NTFL 2017/2018

Hey All,

Thought i'd create a thread to document the NTFL results for the season. Season just kicked off this weekend!

None of this content is my own but thought i'd pull it onto BigFooty so people can see it if they have an interest in NTFL. All credit for the great, in depth season reviews goes to kdavva74 and the team from NT Football with Jackson Clark (https://www.facebook.com/ntfootball/)

The Facebook page "NT Football with Jackson Clark" posted some previews for the season written by one of their writers-

KIERAN DAVIS' 2017/18 NTFL SEASON PREVIEW:

PALMERSTON -

Home Ground: Asbuild Oval, Palmerston
Coach: Tavis Perry & Alwyn Davey (playing coach)
Captain: Aaron Lonergan
2016/17 Finish: 7th
Predicted Finish: 8th

Last season, Tavis Perry endured a tough first year at the helm of the Magpies, plagued by injuries and ASADA suspension, and suffered a number of crushing defeats on their way to a 7th placed finish. To finish above the embattled Tiwi Bombers in 2016/17 cannot be considered much of an achievement, and Palmerston were well behind the top six in terms of performance last season. This year, they look like they have the potential to move backwards. The loss of key personnel Scott McLeod, Jack Shannahan and Pierce Liddle will weaken a Magpies outfit that will also be affected by the NTFL's new fly-in rules and points system. A huge drawback for the team last season was a definite lack of goals, averaging just over 50 points a game and becoming the lowest scoring team in the competition. Nathan Lawrence provided sparks and star recruit Cameron Cloke was a sorely-needed target up front when in the team, but for the Magpies to progress they will need a viable 40-goal forward. Their battle this season, it appears, will be to avoid the wooden spoon.

KIERAN DAVIS' 2017/18 NTFL SEASON PREVIEW:

TIWI BOMBERS -

Home Ground: Tiwi Oval, Bathurst Island
Coach: Brenton Toy
Captain: N/A (rotational leadership group)
2016/17 Finish: 8th
Predicted Finish: 7th

Things can only be on the up for the Tiwi Bombers after a calamitous 2016/17 season. An under-prepared pre-season, a forfeited win and near-bankruptcy ended on a high note with an exciting win over Southern Districts in the final round which highlighted just how potent they can be. This season, experienced and respected coach Brenton Toy has managed to bring players back to a club which is often more worried about losing them, with Adam Tipungwuti's return generating considerable excitement. At its best, the Tiwi gamestyle is unstoppable but the best has rarely been seen in the past few seasons and a crucial area for Tiwi - fly-in key position players - will be seriously hampered by the new NTFL rules. To improve from last season, the Bombers will need to shore up their defence and exploit their running pace and skill. A surprise finals berth is a possibility if everything can come together as Toy is undoubtedly one of the best coaches in NT footy.

WARATAH -

Home Ground: Gardens Oval, Darwin
Coach: Michael McLean
Captain: TBA
2016/17 Finish: 6th
Predicted Finish: 6th

Last season was a huge improvement for Waratah, with Michael McLean taking a side which hadn't won a game for over a year to the brink of finals. A late loss to Darwin was heartbreak for Tahs fans but all the signs were there for further resurgence in 2017/18. That being said, this writer believes the club will fall just short of a finals berth once more. Waratah's local talent isn't quite as strong as competitors Wanderers or Southern Districts, and their recruiting ability is hampered. However, they are definitely a level above Tiwi and Palmerston, and could viably finish anywhere from 3rd to 6th. Michael McLean is a proven premiership coach with as much footy knowledge as anyone in the Top End, and with players such as Justin Beugelaar, Abe Ankers and Nichols Medalist Timmy Mosquito, Waratah are still a outfit to be reckoned with.

WANDERERS -

Home Ground: TIO Stadium, Darwin
Coach: Mo Motlop
2016/17 Finish: 2nd
Predicted Finish: 5th

Two Grand Final losses in two years will be Dean Rioli's short legacy at the Wanderers Football Club, and as the scorelines suggest, St Marys had significantly pulled away from them by last season. Mo Motlop takes over a club accustomed to success in the past decade, and the Eagles are known for being a specialist post-Christmas side with a distinctive running style of play. Whether or not Motlop chooses to retain that style is yet to be seen, but with players such as Davin Ferreira and Simon Bates on the list, the Muk Muks certainly have the ability to blow teams out of the water. However, in the past, Wanderers have struggled in the minor rounds, and in 2015/16 it took a massive turnaround for the side to even make the finals. Unless Mo Motlop can innovate and improve on Rioli's work, Wanderers could be found out this season by clubs such as Southern Districts, Waratah and Darwin and will have to work hard for a spot in the final 5.

