Laura Kane - Does Not Impress Me At All !!

Who though? Who is entertained by seeing Jack Silvagni be a fringe player at Carlton? Are we less entertained because Daniher is playing for Brisbane? The logic for the father/son rule falls at every obstacle. I couldn't give a stuff if Taj Woewodin is the son of a Shane.

Re: Woewodin.

If you were born after around 1990 then fair enough, you wouldn’t ’get it’ yet (I certainly didn’t)

If you were born between around 1975 and around 1990 when Woewoden was around in your formative years then it surprises me you see it that way (I’m actually totally with you, I don’t get caught up in the romance of F/S at all - I just want my club to draft the best players. If anything I’d prefer my club to create new legacies rather than rehash old ones. And for every Nick Daicos, Josh Daicos and Darcy Moore there is a Wil Kelly, Jaxson Barham and Tyler Brown. BUT I do appreciate why people get caught up in the romance of F/S and accept I’m in the minority of supporters at my footy club)

The premium is to stop teams from winning flags purely off the f/s rule. Brisbane just won it due to the F/S rule. Collingwood one it the year before due to solely the f/s rule.

Nah, teams need a heap of things to go right to win the Premiership. Picking up one good player is just one thing out of a heap of things. And like any player, being a F/S doesn’t guarantee that they’ll be any good.

Heck Melbourne ended up with a couple of number 1 draft picks - Jack Watts and Tom Scully - which are a far more reliable pick of talent than any F/S - but that doesn’t mean that made Melbourne any good at the time.

Re: Woewodin.

If you were born after around 1990 then fair enough, you wouldn’t ’get it’ yet (I certainly didn’t)

If you were born between around 1975 and around 1990 when Woewoden was around in your formative years then it surprises me you see it that way (I’m actually totally with you, I don’t get caught up in the romance of F/S at all - I just want my club to draft the best players. If anything I’d prefer my club to create new legacies rather than rehash old ones. And for every Nick Daicos, Josh Daicos and Darcy Moore there is a Wil Kelly, Jaxson Barham and Tyler Brown. BUT I do appreciate why people get caught up in the romance of F/S and accept I’m in the minority of supporters at my footy club)

Nah, teams need a heap of things to go right to win the Premiership. Picking up one good player is just one thing out of a heap of things. And like any player, being a F/S doesn’t guarantee that they’ll be any good.

Heck Melbourne ended up with a couple of number 1 draft picks - Jack Watts and Tom Scully - which are a far more reliable pick of talent than any F/S - but that doesn’t mean that made Melbourne any good at the time.
even the bad F/S are discounted tho and picked way further down the list so you still get heavily discounted players with a level of loyalty to the club the isnt the norm. sounds like a dream for the list managers.

The product isn't that great for one. Constant adding of new teams has diluted the talent and quality of games.

This is opinion based.

And many don't share the view.

The product is great.
It's quite often the presentation that is the problem. Media coverage feels as poor as it's ever been.

Gate attendances are the highest they’ve ever been, broadcast revenue is as high as ever, participation in the sport is the highest it has ever been.

A lot of fans seem to be voting with their feet that they like what said parasite lawyers are doing?

The game runs itself coz it's such a great product. Dillon and Kane weren't involved in the big crowds, it was the fact attending live sport has become popular again, changes to accessibility for mcc members, 3 of the big 4 being top of the ladder in the back part of the season etc.

The tv deal Gillon did, remember he had to finish off all these big deals coz clearly they didn't trust Dillon to have the negotiating strength, to get a good deal himself.

The competitive balance review has taken forever to do, these people move at a snail's pace it's incredible. The only time we see Dillon is when he's handing out an over the top fine for something trivial.

Dillon might be ok if he had a charismatic chairman, but Goyder's the biggest lame duck in Australian sport, look how hard pvl works compared to this bloke. He's from W.A, yet W.A footy has gone backwards under his chairmanship at the afl (they barely produce a top 25 draft pick these days despite being the second biggest footy state). Seeing the ridiculous deal the nrl are going to get for a Perth team from the W.A state government (the biggest in Australian sports history), how could Goyder not be using his power to influence politicians in his own state, behind the scenes. Heck, the nrl have clearly stuffed Brisbane getting a new stadium through the back channels of government in qld and goyder can't even influence politicians in his home state to not hand the competitions main rival sport 500 mill. A deal that will not only include infrastructure, but introducing rugby league into 26 high school curriculums in Perth, 12 mill per year direct to the club, paying for all their development officers, matching the nrl w.a dollar for dollar on grassroots, all whilst the WAFC and WAFL are struggling to survive and running on an oily rag.

