Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Travvy43 said:
Was assistant coach under Shaun Rhen (spelling) last year. Non playing too.

Any news on S Daniels.

Dont worry about Steve, what about Dave Gleeson? My informant tells me he will be re-appointed at Euroa :eek:

Travvy43 said:

Any news on S Daniels.
News on S Daniels is his gut got a little bigger during the celebrations of back to back flags.

slim18 said:
Has he actually signed yet Sainter?

If my information i have recieved is correct and i believe it is he has already signed so yes to that question slim. it would be great if you come back to benalla next year to buddy

Doona2 said:
Dont worry about Steve, what about Dave Gleeson? My informant tells me he will be re-appointed at Euroa :eek:

Does this leave Trav Ryan as 3SR's new special comments man for 2007??

saints03 said:
If my information i have recieved is correct and i believe it is he has already signed so yes to that question slim. it would be great if you come back to benalla next year to buddy

Sorry mate I have a boys adventure trip first and then I'm still committed
elsewhere.

slim18 said:
Sorry mate I have a boys adventure trip first and then I'm still committed
elsewhere.

Thats no good hope ya have fun in western australia mate

Doona2 said:

Been keeping in touch with the 3rd oldest of Donny's boys Doona ? Wouldnt have anything to do with your new coaching role?? ;)

ringo1 said:
interesting one the ky job. anyone know how it will work. is their 3 assistants, 3 runners, 3 chairman of selectors. is there only one guy in charge really. what are others thoughts as i have never seen or heard of this before.

The ky job certainly is an interesting one...weird actually. Ky is really keeping it in the family.playd with 2 of these guys before and id say paul burnett would be a fantastic coach but the GVL is a high level for him to begin his coaching career at. They will need to attract big name players to win matches and again for the 10th consecutive year i cant see this happening with the new coaches. Another losing season for ky looks on the cards but good luck to em and hope they prove me wrong. If they can get rid of that losing culture around the club then they may just start to do something correct.

bloodhound! said:
Just wondering if there was any rochy person out there that could confirm wether the rumour that Rochy is chasing Elmore captain Brian Westley is true or not??

Has some close mates at rochy but is still a favourite son at Elmore. Hard to see him leaving. Might be inclined to think twice though due to the fact that Ben Anderson and Ash Watson signed during the week. Have heard rumours of Elliot Bowen going to Shep Swans, anyone have the latest on him?

Travvy43 said:
Aloi, not sure with him, talk has been back to wodonga where he playede previously but i think somewhere in melbounre (Greenvale perhaps with his bro) would be preferred.

Trem, could perhaps still remain in the GV, and norman, who knows.

Would probab;y have to fix the petrol pumps before returning to Wodonga Raiders!!!!!

Travvy43 said:
He is in his 50's but apparently very good with the youth and gets the most out of players.
Sounds like he'll need to be though as Kirby is almsot certainly on the move aswell.
Not sure if this is already reported.
But some good news for Tat however is that they have signed another ruckman (not sure of his name) from the Ballarat league. Apparently he goes alright and played in that leagues representative side this year.

FOOTYBOSS said:
News on S Daniels is his gut got a little bigger during the celebrations of back to back flags.

How true Boss , he loves his wild turkeys. SJ told all the boys he would be having a year of in 07 , and just coaching his son at Greenvale in the under 12s and might coach the GVFL side again .:thumbsu:

Duff Man said:
How true Boss , he loves his wild turkeys. SJ told all the boys he would be having a year of in 07 , and just coaching his son at Greenvale in the under 12s and might coach the GVFL side again .:thumbsu:

I heard they were trying to get him to hang around and help out either Habers or Amad in a minor roll .

Travvy43 said:
Like it, but no you are wrong, swans not talking to singh or best. They have their money tied in elsewhere.

Elsewhere is that Maher , Mc Carty , White , Bulleen , Statham , Ryan etc etc etc etc

LEEMA said:
I heard they were trying to get him to hang around and help out either Habers or Amad in a minor roll .

If he was going to hang around he would coach , so i carnt see that happening .

You Know It said:
the 3 ky boys got the nod for the coaching role, should be very interesting how the young bombers go next year...

Can this work ? 3 coaches surely there will be conflict, arguements. Would this be a first in football ? Well only time will tell if it works or not.

But some good news for Tat however is that they have signed another ruckman (not sure of his name) from the Ballarat league. Apparently he goes alright and played in that leagues representative side this year.[/quote]

Is it Koderenko who played for East point in the BFL who is supposed to have signed at tatura??..I no that he rucked for ballarat in the interleague side so it could be him.

Rushy Tiger said:
Has some close mates at rochy but is still a favourite son at Elmore. Hard to see him leaving. Might be inclined to think twice though due to the fact that Ben Anderson and Ash Watson signed during the week. Have heard rumours of Elliot Bowen going to Shep Swans, anyone have the latest on him?

He's got a job interview and that with decide were he plays. Either Rochy or he'll head home to Sunraysia. Highly doubt him going to Shep

JimCarter said:
Been keeping in touch with the 3rd oldest of Donny's boys Doona ? Wouldnt have anything to do with your new coaching role?? ;)

I've got a very strong suspicion that the third of Don's boys wouldn't ever end up as a Broady boy in a Kangaroos jumper. Tell me it aint so, Doona? :confused:

Think the closest he'll get to Broadford is his long lost 3rd cousins, Chris and Justin (Jason?) Mills. Best under 10s players I've ever seen, although they were 5'9" at the age of 10 and haven't grown much since......

Nic Aloi to play at Greenvale with his brother.

