News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)

Ugh, just get out of Tassie. It's not our fortress anymore if we can't have a big forward take contested marks with the wind.

Would we much rather have 20k at Marvel cheering our boys than 8k rocking up to Blundstone? The answer is obvious.

Get rid of Tassie and the supporters will show up. 7 home games and 4 replacements doesn't cut it when home games end up being so far away from each other. It just absolutely kills the vibe after a great win.

Imagine beating Richmond at Marvel then realising the next game is in Tassie. Hype gone. Give the members what they want.

Well stop moaning and do something about it.

I'm a Tasmanian, I also want all home games in Melbourne eventually (sooner rather than later) despite loving getting to see my club more often.

However, "Get rid of Tassie, and the supporters will turn up" may be one of the dumbest things I've heard.

We have a small loyal core that goes to every game, but we have always had issues getting more than that to go along.

Dropping the Tas deal won't suddenly cause our attendances to become all smiles and rainbows.

I'm a Tasmanian, I also want all home games in Melbourne eventually (sooner rather than later) despite loving getting to see my club more often.

However, "Get rid of Tassie, and the supporters will turn up" may be one of the dumbest things I've heard.

We have a small loyal core that goes to every game, but we have always had issues getting more than that to go along.

Dropping the Tas deal won't suddenly cause our attendances to become all smiles and rainbows.

I agree on multiple fronts.

North are not in a position to just drop Tassie. The year on year profit is largely attributale to the fact we have the Tassie deal. What North has carved for itself on the back of the Tassie deal is stability. Financial stability like the club has basically never known.

I do however also agree that our long term future cannot remain playing out of two homes. There needs to be a movement of games back to Melbourne. My preference would be to build this year on year to conincide with the wheel turing on field.

As to a 19th team;

I personally hold the view that a 19th team would do next to nothing to improve the situation for North. It would dilute an already significantly watered down talent pool. People seem to forget we were taking our first pick at 15+ when the Suns and GWS came in. Which is exactly the sort of thing that would happen if a 19th team came in. More years of that.

Then there is the on-going handouts required to prop up an expansion side. We have just witnessed first hand that clear preferential treatment they recieve when it comes to such things. We get future picks we have to trade GC got half the f***ing universe.

A 19th side also f***s the fixturing. It will mean 2+ byes a year. Which will just give the AFL more ways to shaft us with those. Who can forget having a bye in round 2. We would never be getting a bye at a beneficial time of year.

From a competition perspective a 19th side makes it harder to win a flag. Not that it has ever been easy, but it becomes another side that will vye for it. It will also become another side that other sides can beat up on when they are starting up.

So when I look at the balance of all of that I just do not see how a 19th team does anything at all to benefit the North Melbourne Football Club.

List the ways a 19th side benefits the North Melbourne football club directly then.

All home games in Melb (you live there and most do)

Funding purely to one location not spread.

A 100% committed supporter base, not this Tassie Hawks and Tassie North nonsense.

North has been 100 years a Melb team (with efforts elsewhere for funding) but ultimately always Melb based.

I believe have a Tas team means a clear separation in funding and reasons why.

No "replacement games" for North people that deserve better.

Is that s good start?

One thing I want to know, and maybe it's been said, but what zone do we get to replace Tassy with?
1667287314541.png
We stll have the light blue section along with all of Tasmania. If/When we lose tassie you'd think they'd adjust it to maybe give us a corridor between Essendon and the Bulldogs' zones.

View attachment 1547288
We stll have the light blue section along with all of Tasmania. If/When we lose tassie you'd think they'd adjust it to maybe give us a corridor between Essendon and the Bulldogs' zones.

These zones are pointless now that you can't claim an academy player within the first 69 picks at the draft.

So basically your direct benefit is because North would bring games back to Melbourne.

Which we should be doing regardless.

As I posted in the post you partially quoted.

There is no benefit to me at all in North moving back full time to Melb.

There is however clear benefits in this ocurring. Club and supporters.

I want a Tasmania team.

Why do you think that's detrimental to North, how about you explain then?

View attachment 1547288
Probably get the rest of the blue bit, to the south of the city :cool:

Why do you think that's detrimental to North, how about you explain then?

Why do I think a 19th team is detrimental to North?
I already did that, in fact you partially quoted the post where it did.

personally hold the view that a 19th team would do next to nothing to improve the situation for North. It would dilute an already significantly watered down talent pool. People seem to forget we were taking our first pick at 15+ when the Suns and GWS came in. Which is exactly the sort of thing that would happen if a 19th team came in. More years of that.

Then there is the on-going handouts required to prop up an expansion side. We have just witnessed first hand that clear preferential treatment they recieve when it comes to such things. We get future picks we have to trade GC got half the f***ing universe.

A 19th side also f***s the fixturing. It will mean 2+ byes a year. Which will just give the AFL more ways to shaft us with those. Who can forget having a bye in round 2. We would never be getting a bye at a beneficial time of year.

From a competition perspective a 19th side makes it harder to win a flag. Not that it has ever been easy, but it becomes another side that will vye for it. It will also become another side that other sides can beat up on when they are starting up.

I am absolutely for getting our games of Tassie, timed with the uptick in performance that is coming.

I do not see these things as needing to be tied together.

North leave Tassie - yes
19th side - no

Why do I think a 19th team is detrimental to North?
I already did that, in fact you partially quoted the post where it did.

I am absolutely for getting our games of Tassie, timed with the uptick in performance that is coming.

I do not see these things as needing to be tied together.

North leave Tassie - yes
19th side - no

Well let's leave it there as if you think Tasmania doesn't deserve a team then we'll just argue and so be it.

Tasmania deserves a team.

North should be in Melb full time.

It's a simple position most take unlike some.

I think it's understandable to be wary of new teams being introduced because the way GC and GWS were introduced undeniably ****ed our list build and it's one of the factors that lead us to eventually crash and burn the way we have. This time though, it could actually be to our advantage if it happens right as we're putting the finishing touches on our young core.

Regardless, I think we can all (mostly) agree, that Tassie should have been one of the 18 teams.

Should have never got to the point of being 19th.

I think it's understandable to be wary of new teams being introduced because the way GC and GWS were introduced undeniably ****ed our list build.

Hence why the Tasmanian inclusion is being handled much better and more carefully.

Hopefully for the benefit of all parties so it's disappointing people are so negative.

Regadless, I think we can all (mostly) agree, that Tassie should have been one of the 18 teams.

Should have never got to the point of being 19th.

It's ****ing ridiculous Gold Coast and "GWS" (whatever that means) have a team before us mate.

A disgrace in fact as it's because of Demetriou the campaigner as he made no money out of Tas being an AFL state already rather than "take over rugby areas" as his power trip.

A disgrace in fact as it's because of Demetriou as he made no money out of it Tas being an AFL state.
And this is what it all comes down to.

They dogged a proud footy state for the chance at cash.

Bloody Mars had it all bankrolled and ready to go and they turned it down.

News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)