after he got cleaned up WCE in tassie.

i believe we will never win a flag with a single ruck plan and we really need to address the issue if its to be fixed in the next 3 years when we may have a genuine premiership window.

in 3 years time Hmacs hourglass iam afraid may be nearly out of sand.

Not the first time ive suggested it, wont be the last.

SMACK!!!!!!!

Fits so many peramiters perfectly, age is good, wage would be good, trade cost would be good, potential upside is good, can currently cover for injuries as an adequate ruck.

Name is nothing but a name and does not bias this decision at all. Its current ability, cost and potential upside fitting our needs that draws me much more than name.

If the offer is good enough for Hamish then take it.
If we want ruckman we should be trying to pinch one of the young ruck man from port or the doggies.
They can develop alongside goldy.
Ruck man flourish with consistent game time. Look at Cox, everyone (especially there own supporters) thought he was woeful, but he had to play because Gardiner went down. Now looked at the w**ker!
It's wasteful to have goldy and H when they both can't play in the same lineup.

Hank would be wasting his own time staying.

Surely he would be mindful that his no certainty to play as the No.1 ruckmen even if his body holds up preseason.

Trade and allow a draft pick to go towards developing other deficiencies.

Hank would be wasting his own time staying.

Surely he would be mindful that his no certainty to play as the No.1 ruckmen even if his body holds up preseason.

Trade and allow a draft pick to go towards developing other deficiencies.

Agree.

We would have to pay part of his salary one would assume if he was (assuming he could be) traded. But that would still be better than paying another 400K for a player who is not required in our best 22 - for all the reasons already stated in the OP.

Cheap back-ups to Goldstein that could simply compete if he went down would be very easy to find, ensuring there is adequate ruck depth.

If we keep Pederson and actually play him, then we don't need McIntosh. Pederson was serviceable against West Coast as a ruckman the one time that Goldstein and McIntosh both missed. He is also more versatile than both Mcintosh and Tarrant in terms of being able to play forward and back.

I would prefer we kept Pederson and traded Mcintosh and have Tarrant be the tall missing out if everyone is fit. If we trade Pederson, then we need to keep McIntosh and play him ahead of Tarrant.

If we keep Pederson and actually play him, then we don't need McIntosh. Pederson was serviceable against West Coast as a ruckman the one time that Goldstein and McIntosh both missed. He is also more versatile than both Mcintosh and Tarrant in terms of being able to play forward and back.

I would prefer we kept Pederson and traded Mcintosh and have Tarrant be the tall missing out if everyone is fit. If we trade Pederson, then we need to keep McIntosh and play him ahead of Tarrant.

There is so much to like about this post. Trade a straight ruckman who deserves to play seniors each week and retain a utility player that can come in and play a role forward, back or in the ruck if required depending on injuries. Pederson won't dominate in any one of those positions but will compete and play his role in any position.

Seems a slam dunk to me.

I totally agree. Having pedo play as a third tall/swing man/2nd ruck/sub makes so much sense. He is fit, big and impacts the contests. Works hard forward and back and is very competitive around the ground.

Having Goldy/Pedo rucking would rival Hale/Roughead. Except that pedo isn't quite as good as Roughead.

If hamish could net us the cats first + Dawson I would do it in a heartbeat. We gain a big bodies ruckman, and we also gain another solid draftee. The top 20 this year is very very solid compared to previous years.

Also...Potentially..trading Hamish could free up cap space to go after someone like Goddard. I know a lot of people aren't keen on Goddard but at his best he is a game breaker. He would free up guys like boomer and wells.

I totally agree. Having pedo play as a third tall/swing man/2nd ruck/sub makes so much sense. He is fit, big and impacts the contests. Works hard forward and back and is very competitive around the ground.

Having Goldy/Pedo rucking would rival Hale/Roughead. Except that pedo isn't quite as good as Roughead.

I also completely agree with this. We would become more flexible and competitive around the ground.

Thing is, Scott made zero use of such a structure this year - basically was completely off the radar. What makes you think his thoughts are going to change?

I also completely agree with this. We would become more flexible and competitive around the ground.

Thing is, Scott made zero use of such a structure this year - basically was completely off the radar. What makes you think his thoughts are going to change?

Goldy looked absolutely stuffed by the end of the year. It would have been nice if we had of had someone (other than drew...would rather him play 100% in the fwd line...especially now that he is getting older) to play the 2nd ruck role. Pedersen would have filled the void perfectly. Could have played him off a wing Or the hbf and not damaged the triple towers structure.

I honestly don't know what BON was thinking but we are a better side with Pedersen in it. But the best side wasn't always put on the park because development is so important to him...

Pederson was serviceable against West Coast as a ruckman the one time that Goldstein and McIntosh both missed.

His debut game was a bit overrated to my mind. Yes, he did better than you might have expected, but his opponent was BOG and there is no doubt that with Goldy or HMac in we would have comfortably won that game. I think it highlights exactly why you do need a decent ruckman as a backup, not a bits and pieces tall utility.

Goldy looked absolutely stuffed by the end of the year. It would have been nice if we had of had someone (other than drew...would rather him play 100% in the fwd line...especially now that he is getting older) to play the 2nd ruck role. Pedersen would have filled the void perfectly. Could have played him off a wing Or the hbf and not damaged the triple towers structure.

I honestly don't know what BON was thinking but we are a better side with Pedersen in it. But the best side wasn't always put on the park because development is so important to him...

I agree with all of this. The first para i've been saying all year, and it was inevitable that Goldy would be rooted by years end - was very poor coaching and list management. (put Atley/Harper/Macmillan and others in the same boat, didn't get a spell when we had options available and hence were not at their best when it counted)

Neither do I, his selection was all over the place from round 1 onwards. Better not be the case next year or it will be another very frustrating season.

This is a very interesting debate.
I wouldn't be surprised if the club draft a project ruckman and rookie a mature one (all though I'm not to sure how many would be left tbh). Keep Hank for another year and hope like hell Maj comes on (purely as a forward pinch hitting in the ruck). I also think that both Goldy and Hank will ruck next year, not as a duo but more swapping from afl/vfl.

agree. Roughy is a gun IMO. takes contested marks, is a beautiful kick and is pretty tough.

Pedo is a long way behind but he would play a similar role. Pedo on his day can really clunk marks, his biggest attribute is that he works so bloody hard an has a mature body. He will compete well against any 2nd ruck in the league minus Nic Nat/Cox and mumford/Pyke.

Our ruck situation