SOUTHERN DISTRICTS -

Home Ground: Norbuilt Oval, Fred's Pass
Coach: Shannon Rusca
2016/17 Finish: 4th
Predicted Finish: 4th

Southern Districts are a club with a lot to prove, and the pressure will be on Shannon Rusca to deliver success to a side which has had the formula to do so for the past two years. Spearheaded by superstar forward Will Farrer, the Crocs were minor premiers in 2015/16 and were convincing finalists last season. But finals is where it counts, and one finals win from four attempts is a black mark on the club which has the manpower to easily appear in March this season. Districts were often found out as slow last season, and even Rusca criticised their lack of thick skin - ironic considering the mascot. But they proved on occasion to have the capacity to come back from a deficit, and if delivery to Farrer is clean and frequent, the high-leaper could easily record another 100-goal season. This season, the challenge will be to finally go from minor round pretenders to premiership contenders.

DARWIN BUFFALOES -

Coach: Matt Campbell (playing-coach)
Captain: Cameron Stokes and Jarrod Stokes
2016/17 Finish: 5th
Predicted Finish: 3rd

Darwin have the potential to be the big climbers of 2017/18. They have a young, talented list, boasting names like Steven Anderson, Jarrod Stokes and Jalen Clarke, and a young coach as well in Matt Campbell. The ex-North Melbourne player has, by all accounts, brought a degree of professionalism to one of the most passionately supported clubs in the NT. Mark Motlop's philosophy of 'no pre-season, no worries'is firmly out the window and as such the possibility of another 0-5 start for the Buffs is highly unlikely. They have a local nucleus akin to Wanderers and St Marys, and have picked up a number of successful recruits in the past few seasons that could potentially play again, including big men Todd Miles, Ryan O'Sullivan, Ben Archard and Darren Shillabeer. The potential for Brent Harvey to front up in the double blue adds to the excitement and if he isn't picked up by an AFL club, Adam Sambono will be a huge impact in the forward line. All the signs point to Darwin being the big riser in 2017/18, and if they hit their peak, we could see the once embattled club on the final day of the season.

ST MARYS -

Coach: Rick Nolan
Captain: Raph Clarke and Shannon Rioli
2016/17 Finish: 1st
Predicted Finish: 2nd

The Saints have lost a number of key personnel, could stand to lose more, and as always, will be limited by Thunder restrictions. But the most successful club in NTFL history always seems to find a way, and we shouldn't be too quick to forget last season's premiership after being labelled too old and slow to stand up to the likes of Nightcliff and Wanderers. The Saints were the benchmark of the competition last season, and haven't lost in nearly a year, but this season could struggle to match the sheer firepower of the Nightcliff Tigers - at least during the minor round. Their depth will be tested, especially during the first half of the season, but it is highly unlikely the Saints will drop out of premiership contention so soon. An area of interest is how the St Marys forward line will look; with MacFarlane gone and Ewing potentially leaving as well, the Saints could call on former youth star Leroy Larsen to finally assume a position in their best 22. Regardless, expect Saints to be thereabouts at the end of the season.

NIGHTCLIFF -

Home Ground: PSC BM Oval, Nightcliff
Coach: Chris Baksh
Captain: Nathan Brown
2016/17 Finish: 3rd
Predicted Finish: 1st

The biggest talking point of the off-season has undoubtedly been the recruiting drive from Nightcliff, most notably the player transfer of Cameron Ilett. Phillip Wills, Scott McLeod, Brett Goodes and the O'hAilpin brothers will all don the sash this season and new coach Chris Baksh has had a lengthly apprenticeship as assistant coach that will leave him very prepared for his first season at the helm. Nightcliff are in a tricky situation this season. The expectation, with all the hoopla and the playing personnel on offer, will be to finally break the club's premiership drought. If they do, accusations will fly of 'buying the flag', and if they dont't, then all of the effort will be for naught. We need to remember that although this Tigers side boasts strong fly-in players, they have also benefitted immensely from a strong juniors program, and deserve to be in line for success this season. With their playing list, their coaching staff, and the pressure upon Chris Baksh's shoulders, it is this writer's prediction that Nightcliff will win the 2017/18 premiership.

good work palmomagpie I know a lot of people down south are keen for details, and the aflnt are dreadfully slow to publish results, the big changes/dramas up her are the lowering of the points system the new fly in rule and the debacle at the tribunal regarding the O'halopin (sic) headbutting incident.

Not sure why but we tend to get a lot of those 16 game threshold bans in the NTFL. I know Palmy had to fight pretty hard to get Pierce Liddle off. Hopefully Southern Districts will show him the same respect if he gets done now he's with them. I don't see how O'Halopin can even be considered free of the charge, considering he was sent off by the umpire apparantly

the reason we get a lot of 16 game thresholds is because we get a lot of undisciplined players up here and once they get near 16 games the league/tribunal go to water, look at the players who have got up around the mark: liddle, motlop,dingo etc the ohlopin case is an absolute classic, the victim said he was head butted and had a big egg on his forehead the umpires boss said he head butted and marched him straight off the ground yet the tribunal threw it out on a technicality cause the victim said he was head butted once (probably dazed) and the umpire said he was head butted twice-talk about comedy capers, classic was the tribunal calling the nightcliff president in as a witness....seriously?

