• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Murray Football League - Season 2010

Re: Murray Football League (Part 5)

Talk of finely signing three big names out of melbourne very good players. Thats not including crawfords crew. they have also signed four ex-locals that also can play, a bloke from barooga and more to come.

All clubs recruit to top up their local talent NT, just like it looks like Finley tried to do last year(your post).Cobram played 3 1st year players plus 4 boys still playing thirds in 2010 and will introduce more this season. With up to 7 guys missing from last years side a few new names will be on the track over summer.
My information is that Cobram , Barooga & Finley chased Tassell and Svarc.:rolleyes:

No response dtm ? Looking thru results I see Cobram thirds and fourths played off in GF. Someone told me thirds only had four top age players in starting eighteen, which would suggest there is some handy kids coming through.
Had a look in rooms before GF and noticed four or five of their recruits mingling with players offering advise and encouragement to players. This happened right thru finals. Would suggest they are enjoying their time there and offering a bit more than just playing.

Talk of finely signing three big names out of melbourne very good players. Thats not including crawfords crew. they have also signed four ex-locals that also can play, a bloke from barooga and more to come.

All clubs recruit to top up their local talent NT, just like it looks like Finley tried to do last year(your post).Cobram played 3 1st year players plus 4 boys still playing thirds in 2010 and will introduce more this season. With up to 7 guys missing from last years side a few new names will be on the track over summer.
My information is that Cobram , Barooga & Finley chased Tassell and Svarc.:rolleyes:

Thats great to hear, they do have a large proportion of thier side that is not local tho. As did Toc when they won it, as do barooga every year. This is all good if they can afford it and thats how they want to go about it (and its no hidden fact that people that have played for and supported Barooga are sick of this approach) .

No response dtm ? Looking thru results I see Cobram thirds and fourths played off in GF. Someone told me thirds only had four top age players in starting eighteen, which would suggest there is some handy kids coming through.
Had a look in rooms before GF and noticed four or five of their recruits mingling with players offering advise and encouragement to players. This happened right thru finals. Would suggest they are enjoying their time there and offering a bit more than just playing.

Also a fantastic thing to see, but surely this is expected as it would be at any club

All mentioned would be expecting to be certain starters in the ones, that has to be the only concern that more than half the senior side would be new to the club, but they realistically probably do need that many new faces to push for finals.

Is birdy even aloud to leave the coachs box and cross the white line ?
Have heard tonny have been talking to Rattray any truth in that hank ?

Is birdy even aloud to leave the coachs box and cross the white line ?
Have heard tonny have been talking to Rattray any truth in that hank ?

Dunno how the Bird coaching thing will work, supposedly been cleared to coach but not play, so assume he would be right to go out on the ground otherwise it will be a bit of a farce.

Tonny have spoken to Rattray the last couple of years and they are one of 4 or 5 (Nagambie, Tat & Mooroopna that I know of) clubs that have contacted him about his services for next season. He is having the odd run for Tonny in the cricket.

Dunno how the Bird coaching thing will work, supposedly been cleared to coach but not play, so assume he would be right to go out on the ground otherwise it will be a bit of a farce.

Tonny have spoken to Rattray the last couple of years and they are one of 4 or 5 (Nagambie, Tat & Mooroopna that I know of) clubs that have contacted him about his services for next season. He is having the odd run for Tonny in the cricket.
He is working behind the bar of the Tonny pub too I think Hank?

If Tonny do get him, they'd hope he'd go a bit better than when he was at Barooga. Not sure if I've seen a more disinterested footballer when we played against them - he was getting bagged more by his own players than by ours.

He doesn't work behind the bar of the Tonny pub, his sister owns it. He comes down and visits.

Whether he gets paid to work behind there or not, I don't know, but has certainly served up a few jars from behind the bar over the past few years.

Patrick will end up playing at either Tonny or in Melb with his brother in law, not with Tat or Mooroopna....
And his years at Barooga im sure he would like to forget, he has just had an opp on his knee, and hes resting up, and reading big Footy:D

HA HA HA some clubs top up thier recruits with a handfull of local talent:D

And what would you call local talent BigKev?????? is it just players that live in the footy clubs home town? or players that have been at a club for a period of time? would you class local talent players that train every night with the group even if they dont live in the clubs home town????? Tell us all what Local Talent is BigKev.....

Local is a pretty simple concept I would imagine King DIng but no knowing your level of intelligence ill try and define it for you to clear up any misunderstanding.

Local would refer to players who live in the "Local" area, A local is also someone who may be from that place originally and may have moved somewhere else for employment ect, but still indentify with said place as thier "hometown". players that are poached and targeted from other clubs for payment with no substantial prior affinity with that area would not be considered local (eg. tocumwal premiership side was prob half local half unlocal, and barooga are prob more then half most years) hope this clears up your question King Ding. Was just trying to put the point across that recruiting 9 10 12 13 players is not TOPPING UP LOCAL TALENT.

Local is a pretty simple concept I would imagine King DIng but no knowing your level of intelligence ill try and define it for you to clear up any misunderstanding.

Local would refer to players who live in the "Local" area, A local is also someone who may be from that place originally and may have moved somewhere else for employment ect, but still indentify with said place as thier "hometown". players that are poached and targeted from other clubs for payment with no substantial prior affinity with that area would not be considered local (eg. tocumwal premiership side was prob half local half unlocal, and barooga are prob more then half most years) hope this clears up your question King Ding. Was just trying to put the point across that recruiting 9 10 12 13 players is not TOPPING UP LOCAL TALENT.

