Looking for cricket commentators

jezzaharford

Guys,

If anyone is interested in trialling as a cricket commentator. Casey Radio(97.7 3ser) that calls Premier Cricket in Melbourne on a weekly basis, are looking for people to deliver special comments, ball by ball coverage aswell as panel operators for our cricket coverage. So if you think you have what it takes to be the next Benaud, Maxwell, or Glen Mitchell send me a private message and I can get in touch with you and send your details onto our Sports Director.

cheers Jeremy

Guys,

Ever had the thought that would wanted to paint the picture of what was happening on a cricket field better than the boys in the ABC box. Well don't be afraid because you have the chance. Try your talents at cricket calling if you live in Melbourne. You may of retired from the game have a keen passion and was never good enough but believe you can describe what is happening to the listeners. Well calling the Premier cricket where you see the next Shane Warne and co is open to you. 3ser Casey Radio calls the premier cricket every week throughout the summer. Email jezzaharford if interested and we will see where it leads you.

Hi Everybody,

Well the cricket season has now started. If you are keen on developing a career as a sports broadcaster and never knew how you could get into it, well you can start by becoming a cricket commentator on community radio. As mentioned previously, Casey radio 97.7 3ser calls the Premier cricket each week from 1 til 6 pm. Come out and see the future stars of Victorian cricket and hone your skills in front of the microphone at the same time. We are looking for anybody interested in getting some experience as a cricket commentator. You will be given every opportunity both as a special comments person and as a commentator to become the best that you wish to be. It doesn't matter whether you are guy or girl, send me a personal email and we can arrange for you to come down to one of our games and see how we cover the premier cricket.

cheers Jeremy Orr

Ben,

Thank you for your response. I imagine there would be alot of people in the same situation as yourself. Many people play cricket on a saturday so that would prohibit them from getting involved. If your circumstances change, you are more than welcome to send me a message and we can take it from there. Also if you know anyone who may be interested in doing some cricket commentary get them in touch with me and we can see where that leads.

cheers Jeremy

Jezza, you might know me.

I do stats for Werribee in the VFL, the guy who always is running sheets around and handing them to various coaching staff etc.

I'd be up for cricket commentary anyday as I commentate cricket and footy whilst playing in the house since I was 9 and, another thing is, I still do, at 18...anyway, I wouldn't be able to do it simply because i don't have a liscence, am too young and yeah, you get my drift, but good to see an opportunity.

Hi Guys,

We were at Frankston on the weekend. Lonie_from_50 we have one guy who is under 18 and has joined the commentary team this year. Depending on where you live, myself or another member of the team could pick you up and take you to the games.

Jeremy

I reckon you should get people to send an mp3 of some commentary, turn the sound down on the TV and record yourself commentating a few overs of the World XI game tomorrow for example. I'll send that over to you jezza if I get the time.

I would love to commentate some cricket, though I love playing cricket more which rules me out

Also what kind of commentary do you look for?

The sensational, insightful commentary of Sky Sports which actually focuses on the game?

The boring, repetitive rubbish of CH9 which shows how old most of the people in there are by whingeing about everything that doesnt favour Australia?

Or the ABC rubbish where you give a score once an hour and ramble on about some holiday you went on decades ago?

ABC is far from rubbish mate.

They give the score regularly and describe virtually ball with a lot of detail, which is good.

Some of the stories that they tell are superb and well worth a laugh.

ben.carbonaro said:
ABC is far from rubbish mate.

They give the score regularly and describe virtually ball with a lot of detail, which is good.

Some of the stories that they tell are superb and well worth a laugh.

Really? Any time I am out playing cricket and turn on the radio to hear a score update, it takes forever. They are either talking about some crap, occasionally interrupted for a description of the play, not often a score update though or if a run is scored they might give the score but not the wickets. Or they off replaying the races or some other crap.

eddiesmith said:
The sensational, insightful commentary of Sky Sports which actually focuses on the game?
Botham saying Beautiful shot off an Ashley Giles edge is not insightful.

Guys,

You are welcome to send me an mp3 of your commentary. Our commentary is the ball by ball commentary (ABC). We try and capture the moment, paint the picture. We also cover the history and do tell some stories. We are looking for more people that have played the game so the technical aspects are covered.

Jeremy

ben.carbonaro said:
You are obviously tuning in at the bad times, Eddie.
sadly enough, when the ABC drifts away from the game its usually when Kerry O'Keefe is on, but he is always entertaining.

Nicho magic,

Thanks the compliments. Are you involved with the Heat or would you maybe interested in a bit of commentary ?.

Jeremy

jezzaharford said:
Nicho magic,

Thanks the compliments. Are you involved with the Heat or would you maybe interested in a bit of commentary ?.

Jeremy
nah mate, play for st kilda in the 3's at the moment, come back to me in 20 years when my cricketing career is over, then we can talk commentary

Nicho Magic,

So you would of popped by a couple of occasions to get a drink. Well good luck with your cricket.