Palmo magpie ,
well done .. I live on the Gold Coast and really like your thread here ,, keep it going ..
Tell me ,, Cam Ilett ,,, retired at seasons end ,, and now out of retirement , going to another club ,,, whats the reason ..
And Eweing ,, not playing ..

the reason we get a lot of 16 game thresholds is because we get a lot of undisciplined players up here and once they get near 16 games the league/tribunal go to water, look at the players who have got up around the mark: liddle, motlop,dingo etc the ohlopin case is an absolute classic, the victim said he was head butted and had a big egg on his forehead the umpires boss said he head butted and marched him straight off the ground yet the tribunal threw it out on a technicality cause the victim said he was head butted once (probably dazed) and the umpire said he was head butted twice-talk about comedy capers, classic was the tribunal calling the nightcliff president in as a witness....seriously?

Can't deny that haha the tribunal lacks the guts to end someone's playing days. This O'Halipan thing really is a joke. Nightcliff have probably payed him good money, front ended or something, and now are freaking out at the possibility of him not fulfilling that. And the NTFL challenged the finding... and then he called in sick for the appeal so they delayed it? Absolute shambles the whole situation. Im not one who wants to see someone get rubbed for life over a small ban like that, and the I love the fact that they can lure ex-AFL players up to Darwin, but gee whiz this is a silly situation!

Palmo magpie ,
well done .. I live on the Gold Coast and really like your thread here ,, keep it going ..
Tell me ,, Cam Ilett ,,, retired at seasons end ,, and now out of retirement , going to another club ,,, whats the reason ..

No worries mate! I live down in Adelaide now so I only get my fix via youtube or following the facebook pages intensely! haha I think Nightcliff signed Illett and Phillip Wills on a Sam Mitchell style contract - play for as long as the body holds up and then coach. I'd imagine in Illetts case, there would have been some financial incentive too! Not actually sure what's going on with Ewing as well. I saw he was considering leaving... It's probably something to do with the Thunder restrictions. But i don't really know. He'd be sorely missed by the Saints thats for sure

Palmo magpie ,
ilett retired from nt thunder, ewing was considering retiring from thunder but is going round again next year,both are guns cam is probably the best footballer up here, went to nightcliff citing needed a challenge etc etc which usually means got offered heaps of cash, word was the ohalaphins were asking $1000 each a game which is unheard of up here but the tigers have been splashing the cash

No worries mate! I live down in Adelaide now so I only get my fix via youtube or following the facebook pages intensely! haha I think Nightcliff signed Illett and Phillip Wills on a Sam Mitchell style contract - play for as long as the body holds up and then coach. I'd imagine in Illetts case, there would have been some financial incentive too! Not actually sure what's going on with Ewing as well. I saw he was considering leaving... It's probably something to do with the Thunder restrictions. But i don't really know. He'd be sorely missed by the Saints thats for sure
every one up here is going into hysterics about st marys losing their first two games, they will probably get beaten by districts out at freds pass on the weekend but last time I checked they don't hand out premierships in October and they literally have half their side to come in, they will play off in granny will put my house on it. the game this Saturday between Palmerston and waratahs I honestly belive the loser wont make finals this year-too much ground to make up, and the latest in ohalphin gate: hearing has been put off until early November......seriously.

make the most of saints position on ladder I predict they will win 9 out of the next 10 games, tiwi showed they will be no easy beat this year and nightcliff are coming together very well, Palmerston have got some talented young players and when they click will win games, basically very even league at this time of the season and making the top four will take a good effort.

Hey, I'm the bloke who wrote those season previews.

Definitely don't write off St Marys, you bring in their best 22 and they are easily Grand Finalists. Districts are probably the only team with their full side in at the moment which is credit to them. Nightcliff still flag favourites in my eyes, even without the O'hAilpin brothers. Wanderers will be inconsistent as usual, Tiwi even more so, Waratah are too slow, Magpies just don''t have the personnel.

Hey, I'm the bloke who wrote those season previews.

Definitely don't write off St Marys, you bring in their best 22 and they are easily Grand Finalists. Districts are probably the only team with their full side in at the moment which is credit to them. Nightcliff still flag favourites in my eyes, even without the O'hAilpin brothers. Wanderers will be inconsistent as usual, Tiwi even more so, Waratah are too slow, Magpies just don''t have the personnel.

Glad to see you're on Bigfooty mate. Love your work! Ill edit the post to give you credit :)

Magpies just don''t have the personnel.

Maggies just about to lose Lochlan Dhurrkay and Raven Marika too which will kill us. Both boys are trying to get into the Geelong VFL side so may be gone soon! Two young guns

Yeah I've heard they're already gone. They do have Dharramandji and Cooper as very similar players and to be honest I thought they had too many players trying to play the same role. Cooper should be a little more influential now. That being said, Marika and Dhurrkay are 2 of Magpies' best. Young backmen Ezekiel Frank and Rodney Baird are doing very well too.

NTFL 2017/2018