By every objective measure Aussie Rules appears to be in healthy condition. That’s despite the challenges of having to recover from COVID, competition from other sports like soccer and rugby that have the natural advantage of global participation, unprecedented global sporting litigation of concussion and CTE, changes to the economy impacting sponsorship opportunities, and dealing with the challenges of PEDs and recreation drogs.

Sure, not everybody is happy with the way things are. And you appear to be one of them. But everybody can’t be happy all of the time. Change alienates people but it also creates opportunities. In my lifetime I don’t think I’ve ever observed any change in anything that somebody didn’t whinge or complain about. And sometimes change is bad, but the alternative - no change - is even worse. Things need to evolve or it’s inevitable that they go the way of the dinosaurs.

And you may end up being right. Maybe in 5 years we find that women’s and girls footy was just a short term fad that didn’t last, And grassroots men’s and boys footy has disappeared due to lack of support. Let’s see. If that happens look me up and I’ll tip my hat to you.

It's healthy because AFL fans love the game despite all the stuff ups by the people who run it.

Nobody asks for rule changes but these idiots take it upon themselves to try their best to **** the game up.

By constantly making it so players and umpires have no idea how basic things that never needed changing are now being interpreted.

From players to fans everyone ends up frustrated and shitted off at the clowns running the game.

Some of the scores at AFL games have resembled AFLW games at times this year.

That's not a great product.

This has always been happening though.

In this seasons finals series alone, you had 4 of the best examples of Aussies Rules footy at its finest.
Sydney vs GWS
Port Adelaide vs Hawthorn
Brisbane vs GWS
Geelong vs Brisbane

All epic, high quality games that stack up at the top of any era.

The only way the AFL will sit up and take notice is if people stop going to games. Until that happens - nothing changes.

Be a part of the solution. Going to games means you're now part of the problem.

I mean seriously we all love the game but enough is well and truly enough.

Clearly she did a great job with North Melbourne and deserved her position.

It is wild when people like Cook and Gale who turned clubs from rabbles into powerhouses don't get jobs at the AFL and we have Dillon and Kane in situ.
Cook and Gale were CEOs, overall responsibilities but emphases on marketing, exploring growth, promotion. Rainmakers. Kane is General Manager of Football Operations, her duties are internal, umpiring, rules, Tribunal, AFLW. Bureaucrat. Different skill sets. That’s not to say she can’t go on to CEO, Demetriou did.

I can't think of any footy lover that goes 'I'm so happy the bump is dead' and 'i'm so glad we're suspending blokes for multiple weeks because a player accidentally hit their head on the ground or in some cases put their own head into the ground. Sure, come down hard on dirty shirt fronts but we've changed the entire fabric of the game to the point where I'd say it's not even a contact sport anymore. It's more like basketball. It's okay to like violent acts on the footy field. We've been programmed to think that we shouldn't but in reality it's why many people loved the game.

The AFL made those changes due to the threat of litigation over concussion. Which would have made insurance challenging. And that would lead to bad PR which would result in parents not wanting their kids to participate in the sport - destroying talent pathways.

And nobody wants to see players like Brayshaw, Murphy, Lynch etc prematurely leave the game.

And this is not an AFL thing, it’s global.

I don’t follow the NFL, but I’ve heard that their competition is in a bad way at the moment as a result of their response to concussions. The AFL seems to be steering us well through that minefield.

The AFL made those changes due to the threat of litigation over concussion. Which would have made insurance challenging. And that would lead to bad PR which would result in parents not wanting their kids to participate in the sport - destroying talent pathways.

And nobody wants to see players like Brayshaw, Murphy, Lynch etc prematurely leave the game.

