No Oppo Supporters OPPOSITION OBSERVATION XXXVI

Either they mean Aiden Bonar or work experince kid got the wrong photo for Corr

I heard from someone in the know that he's a bit of a campaigner to some of the players and it's not a very happy place down at the Hawks.
Good. **** 'em. They've had more than enough success over the last 40 odd years.

Long may they wallow at the bottom end of the ladder.

He is playing his quarterback role to perfection. He has had 14 contested possessions out of his 67. He has laid 2 tackles. He is a brilliant user of the ball and decision maker so is given the ball at every opportunity.

I am sure he will transition to a contested midfield role in the future and will be one of the best players in the comp, but calling him that now in the almost pure ‘receiver’ role he is playing is pretty naive from what should be an experienced footy head like Daisy.

No, he initially got booed because he called out a teenager for yelling racist remarks at him during a game. The booing public then started booing him because they thought he was being precious and uppity.

Then it was the indigenous war dance that exacerbated it. Again, the booing public thought he was being too aggressive and threatening their right to boo and abuse players at the footy. After all, they pay their money.

Then the booers started trying to rationalise their booing by saying it was because he staged for frees and did slide tackles. But their timeline was all arse backwards.

And yep, he staged at times, he slid into blokes at times. I certainly wasn't a big fan of Goodes. But there has never been that level of booing at Dangerfield, Shuey and even Selwood for way worse. Even Hayden Ballantyne did get the relentless spraying by the crowd that Goodes did, and staging and basically being a campaigner on the footy field was his one wood.

I addressed my error in thinking Fabian was his biological dad and apologised already before you posted. He's got his surname ffs - not a ridiculous assumption that he was his bio-dad surely? Any reason why you couldn't accept that retraction/apology mate? I'll always call myself out on this board if I've made a blue. If you missed it, fair enough.

You're a brilliant poster Noid and I've said that many times, but I don't reckon you needed to make out the JHF and Goodes scenarios are the same. I don't think it does anyone any good.

Anyway, go right ahead if you want to keep on down this path, but I'm leaving it at that. It's been done to death.

I posted this and never saw your retraction sorry. The thing also to consider is the speech Goodes gave when awarded AOTY … didn’t do him any favours.

And ask Cam Smith about the boo’ing he received when finishing off his career when playing in NSW - they despised him and boo’d accordingly. I’ll happily accept of the 100 people who boo’d Goodes, a few did it because they were racists, but most didn’t. So if that makes it racist boo’ing I’ll accept that.

But let’s not pretend if JHF was indigenous it wouldn’t have been a front page ‘racist Pies’ story because we know it would have been.

Happy to leave the Goodes commentary there.

This board has blinkers on at times. N Daicos is a gun.

Whether or not he is peaking too early is a different story.
But that's the biggest form of a compliment, the fact we downplay him means we know he is playing well and plus downplaying an oppo player is all part of the fun of being a one eyed fan.

He is playing his quarterback role to perfection. He has had 14 contested possessions out of his 67. He has laid 2 tackles. He is a brilliant user of the ball and decision maker so is given the ball at every opportunity.

I am sure he will transition to a contested midfield role in the future and will be one of the best players in the comp, but calling him that now in the almost pure ‘receiver’ role he is playing is pretty naive from what should be an experienced footy head like Daisy.

Yeah well said. Kid is a gun, but calling him the best player in the comp and that he’ll win a Brownlow this year is ridiculous.
FFS there were some pundits claiming he was a chance for the Brownlow last year lmao.

Fantastic user of the ball, elite in that category already, elite runner as well, but needs to work on his contested game and defensive game before even being part of the conversation

Think Ch7 are hedging of the +/- presence of "Daisy's".

Already have the Thomas sticking his beak in here and there.
Expect that Mae Cooper will get a celeb appearance pre game for a couple of clubs
Would love to see Nank the Tank interviewed by a bottle of Marc Jacobs finest.

Can only assume that The addled heads of BT, little Gill, Bray and Hodgey et all can only remember certain names, so Daisy it is!

