• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

tugga177 said:
NO HEART - Very mature mate can you get him to meet me behind the shelter sheds after school??????? As far as hiding behind Bomber, i suppose i could if he was watching from the other side of the fence like i do. And one more thing, i pay my $8 each week so i will say whatever i want about who ever i want champ.

Yeah sorry bout that tugga - my fault. I didn't realise you paid your $8! In that case you are entitled to label pilling a coward and threaten a square-up from one of your players. That seems a whole lot more mature than what I was proposing:rolleyes:

As has been said earlier, pilling went too far and should be made to cop his dues via the tribunal. (Unless your $8 also entitles you to hand out the suspension?)

FOOTYBOSS said:
Thats good that have signs, but that is only part of the law when using recycled water. I work within the industry of ground reconstruction and irrigation works. It does not matter if the water is stagnant or not. If the grey water was used 48 hours prior to the game then signs saying that have to be put up. Also all sprinkler heads and valve boxes must be marked purple so it easily identified.

Using this type of system has its benefits, but only if the ground has reasonable drainage, which Kings Park unfortunately does not. This allows the dirty water to sit on top of the profile, therefore if someone does receive a cut its a greater chance of infection then normal.

In regards to showers, well if the oppostion showers worked it could help reduce the chance of infections coming on.

I personally only played the 1st half of the game and a rash has broken out on my legs. I get the results back from the doctor tonight and lets hope its not from the ground because if it is, well their will be consequences for the club, council and league.

Nothing to do with the footy club mate. Committee of Management took over the ground...speak to them or the council...

Consequences?? For a rash?? You'll spend more time and money arranging a case than you will in return (ie damages)...they'll pay for your cream to make it go away...Zirvirax would be used pretty regularly at Euroa wouldn't it? Should do the trick for your rash...

So unless you lose a leg from this rash...they'll say their sorry and say they are going to fix the drainage...

Im sure our opposition showers aren't as bad as some...shepp swans had 1 shower working...and it was cold, players were told to wash in the ice bath because it was warmer. And don't get me started on Mansfields either...

If it was the ground i'd be supprised, none of our players have any rashes or alike from it...that i know of...i have a few cuts, all good.

tugga177 said:
Hey FBP you should have done a few belly whackers over the ground, that surely would have emptied some of the swimming pools on the ground and may have even levelled the ground???????? What do you think?

I did mate...when i was pushed in the back being first to the ball time after time, having a crack...didn't help though...need a few more visits to KFC i reckon before the girth of a man will disperse that much water.

fat back pocket said:
Grandale might be able to give us an update from the next committee meeting (grounds committee), he has someone close at heart on it? Surely there will be some serious questions asked?

I'm sure you are more up to date with all things Kings Park than I, Fatty.
Now I don't play on it anymore, I don't give a flying farck what the surface is like.

A bit more activity on this thread over the last few days boys, which is good to see for a change.

I've actually learnt a bit about a few blokes today. Next time I'm working on a sprinkler system I'll be seeking advice from FOOTYBOSS. If I have a medical complaint I'm gonna get in touch with FBP. And if it's manure I'm after, I'll be going straight to No Heart or tugga177.

tugga177 said:
NO HEART - Very mature mate can you get him to meet me behind the shelter sheds after school??????? As far as hiding behind Bomber, i suppose i could if he was watching from the other side of the fence like i do. And one more thing, i pay my $8 each week so i will say whatever i want about who ever i want champ.
You don't even need to pay $8 to have an opinion Tugga. But i'm not sure bomber would want you declaring that on here. :(

FOOTYBOSS said:
Thats good that have signs, but that is only part of the law when using recycled water. I work within the industry of ground reconstruction and irrigation works. It does not matter if the water is stagnant or not. If the grey water was used 48 hours prior to the game then signs saying that have to be put up. Also all sprinkler heads and valve boxes must be marked purple so it easily identified.

Using this type of system has its benefits, but only if the ground has reasonable drainage, which Kings Park unfortunately does not. This allows the dirty water to sit on top of the profile, therefore if someone does receive a cut its a greater chance of infection then normal.

In regards to showers, well if the oppostion showers worked it could help reduce the chance of infections coming on.

I personally only played the 1st half of the game and a rash has broken out on my legs. I get the results back from the doctor tonight and lets hope its not from the ground because if it is, well their will be consequences for the club, council and league.

I think you will find that the water is basically river water. It is not as you call it grey water which is recycled dish/shower water. The gravel is brought up from the river bed and the water through the vacuum goes one way and the gravel the other.

head67 said:
You don't even need to pay $8 to have an opinion Tugga. But i'm not sure bomber would want you declaring that on here. :(

For once you are talking some sense head67. Keep up the good work tiger :thumbsu:

fat back pocket said:
Nothing to do with the footy club mate. Committee of Management took over the ground...speak to them or the council...

Consequences?? For a rash?? You'll spend more time and money arranging a case than you will in return (ie damages)...they'll pay for your cream to make it go away...Zirvirax would be used pretty regularly at Euroa wouldn't it? Should do the trick for your rash...
Consequences that Im talking about FBP are not legal but games being taken away from Kings Park until it is fixed. I have seen and heard of this being done before. Im sure the Seymour faithful wouldnt want that to happen as its they generate most of their fundraising, especially when they host a final. As Ive said previously, if a ground is using grey water then all sprinkler heads and valve boxes should colour coded to suit with the laws. Something the installer has forgotten to do.

The actual ground surface under the footing was quite good, just very poor drainage which needs to be addressed.

As for the rash, it was probably from dirty tart that I picked up while visiting many of Melbournes finest after dark establishments over the weekend.:D

Enough of this talk about the ground. Lets just agree it was of a terrible standard. There is more burning questions as we head into the final 7 weeks of the 2006 season.