Singh is throwing his name out at a number of GV clubs. Is asking the world as suspected.

Melbourne players from Tat signed at Red Hill in the MPNFL with ex Dog Brad Murphy and 2 Essendon District players.

Saad to stay at Seymour, only other option would be in the DVFL probably with Northcote or Heidelberg.

Tim Little is the player i believe as being touted as signing at Tatura. Interleague ruckman for the Ballarat and would be on the same level as Schottner and Kirby.

Seymour chasing Epping B&F winner Shane Jacobs, apparantley throwing a little bit of coin at him.

Norman to play footy in Melbourne.

Kirbys probable location is Wodonga.

Forys wants out of Shepp Utd.

Long way from the mark sorry to say jim carter and krakour barrell - my mail came from a source not tied to the GV Magpies, but from my former media circles. Still no one has confrimed or denied this rumour???

Why the sudden interest in my coaching appointment, who I have spoke to and more importantly haven't spoke to in Millsy's case. Was all keen to have a crack at him until that send off Grand Final day, in light of recent public perception Im not keen to attract thugs ;)

Krakour Magic said:
I've got a very strong suspicion that the third of Don's boys wouldn't ever end up as a Broady boy in a Kangaroos jumper. Tell me it aint so, Doona? :confused:

Think the closest he'll get to Broadford is his long lost 3rd cousins, Chris and Justin (Jason?) Mills. Best under 10s players I've ever seen, although they were 5'9" at the age of 10 and haven't grown much since......

Is Millsy trying to get $$$ out of the Maggies or something, he'd be loving all this publicity I reckon :p

Geez Fart McMartin wasn't too far off one of the all time greats in the SDJFL, along with those Pertile brothers from St. Mary's . . . puberty and kids development is an amazing thing hey, I was a runt meself in my junior days, not that you would know that now!!!

Obviously I was off the mark . . . sorry lads!!!

Feathers are unruffled

By Steve King
November 2 2006
Shepparton News

Euroa Football Club president Xavier Thomson has said the club is not ready to push the panic button, despite its failure to appoint a coach, nearly two months since the end of the Goulburn Valley Football League season.

Thomson, who was elected president of the Magpies for a fourth term earlier this week, said the search was still on for a replacement for David Gleeson.

"We can't wait for the right person to come along," Thomson said.

"We have to go out and get them.

"It's not going to be easy, but we think there's someone out there."

The Magpies were deep in negotiations with Travis Ryan up until a fortnight ago, before the former Tatura coach withdrew his interest for the position.

Despite their struggle to make an appointment, Thomson is confident the Magpies won't be behind the eight-ball.

"Pre-season has been mapped out," Thomson said.

"We're just waiting for someone to take the helm."

Meanwhile, Shepparton United is still searching for its replacement for Steve Hazelman.

Football manager Craig Blizzard said the Demons were not in a rush to make an appointment.

"We're still looking around," Blizzard said.

"We're not in a rush.

"It's a decision we've got to get right."

Dogs gone

By Steve King
November 2 2006
Shepparton News

The dismantling of Tatura's 2003 Goulburn Valley Football League premiership team is almost complete.

Of the 21 players who took the Bulldogs to glory a little more than three years ago, only two remain - Jason Dagger and Paul Kirby.

And there is no guarantee that Kirby will be wearing the red, white and blue next year, with a number of clubs keen to secure the big ruckman's signature.

Premiership heroes Linc Wellington, Jarrod Pollard and Lee Warnett all played with the Bulldogs this year, but will play elsewhere next season, with Wellington to coach Numurkah, and Pollard and Warnett joining Tocumwal.

Interleague representative Michael Roberts, who was a member of the Bulldogs' losing grand final side in 2004, is also likely to depart.

Travis Ryan, who was captain on that glorious September afternoon, and coached the club for the past two seasons, is expected to have no involvement in footy next year.

"There were a few at the end of their careers," Ryan said of the 2003 line-up.

"There was also a couple out of Melbourne.

"But it's a big turnover.

"We lost 15 after 2004 (when Tatura lost the grand final to Mansfield)."

Ryan said the Bulldogs were in a tough situation when he was appointed coach last year, following the departure of premiership mentor Danny Stevens.

"No doubt," Ryan said.

"We worked hard to try and build it back up."

Geez Fart McMartin wasn't too far off one of the all time greats in the SDJFL, along with those Pertile brothers from St. Mary's . . . puberty and kids development is an amazing thing hey, I was a runt meself in my junior days, not that you would know that now!!![/quote]

Ahh, the Pertile brothers. That is gold!:thumbsu: . From memory one of the boys got cancer at a young age, although I could be mistaken.

Would have been great to see a lot of the former SDJFL players go onto better things in the GV. Some of the stars fade away (or don't grow anymore), and some of the lesser lights blossom.

Whatever happened to that mate of your's from Kilmore, Leigh McCraigh (spelling?). Came good by u/15s, but I never heard anything more of him in football circles.

Some other stars from juniors, some of whom have gone onto GV or other:

Jeff Roscoe (Seymour Demons); Abbott (Kilmore); JJ (Kilmore); Dunn (Broadford); Hilton x 2 (Euroa); Hall (Broadford/Wallan); Francis Peva (Broadford); Petering (Seymour Lions); Jacavou (Broadford - lightening!); Stu Inness (Broadford - spelling? Not the Essendon cricketer, although he could play too); Lamaro (Euroa); Milburn (Broadford - surprise packet); Rudd (Seymour Lions); Makin (Kilmore).

Yes, Doona, everybody's favorite - Jason McMartin.