No, he initially got booed because he called out a teenager for yelling racist remarks at him during a game. The booing public then started booing him because they thought he was being precious and uppity.

Then it was the indigenous war dance that exacerbated it. Again, the booing public thought he was being too aggressive and threatening their right to boo and abuse players at the footy. After all, they pay their money.

Then the booers started trying to rationalise their booing by saying it was because he staged for frees and did slide tackles. But their timeline was all arse backwards.

And yep, he staged at times, he slid into blokes at times. I certainly wasn't a big fan of Goodes. But there has never been that level of booing at Dangerfield, Shuey and even Selwood for way worse. Even Hayden Ballantyne did get the relentless spraying by the crowd that Goodes did, and staging and basically being a campaigner on the footy field was his one wood.

I addressed my error in thinking Fabian was his biological dad and apologised already before you posted. He's got his surname ffs - not a ridiculous assumption that he was his bio-dad surely? Any reason why you couldn't accept that retraction/apology mate? I'll always call myself out on this board if I've made a blue. If you missed it, fair enough.

You're a brilliant poster Noid and I've said that many times, but I don't reckon you needed to make out the JHF and Goodes scenarios are the same. I don't think it does anyone any good.

Anyway, go right ahead if you want to keep on down this path, but I'm leaving it at that. It's been done to death.
I think the whole Adam Goodes saga was very sad , a one stage he was the most dangerous player or darn close to it
and as such received a lot of attention , it was just like Ablett Jnr , and justifiably received a lot of frees

then as he declined , the whinging and sooking went thru the roof
Lil Gaz did similar but pulled back on that stuff and was still a great player right to the end

Goodes seemed to amplify it and the pathetic soft frees he received galled me and I was saying to any AFL watchers that would listen
I would pay money to go and boo Goodes , the umpires were complicit in it by showering him with so many frees and so soft
I felt it was bad for the game, really bad , and I got a lot of agreement at the time

I've since heard from numerous indigenous players how they had been treated over the decades appreciate Goodes was probably subjected to a lot of racial abuse all thru his career

For lil Gaz someone hanging over the fence calling him a little Bald C isn't as bad as Goodes being called a Black C and can appreciate that might have driven the reactions

I'll give Goodes credit , the whole booing thing and racisim argument had a life of its own and was out of control , so he kept his retirement under wraps
and a few old teammates discreetly appeared in the change rooms after his last game and then the doors were locked to outsiders as he announced his retirement and thanked people. That was good work and stopped it from being hijacked but the media

This board has blinkers on at times. N Daicos is a gun.

Whether or not he is peaking too early is a different story.

dont think anyone is denying that hes a gun

he isnt the "best player in the league" though..... plays as outside as you can possibly imagine

wow whole medja & AFL MK Ultraying Bummers,Norf and Colonwood fans in an attempt to extract maximum $$$$ whilst the charade lasts
FMD i cant recall such a big deal being made about ordinary sides that finishd bottom 6 the previous year defeating other ordinary bottom 6 sides from the previous year ? since when did this become a series in its own evolution ?
and all the hype bout these kids from norf n pears n brisvegas ? i see the kid from bisvegas got nomintaed for RS after having what ? 35 disposals in 2 games ? which encompasses his whole career to date,banging on about this Cheezel kid too,faaarken,talk about a mind programme for the masses
AFL shoulder deep in social engineering

I see The smartest man in the room wants a rule change to protect his ruckmen
Yep no raising the knee in the ruck and the bounce to go as well. If raising the knee goes then raising your knee in marking contests will be next (which is the rule in Masters footy). The game as we used to know it is being slowly eroded and the fabric of the game, knitted over 150 is being pulled apart, thread by thread.

ab5bf4ca-99f0-402f-8110-555bb922f350-jpeg.1642326

arrodillarse-dani-martinez.gif arrodillarse-dani-martinez.gif arrodillarse-dani-martinez.gif arrodillarse-dani-martinez.gif