Well Let me put it this way Bigkev,,, lets say you were from a place like Undera. Now there are propbably 100 -300 people max that live there and are mainly older people so not much YOUTH... To keep them being successful football side they recruit players from the closet towns in Mooroopna, Tatura and even Echuca.. They may have 5 players in their team that live within the Undera township and they recruit the rest from other towns. Now are you going to bag them for recruiting non local players.. If any side doesnt have the depth within Local players why cant they recruit players from close towns around them and not be bagged out for doing it???

Murray league thread there genius, and the smaller clubs with less money usually from the smaller towns in the murray league seem to be the ones that are fielding sides with locals. Your dreaming if you think Barooga, Cobram ect recruit so heavily cos they dont have numbers its to try and win premierships, look at barooga basically what would be there senior side without recruits runs around in the magoos everyweek (maybe explains the strength or thier seconds) and its a joke but each to thier own.

...Cobram have struggled to get a reserves side each week for the past few years. They dont have the depth that you would expect for town that size. I think that its mainly because sides like Barooga, Yarra, Strathy, Katy, Finley, Toc are very close by and it spreads the numbers a fair bit. Seems some Murray league reserves players are a walk up starter in seniors at Picola league clubs so they may choose that path. I dunno what Baroogas excuse is, their reserves have better luck then their seniors. But having around 6-7 out of towners seems fairly reasonable if it means you field two sides on the weekend.

they also played finals in 09!

Murray league thread there genius, and the smaller clubs with less money usually from the smaller towns in the murray league seem to be the ones that are fielding sides with locals. Your dreaming if you think Barooga, Cobram ect recruit so heavily cos they dont have numbers its to try and win premierships, look at barooga basically what would be there senior side without recruits runs around in the magoos everyweek (maybe explains the strength or thier seconds) and its a joke but each to thier own.

you need to watch more footy or have more involvment in local football clubs bigkev before you get on here and act like you know what your on about! firstly if you follow a club, which 1? i have only followed the mfl for 5 seasons since tonny joined it, and im almost 100% sure that barooga have played finals in every 1 of those years! so in your expert opinion what you would suggest they do? stop recruiting and fininsh down the bottom of the ladder? secondly you said that clubs who have picked up 11 12 or 13 recruits arent topping up local talent. another stupid non footballing person comment! if a club has 10 good senior players and 12 or 13 goes who lack abit, they still need to top up with 12 players? right or wrong? if the have 18 good senior players, then there better off and only need to top it up with 5 or 6 recruits! so stop slagging off clubs who rectruit because there the ones who play finals!

they also played finals in 09!

...doesnt mean they havent struggled for numbers. they were always scrambling a side together at last minute, alot of thirds came up and played during the season. If i remember right they had quite a few senior players come back for the one final they got beaten in. Tonny beat them at Deni i think...

you need to watch more footy or have more involvment in local football clubs bigkev before you get on here and act like you know what your on about! firstly if you follow a club, which 1? i have only followed the mfl for 5 seasons since tonny joined it, and im almost 100% sure that barooga have played finals in every 1 of those years! so in your expert opinion what you would suggest they do? stop recruiting and fininsh down the bottom of the ladder? secondly you said that clubs who have picked up 11 12 or 13 recruits arent topping up local talent. another stupid non footballing person comment! if a club has 10 good senior players and 12 or 13 goes who lack abit, they still need to top up with 12 players? right or wrong? if the have 18 good senior players, then there better off and only need to top it up with 5 or 6 recruits! so stop slagging off clubs who rectruit because there the ones who play finals!

Just an opinion there chief dont be so touchy. Some clubs will throw money at anyone and it IMO it ruins the fabric of a club, the people that get on here and bitch and sook about people with those opions are usually from the clubs that do this, it is just an opinion if you dont like it dont read it. have followed the league for a hell of a lot longer then 5 years but the problem has prob surfaced more in the past decade as there are not the jobs in the areas that once were.

Are you one of those recruits getting paid this year Souts!!:eek:

Patrick will end up playing at either Tonny or in Melb with his brother in law, not with Tat or Mooroopna....
And his years at Barooga im sure he would like to forget, he has just had an opp on his knee, and hes resting up, and reading big Footy:D

Yes I did notice a few cameo's thru these pages of late (welcome back mate :thumbsu: )

Whats this Tonny or Melb stuff, I was hoping Yea was in the mix ;)

Every second comment on big footy seems to be someone sookin about clubs that pay big dollars to recruit decent players to hopefully reap a flag. This is obviously detrimental to the locals who are displaced from the senior team. Some local players might think ‘Well I think, if I work my arse off, I am good enough to play in the senior team..and they do’......Some might think ‘Well this is bullshit, my club isn’t looking after me, I’m gonna go play at the club down the road who will play me in the ones an probably give me more cash...an they do’ and then there’s probably the guys who are a little apathetic to the whole idea and will happily be relegated to the twos simply cos they play the game for the sake of it. Sometimes the quality and depth of the local blokes just doesn’t cut the mustard, an these r the generally the same guys that go through the motions and then whinge cos they think the club owes them something. There are clubs that have an abundance of local talent who have serious ability but these lads don’t have the attitude or desire to give the commitment that a successful team demands. If you need to pay a few squid to top up your squad and ultimately improve the clubs chances of a premiership then why not? I agree to an extent it can sometimes harm the ‘fabric’ of a club but so does having a senior team that is on the bottom of the ladder year after year, getting flogged by 100+ points week in week out and having no supporters turn up to the matches.

Excellent post, totally agree