Rumour Noah Balta assault charges

Haha, never change AFL...

The Real World: Police prosecutor Jason Tozer told the court it was serious, violent offending that should result in a jail sentence....

...The assault charge carries a maximum penalty of five years in jail.

AFL World: “Oh, no doubt. We’ve handed down that suspension, we feel like that’s the right amount of time, six games is a fair whack,” Yze said.

Hahaha.

Jaidyn Stephenson copped a $10K fine and a 10 game ban for betting $10 and this guy gets 4 games for king hitting a bloke and then punching him whilst on the ground.

I know the AFL needs to protect its integrity with gambling on sport and these two incidents are in different categories etc but the scale of the social impacts of these two incidents are miles and miles apart, yet the club / AFL sanction is appallingly less. Mind boggling.
Well said

Jaidyn Stephenson copped a $10K fine and a 10 game ban for betting $10 and this guy gets 4 games for king hitting a bloke and then punching him whilst on the ground.

I know the AFL needs to protect its integrity with gambling on sport and these two incidents are in different categories etc but the scale of the social impacts of these two incidents are miles and miles apart, yet the club / AFL sanction is appallingly less. Mind boggling.
Fantastic post

Unpopular opinion/perspective: If I was in court for a similar matter, it is unlikely my employer would stop me from working.

I thought Richmond would suspend him till after the matter was finished in the courts. Still up to Richmond to actually select him.

Considering the incident was in January it'll been 4+ months by the time he is eligible to play, maybe they think that's long enough.
Some jobs would had sacked him if he was facing jail time , off the the top off my head most government job positions for instance would have to be told of the impending charges and would most likely terminate the contract as a result.

If I was Balta I'd be breathing a sigh of relief that the blokes head didn't hit the concrete
I felt sick watching his head nearly hit.
I don’t think he will play until after the sentencing. But some of the wowsers in this thread are amusing.

As for the AFL protecting its image, I’d love for them to focus on the game instead of virtue signalling to try to appeal to the mainstream.
If I'm a wowser for feeling like that, I am proud to wear the insult.

On your second point, if you are saying the AFL are virtue signalling if they suspend him for more than he's already been, then they should wear that insult with pride as well.

Please, watch the guys head again, and how close he came to washing that parking lot with his brains.

Haha, never change AFL...

The Real World: Police prosecutor Jason Tozer told the court it was serious, violent offending that should result in a jail sentence....

...The assault charge carries a maximum penalty of five years in jail.

AFL World: “Oh, no doubt. We’ve handed down that suspension, we feel like that’s the right amount of time, six games is a fair whack,” Yze said.

Hahaha.
But it’s not one or the other. It’s both.

See Jaidyn Stephenson comment above. Richmond have culturally lost the plot with how they have handled both Pickett and now Balta IMO

Equating the two is ridiculous because for the AFL what Stephenson did was far more damaging to them.

I won't argue the fact Balta never King Hit the bloke as the initial surprise contact was a shove that made no contact with the victim's head.

The issue here is that AFL has to have a blanket rule about these types of things. It should be that you are eligible to play post any suspension whilst legal/criminal proceedings are occurring. During that time, you still have the presumption of innocence under the law. HOWEVER, once you are either convicted or plead guilty, you must be stood down until sentencing. The AFL under their rules and guidelines can deregister him already but they need some clear and cut rule with this.

It's hardly about the integrity. Players betting on games could make the gambling organisations lose money, that's the issue here.

AFL is making sure their sponsors are happy - can't lose that sweet sweet sponsorship cash. Meanwhile, suckers are losing their houses, families and killing themselves - but lets get a quick update from Nathan Brown with the odds.

I’d be surprised if Balta plays.

AFL: Balta has been punished by our judiciary.

World: so you’re going to allow him to play?

Richmond: Balta has been punished and served his punishment already.

World: so he’s playing?

Richmond: hey Balts. Do you want to pull your name out of the hat before selection this week. Probably not a great look for us if you play.

Balta: yeah nah. Fair enough. Can I have leave to visit family then for the next few weeks?

Richmond: yeah no worries mate ta

Richmond: Balta has not been included in the squad due to recent form / lack of match conditioning / illness.

AFL: we respect the clubs decision

World: wow! He’s not playing!

See Jaidyn Stephenson comment above. Richmond have culturally lost the plot with how they have handled both Pickett and now Balta IMO
Why?
Balta is being judged for his actions in civil and criminal courts.

Why are some so pious they believe that the AFL should have a say in something that has nothing to do with them?

Jayden was completely different. He was betting on his industry. Which has everything to do with the AFL.

It's just funny that in the real world the punishment for this type of thing is up to 5 years in jail - but in the AFL world they see a suitable punishment being missing 6 games of footy.

You're not considered fit to be part of society for up to 5 years, but the AFL will let you play footy after 6 weeks.

The AFL industry's view of the world is so skewed.

It's just funny that in the real world the punishment for this type of thing is up to 5 years in jail - but in the AFL world they see a suitable punishment being missing 6 games of footy.

You're not considered fit to be part of society for up to 5 years, but the AFL will let you play footy after 6 weeks.

The AFL industry's view of the world is so skewed.
Is it really both though? Andrew Gaff didn't get charged by police for King hitting Brayshaw. This was clearly an assault as were the Barry Hall and Tony Lockett incidents for the Swans. They were dealt with by the AFL and the police weren't involved as they were on a footy field.

There are definitely double standards but I didn't see people screaming that they should be charged and jailed. If Balta did the same thing on the footy field should he be jailed or even charged by police?

Some jobs would had sacked him if he was facing jail time , off the the top off my head most government job positions for instance would have to be told of the impending charges and would most likely terminate the contract as a result.
Most likely that (including for government roles, I know of someone in a similar position) the accused would be placed on Garden Leave - i.e. paid normally, but told not to attend work or access work systems.

Otherwise, it's an unfair dismissal case waiting to happen, c/o the presumption of innocence.

Why?

Why are some so pious they believe that the AFL should have a say in something that has nothing to do with them?
IMO it's reasonable to stand the player down until the matter has gone through criminal proceedings. I think we're all pretty aware of what's going on at Geelong on that front (albeit on an even worse charge).

Is it really both though? Andrew Gaff didn't get charged by police for King hitting Brayshaw. This was clearly an assault as were the Barry Hall and Tony Lockett incidents for the Swans. They were dealt with by the AFL and the police weren't involved as they were on a footy field.

There are definitely double standards but I didn't see people screaming that they should be charged and jailed. If Balta did the same thing on the footy field should he be jailed or even charged by police?
Dunno if he would be charged but he'd have a year off football if he punched someone in the head 5- 6 times while they were on their knees.

Unpopular opinion/perspective: If I was in court for a similar matter, it is unlikely my employer would stop me from working.

I thought Richmond would suspend him till after the matter was finished in the courts. Still up to Richmond to actually select him.

Considering the incident was in January it'll been 4+ months by the time he is eligible to play, maybe they think that's long enough.

You could probably be stood down with pay though?

I think you are correct yes. A workplace will fire you these days for outside convictions for FV - but doubtful for other things.

Most likely that (including for government roles, I know of someone in a similar position) the accused would be placed on Garden Leave - i.e. paid normally, but told not to attend work or access work systems.

Otherwise, it's an unfair dismissal case waiting to happen, c/o the presumption of innocence.
Might be different if you have already pleaded guilty

Why?

Jayden was completely different. He was betting on his industry. Which has everything to do with the AFL.
Has this been through the civil courts already?

Rumour Noah Balta assault charges

Write your reply...