I would like to hear from Tige19 as to how they celebrated their 1st win of the year by knocking over the cats who until then had taken the season all before them, are they starting to stumble as we lead into finals?

What is going on down at Kings Park. Injuries keep happening, will this derail their shot at back to back flags? I see Bailey injured yet again. Will Stevenson play this year? How many weeks did Mark Pilling get last night at the tribunal?

What about Euroa, are they just starting to warm up for a big last 7 weeks and a shot at the priemership that got away from them last year? What about their twos, are they a chance or just pretenders after they failed against a top 4 side yet again this year, they havent got with in 5 goals of the top 3 sides.

Will Ricky Symes ever play again this year? I have heard that he wont play ones but is hopeful of trying to get the reserves a flag on one leg. Will be interesting?

Im looking forward to these last 7 weeks as its a very open field as to who will finish where now. Bring on the finals I say.

Peter The Legend said:
There have been plenty of visits to KFC, FBP.
Im sure FBP has a life membership at KFC and any other fast food outlet.

Inness#15 said:
Euroa 1's are looking like a very good side at the moment... Is there a spot there for FOOTYBOSS?
Lets hope not for Euroa sake, they play better with out this bloke.

FOOTYBOSS said:
Consequences that Im talking about FBP are not legal but games being taken away from Kings Park until it is fixed. I have seen and heard of this being done before. Im sure the Seymour faithful wouldnt want that to happen as its they generate most of their fundraising, especially when they host a final. As Ive said previously, if a ground is using grey water then all sprinkler heads and valve boxes should colour coded to suit with the laws. Something the installer has forgotten to do.

The actual ground surface under the footing was quite good, just very poor drainage which needs to be addressed.

As for the rash, it was probably from dirty tart that I picked up while visiting many of Melbournes finest after dark establishments over the weekend.:D

Back at the Marquee where you FootyBoss

FOOTYBOSS said:

Agreed totally, it would be an embarrasment to host a final if we get some heavy rain and have a team bow out of finals simply due to conditions that were displayed on saturday. Imagine the up-roar it would create.

As for the grey water, think Pete gave us a good background to what it actually is. Its not s h i t water...its water from the quary which is about 1km from the ground. the used water (which should have no health risks) is pumped over, possibly the reason for no special markings on the sprinkler heads?

Injuries finally taken their toll on the boys at the Den i reckon. A lot of them long term injuries, not expecting too many returns in the next few weeks which is unfortunate...think this list was up to about 17+ on saturday night.

Sad to see Ben davey ruled out last night for the rest of the year...possibly career ending. What was initially diagonosed as ligament damage and a chipped bone in his ankle turned out to be a double break in his leg. Fibular break just below the knee and a split through the joint of the fibular and tibia at the bottom of his leg. According to Bruce Reid (surgeon), never seen an injury like it before in footy. Having immediate surgery to mend the breaks today.

So bad blow there, what was a 6 weeker, has now turned out to be just about a career ending injury for Daveo's.

fat back pocket said:
Sad to see Ben davey ruled out last night for the rest of the year...possibly career ending. What was initially diagonosed as ligament damage and a chipped bone in his ankle turned out to be a double break in his leg. Fibular break just below the knee and a split through the joint of the fibular and tibia at the bottom of his leg. According to Bruce Reid (surgeon), never seen an injury like it before in footy. Having immediate surgery to mend the breaks today.

So bad blow there, what was a 6 weeker, has now turned out to be just about a career ending injury for Daveo's.

Tragic news if so FBP - as a non Seymour person I have seen Benny play a lot over the years, have a huge respect for what he has achieved and it makes the 2005 flag and his 200th all that more significant.

One of the Lions most loyal, popular and decorated players of the past 10-15 Id be guessing :thumbsu: .

There's still time for more decoration upon the great B Davey's CV. Now he will be able to dedicate more time to what the Lions are paying him the big bucks to do - lead the Scooby Doos to that elusive GVFL Second XVIII flag.

Doona2 said:
Tragic news if so FBP - as a non Seymour person I have seen Benny play a lot over the years, have a huge respect for what he has achieved and it makes the 2005 flag and his 200th all that more significant.

One of the Lions most loyal, popular and decorated players of the past 10-15 Id be guessing :thumbsu: .

Agree Doona, would be atleast 15years as he played in the 91 flag also.

hank1 said:
Agree Doona, would be atleast 15years as he played in the 91 flag also.

Reckon he was abut 18 in 91, lets hope he can get the 2's a flag . . . would be very fitting

Full Foward said:
hey i was just wonderin if anyone wants to put there best 22 in a team for the gv this year

Tom rockliff would b looking for a spot, the young benalla player uses his body like an future AFL star that he will b.

My tips for this week are:

Round Thirteen – July 22
Euroa
V
Rochester
Echuca
V
Tatura
Mooroopna
V
Shepp United
Shepparton
V
Shepp Swans
Kyabram
V
Mansfield
Benalla
V
Seymour

western star said:
My tips for this week are:

Round Thirteen – July 22
Euroa
V
Rochester
Echuca
V
Tatura
Mooroopna
V
Shepp United
Shepparton
V
Shepp Swans
Kyabram
V
Mansfield
Benalla
V
Seymour

Benalla Vs Seymour should be a cracker!!!!

ROCHESTER

B: J. Palmer, G. Prigg, L. Ryan. HB: J. Kelly, A. Chirnside, L. O'Connor. C: M. Jones, B. Aitken, M. Haitsma. HF: G. Pianta, B. McConnell, J. Bennett. F: J. Pollock, T. Lee, C. Haitsma. Foll: R. George, E. Cox, J. Montague. Inter: T. Warren, A. Jess, M. Kelly.

that wouldn't be one terrence warren beside you on the pine would it jessy??