I don’t follow the NFL, but I’ve heard that their competition is in a bad way at the moment as a result of their response to concussions. The AFL seems to be steering us well through that minefield.
How are sports like UFC getting by with the threats of litigation? perhaps something in their contract is waiving their rights to sue. and perhaps the AFL could look into something similiar.

...And for every Nick Daicos, Josh Daicos and Darcy Moore there is a Wil Kelly, Jaxson Barham and Tyler Brown. BUT I do appreciate why people get caught up in the romance of F/S and accept I’m in the minority of supporters at my footy club)...
F/S It's for the sentimental supporter. Watching Luke Darcy develop is extra special because his grandfather was my favourite ! Conversely, watching Paul and Charlie Spargo run around for NM and Melb respectively is disheartening, both should have been at the Bulldogs following father and grandfather Bob Spargo.

you're just accepting it. Yes, they're different sports but do you think Dana White is going to run a UFC but say 'from now on guys and girl, we've all got to wear head gear, and there's to be no head high contact'? No. Because it's an inherent part of the sport. As was bumping and tackling in the AFL. Both which have gone.

You're not even factoring in the amount of people that are walking away from the game because it's lost its contact aspect of the sport. You don't even need to be aggressive or brave to play the sport anymore. Where is the PR in that?

Yes, I agree that the litigation etc. is a current problem. But it's a problem that the AFL have caused. They succumbed to it and now they just have to accept it. but at this point, the game is unrecognisable. Anyone we lose from the sport, we're not losing Footy players, we're losing soft, flopping, must lay them gently on the soft grass, type characters.

I'll always watch footy because it's been a big part of my life and my loyalties are too strong at this point, but I don't admire players the same way I used to.

I've got no opinion on Laura Kane but Tom Elliott is a useless agitating schmuck.

Over half of the clubs had no women visible on camera, a number of others had multiple. To be clear, not every camera showed the entire room so there may have been women in the rooms of those clubs who had none on camera, but if there was any push to have women in the club rooms it had nothing to do with this idea that clubs were required to have a token woman prominently on camera so the AFL could look 'woke'. It's not easy to be worse than his old man was but Elliott is giving it a crack.

F/S It's for the sentimental supporter. Watching Luke Darcy develop is extra special because his grandfather was my favourite ! Conversely, watching Paul and Charlie Spargo run around for NM and Melb respectively is disheartening, both should have been at the Bulldogs following father and grandfather Bob Spargo.
Well hand back Ugle-hagan who you shouldn't have and we'll give you Spargo. The irony of a Dogs fan complaining. Come on now.

What poor decisions have Kane and Dillon made?

I can think of one:

Kane’s Monday morning commentary on the previous weekend’s umpiring wasn’t helpful but she quickly learnt from the mistake and cut it.

Any others?

How they managed the post round umpiring

How they managed the draft changes

There are one or two others that escape me.

But it’s not great having been in for a year?

Club are also concerned about their decision making on things that matter more in club land than it might to punters like you and I.

The game runs itself coz it's such a great product.

The game certainly doesn’t run itself.

For example, are you happy with the way the supplements saga was handled?

What about the COVID years, were they simply ‘Business as Usual’?

But it would be fair to say that some of the decisions taken by the AFL are long term, and we’re still largely benefiting from the work done by previous administrations. When the AFL welcome Tassie to the competition in 2028 it’ll be the culmination of a decision that was made under Gillon.

Dillon, Kane & co still need to execute on it though.

The competitive balance review has taken forever to do, these people move at a snail's pace it's incredible.

Strategic stuff takes time. The only impetus to speed it up is the lack of long term success for North (who now appear to be slowly making their way back) and Suns (who now look to be the most competitive they’ve been).

He's from W.A, yet W.A footy has gone backwards under his chairmanship at the afl (they barely produce a top 25 draft pick these days despite being the second biggest footy state).

Yeah, fair enough.

I count 5 first rounders (out of around 50) in the last 2 years which is way under par.

That might not just be talent though. It might also be talent identification. In this post COVID age when the soft cap is still low and the priority has been to give players pay rises, it makes good economic sense for clubs to base their talent identification where the talent pool is deepest, which is Vic.

