Player Watch #?: Matt "The Swingman" Whitlock!!!!! - selected with Pick 27 in the 2024 ND - Welcome to North Melbourne Matty

With his ground level movement and sound decision making there is absolutely no reason why he couldn’t play as a third tall type interceptor very early on. His positioning is really good and he is a far more natural reader of the play compared to someone like Tauru.

His marking is really good when he drifts in from the side rather. That combined with his athleticism would suggest it would be a good role while he develops his body.

He isn’t a real attacking playmaker by foot, but he is really reliable and makes good decisions with ball in hand.
Cheers, that's great. I like KPPs who are capable of that development path because they tend to become really well round KPPs when they fill out.

Disgusting. Some of these lads are under 18 ffs.
I wish they played more senior footy as under agers. Would give clear indications on whether they can or they cant. It doesn’t have to be at VFL level. It can be a notch or two down.

This begs the question… does drafting age need to be raised? I personally think it should, I think it should be raised to 19y 6months to 20years 6months. This 18 year old game is no good. Its outdated.

Dare I say there's a little bit of Corey McKernan to this kid's game?

If Whitlock can retain his speed and agility with another 20kg added on, then look out.

Yep, just has to be done at this point.

We've worked ourselves into a corner, so if we have to pay overs like 2 x F2's with some change, so be it.

At this point pairing them, developing Matt as a CHB, getting Jack which enables Comben to play as the third intercept defender behind Matt and Dawson in the future is just too big of a carrot.

Hope like hell this list is as talented as Rawlings and Clarko thinks it is, as to get back into the draft, we will have to either have our medicine sitting out of a draft or take under for a F1 year on year.
I don't really want to sidetrack his thread into draft stuff, as I'd like it to be more about Matt the player.
I love the draft as well but we'd have close to 25 kids easily under 25 after this draft.
There's also a bit of a cap limit to how much elite talent you can have on the list long term to consider.
We've got LDU? Simpkin?, Powell, Phillips?, Sheez, Wardlaw, McKercher, Duursma, Goad, Dawson, Hardemann, FOS, Matlock. That's not even counting Comben, Maley, Payne, Konstanty, RHJ?
Then potentially we add another one or two inside 30 next year (if not traded into this year) with the two F2's.
Then there's Harris and McCartney in 2026. That's easily 30 kids under 26.
I reckon we could afford to just take a few picks the next few years to build out depth and target needs.
Then ideally we sit out the first Tassie draft end of 2027.

Initially thought "bold - but I like it". On reflection I still like the move but maybe it's not even that much of a reach.

Back of an envelope reasoning as follows:

Assuming we give away something like pick 5 (1878 points at 2024 value) and get back say 30 (629 points), we effectively paid 1249 points or around pick 12/13 for a KPP prospect that we desperately want and need and we get him a year earlier. That looks to be reasonable value.

Am I being unrealistic?

If he wasn’t drafted he’d have remained undrafted….

View attachment 2171793
no club up to our pick drafted either... not that hard to understand

another club that had our pick might have gone the other way

that doesn't make whitlock higher rated than shanahan for all clubs, it just shows we rated it that way

This Is Fine New Job GIF

That’s great ….how awesome to see….and they look happy.
But fudge me the same station running with “the controversial decision that split a footy family ….”
Gtfo 😡 lm backing him in and any media or opposing club supporter can f#&#& right off with their fake concerns.

Player Watch #?: Matt "The Swingman" Whitlock!!!!! - selected with Pick 27 in the 2024 ND - Welcome to North Melbourne Matty