Seeing the ridiculous deal the nrl are going to get for a Perth team from the W.A state government (the biggest in Australian sports history), how could Goyder not be using his power to influence politicians in his own state, behind the scenes. Heck, the nrl have clearly stuffed Brisbane getting a new stadium through the back channels of government in qld and goyder can't even influence politicians in his home state to not hand the competitions main rival sport 500 mill.

Queensland have got much bigger issues to deal with, with the Olympics coming up.

Clearly she did a great job with North Melbourne and deserved her position.

It is wild when people like Cook and Gale who turned clubs from rabbles into powerhouses don't get jobs at the AFL and we have Dillon and Kane in situ.

Gale burnt bridges while at Richmond, apparently. I assume for him he’d only be interested in the CEO position.

you're just accepting it. Yes, they're different sports but do you think Dana White is going to run a UFC but say 'from now on guys and girl, we've all got to wear head gear, and there's to be no head high contact'? No. Because it's an inherent part of the sport. As was bumping and tackling in the AFL. Both which have gone.

Sure, there would be kids out there who would back their ability to kick in somebody else’s head before their opponent got to them. And it would be their dream to do so. And of course there would be Mums and Dads out there who would support their kids’ dreams’ of becoming UFC fighters. “Whatever makes you happy son / daughter”. But I’d imagine all those would be the tiny minority?

Footy and combat sports have always co-existed (boxing), and the combat sports have always been niche by comparison.

You're not even factoring in the amount of people that are walking away from the game because it's lost its contact aspect of the sport. You don't even need to be aggressive or brave to play the sport anymore. Where is the PR in that?

Do you have the numbers on that? And how do those numbers compare with numbers that have been attracted to the sport due to lower risk of injury / concussion?

Yes, I agree that the litigation etc. is a current problem. But it's a problem that the AFL have caused. They succumbed to it and now they just have to accept it. but at this point, the game is unrecognisable. Anyone we lose from the sport, we're not losing Footy players, we're losing soft, flopping, must lay them gently on the soft grass, type characters.

I'll always watch footy because it's been a big part of my life and my loyalties are too strong at this point, but I don't admire players the same way I used to.

One day we will die and our opinions will cease to matter.

Until then we can choose to fight the fight - if that’s what fulfils us. Or we can find joy through other means. Such as celebrating the evolution of what the game has become. Or seeing the kids having as much fun on the footy field as ever. Or seeing the women developing and striving to get the best out of themselves - it’s truly remarkable how much the AFLW has evolved in merely 8 seasons! Or following another sport altogether.

Yesterday has gone. The bump is never coming back.

How they managed the post round umpiring

Agreed 👍

How they managed the draft changes

What changes? I didn’t think any changes have been made to the draft yet?

The clubs pushed back on changes, the AFL relented. So any changes will happen in future, presumably after the competitive review has been completed.

But it’s not great having been in for a year?

Yeah, they’ve made a few screw-ups, but I credit them for making an effort. IMO it beats sitting back and doing nothing. And I realise many people would prefer that they did do nothing.

Agreed 👍

What changes? I didn’t think any changes have been made to the draft yet?

The clubs pushed back on changes, the AFL relented. So any changes will happen in future, presumably after the competitive review has been completed.

Yeah, they’ve made a few screw-ups, but I credit them for making an effort. IMO it beats sitting back and doing nothing. And I realise many people would prefer that they did do nothing.

They’re making changes to the draft next year. The afl allow future trading. They decided to manage the changes by telling clubs they were changing the rules for this year up until like 2 months prior to the draft. That obviously created angst when many clubs had made decisions last year for this years draft. It was absolute amateur hour stuff.

Hopefully they perform better next year and stop with these unforced amateur errors.

They’re making changes to the draft next year. The afl allow future trading. They decided to manage the changes by telling clubs they were changing the rules for this year up until like 2 months prior to the draft. That obviously created angst when many clubs had made decisions last year for this years draft. It was absolute amateur hour stuff.

Hopefully they perform better next year and stop with these unforced amateur errors.

Yeah, I reckon that’s fair.

even more future trading? so if the draft rules need tweaking we have to wait 2-3 years instead of 1?

Laura Kane - Does Not Impress Me At All !!